Business Chartered Financial Analyst (CFA)

scribdutd
post Apr 9 2010, 06:42 PM

59 posts

QUOTE(yourself @ Apr 9 2010, 03:49 AM)
excuse me, if i wanted to become a CFA charterholder, i have to work for 4 years in the related field right? so most probably its i-banking or stock broking firm?

so basicly, to work in i-bank or stock broking firm, 1 need to have a degree in bank/finance right?

so.. what will be the fate of those who dun have the degree from bank/finance to get the job in the related field? i've heard a LLB student taking CFA, and same goes to engineer.

ok, i understand if they may switch field once they passed some of the levels of exams, but i think its gonna be hard for them to switch field as i-bank and stock broking firm would preferably take accounting/bank/finance/economic grads. what will be the fate of those who have passed?

pls guide me!
It may be obvious to some but
[a non-finance degree especially law, IT, mathematics,etc]+[CFA]=at least as competitive as [finance/banking degree]+[CFA], if not more. Passing level I is also a good indication that you are serious about entering the finance feld and you shouldn't find it very difficult to do so. I am majoring in accounting & finance and I find myself revising almost everything i've studied throughout my 3-year degree program at CFA level 1.

Btw, don't limit the scope of "related field" to i-banking/stock-broking firm/hedge funds/private equity etc, the following jobs are also accepted by CFA in meeting their 4-year experience requirement:

(source:http://www.cfainstitute.org/cfaprog/charterholder/membership/jobtitles.html)

Accountant

Actuary

Auditor

Client service representative or relationship

manager

Compliance analyst/officer

Consultant

Corporate chief financial officer

Corporate finance analyst

Derivatives analyst

Economist

Financial adviser

Financial journalist/editor

Institutional sales professional/business

development (buy and sell side)

Investment banking analyst

Investment consultant

Investment strategist

Investor relations

Mutual fund sales

Portfolio administrator

Portfolio manager

Private client investment adviser

Product/software developer

Professor/instructor

Quantitative investment or risk analyst

Real estate investment manager

Regulator

Securities trader

Securities underwriter

Security/investment analyst

Supervisor of investment firm

Valuator of closely held business

Venture capital analyst

scribdutd
post Apr 17 2010, 09:46 AM

59 posts

QUOTE(lawl @ Apr 16 2010, 08:19 PM)
What kind of skills we need to prepare ourself for doing CFA in future? Im taking finance degree in Aussie and wondering what course to take up for my electives. Do we need to be good at maths and stats? And can we take some papers during degree years? Thanks for clarifying my doubts. Cheers.
Check whether ur uni is a program partner at http://www.cfainstitute.org/cfaprog/univer...s_by_region.pdf, if it is, ur progression at level 1 will be much easier as more than half of what u will learn in CFA has been embodied in ur uni curriculum.

If it isn't , dont worry it doesnt affect ur eligibility to go for CFA, you can begin level 1 as long as you are in the final year of degree from a reputable university.

If u're studying in NSW, they have CFA workshops every saturday at UTS conducted by uni lecturers but it costs about 2-3000 AUD. Roughly just about the cost of 1 of ur finance electives. :]

Elective that will be very very relevant to CFA will be: investment portfolio, derivatives, financial accounting, etc. I assume corporate finance, microecon & macroecon and accounting are ur core units, master them well coz they will be repeated again in a strikingly similar fashion in CFA.

And yes, it helps to be good at maths but i would say the math requirements are still lower than that of a quantitative finance course.
scribdutd
post Apr 18 2010, 02:20 PM

59 posts

QUOTE(lawl @ Apr 17 2010, 11:30 AM)
Yes my uni is one of the program partners in that list. Im doing year 1 in Uni of Adelaide now. But, they only mentioned master degree in the list, not bachelor degree. So, i have to work harder for CFA papers? My course is not very much of accounting. More into banking/finance stuff.
there is no CFA test centre in south australia for both june & december sessions, ur only feasible option would be to come back to malaysia straight after ur end-of-year final exam and attend the test in KL in december
scribdutd
post Apr 19 2010, 02:06 AM

59 posts

QUOTE(lawl @ Apr 18 2010, 07:20 PM)
Yup. Wont mind to go back Malaysia to take up the exams. So, what u meant is that i can still take up the course by self-study (like most of the ppl do) while doing degree? Would it be header for me because my course isnt in the list from the website that u had given at previous post? Currently im doing a math subject which is most engineer and math degree student's core subject. I wonder if it helps. I asked the ppl in my uni and they werent sure if that math im and will be taking next semester actually help in CFA.
Seems tat u r very concerned bout how ur degree could help in CFA preparation. Have a look at its quicksheet at http://hotfile.com/dl/27803776/71213b0/CFA2010L1QS.pdf.html . If u find those topics and formula doable, you should be fine. Difficulty is seldom an issue at level I, tediousness is.
scribdutd
post Apr 28 2010, 03:30 PM

59 posts

QUOTE(lawl @ Apr 27 2010, 05:52 PM)
So i have read the link. And i realise that 10% have  covered in my 1st year degree. Maybe i should be more worry for level 2 and 3. What should i do to prepare for the 2 levels? Read more business news or constantly revise math?  rclxub.gif In Australia degrees, we often need to take 4th year in order to get honour degree. If i choose to take CFA, should i take the 4th degree, given if im offered by university in 3rd year. Thanks for advice.  rclxms.gif
Honours degree loses much of its significance if you plan to come back to mslaysia. Otherwise it's a good program to kickstart your career in australia. Think twice.

