Aircon Discussion V3, Home Appliance

halcyon27
post Dec 7 2017, 07:44 AM

2,140 posts

QUOTE(voscar @ Dec 7 2017, 12:20 AM)
Oh, i don't know about that. which shop in Pasar Road can introduce me? I seldom went there so not really familiar, thanks.
Normally this kind of issue should call Toshiba technician to troubleshoot. If the remote not responsive is either IR remote side or IR receiver side our something else in between. The fact that the AC blink perhaps they have troubleshooting guide in the manual to inform you what to do.

Right now, I'm assuming the remote is faulty from what you described and I could be wrong. It possibly could be something else. The link is here but this is only to repair a fan pcb board. I dont know if that applies to AC Remote. What if you get a universal remote and see if it's the original remote problem first. Or test the remote on another Toshiba AC in the house to determine if it's actually the problem.

This post has been edited by halcyon27: Dec 7 2017, 07:45 AM
halcyon27
post Dec 7 2017, 04:03 PM

2,140 posts

QUOTE(WhitE LighteR @ Dec 7 2017, 10:49 AM)
I see halcyon27 always promote individual sleeve piping, but it doesnt seems to be a norm here of doing things. How hard is it to find someone that can do it, or find supplier that can supplier such items? And how much more will it cost compare to normal installation?

Also, what about any test result to show if there is any differences compare to regular way of doing it?
You can read up the forums down south to get a feel of how much joy or pain home owners go through depending on how good or bad the installers does it. The standards there insulate one pipe with one insulating sleeve to prevent down mixing between cooling like and return line.

Pre-insulated pipes are of course pricier but only because it's the insulation is already pre-attached and the pipe is good quality.

See this post also.
halcyon27
post Dec 7 2017, 06:00 PM

2,140 posts

QUOTE(WhitE LighteR @ Dec 7 2017, 05:35 PM)
But is it feasible to be done in Malaysia with ease in term of cost, supply of material and installer? Don't really matter if it gives a better results, but if it's not accessible here in Malaysia, no point also... Right?
Material is indeed locally available but whether installer wants to go this route is another issue. I was fortunate to engage one that did it for me awhile back. Add on insulation using Insulflex if pipes are already supplied are also found. You can go to AC or refrigeration parts supply around town. Standard material and installation method bro.

This post has been edited by halcyon27: Dec 7 2017, 06:04 PM
halcyon27
post Dec 7 2017, 06:21 PM

2,140 posts

QUOTE(WhitE LighteR @ Dec 7 2017, 06:11 PM)
Ic.. So by your estimate roughly how many % more expensive if go with the way of installation and materials compare to the normal method..
Two insulation sleeves instead of one as it's jacketing each pipe instead of two pipes in one before laying them. If using Paircoil, only lay the pipes as the pipes are already sleeved with insulation at factory. Where there is prolonged sun exposure, the exposed jacket should be UV rated or protected by a UV rated sleeve. To AC guy it's just time and labour so they charge accordingly. Insulflex is manufactured by a local company and marketed overseas also. More info found here and here. The material is also used for car ACs too as sold here.

This post has been edited by halcyon27: Dec 7 2017, 06:31 PM
halcyon27
post Dec 8 2017, 08:39 PM

2,140 posts

QUOTE(fixgd @ Dec 8 2017, 06:34 PM)
comparing with other inverter, toshiba dc inverter have lower power consumption based on the suruhanjaya tenaga rating.

offering 2years all parts warranty and 7 years for compressor, but price is on the high side.
They are inverter pioneers so no surprise there. What's the yearly figure in kWhr for your model?

I'm curious if STM has a web site to show this like SG NEA and HK EMSD. The others cover AC, WM and also fridges. This would be helpful to see all the AC listing.
halcyon27
post Dec 9 2017, 08:43 AM

2,140 posts

QUOTE(fixgd @ Dec 9 2017, 12:19 AM)
did not bought it. the price different is too big. about rm1.8k-1.9k for 1hp

kwhr is around 12++, the nearest after toshiba is lg dual inverter about 14++, for pana inverter (aero) 16++.
Quite near MHI SRK10YLS. The more efficient one is actually the ME inverter's discontinued model before MSY-GJ10VA which if I'm not mistaken was 900-1000+kW/hr/year

This post has been edited by halcyon27: Dec 9 2017, 10:54 AM
halcyon27
post Dec 10 2017, 12:46 AM

2,140 posts

QUOTE(Herizat @ Dec 9 2017, 11:46 PM)
Do I need to add extra HP for high ceiling?
This is my upstairs hall btw. In the afternoon this area is really hot.
Planning to install 2hp

[attachmentid=9418502]
Can you furnish the dimensions of that space and where that window roof faces. I'm assuming west. The space may have to be enclosed otherwise the cold air will leak downstairs. The easiest way would be to use heavy curtains to cover the stair banister and stair case but it can be unsafe. A friend covers that space instead with a sliding door over but usefully practical as it is to keep the cold air in, I don't like it as it blocks the air flow by half when opened. But that's just me.

