Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

573 Pages « < 566 567 568 569 570 > » Bottom

Outline · [ Standard ] · Linear+

 Aircon Discussion V3, Home Appliance

views
     
Created On 21/1/2021
post Aug 17 2022, 03:28 PM

Enthusiast
*****
Junior Member
892 posts

Joined: Jan 2021
My living + dining is around 400sqft, is 1.5HP sufficient?
heliozguard
post Aug 18 2022, 01:09 AM

Getting Started
**
Junior Member
251 posts

Joined: Feb 2009
Any contact for conceal/ducted aircond supplier and installer? Wanna reno my house need 5*2.5hp but don't know how ducted return air works.
heater8812
post Aug 18 2022, 01:46 AM

New Member
*
Junior Member
22 posts

Joined: Dec 2021

QUOTE(Created On 21/1/2021 @ Aug 17 2022, 03:28 PM)
My living + dining is around 400sqft, is 1.5HP sufficient?
*
I dont think so. 2hp would be better. Can use Aircond Calculator to calculate how much you BTU need.
davidlow7
post Aug 18 2022, 12:05 PM

StageMaster
*******
Senior Member
8,303 posts

Joined: Jan 2003
From: Puchong Melaka Cyberjaya


QUOTE(Created On 21/1/2021 @ Aug 17 2022, 03:28 PM)
My living + dining is around 400sqft, is 1.5HP sufficient?
*
You will need at least 28,000btu which will roughly be about a
1. 2.5hp + 1hp (approx. 31,000btu)
2. 2hp + 2hp ( 35,000btu)

It is okay to spec higher Btu but not lower or ngam ngam - because your compressor would have no chance to cut off. If you are frequently setting 22c or lower then higher btu would be beneficial.

Considering taking an inverter unit because upon reaches the set temperature it would be take minimal power to maintain your room temperature - although you are likely to hear the aircon sales/technician advise against it so this is totally up to you. smile.gif

Created On 21/1/2021
post Aug 18 2022, 12:27 PM

Enthusiast
*****
Junior Member
892 posts

Joined: Jan 2021
QUOTE(davidlow7 @ Aug 18 2022, 12:05 PM)
You will need at least 28,000btu which will roughly be about a
1. 2.5hp + 1hp (approx. 31,000btu)
2. 2hp + 2hp ( 35,000btu)

It is okay to spec higher Btu but not lower or ngam ngam - because your compressor would have no chance to cut off. If you are frequently setting 22c or lower then higher btu would be beneficial.

Considering taking an inverter unit because upon reaches the set temperature it would be take minimal power to maintain your room temperature - although you are likely to hear the aircon sales/technician advise against it so this is totally up to you. smile.gif
*
Holycow. I need to readjust my budget again.
davidlow7
post Aug 18 2022, 12:53 PM

StageMaster
*******
Senior Member
8,303 posts

Joined: Jan 2003
From: Puchong Melaka Cyberjaya


QUOTE(Created On 21/1/2021 @ Aug 18 2022, 12:27 PM)
Holycow. I need to readjust my budget again.
*
Regardless if you go with inverter or not inverter - the big rule of thumb is never undersize your aircon horsepower/btu because the running cost can easily cost more than what you saved with the units.


mytaffeta
post Aug 18 2022, 01:05 PM

Regular
******
Senior Member
1,289 posts

Joined: Dec 2010


QUOTE(davidlow7 @ Aug 18 2022, 12:53 PM)
Regardless if you go with inverter or not inverter - the big rule of thumb is never undersize your aircon horsepower/btu because the running cost can easily cost more than what you saved with the units.
*
whats your comment if one like to run aircond in dry mode (low temp ie 25C) and fan at same time?
JapBoyRockS
post Aug 18 2022, 05:55 PM

Getting Started
**
Junior Member
190 posts

Joined: Oct 2008
From: Subang Jaya


QUOTE(davidlow7 @ Aug 18 2022, 12:05 PM)
You will need at least 28,000btu which will roughly be about a
1. 2.5hp + 1hp (approx. 31,000btu)
2. 2hp + 2hp ( 35,000btu)

It is okay to spec higher Btu but not lower or ngam ngam - because your compressor would have no chance to cut off. If you are frequently setting 22c or lower then higher btu would be beneficial.

Considering taking an inverter unit because upon reaches the set temperature it would be take minimal power to maintain your room temperature - although you are likely to hear the aircon sales/technician advise against it so this is totally up to you. smile.gif
*
I took 2HP + 2HP for my 500sf. Daikin FTKU for RM2850 each. No installation

This post has been edited by JapBoyRockS: Aug 18 2022, 05:55 PM
davidlow7
post Aug 18 2022, 08:16 PM

StageMaster
*******
Senior Member
8,303 posts

Joined: Jan 2003
From: Puchong Melaka Cyberjaya


QUOTE(JapBoyRockS @ Aug 18 2022, 05:55 PM)
I took 2HP + 2HP for my 500sf. Daikin FTKU for RM2850 each. No installation
*
FTKU is a good choice to go with.

