Toyota Camry Hybrid Owner/Fan Club, Real Power, Absolute Performance

funnyboyz9999
post Mar 17 2016, 02:46 AM

94 posts

Planning to buy the Camry Hybrid 2.5 this year.
Any main problem or issue encounter by this Hybrid beside the rattling sounds from Dashboard, Rear seat, door, etc... and the water leak into rear lamp?

How is the maintenance fees for this hybrid ? Any full schedule maintenance price is thankful and helpful for a reference here.

All the camry Sifus and Owners please share your precious thoughts and experiences here. Thanks a lot for helping !!
smile.gif biggrin.gif
funnyboyz9999
post Mar 18 2016, 10:43 PM

94 posts

QUOTE(tchinhe @ Mar 18 2016, 09:53 PM)
I didnot experience rattling. Just wind noise and door movement over bumps or pothole.  Door fitting alignment is not even n not adjustable.

Will do 20k service in 2 mths. First 3 is ok. But i feel it should be capable of 15k service interval.  US is doing 10k miles whichbis 16k km.
Wow that is great without rattling sound from dashboard. The door alignment is not correctable? Too bad.
What about other issues such as water leak into tail light?
funnyboyz9999
post Mar 18 2016, 10:48 PM

94 posts

QUOTE(tchinhe @ Mar 18 2016, 09:46 PM)
I find that after 9 mths the aircon is not as cold while i feel more heat. Not sure if it is the roof or the tinting.  Will try check on the roof.

my complaint about roof is noise during rain. So far UMW service center claim only 2 complaints.
I heard that the new Vios owner also complain that and they got a noise insulating layer installed under the roof FOC from the SC in Penang.
funnyboyz9999
post Mar 22 2016, 07:06 AM

94 posts

QUOTE(tribaleps @ Mar 21 2016, 11:47 AM)
Still trying to resolve the rattling sound from the rear end...been making repeated trips to the service center at Sg Buloh.

Seems like there has been lots of body rattling related problems with the Camry Hybrid....even the brake pedals are noisy.

Fairly disappointed with the purchase so far, coming from and older model of Camry which remained solid after 7 years.
CKD with low assembling quality compare to 7 years old camry which is a tank ! rclxms.gif
Nowadays even CBU cars have rattling sounds. It seems like this is a norm in car industry? confused.gif
Except for those luxury and high-end conti cars. thumbup.gif thumbsup.gif
funnyboyz9999
post Apr 14 2016, 10:28 PM

94 posts

QUOTE(nkhong @ Apr 14 2016, 07:26 PM)
I wish i have never bought this car. Overall the car technology is good, but rattling sound from front dashboard, plasticky sound from side when brake, go over bumper, uneven sound and rattling sound also from behind. It is stressful to drive with all these sound, sometimes i try volumn the music, they still can slip into my ears. It is worse than my 15 years old wira. I have went to sc for rattling sound issue for at least 6 or 7 times, alot times wasted. It is really a shame when driving with my friends, they said wow , your car is 170k and this kind of quality.

If u can bear with strange sound while driving u may buy it, who know u are the lucky one and u might get the new camry without these problem. The idea of selling it off have flash a few times in my head. In future no more umw ckd car for me.
Sorry to hear that for the rattling sound issue. Not only Camry Hybrid CKD, Honda Accord CKD even some CBU cars have the rattling sound issue. It is just how serious is the issue. It is very annoying when the D-segment car is selling at 170k with such poor build quality. However there are still a lot of Camry Hybrid on the road. Thanks for your precious thought sharing. Despite the rattling sound problem try to enjoy this car as much as possible. Undeniably this is one of the best price value car in this segment. thumbsup.gif
funnyboyz9999
post Jun 27 2016, 09:57 PM

94 posts

QUOTE(stimix @ Jun 27 2016, 04:55 PM)
Just a simple CBA. If u purchase n/A car wth same cc, FC probably 9km/ltr. For this hybrid, I'm getting 16km/ltr. Full tank 53ltr getting ~830km. Meaning if 10days u go 830km, on a normal car u need to refuel  atleast twice. Almost 40% saving on fuel.

1mth avg saving ~RM180 or RM2,160/yr on fuel. The battery pack can last >10yrs. And let say on the 10th yr u need to change at RM8k. U still save ~RM12k for the entire lifespan of the battery.
Actually it depends on how much you drive. On a 2.5 normal car vs 2.5 toyota camry hybrid : The more you drive, the more you will save on a hybrid car. But don't forget to offset the cost of the second battery that sit inside the boot behind which need to be changed about every 2 years, which is not cheap. cost around more than 1k.

If you compare to a 2.0 Camry, actually then the saving is not significant.
1st the price difference between the hybrid and 2.0 camry.
2nd the higher roadtax
3rd battery in the trunk ~1k plus
4th the higher service cost on hybrid due to CVT gearbox

The hybrid battery can last for years but beware the performance of the battery will drop significantly after 3-5 years. Same as the battery on our cellphone.

If you have to drive a lot, more than 30k km a year or considering between 2.4 Honda Accord/Ford Mondeo/Mazda 6, it should be worth to get a hybrid.
If not, just get a 2.0G camry will do.

This is my 2cent. Please do correct me if I miss out anything. smile.gif

0.0418sec    0.55    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 12th December 2025 - 03:54 AM