When AC not in use, if that louvre windows are opened, it should be less hot and that warm air trapped near the ceiling should flow out inducing cross flow and stack effect (bottom to top) ventilation. Only problem is that its quite problematic to close before if rains. Plus the fact that its a high ceiling.

Update: this suits your space more.

This post has been edited by halcyon27: Dec 10 2017, 01:32 AM
halcyon27
post Dec 10 2017, 01:11 AM

2,140 posts

QUOTE(coolkwc @ Dec 10 2017, 01:06 AM)
Yup, using the MHI SRK10YLS for 2 years now with 12/365 usage. This is by far the lowest consumption for all inverter models, rated 12xxkWh/year. Have another ME MSY-GJ10VA installed as well rated 14xxkWh/year. I prefer the MHI over ME for the greater functionality and higher C/P.
I use both. MHI rated at 1243kWh/yr whereas the MSY-GJ10VA is about 1489kWh/hr if not mistaken. The power saving one I was talking about actually was the ME Starmex MSY-GE10VA. Discovered too late that it was discontinued.

This post has been edited by halcyon27: Dec 10 2017, 01:12 AM
halcyon27
post Dec 10 2017, 09:46 PM

2,140 posts

QUOTE(Herizat @ Dec 10 2017, 09:08 PM)
I'm not too sure which way the window faces actually.  Sliding door idea is quite brilliant.

Actually the windows are not Louvre type window. That's the grill that makes it look like a louvred window. If you zoom in you can see there are 2 piece of glass. Weird design....

Will tint help block heat without making the area dark?
The bricks and roof are soaking up heat from the sun and they will reradiate inwards and downwards like an oven.

If the window is not meant to be open, perhaps replace it with a fixed pane and install 12" wall or the neater option a ceiling mounted extractor fan (may need to ensure the air can flow out of the roof space and not stagnate in there) to help with the heat and see if it helps without AC. The current glass pane design is quite redundant as only hot air comes in but can't flow out.

That way you can apply a tint either laminate or liquid gel like Kristalbond on the glass before installing it. They have VLT 70 clear or 60 blue tint which is quite ok.

For AC, multiply the area in sqft with heat load factor of 70-75 to derive the BTU/hr. From there, infer HP required. You might want to try Sonneaire as sun and heat is abundant.

This post has been edited by halcyon27: Dec 10 2017, 10:12 PM
halcyon27
post Dec 11 2017, 10:30 AM

2,140 posts

QUOTE(Herizat @ Dec 11 2017, 10:25 AM)
Thanks for the info. Maybe I will just apply tint and install blinds before installing aircon
Applying tint would necessitate removing the glass I'm afraid due to the unusual configuration. Otherwise only nearly all of it is tinted. That's why I suggested better to redo in this circumstance. Plan ahead and see what options you can come up with and go with the one you're comfortable with. Good luck!

This post has been edited by halcyon27: Dec 11 2017, 10:34 AM
halcyon27
post Dec 11 2017, 01:25 PM

2,140 posts

QUOTE(takeshiru @ Dec 11 2017, 12:59 PM)
Hello guys.

May i ask some techincal question? Im about to AC an area in my condo. The livingroom, dining area and kitchen is all connected/common area. I think its about 25ft x 15ft. Aircon placement will be at the end of the area meaning the air has to fush fwrd 25ft. In such case. How many Hp do i need?. I wish i had a ceiling to install the ceiling mounted ones.

Please advice on the hp and realiable brands out there
2HP but ideally 2.5HP. Look for an AC long throw feature like Sharp or Mitsubishi Heavy Industries or Mitsubishi Electric.
halcyon27
post Dec 11 2017, 04:59 PM

2,140 posts

QUOTE(takeshiru @ Dec 11 2017, 04:13 PM)
Thanks buddy.. i will do some research on AC long throw feat.
Any good shop u could recommend?
Where you based? KL & PJ Jintex Electronics
halcyon27
post Dec 11 2017, 09:46 PM

2,140 posts

QUOTE(jutamind @ Dec 10 2017, 10:35 PM)
coolkwc, may I know where you get your MHI air cond? It's not easily found in most shops
Where you based? If in KL try Jintex Electronics
halcyon27
post Dec 12 2017, 10:49 AM

2,140 posts

QUOTE(takeshiru @ Dec 12 2017, 01:38 AM)
yea he offer quite good prices..mind me asking which air con has long throw?
The ones I mentioned above are the ones I know off hand but you can search other brands and see. You're looking for inverter or non inverter?
halcyon27
post Dec 12 2017, 10:55 AM

2,140 posts

QUOTE(Kamm Matt @ Dec 12 2017, 09:16 AM)
mine hall are 22+ft x 16.5ft.. done the calculation and need at least 2hp.. but the best is to fix 2.5hp aC... so wondering 2hp inverter which brand and model are the better option with not really overpriced and good bTu plus not really sucking electric.. haha
Conservatively it's 21,780BTU (363 x60) but even this is optimistic and not taking into account of factors that contribute to higher heat loading. So, given the caveat spelt out before, it should be above 2 but up to 2.5HP. 2.0HP only up to18000BTU. Any higher range found in an inverter is because of powerful mode where they will cool at 10-20% above their rated cooling load for say 30minutes. Inverters definitely save from day one. Buying them is not cheap but operating them regularly over a period of time surely is if you're staying long term.

