LYN Christian Fellowship V10 (Group)

de1929
post Aug 2 2015, 05:46 PM

1,920 posts

QUOTE(pehkay @ Aug 2 2015, 07:32 AM)
You do realize that it is one of those KJV versus all other translations website. biggrin.gif

The quickest response is here: http://www.gotquestions.org/missing-verses.html

Most older ones have the verses but have footnotes telling us whether it is present in other manuscript etc. etc. I personally like those versions than NIV. But that is just my IMO.

Contrary to what some in the KJV-only camp would have you believe, the NIV translators are not trying to lead you into the lake of fire by deceiving you with false translations. Many of the so-called "missing verses" are referenced in the side-column of your NIV Bible. The only reason they were left out is that the translators of the NIV honestly believed that the evidence was overwhelmingly against those verses being part of the original writing.

(I don't have time to get into the long version of textual criticism tongue.gif) but at least believe me that divine revelation revealed in the text (even though there is 5%-7% variants) is 100% intact.

Just please don't ever try to use this thing as a Christ versus text/context/His Word excuse .... it will be a joke later tongue.gif

Cheers!

P.S. (Don't get me started on some of the wrong translations introduced by KJV which perpetuate some existing wrong doctrines today)
Thanks a lot !... thumbup.gif thumbup.gif thumbup.gif

i limit this discussion only for missing verses, not to broaden it with Christ vs text/context/His Word excuse. thumbup.gif

In regard to side-column things, i just realized it's there for NIV paper bible. But my NIV in android / ipad don't have hahaha... i don't want to discourage NIV users, i just simply express i just realized. That's all

This post has been edited by de1929: Aug 2 2015, 05:47 PM
loud
post Aug 2 2015, 09:42 PM

373 posts

QUOTE(unknown warrior @ Aug 2 2015, 04:13 PM)
Shifting the goal post so fast? Earlier you mentioned how hard is it for the thief (indicating that it's not that hard) to introduce new mental habits and would Jesus accepts his plea if it was from selfish ambition. Now you say it's hard.  biggrin.gif
That is not what i meant, sorry for the bad phrasing... i must have mistaken what you mean by "How difficult was it for Him to attain Salvation?" and reply with the same tune... laugh.gif

So how much time did the dying thief devote himself strenuously to contemplate or meditate that impressed Jesus so much, He gave him freely the gift of Salvation?  smile.gif
Because right now you're giving the picture, devotees of other religion spends a lot of time meditating and all that. Remember that He's hung on the cross with his hands and feet nailed.
It will depends on one's pre-existing mindset, volition and many other factors.
Just like how hard it is to overcome grief when someone close to us dies, how hard it is for criminal to truly repent...etc will depends on circumstances...different people, different emotional repertoire, different proclivity, fortitude, external situation, support...etc
Again "by how hard" i don't meant to say it is easy... doh.gif

And there is not much detail about the thief on the cross so there's big room for speculation. Anyway, there is no absolute answer for this argument if we were to apply the same event to different people. The point i'm making is- if the sinful tendency still persist within the believer, it might jeopardize salvation.

Answer this first and I'll attend to your other questions about Cain and Abel and about resting in God producing the works of God in the believers life. That too and what you quoted above is erroneous doctrine in your context.

I'm fine with error and look forward to upgrade my arguments.

unknown warrior
post Aug 2 2015, 10:04 PM

/k/ Legend
6,240 posts

QUOTE(loud @ Aug 2 2015, 09:42 PM)
That is not what i meant, sorry for the bad phrasing... i must have mistaken what you mean by "How difficult was it for Him to attain Salvation?" and reply with the same tune...  laugh.gif
It will depends on one's pre-existing mindset, volition and many other factors.
Just like how hard it is to overcome grief when someone close to us dies, how hard it is for criminal to truly repent...etc will depends on circumstances...different people, different emotional repertoire, different proclivity, fortitude, external situation, support...etc
Again "by how hard" i don't meant to say it is easy... doh.gif

And there is not much detail about the thief on the cross so there's big room for speculation. Anyway, there is no absolute answer for this argument if we were to apply the same event to different people. The point i'm making is- if the sinful tendency still persist within the believer, it might jeopardize salvation.
I'm fine with error and look forward to upgrade my arguments.
So what did the thief do remove that sinful tendency? You'er not really able to answer what you're suggesting aren't you?

