67 Pages « < 14 15 16 17 18 > » Bottom

GPS (general: wat is it? how does it work?), Get your answers here!

sonyclie77
post Mar 22 2007, 12:34 AM

Stressed Personnel
10,928 posts

QUOTE(jcln2 @ Mar 21 2007, 10:59 PM)
I have questions here.

1) Which is mapking version is better? v2007 or v10?
2) My office has a Garmin18 USB GPS. Is it possible to connect to my XDA ATOM mini USB port and use GPS? Any alternative to connect the USB gps to PDA?

1. G12 (V2007)'s GUI is much nicer than v10. But v10 can use malsingmap's map. So it's up to you which one you want.

2. That's only for notebooks IIANM. Not possible to connect to your PDA.

Correct me if I'm wrong.
porkchop
post Mar 22 2007, 12:36 AM

Lalala Life's Sweet
6,633 posts

i think mapking got nice gui, but then not updated pda
probiotix
post Mar 23 2007, 11:25 PM

68 posts

QUOTE(sonyclie77 @ Mar 22 2007, 12:34 AM)
1. G12 (V2007)'s GUI is much nicer than v10. But v10 can use malsingmap's map. So it's up to you which one you want.

2. That's only for notebooks IIANM. Not possible to connect to your PDA.

Correct me if I'm wrong.
Mine is using V2007..... visually definately nicer than V10.

Regarding malsing map...... i think can use. smile.gif
I'm on Build 1116
malaysia map is dated 15 feb 2007(by malsing)
sg map dated 31 Jan 2007

easirider
post Mar 24 2007, 12:27 AM

327 posts

QUOTE(probiotix @ Mar 23 2007, 11:25 PM)
Mine is using V2007..... visually definately nicer than V10.

Regarding malsing map...... i think can use.  smile.gif
I'm on Build 1116
malaysia map is dated 15 feb 2007(by malsing)
sg map dated 31 Jan 2007
Mapking G10 & mapking 2007 is nearly same version. Just need to rename mapfile
extension for 2007 to use mapking malsingmaps.

G12 cannot use malsingmaps.
jcln2
post Mar 25 2007, 01:09 AM

190 posts

Any recommendation for bluetooth GPS? Is there any model that can fit on car roof yet chargerble with external power source & water proof?

Thought of 1 that can use for normal clip on pocket when walking & also put on rooftop while driving.
Possibly below RM400
stimix
post Mar 25 2007, 09:56 PM

Dunno
3,542 posts

QUOTE(jcln2 @ Mar 25 2007, 01:09 AM)
Any recommendation for bluetooth GPS? Is there any model that can fit on car roof yet chargerble with external power source & water proof?

Thought of 1 that can use for normal clip on pocket when walking & also put on rooftop while driving.
Possibly below RM400
So far I hv not heard of waterproof BT GPSr but waterproof outdoor GPSr such as Garmin 60Csx yes... but that also cannot be mounted outside the car. Why u need to mount on top of the car when the normal BT GPSr can be put close to the end of windscreen for clearer sky view?

There are numerous BT gpsr below RM400...check either in malsingmaps or lelong.com.
THTgadgets.com
post Mar 27 2007, 03:00 PM

Bigger than Bigger
5,005 posts

Wah, if got BT GPS device, then i want! biggrin.gif

But still, most GPS devices work well with WM handhelds... Hard to get those that are compatible with PalmOS PDAs though... Other than that shop in Seremban, any shops that have those GPS devices for testing-out purposes?
jcln2
post Mar 27 2007, 09:21 PM

190 posts

QUOTE(stimix @ Mar 25 2007, 09:56 PM)
So far I hv not heard of waterproof BT GPSr but waterproof outdoor GPSr such as Garmin 60Csx yes... but that also cannot be mounted outside the car.  Why u need to mount on top of the car when the normal BT GPSr can be put close to the end of windscreen for clearer sky view?

There are numerous BT gpsr below RM400...check either in malsingmaps or lelong.com.
My purpose of putting the GPS on rooftop is because of reception, if putting by screen truely will work, then I am fine with it. MY office have garmin usb which is water proof, so I just thought of similar item.
How about power supply for GPS?
I am using XDA atom, the only way I see possible to connect GPS is on through BT.