You will have enough power for a 500sqf - just to make sure your ceiling height is 10ft+-?
For 12ft and above then you need to get the 2.5hp x2
JapBoyRockS
post Aug 18 2022, 08:23 PM

Getting Started
**
Junior Member
190 posts

Joined: Oct 2008
From: Subang Jaya


QUOTE(davidlow7 @ Aug 18 2022, 08:16 PM)
FTKU is a good choice to go with.

You will have enough power for a 500sqf - just to make sure your ceiling height is 10ft+-?
For 12ft and above then you need to get the 2.5hp x2
*
nopes. 9ft only. hopefully its enough, as the space is quite open, just don't know how long will it take to cool the entire place down
davidlow7
post Aug 18 2022, 09:04 PM

StageMaster
*******
Senior Member
8,303 posts

Joined: Jan 2003
From: Puchong Melaka Cyberjaya


QUOTE(JapBoyRockS @ Aug 18 2022, 08:23 PM)
nopes. 9ft only. hopefully its enough, as the space is quite open, just don't know how long will it take to cool the entire place down
*
If you can practise opening up the windows,to release the hot air before opening your aircon will help so your compressor will not need to work too hard to cool the space down.

For the sake of electric bill consumption - there is an expert advised against open both units at one go and he advised to go in stages like 1hour+ in between each as both when on together will run at maximum power (eg. 8A + 8A = 16A), although the consumption may come down faster but the calculation based on the practical tests he did was better to do in stages.

Any enthusiast may want to do their own practical tests to confirm but personally I do think it make sense, especially if you have 2 to 3 high horsepower ac running together in cooling one huge living hall. Also setting between 25c to 27c would be the best balance to manage your TNB bill + comfort.

This post has been edited by davidlow7: Aug 18 2022, 09:04 PM
JapBoyRockS
post Aug 19 2022, 01:25 PM

Getting Started
**
Junior Member
190 posts

Joined: Oct 2008
From: Subang Jaya


QUOTE(davidlow7 @ Aug 18 2022, 09:04 PM)
If you can practise opening up the windows,to release the hot air before opening your aircon will help so your compressor will not need to work too hard to cool the space down.

For the sake of electric bill consumption - there is an expert advised against open both units at one go and he advised to go in stages like 1hour+ in between each as both when on together will run at maximum power (eg. 8A + 8A = 16A), although the consumption may come down faster but the calculation based on the practical tests he did was better to do in stages.

Any enthusiast may want to do their own practical tests to confirm but personally I do think it make sense, especially if you have 2 to 3 high horsepower ac running together in cooling one huge living hall. Also setting between 25c to 27c would be the best balance to manage your TNB bill + comfort.
*
got it. thank you so much for the info. definitely very helpful!!
Momo33
post Aug 21 2022, 02:24 PM

Regular
******
Senior Member
1,185 posts

Joined: Oct 2019
QUOTE(voscar @ Aug 11 2022, 10:37 PM)
Hi, usually aircond blower outlet wind temp how much? After replace compressor feel my AC still not as cool as before, measuring about 18c on the blower outlet. Before this I never measure so don't know what is the suppose range. Technician told me the refrigerant pressure is around 150-160, R32 type, is this healthy range? Google saw should be higher 177 something above....

My room smaller 1hp AC with door wide open already 11c like that after running 15 mins...
*
temp at AC blower outlet is about 15 deg C . as measure at my 2hp Pana after service. using IR thermom..


cuttlefish
post Aug 21 2022, 05:38 PM

Casual
***
Junior Member
493 posts

Joined: May 2009
From: ~Kay eLL~


QUOTE(voscar @ Aug 11 2022, 09:37 PM)
Hi, usually aircond blower outlet wind temp how much? After replace compressor feel my AC still not as cool as before, measuring about 18c on the blower outlet. Before this I never measure so don't know what is the suppose range. Technician told me the refrigerant pressure is around 150-160, R32 type, is this healthy range? Google saw should be higher 177 something above....

My room smaller 1hp AC with door wide open already 11c like that after running 15 mins...
*
every air conditioner is slightly different in terms of the refrigerant pressure...if the technician has removed all refrigerant from the system to change the compressor, it is recommended to refill the refrigerant weight amount based on the nameplate (assuming it is not long piping where additional amount is required).

if you would like to compare temperatures, best to compare the temperature difference on the inlet (return) and outlet (supply). Eg: inlet temp 27degC, outlet temp 15degC, difference is 12degC.
Also, when you compare, set all at high fan speed, set temp lowest (force compressor run at high frequency assuming it's an inverter).
cuttlefish
post Aug 21 2022, 05:55 PM

Casual
***
Junior Member
493 posts

Joined: May 2009
From: ~Kay eLL~


QUOTE(voscar @ Aug 12 2022, 08:25 PM)
Guys, is it normal to have evaporator coil cool and wet on upper part, 18c; but warm and dry on lower part, 24c?
Or it should be consistent cold and wet?