This post has been edited by unknown warrior: Aug 2 2015, 10:05 PM
loud
post Aug 2 2015, 10:12 PM

373 posts

QUOTE(unknown warrior @ Aug 2 2015, 10:04 PM)
So what did the thief do remove that sinful tendency? You'er not really able to answer what you're suggesting aren't you?
Bro, you are the one who bring up the thief story. I only meant to evaluate my point in a wider scale, not interested in such speculation.

unknown warrior
post Aug 2 2015, 10:22 PM

/k/ Legend
6,240 posts

QUOTE(loud @ Aug 2 2015, 10:12 PM)
Bro, you are the one who bring up the thief story. I only meant to evaluate my point in a wider scale, not interested in such speculation.
Well, first and foremost all your wider point are based on speculations at most.

I bring up the incident of the dying thief to kill off all your speculations and thank God for including that part of history.
Because God foresaw there will be people with your mindset trying to discredit the Gospel. The dying thief is key to understanding what Grace is all about.

The Salvation that God offer comes by having Faith in Christ as the Savior. It can't get any easier than that. That dying thief simply believe Jesus is the Son of God.

Romans 4:5 proves this.

Romans 4:5 (NIV) - However, to the one who does not work but trusts God who justifies the ungodly, their faith is credited as righteousness.

God made is easy for anyone who believe in Christ unto Salvation. It is the thinking of Man that tries to complicate it. That is the religion of this world, law based.

This Gift of Salvation is also offered to you freely. smile.gif Think about it when you have the time.

Just a word of advice. You may think this is fun to you, exercising what you think is just a buttheading challenge.

What you don't realize is, you're trying to change the word of God to something that is not which is what we call perverting the Gospel as what Paul mentioned in the books of Galatians.
Real People have died because of holding on to the integrity of the Gospel, this is not a fiction or some made up story.

This is a very serious matter to us. If you want to continue based on "just for fun", my advice is, stop. If you want to learn then be genuine and respectful, we can continue.

This post has been edited by unknown warrior: Aug 3 2015, 01:29 PM
AthrunIJ
post Aug 2 2015, 10:38 PM

2,992 posts

QUOTE(unknown warrior @ Aug 2 2015, 12:50 PM)
I see........
Thanks for your time to explain buddy. rclxms.gif thumbup.gif

This post has been edited by AthrunIJ: Aug 2 2015, 10:38 PM
unknown warrior
post Aug 2 2015, 10:44 PM

/k/ Legend
6,240 posts

QUOTE(AthrunIJ @ Aug 2 2015, 10:38 PM)
I see........
Thanks for your time to explain buddy.  rclxms.gif  thumbup.gif
You're welcome.
loud
post Aug 3 2015, 01:47 PM

373 posts

QUOTE(unknown warrior @ Aug 2 2015, 10:22 PM)
Well, first and foremost all your wider point are based on speculations at most.

I bring up the incident of the dying thief to kill off all your speculations and thank God for including that part of history.
Because God foresaw there will be people with your mindset trying to discredit the Gospel. The dying thief is key to understanding what Grace is all about.
Let me try, here is the context of the story;
Luke 23
39 One of the criminals who hung there hurled insults at him: “Aren’t you the Messiah? Save yourself and us!”

40 But the other criminal rebuked him. “Don’t you fear God,” he said, “since you are under the same sentence? 41 We are punished justly, for we are getting what our deeds deserve. But this man has done nothing wrong.”