No business news no math revision, the best way for you to prepare for it is to start working on CFA schweser notes (5 volumes for level 1) if you are so desperate to ensure that every aspect of your CFA studies is perfect.

It might be a bit irrelevant but I think your enthusiasm for CFA is premised on your burning desire to secure a good career path in finance industry. At this stage(i assume u're in the 1st yr of uni), the MOST IMPORTANT thing for you to do is to be accepted into a good internship program in a respectable financial institution. Please, trust me, being interned at, say Morgan Stanley, lends twice as much credence to your ability in the eyes of employers as passing all three levels of CFA before you graduate(though procedurally impossible). This is the thing that you should be worrying about the most now.
scribdutd
post May 5 2010, 07:39 AM

59 posts

QUOTE(luigee @ May 4 2010, 01:02 PM)
To prepare for the 2 levels, you should start your revision once you know you passed your Level 1. I'm not kidding you. Schweser is still your best friend for Levels 1 and 2 and will still be helpful in Level 3. But of course the CFA curriculum is very important because only its contents will be tested. Some people would prefer writing their own notes for much easier reading as the syllabus will kill you with the QUANTITY that you need to absorb. But then again, you will also go through hell coz there's so much to read and write. Doing the past year papers will be helpful as well after you completed your rounds of study.

Reading business news should be a routine like reading the sports section of the newspaper. About revising your maths, I think you should only revise what's inside the syllabus when the time comes.

IMHO, you should do your honours first if given the opportunity. You might not know whether you'll be able to complete the CFA program. I kid you not. Don't underestimate Level 1. Looking at the passing rates, majority that failed were probably the ones that underestimated it. But IMHO you should be able to pass Level 1 if not it'll be so much tougher in Levels 2 and 3.

If going thru the CFA program is like climbing a mountain, Level 1 is a steep walk, Level 2 is a steep climb and Level 3 is a vertical climb to the summit.

I'm doing my Level 3 now and I tell you it's a pain studying. If I was this hardworking back in my school days, I would have gotten straight A's and probably a scholarship to some Ivy League school or prestigious uni.

Added on May 4, 2010, 1:07 pm

http://www.cfamalaysia.org/default.aspx

Go attend their CFA preview talk if it's gonna be held. They will mention about the partial scholarship offered. You can email them for further enquiries.
Love the the way you commented on CFA's difficulty, at least it becomes a rare qualification that automotically proves your attitude and aptitude upon attainment.

Btw only 30-50 Malaysian qualify as charterholder every year.

Added on May 5, 2010, 8:17 am
QUOTE(luigee @ May 4 2010, 01:02 PM)
To prepare for the 2 levels, you should start your revision once you know you passed your Level 1. I'm not kidding you. Schweser is still your best friend for Levels 1 and 2 and will still be helpful in Level 3. But of course the CFA curriculum is very important because only its contents will be tested. Some people would prefer writing their own notes for much easier reading as the syllabus will kill you with the QUANTITY that you need to absorb. But then again, you will also go through hell coz there's so much to read and write. Doing the past year papers will be helpful as well after you completed your rounds of study.

Reading business news should be a routine like reading the sports section of the newspaper. About revising your maths, I think you should only revise what's inside the syllabus when the time comes.

IMHO, you should do your honours first if given the opportunity. You might not know whether you'll be able to complete the CFA program. I kid you not. Don't underestimate Level 1. Looking at the passing rates, majority that failed were probably the ones that underestimated it. But IMHO you should be able to pass Level 1 if not it'll be so much tougher in Levels 2 and 3.

If going thru the CFA program is like climbing a mountain, Level 1 is a steep walk, Level 2 is a steep climb and Level 3 is a vertical climb to the summit.

I'm doing my Level 3 now and I tell you it's a pain studying. If I was this hardworking back in my school days, I would have gotten straight A's and probably a scholarship to some Ivy League school or prestigious uni.

Added on May 4, 2010, 1:07 pm

http://www.cfamalaysia.org/default.aspx

Go attend their CFA preview talk if it's gonna be held. They will mention about the partial scholarship offered. You can email them for further enquiries.
p.s. mind sharing with us as to what motivated you to spend so much time and effort on CFA? Do you already have the assurance from elsewhere that you'll be guaranteed a better job if you become a charterholder?

This post has been edited by scribdutd: May 5 2010, 08:18 AM
scribdutd
post May 7 2010, 11:34 AM

59 posts

QUOTE(luigee @ May 5 2010, 05:23 PM)
I come from a non-finance background (engineering to be exact). Like many others I'm interested in making a career switch to investment banking, particularly fund management. CFA is probably the best qualification out there and is recognised globally. CFA charterholders are well-paid in the industry, just like how actuarists are due to their limited numbers. Most Malaysian CFA charterholders are either holding prominent positions or based abroad. Knowing the future benefits that awaits me is what drives me. But of course you got to have your Plan B if things don't work out.

To be honest IMO completing all 3 Levels of the CFA Program doesnt guarantee anything, it only increases your chances of getting hired. I don't have any assurance from any potential employers at the moment but I'll probably apply for those management trainee/associate programmes offered by these investment banks after this in hopes of getting absorbed by them.
Investment banking to funds management is actually like dentistry to dermatology, they're 2 vastly different branches that stem from the same stream. I have been bombarded with opinions from official and non-official sources that CFA helps a lot in funds management and equity research, but loses much of its relevance when it comes to investment banking.

Anyway good to know that funds management is your thing, all the best and may we rise to the occasion on 6th June.

This post has been edited by scribdutd: May 7 2010, 11:35 AM

0.0383sec    1.17    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 19th December 2025 - 02:21 AM