*
what brand is this?

in my opinion it is not normal, or it may be a bad design.
the huge temperature difference means that the refrigerant may already be in superheated state. this may cause other issues such as water spitting and sweating. May be caused by insufficient refrigerant in system, or just plain poor design.
voscar
post Aug 21 2022, 09:14 PM

Regular
******
Senior Member
1,281 posts

Joined: Dec 2005
QUOTE(cuttlefish @ Aug 21 2022, 05:55 PM)
what brand is this?

in my opinion it is not normal, or it may be a bad design.
the huge temperature difference means that the refrigerant may already be in superheated state. this may cause other issues such as water spitting and sweating. May be caused by insufficient refrigerant in system, or just plain poor design.
*
Brand P...
The technician came to vacuum the refrigerant again and refill it, if pressure set to standard 150 psi 4.5A at compressor, it's not cooling. Have to increases to 170 psi 5.1A like that only it's getting cooler.

I didn't climb up to measure the coil temp, the air was cool but not as great as before problem, also morning turn on aircond time will have water boiling noise at IDU for 2 mins.

This post has been edited by voscar: Aug 21 2022, 09:15 PM
cuttlefish
post Aug 21 2022, 10:00 PM

Casual
***
Junior Member
493 posts

Joined: May 2009
From: ~Kay eLL~


QUOTE(voscar @ Aug 21 2022, 09:14 PM)
Brand P...
The technician came to vacuum the refrigerant again and refill it, if pressure set to standard 150 psi 4.5A at compressor, it's not cooling. Have to increases to 170 psi 5.1A like that only it's getting cooler.

I didn't climb up to measure the coil temp, the air was cool but not as great as before problem, also morning turn on aircond time will have water boiling noise at IDU for 2 mins.
*
is your unit still under warranty?
why did the compressor needed replacement?
manufacturer technician or 3rd party technician?
voscar
post Aug 22 2022, 08:11 AM

Regular
******
Senior Member
1,281 posts

Joined: Dec 2005
QUOTE(cuttlefish @ Aug 21 2022, 10:00 PM)
is your unit still under warranty?
why did the compressor needed replacement?
manufacturer technician or 3rd party technician?
*
Already 3.5 years unit, so left only compressor under warranty.

Few months back starting have symptom, if run higher fan speed and lower temp, the compressor will switch to very low power mode after just 5 mins of running, so I can only use higher temp 25c and fan speed 1, 2 for medium compressor speed. Then few weeks back starting not so cool, the air blew out just windy feel only, compressor refused to run higher speed already even set to lowest and full blast air. When technician came he said my gas pressure is too high at 190 psi so he releases to 150 psi, then is even worse the air blew out only 24-25c, he said it's normal but I told him it's not normal, then he proceed to claim warranty on the compressor. The strange part is why at the first place the pressure was high even though when newly install this aircond that time the technician only do measurement and didn't add refrigerant, and after years I also never get outsider to top up refrigerant also...

Manufacturer appointed 3rd party technician.
cuttlefish
post Aug 22 2022, 12:59 PM

Casual
***
Junior Member
493 posts

Joined: May 2009
From: ~Kay eLL~


QUOTE(voscar @ Aug 22 2022, 08:11 AM)
Already 3.5 years unit, so left only compressor under warranty.

Few months back starting have symptom, if run higher fan speed and lower temp, the compressor will switch to very low power mode after just 5 mins of running, so I can only use higher temp 25c and fan speed 1, 2 for medium compressor speed. Then few weeks back starting not so cool, the air blew out just windy feel only, compressor refused to run higher speed already even set to lowest and full blast air. When technician came he said my gas pressure is too high at 190 psi so he releases to 150 psi, then is even worse the air blew out only 24-25c, he said it's normal but I told him it's not normal, then he proceed to claim warranty on the compressor. The strange part is why at the first place the pressure was high even though when newly install this aircond that time the technician only do measurement and didn't add refrigerant, and after years I also never get outsider to top up refrigerant also...

Manufacturer appointed 3rd party technician.
*
did the technician provide you with the site attendance report?

190psi is indeed high.
could be caused by the system was not properly vacuumed last time, causing air to enter the refrigerant system.

hopefully, proper vacuuming was done this time during the compressor change. can just continue to monitor, if the performance is still not up to expectation, continue to file for complaint since the compressor is still under warranty.
voscar
post Aug 22 2022, 08:38 PM

Regular
******
Senior Member
1,281 posts

Joined: Dec 2005
QUOTE(cuttlefish @ Aug 22 2022, 12:59 PM)
did the technician provide you with the site attendance report?

190psi is indeed high.
could be caused by the system was not properly vacuumed last time, causing air to enter the refrigerant system.

hopefully, proper vacuuming was done this time during the compressor change. can just continue to monitor, if the performance is still not up to expectation, continue to file for complaint since the compressor is still under warranty.
*
No, don't have report, invoice for service labor yes

573 Pages « < 566 567 568 569 570 > » Top
 

Change to:
| Lo-Fi Version
0.0185sec    0.38    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 26th November 2022 - 11:23 PM