42 Then he said, “Jesus, remember me when you come into your kingdom.[d]”

43 Jesus answered him, “Truly I tell you, today you will be with me in paradise.”

The thief was accepted because his faith comes with repentance. And if you want to talk about repentance(in a general sense), it can happen with or without invoking God. As there are people who believes in God but full of hate and vengeance even until the end of their life so using this story to support your premise is ambiguous.

The Salvation that God offer comes by having Faith in Christ as the Savior. It can't get any easier than that. That dying thief simply believe Jesus is the Son of God.

Romans 4:5 proves this.

Romans 4:5 (NIV) - However, to the one who does not work but trusts God who justifies the ungodly, their faith is credited as righteousness.
Romans 4 in context is talking about ceremonial law( circumcision, blood sacrifice...etc) same with Ephesians 2. You are confused because you tak sabar-sabar want to go to heaven and overlook the moral law(effort to culminate love and peace), go read Matthew 5, Galatians 5 and 6 together in context.

And if you read Ephesians 2 along with verse 10, it talks about doing good works again.
There are verses that say abolish the law and other verses say fulfill the law, the only meaningful way to reconcile it is to distinguish them as different laws.

God made is easy for anyone who believe in Christ unto Salvation. It is the thinking of Man that tries to complicate it. That is the religion of this world, law based.

This Gift of Salvation is also offered to you freely.  smile.gif Think about it when you have the time.
Only after you nailed me to the cross with profound truth.

Just a word of advice. You may think this is fun to you, exercising what you think is just a buttheading challenge.

What you don't realize is, you're trying to change the word of God to something that is not which is what we call perverting the Gospel as what Paul mentioned in the books of Galatians.
Real People have died because of holding on to the integrity of the Gospel, this is not a fiction or some made up story.

This is a very serious matter to us. If you want to continue based on "just for fun", my advice is, stop. If you want to learn then be genuine and respectful, we can continue.

Out of respect for the Christian Fellowship, at least in this thread, i already try my best to avoid scientific topic nor did i demand geological/historical evidence for biblical events...
Even if i intend(my nasty atheist tendency actually tongue.gif ) to insult you guys where goes your perseverance?
1 Peter 4:14
If you are insulted because of the name of Christ, you are blessed, for the Spirit of glory and of God rests on you.

Luke 6:22
Blessed are you when people hate you,
when they exclude you and insult you
and reject your name as evil,
because of the Son of Man.

unknown warrior
post Aug 3 2015, 02:01 PM

/k/ Legend
6,240 posts

QUOTE(loud @ Aug 3 2015, 01:47 PM)
Let me try, here is the context of the story;
Luke 23
39 One of the criminals who hung there hurled insults at him: “Aren’t you the Messiah? Save yourself and us!”

40 But the other criminal rebuked him. “Don’t you fear God,” he said, “since you are under the same sentence? 41 We are punished justly, for we are getting what our deeds deserve. But this man has done nothing wrong.”

42 Then he said, “Jesus, remember me when you come into your kingdom.[d]”

43 Jesus answered him, “Truly I tell you, today you will be with me in paradise.”

The thief was accepted because his faith comes with repentance. And if you want to talk about repentance(in a general sense), it can happen with or without invoking God. As there are people who believes in God but full of hate and vengeance even until the end of their life so using this story to support your premise is ambiguous.
Romans 4 in context is talking about ceremonial law( circumcision, blood sacrifice...etc) same with Ephesians 2. You are confused because you tak sabar-sabar want to go to heaven and overlook the moral law(effort to culminate love and peace), go read Matthew 5, Galatians 5 and 6 together in context.

And if you read Ephesians 2 along with verse 10, it talks about doing good works again.
There are verses that say abolish the law and other verses say fulfill the law, the only meaningful way to reconcile it is to distinguish them as different laws.
Only after you nailed me to the cross with profound truth.
Out of respect for the Christian Fellowship, at least in this thread, i already try my best to avoid scientific topic nor did i demand geological/historical evidence for biblical events...
Even if i intend(my nasty atheist tendency actually tongue.gif ) to insult you guys where goes your perseverance?
1 Peter 4:14
If you are insulted because of the name of Christ, you are blessed, for the Spirit of glory and of God rests on you.

