Tiles for bathroom
TSjoeekh
Jun 7 2015, 11:08 AM, updated 11y ago
Guys, I'm planning to renovate my new condo and one of the thing that I wanted to do is changing the tiles of the bathroom.
I've been googling around, check Goucerra, white horse, feruni and mml website, went to few showrooms. Most of the tiles that I like is made of ceramic.
I wanna know if ceramic tiles suitable to be used in bathroom? Been reading that ceramic tiles is more porous and tends to absorb water, so I'm worry if it will cause water leakage or crack.
Pls advise and thanks.
TSjoeekh
Jun 8 2015, 10:05 AM
Sifu Sifu sekalian..anyone that can advise? Thanks
Kopilowyat
Jun 8 2015, 03:34 PM
Cant help, I only know ceramic tiles. And please ensure you did water proofing before you reno your bathroom floor tiles. If wall tiles, should be ok.
SUSsupersound
Jun 8 2015, 03:42 PM
You may use marble if you have money. Frankly, who will bother on what tiles being used in toilet? What more important is the water proofing done.
McFD2R
Jun 8 2015, 05:23 PM
It doesn't matter what type the tiles are generally. As long as it looks nice to you and waterproofing is done properly, then you will have no issue. I would only suggest that you go for matte tiles in the toilet for some abrasive feel when you walk to avoid slipping.
itekderp
Jun 8 2015, 09:02 PM
QUOTE(McFD2R @ Jun 8 2015, 05:23 PM) It doesn't matter what type the tiles are generally. As long as it looks nice to you and waterproofing is done properly, then you will have no issue. I would only suggest that you go for matte tiles in the toilet for some abrasive feel when you walk to avoid slipping. Wtf is waterproofing? Does it come with new houses or do I have to do it myself?
jeshem
Jun 8 2015, 10:11 PM

QUOTE(itekderp @ Jun 8 2015, 09:02 PM) Wtf is waterproofing? Does it come with new houses or do I have to do it myself? Yes, for new house, developer will provide for you. But if you want to reno, which is hacking the existing tiles and replace with new tiles, it might break the water proofing provided by developer. Water proofing can be costly. If only simple injection, few hundreds will do. But I am not professional, I can't tell what's the difference between simple injection and actual water proofing layer.
SUSsupersound
Jun 9 2015, 09:50 AM
QUOTE(jeshem @ Jun 8 2015, 10:11 PM) Yes, for new house, developer will provide for you. But if you want to reno, which is hacking the existing tiles and replace with new tiles, it might break the water proofing provided by developer. Water proofing can be costly. If only simple injection, few hundreds will do. But I am not professional, I can't tell what's the difference between simple injection and actual water proofing layer. Trust me, don't do single injection, it won't solve the problem sometimes.
TSjoeekh
Jun 9 2015, 10:30 AM
Bt I read thru and ceramic is more porous, so absorb more water. Over time won't cause issue?
hushymushy
Jun 9 2015, 10:33 AM
actually ceramic tiles are ok for floor and bathing area, just need to make sure water proofing has been done properly
for wall tiles, usually the water just splash on it and then the water will flow down to the floor
for the floor, if you have ponding and water is not flowing to the drainage hole, then that needs to be fixed
hushymushy
Jun 9 2015, 10:34 AM
delete - double posted
This post has been edited by hushymushy: Jun 9 2015, 10:34 AM
Iceman74
Jun 9 2015, 11:12 AM
want to ask, if water proofing really works on long term? I have see waterproofing fail after few years especially those in condo/apartment. need to do re-tiling after 5~10 years above. Any other better solution?
This post has been edited by Iceman74: Jun 9 2015, 11:12 AM
SUSsupersound
Jun 9 2015, 12:32 PM
QUOTE(joeekh @ Jun 9 2015, 10:30 AM) Bt I read thru and ceramic is more porous, so absorb more water. Over time won't cause issue? Nope, water will sip in through the gaps. QUOTE(Iceman74 @ Jun 9 2015, 11:12 AM) want to ask, if water proofing really works on long term? I have see waterproofing fail after few years especially those in condo/apartment. need to do re-tiling after 5~10 years above. Any other better solution? That's because they never do a proper work.
TSjoeekh
Jun 10 2015, 11:02 PM
QUOTE(hushymushy @ Jun 9 2015, 10:33 AM) actually ceramic tiles are ok for floor and bathing area, just need to make sure water proofing has been done properly for wall tiles, usually the water just splash on it and then the water will flow down to the floor for the floor, if you have ponding and water is not flowing to the drainage hole, then that needs to be fixed Okok..so as long as water proofing is done nicely, it doesn't matter much if it is ceramic or porcelain tiles being used? How about for kitchen top? Advisable to use ceramic tiles for kitchen top or porcelain will be better? Thanks...
sycubezz
Jun 11 2015, 12:04 PM

