post Mar 29 2017, 08:21 PM

368 posts

PM for the special discount for K3 1.6
jackiewong
post May 25 2017, 05:08 PM

368 posts

QUOTE(Bassraptor @ May 25 2017, 02:17 PM)
That guaranteed trade-in value for Kia is a good hook, plus the 1.6 K3 is more loaded with specs than my Forte; Naza also throwing in free insurance and RT for first year apart from a 7k discount and 3 years free service. Going to test drive it soon to see how much of a difference the drive is. The other option is to shell out a bit more for long-term fuel economy with the Hyundai Ionic.
There are sales men even offered up to 17k discount but without all those free insurance, RT and free services..
jackiewong
post May 26 2017, 11:14 AM

368 posts

QUOTE(Bassraptor @ May 26 2017, 10:29 AM)
I probably can get the 1.6 K3 for 90k, gotta see what that package includes... tempting, just wondering if it will be like driving the Forte all over again, haha... well, I'll find out this weekend...
test drove 1.6sx last weekend. I'm currently driving a 20 years 1.3 proton saga, hence anything bigger cc than my 1.3 will always feel more powerful which is a good thing biggrin.gif .. the steering is light as expected since it is an eletronic power steering, can't really feel there is connection to the road since I'm driving a hydraulic power steering with my 1.3 proton saga. In term of power, definitely feel more powerful than my 1.3 proton saga.. the acceleration is better hence no complain on this part.. the paddle shifting is useful when u wanna do a engine braking as a safety feature hence 1.6sx is the minimum everyone should go for... overall a good car since i'm gonna jump from a 20 years proton saga to a c segment.. still waiting if there is any other discount.. perhaps should test drive the 2.0 too.. but thinking of the fuel and also the much more expensive road tax.. 1.6sx seem like a better choice and don't want to be spoilt by more powerful car... else by the time i change to another car after K3 (if I'm buying), I will be looking for variant with power better than 2.0l or turbo engine... tongue.gif
jackiewong
post May 26 2017, 05:57 PM

368 posts

QUOTE(Bassraptor @ May 26 2017, 01:52 PM)
Thanks for your impressions... yes, 1.6 is a good option in terms of road tax, but will test drive the 2.0 also...

But if I can go for the 2.0, may as well settle for the Hyundai Ionic... around same price for the top range as 2.0 with discounts...
Cerato is much more spacious than Ioniq.. not sure about the discount now for 2.0 but the Ioniq top range is ~RM114k
jackiewong
post May 26 2017, 08:17 PM

368 posts

QUOTE(Bassraptor @ May 26 2017, 06:11 PM)
Space not an issue... I'm not tall, and it's only me and the wife... Cerato has 7k discount from its 124k+ tag
kind of funny.. sx has up to 17k discount while the top spec only 7k... sure tapao la.. where got ppl buying that.. rather buy other car...
jackiewong
post May 28 2017, 06:59 PM

368 posts

QUOTE(Bassraptor @ May 28 2017, 02:21 PM)
So I test drove the Kia Cerato K3 1.6 (the 2.0 not available for test drive) and Hyundai Ionic this morning at Glenmarie.

The Ionic is loaded with features and new technology, but the ride didn't impress me and the engine seemed a bit rough when I stepped on the gas. It has decent pickup in Sports mode.

The Cerato was a smoother drive and ride, cabin seemed classier and both ride and drive felt a few steps up from my Forte. Both the wife and I preferred it to the Ionic.

Now the wife says, you've had 1.6 so far, why not go for the 2.0 - the price is RM110k+ - after knocking off the discount, the free insurance/RT by Kia and taking the RM3k rebate over the free 3 years of service. The 1.6 is RM93k+ after all the rebates.

Just a matter of when the deal is done and colour option now...
Haha.. my Wife and I have the same opinion too.. we tested cerato and ioniq on the same day and prefer cerato... i still need to wait for few months.. need to get things settled down before buying..

jackiewong
post May 28 2017, 09:54 PM

368 posts

QUOTE(Bassraptor @ May 28 2017, 07:05 PM)
The funny thing is... up until a day ago, based on paper specs, I thought the Ionic would be my choice....
if only Ioniq is not that small... even a city is more spacious than ioniq..

This post has been edited by jackiewong: May 28 2017, 09:54 PM
jackiewong
post May 30 2017, 10:49 AM

368 posts

QUOTE(faridr @ May 29 2017, 11:45 PM)
Do you know any SA that have those offer? Best i could get as of now is 12k discount (free insurance) for KX variant.

Mom currently set between Vento 1.6 Allstar or Cerato 1.6, but more towards Vento due to "solid feel". As I own conti car myself, trying to persuade her to go the safer route with korean as she tends to use same car for 10+ years.

Anyone tested both KX and SX variant? Does it differ much in term of noise level as i see KX is missing insulation at front hood. Only 1.6 SX available for test drive, and she's not interested with extras in SX variant.
get quotation from Buydirect.

0.0184sec    0.27    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 3rd December 2025 - 08:51 PM