Luke 6:22
Blessed are you when people hate you,
when they exclude you and insult you
  and reject your name as evil,
  because of the Son of Man.

What acts of repentance there is? The dying thief couldn't perform anything. So is that easy or hard? Answer me now.

I'll answer the rest about your claims of ceremonial law, cain and abel, and among others, this I promise.

But Answer the above first. All your other avenues have been destroyed; need rigorous mind training and all that eastern mysticism religion is out of the window.
loud
post Aug 3 2015, 02:10 PM

373 posts

QUOTE(unknown warrior @ Aug 3 2015, 02:01 PM)
What acts of repentance there is? The dying thief couldn't perform anything. So is that easy or hard? Answer me now.

I'll answer the rest about your claims of ceremonial law, cain and abel, and among others, this I promise.

But Answer the above first. All your other avenues have been destroyed; need rigorous mind training and all that eastern mysticism religion is out of the window.
The repentance of the heart which a person regains a clear conscience to recognize and admits his wrong doing.
unknown warrior
post Aug 3 2015, 02:11 PM

/k/ Legend
6,240 posts

QUOTE(loud @ Aug 3 2015, 02:10 PM)
The repentance of the heart which a person regains a clear conscience to recognize and admits his wrong doing.
You're not answering my question.

loud
post Aug 3 2015, 02:17 PM

373 posts

QUOTE(unknown warrior @ Aug 3 2015, 02:11 PM)
You're not answering my question.
Your question "easy or hard" is not relevant to the point as i already explain it depends on individuals.
Moreover, not much details about the thief, i can simply speculate that he will repent his heart even without meeting Jesus. Certain people who are close to death will suddenly change their mindset out of fear or other reasons...
unknown warrior
post Aug 3 2015, 02:23 PM

/k/ Legend
6,240 posts

QUOTE(loud @ Aug 3 2015, 02:17 PM)
Your question "easy or hard" is not relevant to the point as i already explain it depends on individuals.
Moreover, not much details about the thief, i can simply speculate that he will repent his heart even without meeting Jesus. Certain people who are close to death will suddenly change their mindset out of fear or other reasons...
Well..even if what you say is true (which is not), Let say, The dying their did out of fear and is not genuine, is that easy or hard?
loud
post Aug 3 2015, 02:29 PM

373 posts

QUOTE(unknown warrior @ Aug 3 2015, 02:23 PM)
Well..even if what you say is true (which is not), Let say, The dying their did out of fear and is not genuine, is that easy or hard?
Easy for some, hard for some.

An analogy,
When driving on a straight lane, suddenly a bull jump in front of the car...
If i ask you whether it is easy or hard to avoid and expecting an absolute answer...

unknown warrior
post Aug 3 2015, 02:42 PM

/k/ Legend
6,240 posts

QUOTE(loud @ Aug 3 2015, 02:29 PM)
Easy for some, hard for some.

An analogy,
When driving on a straight lane, suddenly a bull jump in front of the car...
If i ask you whether it is easy or hard to avoid and expecting an absolute answer...

It's not a paranoid question. I'm destroying your claims that the Christian Salvation is hard like other religion.

And Here is the final blow.

If repentance in the mind is all it takes, then that basically also destroy of your claims that the works mentioned in Romans 4:5 is pertaining to ceremonial laws and the 10 commandment is enforced for justification.

Why? because the dying thief could not and did not perform even 1.

BTW this thing about what you mentioned about repentance is also wrong. biggrin.gif

I'm not making this any easier for you isn't it? Do you also realize the more you try, the easier all your arguments go down the drain? ha ha.

This post has been edited by unknown warrior: Aug 3 2015, 02:44 PM
loud
post Aug 3 2015, 03:19 PM

373 posts

QUOTE(unknown warrior @ Aug 3 2015, 02:42 PM)
It's not a paranoid question. I'm destroying your claims that the Christian Salvation is hard like other religion.