Added on March 29, 2007, 2:58 pmAnyone know where can I get Holux 240 SiRF III Bluetooth cheap?
It seems better than Holux 236 SiRF III Bluetooth. Saw RM360 at lelong.com, but it is from Singapore. I prefer to COD for security reasons.
Is the price at Singapore cheaper for GPS?

This post has been edited by jcln2: Mar 29 2007, 02:58 PM
ciohbu
post Mar 30 2007, 03:17 PM

Group: Senior Member
2,104 posts

harloor everyone...i am selling bs4100 bluetooth gps receiver...check on my sig
i am using mapking g10 with malsings map..nice interface

Added on March 30, 2007, 3:19 pm
QUOTE(jcln2 @ Mar 27 2007, 09:21 PM)
My purpose of putting the GPS on rooftop is because of reception, if putting by screen truely will work, then I am fine with it. MY office have garmin usb which is water proof, so I just thought of similar item.
How about power supply for GPS?
I am using XDA atom, the only way I see possible to connect GPS is on through BT.

Added on March 29, 2007, 2:58 pmAnyone know where can I get Holux 240 SiRF III Bluetooth cheap?
It seems better than Holux 236 SiRF III Bluetooth. Saw RM360 at lelong.com, but it is from Singapore. I prefer to COD for security reasons.
Is the price at Singapore cheaper for GPS?
may i know wat purpose for u to use gps?..if normal use then i dont recommand sirf chipset as it consume more power, tats mean the battery can tahan shorter..

This post has been edited by ciohbu: Mar 30 2007, 03:19 PM
jcln2
post Mar 30 2007, 11:08 PM

190 posts

QUOTE(ciohbu @ Mar 30 2007, 03:17 PM)
harloor everyone...i am selling bs4100 bluetooth gps receiver...check on my sig
i am using mapking g10 with malsings map..nice interface

Added on March 30, 2007, 3:19 pm

may i know wat purpose for u to use gps?..if normal use then i dont recommand sirf chipset as it consume more power, tats mean the battery can tahan shorter..
2 usage normal on foot or by car at times.
I am thinking how reliable is in car, should I rely on external antenna when in car. There is also high possibility that there will be blockage while I am walking by some shelter besides road to avoid sun.
I am wondering how good is the gps, can it still detect even though I am under some shelter on walkway.
I would think 70% of the time I would use for car.

I am also wondering which is better the 236model or the 240 model.
240 smaller & lighter, but built in battery, hard to replace.
236 bigger & heavier, but battery changeble & can connect external antenna that might be good for car use.

BTW do PC fair sell these GPS? I am hoping I can get 1 cheap there.
stimix
post Mar 31 2007, 12:15 AM

Dunno
3,542 posts

QUOTE(jcln2 @ Mar 30 2007, 11:08 PM)
2 usage normal on foot or by car at times.
I am thinking how reliable is in car, should I rely on external antenna when in car. There is also high possibility that there will be blockage while I am walking by some shelter besides road to avoid sun.
I am wondering how good is the gps, can it still detect even though I am under some shelter on walkway.
I would think 70% of the time I would use for car.

I am also wondering which is better the 236model or the 240 model.
240 smaller & lighter, but built in battery, hard to replace.
236 bigger & heavier, but battery changeble & can connect external antenna that might be good for car use.

BTW do PC fair sell these GPS? I am hoping I can get 1 cheap there.
If u put the BT receiver very near to the edge of w/screen and ur car is not tinted wth hi0end Vcool u should not face any problem. U will get almost similar reception when u r outside. U might face a little problem if u place the BT in the middle of the car or u r using VCool.

