HLA Saving Plan

TSmkyterryteh
post Jun 8 2015, 02:49 PM, updated 11y ago

89 posts

Hi, I was approached by an agent recently from one of the agency under HLA.

From the way he proposed to me, the plan is more or less like this.

It is a 6 years saving plan, for eg, if you deposit 10k/y, you will have return of 2k every year. which is 20% of it.

On top of it, on the 2nd year of your deposit, they will give you another 5.25% on top of your return. This can be explained like this:

1st year - 2k (return)
2nd year - 2k (return) + 5.25% + 1st year 2k = 2nd year total return.
3rd year - continue from above calculation.

It is basically a compound interest of 5.25% every year until maximum 30 years.

During your time of saving, if you wish to withdraw out, yes you may but it will have surrender value which means the value that you are getting back is definitely not high (exact amount is not explained)

The agent said this whole plan is covered under PIDM which even one day the company close down or anything bad happen to the company, PIDM will assure you will gain back 100% of it. As compared to plan that's not covered under PIDM, you may get back maybe 20-30% of it only.

So, I am here asking all the seniors and sifus.

Opinions?
TSmkyterryteh
post Jun 8 2015, 03:13 PM

89 posts

QUOTE(cherroy @ Jun 8 2015, 02:58 PM)
The 20% is not "return" or "interest" but "cashback".

Please get this understanding right for starting point.

The 2K comes from your portion of 10K. It is not 10K +2k.
So if this is the case, if I were to quit after some period I have invested in, will I get back the "cashback" and the 10k that I have invested into?
TSmkyterryteh
post Jun 8 2015, 04:34 PM

89 posts

QUOTE(adele123 @ Jun 8 2015, 04:24 PM)
No... Wrong concept... this is NOT investment...

anyway long story short, you will get back less than what you have paid for upfront.
Yes, it's true. the agent did explained me about "get back less than what you have paid for upfront".

Just another stupid questions of mine, as I never place any money into FD.

If you withdraw from FD during the tenure year, will I get back the exact amount as I paid for upfront? Or will it be lesser as well?
TSmkyterryteh
post Jun 8 2015, 05:15 PM

89 posts

QUOTE(cherroy @ Jun 8 2015, 04:43 PM)
You can premature uplift FD anytime, even you have put it as 1 year or 5 years FD.
You will get back all the principal just sacrifice the interest or interest become half of the interest rate for the completed period.

Eg. you put 10k 1 year FD at 4%, after 6 months, you decided to uplift the FD lump sum, you will be getting back 10K + may be around RM100 (half of the 4% for the completed 6 months)

But in saving plan, you cannot uplift any principal, unless premature surrender the plan, and what you can get back is the surrender value of the plan on the completed period.
Look for the table, there should be a full table listed out the surrender value with year completed.
Thank you for explaining to me about the FD plan. Hmmm, it does have the table.

But the agent mentioned we can always go for monthly/quarterly/half-yearly/yearly. I am not able to "deposit" a whole lumsum of money for yearly. But for monthly I bet I am able to as the agent does not force me to have any minimum value to deposit into. So rm100 is still fine. Just that the interest would be lower.
TSmkyterryteh
post Jun 8 2015, 06:04 PM

89 posts

QUOTE(-Davidoff- @ Jun 8 2015, 05:46 PM)
All the HLA agent is misleading their client through this scheme, that why you can see many 126 cars around the world. It seems like a very good scheme, but i can assure that 10/20 years later, you look back at your saving in Hong Leong, the cash value you left is not much.

It defeat the purpose is you get into this scheme. what is the purpose of saving plan? you save it and you hope that 10/20 years later, any emergency, you can use it as a retirement fund, education fund, etc.
Maybe we have this wrong idea about Hong leong. I will need to have this clearly calculation before I do any decision before hand then.

To me, I will just want to have some saving at the later stage as I know for sure that myself is not able to have saving if it's in my saving account. I will definitely spent it.

So only I will consider about this plan. I am going for a long term saving.
TSmkyterryteh
post Jun 8 2015, 06:06 PM

89 posts

QUOTE(cherroy @ Jun 8 2015, 05:37 PM)
Yearly, quarterly or monthly make no different one, 6000 per year has no different with 500 per month.

If you are not able to pay the premium due for the saving plan, it may result in premature surrender the plan.
It is not the like FD you deposit at your wish, and at whatever amount.

Once you signed to take up 15 years saving plan, you have to commit into it, disregard you have money or not.

Saving plan is not "deposit", please don't let the agent mislead you.
It is called premium that you are obliged to pay.
There's no 15 years saving plan as the agent told me. At most also 6 years maximum.

6 years maximum, 7th year onwards we does not need to save any further. But the interest will keep on coming in.

I know I sounds pretty stupid in writting this but I do wish some experts out there would help to elaborate or explain anything behind what the agent said to me.
TSmkyterryteh
post Jun 8 2015, 06:15 PM

89 posts

QUOTE(Pink Spider @ Jun 8 2015, 06:07 PM)
1. For that time frame (15-20 years or more), unit trusts or even investment in blue chip stocks can be way more rewarding.
2. Are u 100% sure that u can commit to that plan without premature withdrawal? If no, try FD laddering instead. The pain of loss FD interest is painful enough for some to not withdraw the FD(s).

Such "savings plans" is only good for people who have absolutely zero financial discipline and/or knowledge.
Hmmm. So sifu is advising to go for FD instead of this plan?

If you're the agent, how would you sell this plan to use then?

TSmkyterryteh
post Jun 8 2015, 06:33 PM

89 posts

QUOTE(AVFAN @ Jun 8 2015, 06:24 PM)
will just say "i am from hong leong".

so that u think it is a great bank investment.

does not say it is hl assurance, insurance. nothing to do with the normal hl bank.

full of traps!!
Why is there a difference if u tell others you're from Hong leong or Hong leong assurance? Adter all the plan is the same. Correct me if im wrong.
TSmkyterryteh
post Jun 9 2015, 11:21 AM

89 posts

QUOTE(ShinG3e @ Jun 9 2015, 11:19 AM)
same reason why people should not mix wife with mistress.

different thing different function.
So it sounds to me this is pretty much an investment huh?

Is basically giving back your own money rather than so called "additional return on top of your amount given?"

0.0149sec    1.06    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 19th December 2025 - 09:40 AM