7 Pages « < 4 5 6 7 >Bottom

GPS (general: wat is it? how does it work?), Get your answers here!

TSBaronic
post Sep 11 2008, 11:58 PM

Problem?
7,533 posts

the malsing maps POI sucks. true. but what i do is i find a place near the location, and then scroll the map, mark my destination. its a matter of choosing more POI or accurate map.

for me its accurate map.

imagine this scenario. the map shows u a right turning. in real life the right turning is sealed off. so u overshoot. the GPS calculate a new route, and insists you take that right turning! how? lol. its horrible when u're some place new, and lost, and if there's more mistakes than 1 you're really screwed! i once ended up in god knows which kampung instead of Shah Alam. SO ulu until when the GPS led me all the way here, the mapping failed cuz the roads did not exist. so i was lost. i had to pay a biker 20 bucks to lead me to the highway. from there, it took me TWENTY MINUTES of straight driving on the highway to reach my destination! that's how far off the mark i was!

This post has been edited by Baronic: Sep 11 2008, 11:58 PM
TSBaronic
post Sep 13 2008, 12:29 AM

Problem?
7,533 posts

QUOTE(mikelanding @ Sep 12 2008, 11:46 PM)
What map U using now? updated to when?
I used garmin malsing 2.29 gold...small small road also got...scary.
as POI? or u mean map browsing then u can find
TSBaronic
post Sep 17 2008, 06:40 PM

Problem?
7,533 posts

it uses GPS to connect to sattelite la. no, no usage charges
TSBaronic
post Sep 24 2008, 08:17 AM

Problem?
7,533 posts

just w760i? no GPS receiver ? i dun think the w760i has a GPS chip rite
TSBaronic
post Sep 29 2008, 08:18 AM

Problem?
7,533 posts

erm, technically it is real time la. meaning it will show where u are at that time and which turning to take, accuracy of 10 meters
TSBaronic
post Oct 1 2008, 12:25 PM

Problem?
7,533 posts

hrm, i dun use garmin so i dunno, but i remember it was answered some time ago, i guess u have to do a search :/
TSBaronic
post Oct 10 2008, 11:59 AM

Problem?
7,533 posts

QUOTE(Sephirothleo @ Oct 10 2008, 10:46 AM)
i using HP IPAQ RW6828 i hear some people said this hand phone can install mapking software really can or not?
if i install the software can use in this phone or not?
or u guy got any recommend me other software to install it?

you dun need external GPS receiver. u already have internal. just purchase mapking or garmin and download maps from malsingmaps.com
TSBaronic
post Oct 13 2008, 10:06 AM

Problem?
7,533 posts

QUOTE(denver @ Oct 12 2008, 10:42 PM)
I can't seem to find the baudrate. I went to the Tools in Mapking 2007, click on GPS Settings but there were no baudrate listed there.
take a screenshot of your page? use SPB screenshot a free screenshot software

TSBaronic
post Oct 13 2008, 11:18 PM

Problem?
7,533 posts

QUOTE(denver @ Oct 13 2008, 10:30 PM)
Thanks guys. I've finally found the baudrate settings. I was looking at the wrong place (under Settings). Anyway, I've attached some screenshots to show my current GPS settings when I switch it on. When I change the GPS Setting to Auto-Detect, just like in Baronic's screenshots, still nothing. In Tools, when I click on Search GPS, it says that GPS Found! But when I switch to map mode, it doesn't detect where I am now. And the GPS signal bar shows a question mark (?) instead of the signal bars.
I haven't turned on my GPS for a few weeks already. The longest I waited was almost 20 minutes. Even for Cold Start, I dont think it should be that long, right?
location location location

plus weather factors. so we cant say.
TSBaronic
post Oct 19 2008, 03:30 AM

Problem?
7,533 posts

QUOTE((^.^) @ Oct 18 2008, 09:35 PM)
hello... can you guide me how to set the GPS in my IPAQ RW 6828 PDA?
but i heard people said that i need to install  a  GPS receiver then only can use...
izzit true what you said it previous tread...? no need a GPS receiver?
thank you
sorry bro i was mistaken. i tot the 6828 had internal GPS. it doesnt. so u'll need a bluetooth GPS receiver. :/ my bad
TSBaronic
post Oct 24 2008, 10:12 AM

Problem?
7,533 posts

i believe that's the software. if the map has the names etc, it should be able to read it. correct me if i'm wrong
TSBaronic
post Nov 16 2008, 10:05 AM

Problem?
7,533 posts

yes, google maps uses data connection
TSBaronic
post Mar 24 2009, 05:39 PM

Problem?
7,533 posts

GLO, what did u do? telling the steps u did would be a good idea for us to find out what u did wrong
TSBaronic
post Mar 25 2009, 12:23 AM

Problem?
7,533 posts

try getting from malsingmaps or malfreemaps
TSBaronic
post Mar 25 2009, 01:12 AM

Problem?
7,533 posts

doesnt matter, browse the map and find your location, and select as destination. no map has every POI in the world.
TSBaronic
post May 26 2009, 08:48 PM

Problem?
7,533 posts

QUOTE(azbro @ May 25 2009, 04:23 PM)
huh...reinstall and worked?....which program did he reinstall?....share your experience please....I'm trying my best to program my friends Omnia to work without success.
u refering to garmin? if u cant locate internal GPS means u're using cracked version, and we do not support warez here
TSBaronic
post Jul 23 2009, 11:51 PM

Problem?
7,533 posts

QUOTE(teniqcnerd @ Jul 23 2009, 09:51 PM)
I would like to buy a gps. I am torn between Garmin and TomTom. Which is the most suitable in Malaysia.
garmin. smile.gif support from malsingmaps and malfreemaps.com
TSBaronic
post Aug 4 2009, 03:46 PM

Problem?
7,533 posts

u shud base it on the software it uses. but i'm not sure because this thread is GPS questions pertaining to windows mobile. for symbian, there is a GPS thread in symbian section
TSBaronic
post Aug 10 2009, 12:40 AM

Problem?
7,533 posts

QUOTE(alycia @ Aug 9 2009, 09:41 AM)
hi,im newbie here,may i know where can i get the full instruction to use the Garmin? i really dont know how to use it to search address(im using HTC touch cruise 2nd hand)

step : Gamin mobile Xt --> i agree -->where to --> addresses --> spell state (any state i fill in also appear NOT FOUND)

if find the place of interest not a problem at all, but if i need to some where with a full adress with street, what should i do?

really hope got a patient friends here help and teach me,i will learn it asap as i can drool.gif

thanks!
which map are u using? if malfree malsing map, dun put in house number, and search by POI. but not all roads are listed in the POI, so what i do is search for a road nearby, then browse the map and click and set the destination. easy. smile.gif
TSBaronic
post Aug 13 2009, 01:47 AM

Problem?
7,533 posts

QUOTE(LowHaYaT @ Aug 11 2009, 11:38 AM)
Anyone ever heard of Marshal GPS?

Going to purchase one but dunno the company background..

I cannot search their official website at Googles!

Plz Help!
never heard of em to be honest. : / sorry cant help u out. why not go for something standard like Garmin?

7 Pages « < 4 5 6 7 >Top

0.0370sec    0.74    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th November 2025 - 10:20 PM