Aircon Discussion V3, Home Appliance

pesona3F
post May 19 2021, 12:21 AM

133 posts

QUOTE(ceo684 @ May 18 2021, 07:53 PM)
You mean you wanna stuff in the cassette in, where the clearance height from ceiling is 13in (330mm)?

The height of the cassette itself is roughly 300mm at the smallest size.
https://www.daikin.com.my/daikin_products/f...f-series-r410a/

It may need a bit (like few inches) of drop though, as the larger units are closer to 350mm with panel.
Yes, i saw mitaubishi slim series got height of 250mm for 2.5hp and below.. how about that one?
SUSceo684
post May 19 2021, 12:30 AM

Component Burner
11,667 posts

QUOTE(ThengTurtle @ May 18 2021, 11:46 PM)
Sis, the hitachi model you recommend no more stock. I have similar sizing, can recommend any good Interverter ac, fast cooling and cost savings other than pana. I'm open to any brand as long can tahan 10yrs and above la. Dont want buy 5yrs then change new one.
Hi there,
Whilst the standard inverter (X CJ) pretty much sold out by now, there's still some of the deluxe model (SX CJ) IDU around (RAS-SX10CJ , RAS-SX13CJ) - same ODU as the X10CJ/X13CJ, the SX IDU got additional feature.
Might need to see if the cashback and other shopee promo works for you price-wise:
Can check here or here

Alternatively, also can consider the Sharp AHX9VED2 for 1hp (9700btu) and AHX12VED2 1.3hp (12k btu).
These two have 5star ST as well, running cost pretty low. However sharp is 1/5 wty (hitachi 2/10 wty).
Based on my partner's house being a "wannabe sharp showroom" seems to last pretty well (no major issue).

https://my.sharp/products/air-care/10hp-j-t...tioner-ahx9ved2
Around 1169

https://my.sharp/products/air-care/15hp-j-t...ioner-ahx12ved2
Around 1419

Daikin FTKU series is also 5* ST, and cooling performance on par with the above (FTKU28AV1LF 1hp (9,700 btu) ; FTKU35AV1LF 1.3hp (12,100 btu)).
the basic economy FTKF series is 4* and not that great cooling performance.
https://www.daikin.com.my/daikin_products/ftku-series/

The better models have better inverters to achieve the 5* ST.
The economy range have to cut corner everywhere to achieve cheap pricepoint. sweat.gif

This post has been edited by ceo684: May 19 2021, 12:32 AM
ThengTurtle
post May 19 2021, 10:32 AM

21 posts

QUOTE(ceo684 @ May 19 2021, 12:30 AM)
Hi there,
Whilst the standard inverter (X CJ) pretty much sold out by now, there's still some of the deluxe model (SX CJ) IDU around (RAS-SX10CJ , RAS-SX13CJ) - same ODU as the X10CJ/X13CJ, the SX IDU got additional feature.
Might need to see if the cashback and other shopee promo works for you price-wise:
Can check here or here

Alternatively, also can consider the Sharp AHX9VED2 for 1hp (9700btu) and AHX12VED2 1.3hp (12k btu).
These two have 5star ST as well, running cost pretty low. However sharp is 1/5 wty (hitachi 2/10 wty).
Based on my partner's house being a "wannabe sharp showroom" seems to last pretty well (no major issue).

https://my.sharp/products/air-care/10hp-j-t...tioner-ahx9ved2
Around 1169

https://my.sharp/products/air-care/15hp-j-t...ioner-ahx12ved2
Around 1419

Daikin FTKU series is also 5* ST, and cooling performance on par with the above (FTKU28AV1LF 1hp (9,700 btu) ; FTKU35AV1LF 1.3hp (12,100 btu)).
the basic economy FTKF series is 4* and not that great cooling performance.
https://www.daikin.com.my/daikin_products/ftku-series/

The better models have better inverters to achieve the 5* ST.
The economy range have to cut corner everywhere to achieve cheap pricepoint.  sweat.gif
rclxms.gif rclxms.gif rclxms.gif thanks sis! i dont mind to have mix and match of ac in my house. maybe i will get different brand (sharp, daikin, hitachi, pana icon_rolleyes.gif) at each room brows.gif brows.gif

This post has been edited by ThengTurtle: May 19 2021, 10:36 AM
coolguy99
post May 19 2021, 04:16 PM

7,351 posts

QUOTE(ThengTurtle @ May 19 2021, 10:32 AM)
rclxms.gif  rclxms.gif  rclxms.gif thanks sis! i dont mind to have mix and match of ac in my house. maybe i will get different brand (sharp, daikin, hitachi, pana  icon_rolleyes.gif) at each room  brows.gif  brows.gif
I would still prefer to have the same brand of aircond in my house. When it comes to maintenance it will be easier.
joeblow
post May 19 2021, 04:40 PM

