DotA Dota Maths Tutorial, merged from 3 topics

TSLoWang
post Oct 29 2006, 01:58 AM, updated 20y ago

OK, I have a stout shield - this should give me 40%chance of blocking 30damage. If I have two shields is it 80%? The same thing with basher - is the 15%chance to stun added or somehow multiplied?
Kaydon
post Oct 29 2006, 02:22 AM

845 posts

no.. it does not work this way... it does not double up.. its just makes the probability increase.. by the meaning.. if somehow the 1st basher makes the bash.. and the 2nd basher makes the bash at the same time.. oni 1 bash will appear..

so it does not really double ur chances.. in other words not multiplied.. it just like creating another probability that it might have a chance activate..

this goes same for PA who buy burize.. if PA's ulti somehow activates.. and the burize crit activates, it will take the larger damage..

thats how it works..hope this help clarify ur thoughts smile.gif

cheers.. oh.. do correct me if i am wrong though..
post Oct 29 2006, 03:22 AM

1,602 posts

well...let me explain

1 x basher = 100% - 15% chance can't be stun
2 x basher = 100% - (85%/15%) chance can't be stun
3 x basher = 100% - [(85%/15%)/15%] chance can't be stun

1 x stout shield = 100% - 40% chance fail to block 30 damage
2 x stout shield = 100% - (60%/40%) chance to fail block 30 damage
3 x stout shield = 100% - [(60%/40%)/40%] chance fail to block 30 damage

u all get wat i means ?....correct me if wrong , cos it teached by my clans leader @@

This post has been edited by 3536837: Oct 29 2006, 04:41 PM
TSLoWang
post Oct 29 2006, 06:32 AM

hm... not sure if I understand :-] So you think it can be this way:
2stout shields = 0,4 + 0,4 - 0,4*0,4 = 0,64 (64% of -30 damage)
2bashers = 0,15 + 0,15 - 0,15*0,15 = 0,2775 (27,75% chance to stun)
I am not sure if these formulas are right, I have found them somewhere when searching for probability adding...
unamed
post Oct 29 2006, 06:38 AM

386 posts

QUOTE(3536837 @ Oct 29 2006, 03:22 AM)
well...let me explain

1 x basher = 15% chance to stun
2 x basher = 85% of 15% chance to stun
3 x basher = 85% of 15% of 15% chance to stun

1 x stout shield = 40% chance to block 30 damage
2 x stout shield = 60% of  40% chance to block 30 damage
3 x stout shield = 60% of  40% of 40% chance to block 30 damage

u all get wat i means ?....correct me if wrong , cos it teached by my clans leader @@
I'm not very sure bout the way they count, but urs is wrong. According to your source, with 2 bashers, the chance of bashing is 85% of 15%. That is actually lower than 1 basher, 100% of 15% which is 15%. So that's basically wrong.

Anyway if i'm not wrong the calculation is posted in the DotA forum.
TSLoWang
post Oct 29 2006, 07:35 AM

I would search for it, but the search function mysteriously does not work for my account there! yawn.gif I wrote to admin but he didn't help cry.gif
Yes it was probably wrong. Here is a corrected version wink.gif
2bashers: 0,15+(1-0,15)*0,15 = 0,2775 (27,75%)
2stout shields: 0,40+(1-0,40)*0,40 = 0,64 (64%)

OMG the results are the same as before! whistling.gif So I think it must be right...
the second item adds it's value lowered by the percentage of the first one (actually itself)...

So 3536837, it is a little different then you say (+1basher smile.gif

This post has been edited by LoWang: Oct 29 2006, 07:40 AM
Sesshoumaru
post Oct 29 2006, 11:26 AM

1,190 posts

I'll explain it a bit clearer.
Each basher has a 15% chance to bash (assuming melee).
p=0.15

If you have 2 bashers, each of them has a 0.15 chance to bash, independant of each other. You have 4 possible outcomes.

First basher bash, second doesn't.
First basher bash, second bash as well
First basher doesn't bash, second bashes.
First basher doesn't bash, second doesn't as well.

Now let's name them equation 1 to 4, according from top to bottom. The chances of each event happening...

1)0.15*0.85
2)0.15*0.15
3)0.85*0.15
4)0.85*0.85

Now we want to calculate what is the chance of bashing. The criteria is and/or, as long as one bash activates (doesn't matter if both activates at the same time as well), it is considered a 'bash'.

So therefore, we take 1 + 2 + 3, in other words

0.15*0.85 + 0.15*0.15 + 0.85*0.15=0.2775 i.e 27.75% chance (alternatively you can just take 1 - * figure obtained from 4, 0.85*0.85 *)
avrilfreak87
post Oct 30 2006, 01:24 AM

2,630 posts

QUOTE(Sesshoumaru @ Oct 29 2006, 11:26 AM)
I'll explain it a bit clearer.
Each basher has a 15% chance to bash (assuming melee).
p=0.15

If you have 2 bashers, each of them has a 0.15 chance to bash, independant of each other. You have 4 possible outcomes.

First basher bash, second doesn't.
First basher bash, second bash as well
First basher doesn't bash, second bashes.
First basher doesn't bash, second doesn't as well.

Now let's name them equation 1 to 4, according from top to bottom. The chances of each event happening...

1)0.15*0.85
2)0.15*0.15
3)0.85*0.15
4)0.85*0.85

Now we want to calculate what is the chance of bashing. The criteria is and/or, as long as one bash activates (doesn't matter if both activates at the same time as well), it is considered a 'bash'.

