Business Chartered Financial Analyst (CFA)

stlove
post Oct 19 2012, 12:43 AM

74 posts

Im confusing, hope someone can help. There are few routes for me after i completed degree in accounting and finance.

1) Master in Finance then ACCA then CFA
2) ACCA then CFA

i would like to have both accounting and finance knowledge....may i know how long are MIF, ACCA and CFA takes? assume that i can pass all the papers. I will choose to study for full time in order to focus better.

This post has been edited by stlove: Oct 19 2012, 12:43 AM
stlove
post Oct 19 2012, 12:20 PM

74 posts

QUOTE(fino_abama @ Oct 19 2012, 07:38 AM)
- Master in Finance (1.5-2 years)
- ACCA (2.5 years, assuming no exemptions, but you may need to factor in the exemptions you can get with your degree)
- CFA (2-2.5 years, assuming you start studying for the Level 1 exam 6 months prior to it)
What if i got exemptions 9 papers from ACCA, still need to take so long to finish ACCA? i thought it is about 5-6 months to complete ACCA after my degree?

stlove
post Oct 21 2012, 09:47 PM

74 posts

thanks for your information, would like to know where is better for me to work when im taking ACCA/CFA papars? I think BIG 4 is too stress for working&studying people.

Added on October 21, 2012, 9:49 pm
QUOTE(fino_abama @ Oct 20 2012, 01:29 PM)
With 9 papers exempted, there will be 5 more papers left, right? I'm not sure if you cant take 5 papers in one sitting, so it could probably take a year (two sittings). Maybe you should post this in the ACCA thread for ACCA-related questions.
thanks for your information, would like to know where is better for me to work when im taking ACCA/CFA papars? I think BIG 4 is too stress for working&studying people.

Added on October 21, 2012, 9:49 pm
QUOTE(aaron1kee @ Oct 20 2012, 05:15 PM)
Can take a maximum of FOUR papers in one sitting. But that's not recommended for a working professional to have that many.

This post has been edited by stlove: Oct 21 2012, 09:49 PM
stlove
post Oct 23 2012, 12:23 AM

74 posts

QUOTE(fino_abama @ Oct 22 2012, 12:02 AM)
stlove,

Are you looking for just any job or a job that is related to the CFA Program? My advice is to get into the industry that you have interest in the soonest possible. You will have to learn to manage the stress.

What is your final destination? Asset management/Corporate Finance/M&A? Start working towards that while studying for your papers. Employers value you more when you have the relevant working experience/skillset and the qualifications.
what if i said i dont have final destination yet, my path is get ACCA, CFA, Masters in Finance all these certificate and related experience, then i will go and get a law degree (not to be a lawyer lah), then maybe will study business in IT later on. My purpose to study is just add value to myself instead of getting a job. I know it is quite ridiculous for working people like you guys, just some of my thoughts now, it might change depends on the situation. Would like to get opinion from you, what do you think of all these? Is it really stupid/crazy thoughts like what my frens said? Actually it was inspired by my auntie who is a single mum with a daughter, she is a CIMA holder and now she is doing Master in Business IT at aged 45. I truly respect her to the max. smile.gif

This post has been edited by stlove: Oct 23 2012, 12:38 AM
stlove
post Oct 27 2012, 10:10 PM

74 posts

QUOTE(Materazzi @ Oct 27 2012, 04:01 PM)
why dont u take cima?
Why CIMA?
stlove
post Oct 28 2012, 10:43 AM

74 posts

QUOTE(Materazzi @ Oct 28 2012, 02:08 AM)
Like ur auntie
No, i dont mean to follow her pathway, just inspired by her dedication of studies. I think ACCA is the trend now. haha
stlove
post Oct 28 2012, 02:00 PM

74 posts

QUOTE(kinwing @ Oct 28 2012, 01:43 PM)
Looks like you don't have your own independent thought instead of 'being inspired by my aunt' or because of 'ACCA is the trend now'. Do you know what you want at the end?
I just want to work as consultant/advisor of anything instead of working in an office, i prefer work freedomly where i can arrange my schedule follow what i like. Studies others just to borden my knowledge or maybe can apply in the future as well.

0.0452sec    1.19    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 23rd December 2025 - 09:00 PM