1,144 posts

QUOTE(coolguy99 @ May 19 2021, 04:16 PM)
I would still prefer to have the same brand of aircond in my house. When it comes to maintenance it will be easier.
Actually why it would be easier when it comes to maintenance? Actually a real example, a friend of mine bought the daikin inverter series at the same time when she moved house. Not the cheap ones btw. Then a couple of years later all the inverter aircons breakdown one by one within few months, board issue. Out of warranty and the fix is very expensive. Maybe that batch got the problem. So sometimes better to mix and match.
mini orchard
post May 19 2021, 05:27 PM

14,511 posts

QUOTE(joeblow @ May 19 2021, 04:40 PM)
Actually why it would be easier when it comes to maintenance? Actually a real example, a friend of mine bought the daikin inverter series at the same time when she moved house. Not the cheap ones btw. Then a couple of years later all the inverter aircons breakdown one by one within few months, board issue. Out of warranty and the fix is very expensive. Maybe that batch got the problem. So sometimes better to mix and match.
I only use 1 brand ac and have a total of 16 units in 3 places. At the moment keeping 3 condemn units for trouble shooting and spare parts. All my current ac are more than 15 years

So when technician says, sensor problem, I give him sensor to test, if is module, I give him module, if outdoor fan motor, I give him one. Not necessary to take to shop to troubleshoot.

I dont buy new ac unless necessary. If compressor condemn, I just replace the compressor. Replace a 1hp new compressor last year for RM550 including labour and refrigerant.

This post has been edited by mini orchard: May 19 2021, 05:41 PM
SUSceo684
post May 19 2021, 08:46 PM

Component Burner
11,667 posts

QUOTE(ThengTurtle @ May 19 2021, 10:32 AM)
rclxms.gif  rclxms.gif  rclxms.gif thanks sis! i dont mind to have mix and match of ac in my house. maybe i will get different brand (sharp, daikin, hitachi, pana  icon_rolleyes.gif) at each room  brows.gif  brows.gif
Technically my parents place also mix of Toshiba dinosaurs, Mitsu, and Hitachi.

QUOTE(coolguy99 @ May 19 2021, 04:16 PM)
Same maintenance, it doesnt break down often, and prevent cross signal if u have two in living room of diff brands.

QUOTE(joeblow @ May 19 2021, 04:40 PM)
Same brand can swap parts or remote around. Or one SPOC if all from 1 brand then 1 technician (official) can touch all..other than that it doesnt break down often all at the same time unless its very old (like 15 yrs plus dinosaurs due to electronic failure)

QUOTE(mini orchard @ May 19 2021, 05:27 PM)
I only use 1 brand ac and have a total of 16 units in 3 places. At the moment keeping 3 condemn units for trouble shooting and spare parts. All my current ac are more than 15 years

So when technician says, sensor problem, I give him sensor to test, if is module, I give him module, if outdoor fan motor, I give him one. Not necessary to take to shop to troubleshoot.

I dont buy new ac unless necessary. If compressor condemn, I just replace the compressor. Replace a 1hp new compressor last year for RM550 including labour and refrigerant.
Can cannibalise lah like having own junkyard.. but by the time it may make economic sense to change to modern inverter, since OPEX of dinosaur is high. I had one dinosaur unit 1.5hp running 24/7 for one month the bill balloon to 900. Typically its 130-140 w/o aircon. After that billshock scared to use edi.
mini orchard
post May 19 2021, 09:12 PM

14,511 posts

QUOTE(ceo684 @ May 19 2021, 08:46 PM)
Can cannibalise lah like having own junkyard.. but by the time it may make economic sense to change to modern inverter, since OPEX of dinosaur is high. I had one dinosaur unit 1.5hp running 24/7 for one month the bill balloon to 900. Typically its 130-140 w/o aircon. After that billshock scared to use edi.
My energy bill for the past years have been around RM300 to RM400 per month for my primary house. AC is serviced every 12 months with 2 minor service in between.

I know a technical guy from the manufacturer who does the maintenance on a freelance basis and advise accordingly.

asrul
post May 19 2021, 09:28 PM

1,219 posts

QUOTE(ceo684 @ May 18 2021, 12:23 AM)
Yup, it should be compared against those in standard series (not economy series) like FTKU/X-Deluxe.

Its not very old as its still a R32 unit..no wifi and stuff but as a cooling device its pretty good that it can easily beat any eco series in the same price range (sub-RM1300) or even the newer CKM economy series (CJ came out, then CKM) that cost more than it.
After that phase out on the CJ probably because too good they cannot make much money on it.

If you want wifi then have to look at X-Deluxe, X-Premium + wifi module and the likes but price wise another level.
Wifi to me is still nice-to-have (not must have), since all also come with remote.
so apparently the hitachi shop in lazada said that that one is clearance stock and no more.

got this one seller offer me

Panasonic
CS-XPU10 - RM1650 include standard installation
CS-XPU13 - rm2080 include standard installation

Daikin
FTKF25A-MF - RM1600 include standard installation
FTKF35A-MF - rm1900 include standard installtion.

once again Mr. CEO, this is entry level right?

And how about sharp SHARP 1.0HP R32 AIRCOND J-TECH INVERTER - AHX9VED2 ?

This post has been edited by asrul: May 19 2021, 11:23 PM
SUSceo684
post May 20 2021, 12:31 AM

Component Burner
11,667 posts

QUOTE(asrul @ May 19 2021, 09:28 PM)
so apparently the hitachi shop in lazada said that that one is clearance stock and no more.

got this one seller offer me

Panasonic
CS-XPU10 - RM1650 include standard installation
CS-XPU13 - rm2080 include standard installation

Daikin
FTKF25A-MF - RM1600 include standard installation
FTKF35A-MF - rm1900 include standard installtion.

Yeah thats why ask you to grab before this. As CJ discontinued after they launch the CKM series tongue.gif

Ms. CEO actually wave.gif

Either that Pana X Deluxe or Sharp will work fine.
You can compare btu and price between series and 1/1.3hp.
Last time CJ series hitachi strong player for both 1 and 1.3hp, but comparison wise I think to get best price/performance need to take from 2 diff brands nowadays.

More deets in my earlier reply to ThengTurtle.
Between economy class FTKF vs CKM hitachi, i think CKM cheaper pricewise for similar performance.
FTKF 1hp cooling performance weak. 9000btu only laugh.gif
FTKF 1.3hp cooling performance ok but 4star.
The better aircons are 5star and high btu capacity for its class.
frostfrench
post May 21 2021, 10:03 AM

465 posts

Going to buy 6 aircons ( sharp and panasonic) for my new house, which retail shop do u guys usually go to? I was thinking sengheng. I am base in KL

Any suggestions will be appreciated
mini orchard
post May 21 2021, 11:55 AM

14,511 posts

QUOTE(frostfrench @ May 21 2021, 10:03 AM)
Going to buy 6 aircons ( sharp and panasonic) for my new house, which retail shop do u guys usually go to? I was thinking sengheng. I am base in KL

Any suggestions will be appreciated
Buy from shop that offer best price. Afterall, appliances come from one source only.

Check with HLK....their pricing ok. 80% of my appliances from them.

This post has been edited by mini orchard: May 21 2021, 11:58 AM
StevenL
post May 21 2021, 12:23 PM

732 posts

QUOTE(asrul @ May 19 2021, 09:28 PM)
i can attest that this is an excellent model with 5 star rated energy, quiet and good for small bedroom. Been using it more than a year and service annually

This post has been edited by StevenL: May 23 2021, 12:19 AM
kucingfight
post May 21 2021, 02:09 PM

5,784 posts

QUOTE(kucingfight @ Apr 12 2021, 10:03 AM)
so i installed 1 unit each of Midea inverter last week(MSXS10CRN8/13CRN8)

also thanks to the input here (especially @ceo864)
my choice of midea comes to:

- price (for sure, it's one of the cheapest in the range of Haier, Hisense etc). too bad Gree inverter isnt easily available
- my previous 1st gen inverter Midea (r22) kong after 10yrs. so that gives a confidence on the reliability
- for the given price difference, actually i don't see much of a difference (maybe i'm wrong) with functionlaity/technical workings of normal vs ultra premium inverters. well in that case, if it fails after 5yr..then juz change a new one
Experience so far, has been good, only for 2days.
cooling is cool and quiet
I would say i'm satisfied for the price paid (especially with 18months installements w/o interest)
Items bought from shopee, with installation. link is here for those who are interested
installer is good and did a professional job (measuring, checking leveller etc)
i have no affiliation to them, juz good experience

https://shopee.com.my/product/52358338/1734327075[attachmentid=10839058]
so out of curiosity i bought a power monitor.
for 1hp inverter midea. equilibrium @ 26c = 1.1A , @ 27c = @ 1.4A

pretty accurate to manufacture's claim
ThengTurtle
post May 21 2021, 04:20 PM

21 posts

QUOTE(mini orchard @ May 21 2021, 11:55 AM)
Buy from shop that offer best price. Afterall, appliances come from one source only.

Check with HLK....their pricing ok. 80% of my appliances from them.
Can i have full name/address of HLK? Or ada link boleh share?
mini orchard
post May 21 2021, 04:40 PM

14,511 posts

QUOTE(ThengTurtle @ May 21 2021, 04:20 PM)
They have many outlets .... all found in google.
SUSceo684
post May 21 2021, 07:55 PM

Component Burner
11,667 posts

QUOTE(ThengTurtle @ May 21 2021, 04:20 PM)
"HLK electrical" google search will get u the necessary.
Can also compare w Legend SS2 few shops beside murni, or TBM in OKR.
asrul
post May 22 2021, 11:44 PM

1,219 posts

QUOTE(ceo684 @ May 20 2021, 12:31 AM)
Yeah thats why ask you to grab before this. As CJ discontinued after they launch the CKM series tongue.gif

Ms. CEO actually wave.gif

Either that Pana X Deluxe or Sharp will work fine.
You can compare btu and price between series and 1/1.3hp.
Last time CJ series hitachi strong player for both 1 and 1.3hp, but comparison wise I think to get best price/performance need to take from 2 diff brands nowadays.

More deets in my earlier reply to ThengTurtle.
Between economy class FTKF vs CKM hitachi, i think CKM cheaper pricewise for similar performance.
FTKF 1hp cooling performance weak. 9000btu only laugh.gif
FTKF 1.3hp cooling performance ok but 4star.
The better aircons are 5star and high btu capacity for its class.
here come another issue rclxub.gif
the shop that i deal with cant install at my condo as they dont want to do covid test for their workers.
requirement by my condo during mco.

the other seller offer me

Acson 1hp @ A3WMY10N, 1.5HP @ A3WMY15N
Daikin 1hp @ FTKF25A, 1.5HP @ FTKF35A

again, i know Daikin here is the low end. how about the acson?

thanks.
SUSceo684
post May 22 2021, 11:58 PM

Component Burner
11,667 posts

QUOTE(asrul @ May 22 2021, 11:44 PM)
here come another issue  rclxub.gif
the shop that i deal with cant install at my condo as they dont want to do covid test for their workers.
requirement by my condo during mco.
the other seller offer me

Acson 1hp @ A3WMY10N, 1.5HP @ A3WMY15N
Daikin 1hp @ FTKF25A, 1.5HP @ FTKF35A

again, i know Daikin here is the low end. how about the acson?

thanks.
Hmm they come from same birthplace factory. Both also 4star ST.

For 1hp acson one is rated similarly low end 9k btu but acson one have better reserve capacity for turbo mode (close to 10k btu). The 1hp FTKF is far from a standard contender tongue.gif

For 1.3hp should be very similar performance between these two. I'd say take whichever is cheaper.

Indoor A3WMY 10N / A3WMY 15N
Outdoor A3LCY 10F9 / A3LCY 15F
Nominal Cooling Capacity
BTU/h 9000 (4400-9900) / 12100 (4400-13000)

FTKF
9,000 (3,400-9,200) 12,300 (4,100-13,000)

This post has been edited by ceo684: May 22 2021, 11:59 PM
asrul
post May 23 2021, 12:07 AM

1,219 posts

QUOTE(ceo684 @ May 22 2021, 11:58 PM)
Hmm they come from same birthplace factory. Both also 4star ST.

For 1hp acson one is rated similarly low end 9k btu but acson one have better reserve capacity for turbo mode (close to 10k btu). The 1hp FTKF is far from a standard contender tongue.gif

For 1.3hp should be very similar performance between these two. I'd say take whichever is cheaper.

Indoor A3WMY 10N / A3WMY 15N
Outdoor A3LCY 10F9 / A3LCY 15F
Nominal Cooling Capacity
BTU/h 9000 (4400-9900) / 12100 (4400-13000)

FTKF
9,000 (3,400-9,200) 12,300 (4,100-13,000)
found the excel link and i might be considering this (subject to availability) - actually midea is on top of the list.. but i dont know somehow i am afraid to go with it doh.gif

Hitachi RAS-SX10CJ
Hitachi RAS-X10CJ
Hitachi RAS-VX10CJ
Acson A3WMY10AP
Daikin FTKH28
Daikin FTKU28A
Sharp AHX9VED2
Panasonic CS-PU9WKH
Panasonic CS-XPU10WKH
Mitsubishi Electric MSY-GR10VF

670 Pages « < 501 502 503 504 505 > » Top