So therefore, we take 1 + 2 + 3, in other words

0.15*0.85 + 0.15*0.15 + 0.85*0.15=0.2775 i.e 27.75% chance (alternatively you can just take 1 - * figure obtained from 4, 0.85*0.85 *)
Hahah! very good explanation! So that's what Specialist Math does to a student! biggrin.gif tongue.gif
don^don
post Oct 31 2006, 10:37 AM

(#‵′)凸
1,930 posts

QUOTE(Kaydon @ Oct 29 2006, 03:22 AM)
this goes same for PA who buy burize.. if PA's ulti somehow activates.. and the burize crit activates, it will take the larger damage..

thats how it works..hope this help clarify ur thoughts smile.gif

cheers.. oh.. do correct me if i am wrong though..
no, it takes the lower damage.
Sesshoumaru
post Oct 31 2006, 12:15 PM

1,190 posts

No to that either. It takes the LAST crit to be instilled. Naturally, that would mean the Burize, UNLESS somehow you get the Burize first, THEN up the ultimate for the very first time.
TSLoWang
post Nov 1 2006, 07:37 AM

High school of DotA - three stout shields and three bashers! laugh.gif

We made a really big research about this and we found a formula for this situation:
3a-3a^2+a^3
so three stout shields would be:
3*0,4-3*0,4^2+a^3 =
1,2 - 0,48 + 0,064 = 0,784 = 78,4% chance to block 30 damage

three bashers:
3*0,15-3*0,15^2+0,15^3 =
0,45 - 0,1575 + 0,003375 = 0,295875 = 29,6% to stun
ubhm
post Nov 4 2006, 01:02 AM

I kill fast and danger!
1,364 posts

in reference to this and so many other thread, its gotten to me to lol.

http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopic=362326

http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopic=359445

http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopic=348142

SUSFlizzardo
post Nov 4 2006, 02:28 AM

Troll
1,093 posts

QUOTE(iceman31 @ Oct 7 2006, 02:58 PM)
Got la... It is MiniBash ok... See Propley
then wat haappen if a pa hold 2 crystalist??
PA with crystlais will reduce the chance of his ultimate to come out

because it works like bash thing where

his ulti crit , crystalis doesnt crit ( u get utli crit )
his ulti doesnt cirt, crystlais doesnt crit ( no crits )
ulit doesnt crit , cryustalis crit (u get crystalis crit )
ulti crits , crystlais ( in basher case u would get double bash efffect but in critical case u would see 2 critical pop up and stacking each other BUT they will only take the lower critical thus overwrite ur ulti )

so u see everytime both crits come out the crytalis critical will deal dmg but no damage from ulti crits

This post has been edited by Flizzardo: Nov 4 2006, 02:29 AM
ubhm
post Nov 5 2006, 01:18 PM

I kill fast and danger!
1,364 posts

FOund it on the other thread,thx treepex.
Ah WanG
post Nov 5 2006, 03:52 PM

Banned
6,515 posts

I have merged up those useful post from the other topic tat ubhm has posted.

You may continue the mathcraft disccussion here
Darkmage12
post Nov 5 2006, 06:43 PM

shhhhhhhhh come i tell you something hehe
17,053 posts

this 1 gives huge headache to see.... better not think of it when playing laugh.gif
ubhm
post Nov 5 2006, 10:51 PM

I kill fast and danger!
1,364 posts

QUOTE(Flizzardo @ Nov 4 2006, 02:28 AM)
PA with crystlais will reduce the chance of his ultimate to come out

because it works like bash thing where

his ulti crit , crystalis doesnt crit ( u get utli crit )
his ulti doesnt cirt, crystlais doesnt crit ( no crits )
ulit doesnt crit  , cryustalis crit  (u get crystalis crit )
ulti crits , crystlais ( in basher case u would get double bash efffect but in critical case u would see 2 critical pop up and stacking each other BUT they will only take the lower critical thus overwrite ur ulti )

so u see everytime both crits come out the crytalis critical will deal dmg but no damage from ulti crits
wow nice, i didnt know about the phantom lancer ulti+butterfly doesnt stack together as well, got anymore to share ?
SUSMalaysian
post Nov 6 2006, 03:21 AM

1,651 posts

QUOTE(LoWang @ Nov 1 2006, 07:37 AM)
High school of DotA - three stout shields and three bashers!  laugh.gif

We made a really big research about this and we found a formula for this situation:
3a-3a^2+a^3
so three stout shields would be:
3*0,4-3*0,4^2+a^3 =
1,2 - 0,48 + 0,064 = 0,784 = 78,4% chance to block 30 damage

three bashers:
3*0,15-3*0,15^2+0,15^3 =
0,45 - 0,1575 + 0,003375 = 0,295875 = 29,6% to stun
6 basher on timestop....with his on bash..apa macam

total how many %

u kira for me lor...
Darkmage12
post Nov 6 2006, 08:08 PM

shhhhhhhhh come i tell you something hehe
17,053 posts

QUOTE(ubhm @ Nov 5 2006, 10:51 PM)
wow nice, i didnt know about the phantom lancer ulti+butterfly doesnt stack together as well, got anymore to share ?
phantom lancer? i thought he meant phantom assassin?

QUOTE(Malaysian @ Nov 6 2006, 03:21 AM)
6 basher on timestop....with his on bash..apa macam

total how many %

u kira for me lor...
no need kira so much la if 6 basher almost can say every hit bash
Irishcoffee
post Nov 8 2006, 01:58 AM

ilX / Espressivo
2,994 posts

how abt this my count :
correct if am wrong

Formula: