GPS (general: wat is it? how does it work?), Get your answers here!

ashburn98
post Jan 14 2008, 10:14 PM

Runaway train
1,570 posts

Noob here. Say I have a PDA with GPS, I'll just need to install Malsingmaps and I'll to use GPS while on walking. If I am in my car driving, I'll need to get a GPS receiver (RM200+) as well and a PDA holder?
ashburn98
post Apr 20 2008, 07:38 PM

Runaway train
1,570 posts

Got to ask the sifus here. I bought HTC Tytn2 and been trying the GPS function. It comes preloaded with Mapking2007 and GPSGate program.

I know to get the GPS working I'll need to open GPSGate first, then Mapking and let it get a lock. But the lock is extremely slow. Like today, I drove 5 minutes in Federal Highway and it still doesn't lock. Only when I'm halfway home, it's gets a lock.

Is GPSGate program any good? If it's the best program available then what setting do I tweak? Or is the slow lock is from rumours I heard about SIRIM sticker interfering with the gps signal?

0.0149sec    0.25    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 04:22 AM