And Here is the final blow.

If repentance in the mind is all it takes, then that basically also destroy of your claims that the works mentioned in Romans 4:5 is pertaining to ceremonial laws and the 10 commandment is enforced for justification.

Why? because the dying thief could not and did not perform even 1.

Why must he need to perform? when a person repents and has faith and also love, the commandment is fulfilled.
Romans 13:
9 The commandments, “You shall not commit adultery,” “You shall not murder,” “You shall not steal,” “You shall not covet,”[a] and whatever other command there may be, are summed up in this one command: “Love your neighbor as yourself.”[cool.gif 10 Love does no harm to a neighbor. Therefore love is the fulfillment of the law.

To be specific, it is not necessary about performing but self-restrain.
Galatians 5
22 But the fruit of the Spirit is love, joy, peace, forbearance, kindness, goodness, faithfulness, 23 gentleness and self-control. Against such things there is no law.

All the qualities mentioned above can be known by looking into oneself...without the need to perform by bodily action nor speech.
As mentioned before, a person can perform good deeds but has ill intention in his mind.

edit...
not to say good deed is not important, if it is done with the right intention, it can help reinforce wholesome mental habits hence it has its own role.

This post has been edited by loud: Aug 3 2015, 03:23 PM
unknown warrior
post Aug 3 2015, 03:22 PM

/k/ Legend
6,240 posts

QUOTE(loud @ Aug 3 2015, 03:19 PM)
Why must he need to perform? when a person repents and has faith and also love, the commandment is fulfilled.
Romans 13:
9 The commandments, “You shall not commit adultery,” “You shall not murder,” “You shall not steal,” “You shall not covet,”[a] and whatever other command there may be, are summed up in this one command: “Love your neighbor as yourself.”[cool.gif 10 Love does no harm to a neighbor. Therefore love is the fulfillment of the law.

To be specific, it is not necessary about performing  but self-restrain.
Galatians 5
22 But the fruit of the Spirit is love, joy, peace, forbearance, kindness, goodness, faithfulness, 23 gentleness and self-control. Against such things there is no law.

All the qualities mentioned above can be known by looking into oneself...without the need to perform by bodily action nor speech.
As mentioned before, a person can perform good deeds but has ill intention in his mind.
Okay, let me up this one for you.

Aren't you the one on the side of "Faith without works is dead" camp? biggrin.gif

loud
post Aug 3 2015, 03:23 PM

373 posts

QUOTE(unknown warrior @ Aug 3 2015, 03:22 PM)
Okay, let me up this one for you.

Aren't you the one on the side of "Faith without works is dead" camp?  biggrin.gif
It is "Faith without Love/virtue is dead" camp.

This post has been edited by loud: Aug 3 2015, 03:24 PM
unknown warrior
post Aug 3 2015, 03:25 PM

/k/ Legend
6,240 posts

QUOTE(loud @ Aug 3 2015, 03:23 PM)
It is Faith without Love/virtue camp.
Faith is proven in Luke 23 but Loving other? When did the dying thief do that? biggrin.gif

And what did he do to repent? Just saying is enough?

This post has been edited by unknown warrior: Aug 3 2015, 03:27 PM
loud
post Aug 3 2015, 03:31 PM

373 posts

QUOTE(unknown warrior @ Aug 3 2015, 03:25 PM)
Faith is proven in Luke 23 but Loving other? When did the dying thief do that?  biggrin.gif

And what did he do to repent? Just saying  is enough?
Luke 23
40 But the other criminal rebuked him. “Don’t you fear God,” he said, “since you are under the same sentence? 41 We are punished justly, for we are getting what our deeds deserve. But this man has done nothing wrong.

He shows compassion to others...

94 Pages « < 27 28 29 30 31 > » Top

0.0291sec    0.58    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 9th December 2025 - 07:49 PM