If under a shelter, under flyover, under thick jungle covering or blocked by car roof, u might lost about 30-50% of satelite signals and occasional "lost satelite reception" prompt. At this stage, the satelite accuracy might be deteriorate to +-15M-20M. Average accuracy under open sky or inside car is about 5-11M without ext antenna & about 2-8M wth ext antenna.

jcln2
post Mar 31 2007, 07:40 PM

190 posts

QUOTE(stimix @ Mar 31 2007, 12:15 AM)
If u put the BT receiver very near to the edge of w/screen and ur car is not tinted wth hi0end Vcool u should not face any problem. U will get almost similar reception when u r outside. U might face a little problem  if u place the BT in the middle of the car or u r using VCool.

If under a shelter, under flyover, under thick jungle covering or blocked by car roof, u might lost about 30-50% of satelite signals and occasional "lost satelite reception" prompt. At this stage, the satelite accuracy might be deteriorate to +-15M-20M. Average accuracy under open sky or inside car is about 5-11M without ext antenna & about 2-8M wth ext antenna.
Thanks for the great info! thumbup.gif notworthy.gif

Is a above mentioned situation same for all GPS or might be better with the better chip set. Will it be the case of older chipset has to be opened sky, but better chip set is more tolereble to blockage?
stimix
post Mar 31 2007, 10:33 PM

Dunno
3,542 posts

QUOTE(jcln2 @ Mar 31 2007, 07:40 PM)
Thanks for the great info! thumbup.gif  notworthy.gif

Is a above mentioned situation same for all GPS or might be better with the better chip set. Will it be the case of older chipset has to be opened sky, but better chip set is more tolereble to blockage?
Yes diff chipsets do affect the satelite reception. The best rite now are those wth Sirf iii chipset (less chanel but better reception then those advertising >20channels) but recently certain quarter started disputing as new chipset fromMTK (I think) is better....lotsa info from ppcsg website...ur earlier choice of holus236 is consider good oledi & it is cheap too
williamwong
post Apr 4 2007, 10:28 AM

162 posts

hmm..i'm on 838pro. should i buy a bt receiver or change to d810? i'm in australia and am not familiar with the roads =(
easirider
post Apr 4 2007, 10:47 AM

327 posts

Isn't it a lot cheaper just to get a bluetooth receiver? and you can use the receiver with other device; unless of course if you want an all in one device and not lug around another item.
shackks
post Apr 4 2007, 01:47 PM

1,777 posts

QUOTE(jcln2 @ Mar 27 2007, 09:21 PM)
Anyone know where can I get Holux 240 SiRF III Bluetooth cheap?
Holux 240 is selling ard SGD160 in spore. While the Holux 236 GPS Slim is abt SGD140.

www.holux suggested that apart from their size difference, the functionality is abt the same with the SiRF III chip.

cheers.

This post has been edited by shackks: Apr 4 2007, 01:49 PM
sjn hassan
post Apr 4 2007, 09:14 PM

Member's of MAKAN MEGGI club
3,544 posts

QUOTE(williamwong @ Apr 4 2007, 10:28 AM)
hmm..i'm on 838pro. should i buy a bt receiver or change to d810? i'm in australia and am not familiar with the roads =(
the cheapest way is get a GPS stuff and 1 more thing..U are familiar with keyboard PDA..then u need some time to use the D810
xooper
post Apr 7 2007, 07:26 AM

215 posts

I just bought a BT GPS receiver....Can someone recommend me a GPS software for my Laptop?
jcln2
post Apr 8 2007, 09:25 AM

190 posts

QUOTE(xooper @ Apr 7 2007, 07:26 AM)
I just bought a BT GPS receiver....Can someone recommend me a GPS software for my Laptop?
Try this, basically describe using Mapsource & nRoute by Garmin. Quite good I would say. Not sure u need to register to view this page, but it is free. Probably u will need to register later anyway to get free map.

http://www.malsingmaps.com/wiki/

Deani_77
post Apr 9 2007, 09:22 PM

Luaskan Kuasamu...
3,251 posts

QUOTE(xooper @ Apr 7 2007, 07:26 AM)
For navigation you can use nRoute or Mapking, quite a famaous software. But you need to pay for the software and map. You want to bring along your laptop in your car for navigation?

67 Pages « < 14 15 16 17 18 > » Top

0.0296sec    0.16    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th November 2025 - 10:01 PM