QUOTE(joeekh @ Jun 10 2015, 11:02 PM) Okok..so as long as water proofing is done nicely, it doesn't matter much if it is ceramic or porcelain tiles being used? How about for kitchen top? Advisable to use ceramic tiles for kitchen top or porcelain will be better? Thanks... Any kind of tiles is ok. Just make sure the floor leveling is done properly to fall(no water ponding) and proper installation of waterproofing system you will be fine.
TSjoeekh
Jun 11 2015, 12:33 PM
QUOTE(sycubezz @ Jun 11 2015, 12:04 PM) Any kind of tiles is ok. Just make sure the floor leveling is done properly to fall(no water ponding) and proper installation of waterproofing system you will be fine.  Ok..kamsiah
junbecks
Jun 24 2015, 01:25 PM

when you guys say water proofing, do you mean the water proof board is under the tiles?
Or is the water proofing material somehow in the grout and on the tile?
areankim
Jun 24 2015, 11:22 PM
I have friend who tiles ontop of the existing without hacking the old 1. Is it ok?
peri peri
Jul 20 2015, 02:51 PM
QUOTE(joeekh @ Jun 7 2015, 11:08 AM) Guys, I'm planning to renovate my new condo and one of the thing that I wanted to do is changing the tiles of the bathroom. I've been googling around, check Goucerra, white horse, feruni and mml website, went to few showrooms. Most of the tiles that I like is made of ceramic. I wanna know if ceramic tiles suitable to be used in bathroom? Been reading that ceramic tiles is more porous and tends to absorb water, so I'm worry if it will cause water leakage or crack. Pls advise and thanks. try porcelain type or homogenous type MML and NIRO got good range of homogenous type. Its perfect for toilet floor.
peri peri
Jul 20 2015, 02:51 PM
QUOTE(areankim @ Jun 24 2015, 11:22 PM) I have friend who tiles ontop of the existing without hacking the old 1. Is it ok? Its not ok. It will pop out one day
Jul 20 2015, 03:19 PM
Most of u have focused in waterproofing or porous issue. But hardness of tile is important too. Porcelain can receive/tahan higher impact than ceramic tiles. You may have something heavy fell onto ground and damage ceramic surface.
Also, most ceramic surfaces are polished and smooth. Pls choose a matte and non slippery tile for safety and easier maintenance.
peri peri
Jul 20 2015, 03:37 PM
QUOTE(1144 @ Jul 20 2015, 03:19 PM) Most of u have focused in waterproofing or porous issue. But hardness of tile is important too. Porcelain can receive/tahan higher impact than ceramic tiles. You may have something heavy fell onto ground and damage ceramic surface. Also, most ceramic surfaces are polished and smooth. Pls choose a matte and non slippery tile for safety and easier maintenance. in construction terms for ceramic we got glazed wall tiles and matte floor tiles on ceramic type. They are not polished, just that they have a clear coating called glazed finished
Jul 20 2015, 09:47 PM
Yup, peri-peri. Thanks for the correction.
If really want ceramic for floor, at least go for matte and non slippery tile. Anyway, my personal preference is porcelain tile.
SUSkockroach
Jul 21 2015, 09:35 AM
QUOTE(peri peri @ Jul 20 2015, 02:51 PM) Its not ok. It will pop out one day if my living hall floor, I put the laminated wood flooring directly on the existing tiles, will it pop out one day too?
peri peri
Jul 21 2015, 04:25 PM
QUOTE(kockroach @ Jul 21 2015, 09:35 AM) if my living hall floor, I put the laminated wood flooring directly on the existing tiles, will it pop out one day too? if laminate floor and in room then ok. coz dry area.
frequency
Sep 2 2016, 10:11 AM
Hi , i think someone has shared the facebook page here before for fixing ponding issue due to tile level, that without rehack all tiles.
any idea?
MariaHodge
Sep 2 2016, 05:24 PM
Great ideas shared...
billyboy
Sep 2 2016, 08:27 PM
Niro Granite sale on tiles today until sunday. They claim up to 60% off. Cheapest is rm2.5/sqft. Higher for gloss finish.
Pls check it out yourself. I have no relationship with NiroGranite.
Ice BabY
Sep 2 2016, 10:15 PM
Bought a house in semenyih, how do i know developer done a good job for waterproofing?