GPS (general: wat is it? how does it work?), Get your answers here!

LittleCow
post Apr 1 2008, 10:55 PM

185 posts

read a review on the samsung i-780 smartphone GPS function from mobile review.com , pls. enlighten me
whether it is advisable to ge this devices if I intend to use some free GPS software commonly available ? biggrin.gif

Navigation(GPS)
The communicator makes use of the gpsOne chip, bundled in the Qualcomm MSM 6260 platform, supporting A-GPS technology (tracks your location through the carrier's network). However, this chip doesn't get along with third-party applications, as all GPS-enabled solutions, including the Samsung i780 are bound to deal with only one application - Navigon, also dubbed as Mobile Navigator in the Windows Mobile environment. While you can actually install some extra navigation software, rest assured, it won't be able to employ the built-in chip, and thus, won't track your location on the map.

We got our hands on the unit with disabled GPS, however Google Maps successfully identified the bundled GPS chip and tried to locate some satellites... for like 30 minutes, but sadly, to no avail.

LittleCow
post Apr 6 2008, 05:18 PM

185 posts

hi GPS sifu

standalone GPS console vs PDA (with built-in GPS)
================================

do u think is advisable to get the separate GPS consoles ?
I saw a Holux GPS model GPSmile 53CL ..selling at RM799 only...(according to the
Seller...original price is RM1299 but not promotion !!!)...

there are so many brands...confuse lah...garmin, nuvi, alxxx..

here is what i feel:-

Standalone GPS
+ No interuption
+ easily recharge via car
+ big screen
+ cheaper than PDA
- no other useful function
- not upgradeable especially with new version or other maps available

PDA with GPS
+ multiples functionaility

- small screen
- expensive

which one is better for casual gps user...mainly while driving ??? rclxub.gif
LittleCow
post Apr 9 2008, 09:46 PM

185 posts

QUOTE(ajay67 @ Apr 9 2008, 02:17 PM)
i'm using holux 236B (sirfIII chipset) for the past yr. so far so good. the newer models are M-1000 & M-1200, with MTK chipset also good (some say got better reception)
I was quoated RM788 (i guess is an entry level GPS) at sunway...HOLuX brand
LittleCow
post Apr 10 2008, 10:41 PM

185 posts

Holux GPS model GPSmile 53CL ..selling at RM799 only

i am not sure whether standalone...or what?
LittleCow
post Apr 11 2008, 09:53 PM

185 posts

Hi GPS sifu,

I am thinking of getting a GPS device for occasional usage in the car for Klang VAlley roads...

Which of these do u think is suitable for me :-

1) Standalone GPS such as Holux, Garmin (saw a Holux unit selling RM788)

Holux GPSmile 53CLife - Car Navigator RM788
Altina A660 GPS (RM899)

2) Nokia N82 (will be using as a 2nd phone, cause i have another primary phone)

3) Getting a PDA phone with GPS such as new O2 Atom V, etc

Which of the 3 is convenient to use, with good maps, and cheapest to run ???

Thanks tongue.gif

This post has been edited by LittleCow: Apr 11 2008, 10:26 PM
LittleCow
post Apr 12 2008, 10:04 AM

185 posts

Thanks bro THT

is the N82 pr gps PDA come with voice direction too??

is those standalone GPS like garmin, holux upgradeable? or downloadable with the latest map...either malaysia
or other countries...I understand that PDA like HTC Touch cruise, O2 Atom V, Glofish X600...u can easily upload
new mapping softwares/maps...with newer version
LittleCow
post Apr 12 2008, 05:16 PM

185 posts

From what I gather from GPS sifu..i guess I will be better off with either a Standalone GPS system' from Garmin, Holux,
etc, or a PDA with built-in GPS (don't fancy having separate GPS receiver some posted the comments below, it is true ??? ),

"" copy from another Thread on Atom V"
For my experience, i think External GPS will be better. i just put it on the dashboard, when needed, just on it and get fixed fast. no need to take out my device, and wait GPS position get fix.... (External type reception is alot better than built in type)

"copy from Atom V thread )

and will avoid GPS phone such the
N series due to the not so good map/subscription/downloading cost. biggrin.gif

just went to PC Fair just now

here is what I gather the pricing

GPS Standalone units
1) Garmin Nuvi 200w RM1,299
2) Garmin Nuvi 200 RM999
3) Altina A800 RM1,399
4) Altina A660 RM899

saw a few quite good GPS PDA
1) Samsung i780 RM1,888 (was shown how to use the map...i guess is from malsing), was told is free
2) Atom V RM2,368 (1gb, new)
3) ASUS P750 RM2,499 (free 2gb, battery, smaller screen)
4) Glofish X 650 RM1899 (free 4gb)

but looks like getting a standalone GPS is a better deal right ?
For a decent PDA GPS Rm1,888 vs. the cheapest say Altina/Holux RM800 to RM900
saves about RM1K which can be used to purchase a separate phone( provided I don't use
PDA functions, cause most phone already got basic PIM organiser, etc) flex.gif

Added on April 12, 2008, 5:18 pm

saw a new website promotion ...this company is providing free map services...

is www.mapdoo.com
quite interesting...they have booth a PC Fair cool.gif

This post has been edited by LittleCow: Apr 12 2008, 05:26 PM
LittleCow
post Apr 13 2008, 03:02 PM

185 posts

too late...just bought the new ASUS P527 for rm1,699 with 2gb card...

trying up the GPS mapking loaded by the pda shop.... quite complicated
to use !
LittleCow
post Apr 16 2008, 10:35 PM

185 posts

if I am not mistaken i saw it in the PDA expert shop in sunway pyramid...the shop is located in the centre of the IT section..is small shop

0.0319sec    0.63    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 8th December 2025 - 12:33 PM