This post has been edited by halcyon27: Dec 12 2017, 11:00 AM
halcyon27
post Dec 12 2017, 02:04 PM

2,140 posts

QUOTE(CANONPIXMA @ Dec 12 2017, 11:26 AM)
May I know where I can get find Inaba Denko or similar products supplier in KL area?
Usually Aircon/Refrigeration parts shop like Allco Parts in Kelana Jaya sells it but you need to buy the whole 20m. If you're familiar with PJ, various AC/refrigeration supply shop carries them too like those along SS2 near Sri Siam and the one on the row before the Caltex on Section 20 coming down from the traffic light t junction at the Paramount Garden (O&S kopitiam) intersection. Another one is seen here.

Due to increase requests by others esp advocado, I recently found one that may also install for residential in addition to supplying the Paircoil products.

Try contacting Rero Kompressor to enquire here.

More than the pre-insulated pipes, they do carry a wide range of Inaba Denko ducting and fittings packaged as a whole AC ducting and insulation solution as shown here and here.

You may see their works as posted here, here, here and here.

This post has been edited by halcyon27: Dec 12 2017, 02:16 PM
halcyon27
post Dec 12 2017, 02:21 PM

2,140 posts

QUOTE(coolkwc @ Dec 10 2017, 01:26 AM)
Yes, GE model still exist when i purchase GJ model almost 3 years ago, but the price was too expensive to be shallowed so just settle with GJ model. Then year after i bought the MHI with lower consumption plus premium features at lower price than the ME GJ. Another MHI 2HP SRK18YN in my living room as well. Haha, have too much faith on Mitsubishi.

Anyway last Friday just bought another 1hp inverter for room at downstair, this time opt for lower price Daikin FTK10Q, will install in next Saturday, hopefully this is a good choice.

But i just won't go for Panasonic, i feel it always overpriced.
Inaba Denko installer available at post-1. Give it a go for your Daikin. Let us know your findings and review the AC. Good luck.

This post has been edited by halcyon27: Dec 12 2017, 03:05 PM
halcyon27
post Dec 12 2017, 02:58 PM

2,140 posts

QUOTE(notfair @ Dec 12 2017, 02:50 PM)
want to ask, will conseal the aircond pipping high chance to leaking?
Depends on installer skill at pipe bending, whether the proper tool is used with bending done correctly with enough allowance at the sharp corners and lastly quality of pipe.
halcyon27
post Dec 12 2017, 03:13 PM

2,140 posts

QUOTE(takeshiru @ Dec 12 2017, 01:38 AM)
yea he offer quite good prices..mind me asking which air con has long throw?
QUOTE(halcyon27 @ Dec 12 2017, 10:49 AM)
The ones I mentioned above are the ones I know off hand but you can search other brands and see. You're looking for inverter or non inverter?
You want to try York or MHI from Lazada. Quite value for money this inverter. Get good piping as mentioned in post-4.

This post has been edited by halcyon27: Dec 12 2017, 03:39 PM
halcyon27
post Dec 12 2017, 04:30 PM

2,140 posts

QUOTE(Pak Chuu @ Dec 12 2017, 04:13 PM)
Just to ask : I bought 2 unit 1HP York inverter last year. However just after one year usage the indoor unit show E7(error ?)and outdoor unit not start. Call the technician and he show me the board inside the indoor is not function and  that why it not release the current to outdoor. He advise me to buy the board to replace. Any body know how much the cost of the part.
Yours landed or condo? Where is compressor located? What model York? Was this AC that give error using existing piping and wire for a previous AC?

Update, based on this FB post, it seems that the compressor possibly could operating at an extreme temperature range that causes the board to fail. You might want to get another experienced installer to reseat the AC compressor such that this condition is avoided. Call York and tell them your model number and then get them to email you the installation diagram showing the clearance from the wall and ceiling to avoid overheating. Check this for your other AC also.

Based on this one, it just show a symptom of communication between outdoor and indoor unit. Detail checking here. Does the MCB trip for that unit when trying to turn on AC? If so, the wire kena drilled or degraded, etc.

Of concern is whether it's a placement issue that will potentially cause overheating during a hot day or night or wiring issue or even lightning strike etc. If it's placement issue (common), better to reseat it according to manufacturer install specification.

This post has been edited by halcyon27: Dec 13 2017, 06:34 AM

19 Pages « < 8 9 10 11 12 > » Top

0.2812sec    0.77    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 9th December 2025 - 08:49 AM