New Unifi IPTV Box - Huawei EC6108V8, Need some help on configuration and tips

Rainings
post Nov 19 2017, 12:44 AM

1,100 posts

Hi all the Sifus, i get the ec6108v8 recently, But, when i connect to internet. It automatically updated the firmware, anyway to revert the update?. initially i plan to root this device and install playstore. But using the Huawei STB i'm unable to connect the device. But the weird thing is im able to ping the device. im googling solution so far found ntg. I go into android system but the "update zip" option was not there.
Any Sifus or master can help? thanks
Rainings
post Nov 22 2017, 02:42 PM

1,100 posts

Right now the only way to install app on hypptv box is through TTL way. Since TM disabled everything on recovery mode. But in order to do this, u need to get USB to TTL converter and open ur box to connect with the pin. I believe not many user willing to try that by their own, especially if u are not sure what u are doing. After u rooted the device, you can delete UpgradeOnline.apk from the /system/app
Rainings
post Nov 23 2017, 03:16 PM

1,100 posts

QUOTE(voncrane @ Nov 22 2017, 11:07 PM)
Yep, that's way too much work for the average joe.. If they needed to ask over here and not find out how on their own.. Fairly certain they wouldn't want to bother with such.. Especially when they could brick the device. Besides, much better and powerful media players for RM2xx and less.. install apps to one's content.
ya i agree, right now over here no one post any guide on how to do it using TTL. Ppl take this advantage to earn $.
Tones of powerful android box with only around RM200. Why go and pay for ppl to install app for u?
It's just a free box from TM, u can toss it or break it to claim for warranty.
only China site provide such guide, i'm getting TTL coverter, will post the guide once successfully rooted and installed app.
the converter is only around 10 bucks, no harm to try.

Rainings
post Nov 25 2017, 11:29 AM

1,100 posts

QUOTE(eelaideee @ Nov 25 2017, 09:36 AM)
Serial port also disabled, unable to key in any command.

use boot cmdline,disable serial, cmdline:[mem=1G console=NULL,115200 blkdevparts=mmcblk0:]
[attachmentid=9373628]
are u the guy who sell the service here but create a new account to reply here?
Rainings
post Nov 25 2017, 07:20 PM

1,100 posts

QUOTE(voncrane @ Nov 25 2017, 07:06 PM)
Best to ask TM directly.. Also depends on what package you are on. I think got mixed reports about it. Some say cannot, others that it can after a year.. Me? No idea and I don't personally know anyone who has.
Hmm, could be. Good catch..  laugh.gif  laugh.gif
Already got my convertor, but waiting for the pin cable. The seller didn't include the cable. Sigh
Rainings
post Nov 26 2017, 03:43 PM

1,100 posts

QUOTE(eelaideee @ Nov 26 2017, 02:03 PM)
Not me lah, I'm also looking the way to install the apk.
The TTL way is found from the China website, tried but no luck.
Hope you can found the solution and share here.

Currently the version blocked adb, recovery and serial port, so I think just can flash the partition of fastboot to unlock the serial or flash recovery partition to update the recovery version, but where can find the fastboot or recovery image?
Ic, do u use hyper terminal before connect to adb?
Rainings
post Nov 26 2017, 10:09 PM

1,100 posts

QUOTE(eelaideee @ Nov 26 2017, 09:22 PM)
I use the Putty.

Here is the partition of the box,

0          fastboot    0x00000000      0x00200000
1        partition    0x00200000      0x00200000
2          recovery    0x00400000      0x01000000
3        deviceinfo    0x01400000      0x00200000
4        baseparam    0x01600000      0x00800000
5          pqparam    0x01E00000      0x00800000
6              logo    0x02600000      0x00800000
7          fastplay    0x02E00000      0x02800000
8              boot    0x05600000      0x01000000
9              misc    0x06600000      0x00200000
10            system    0x06800000      0x27000000
11            cache    0x2D800000      0x19000000
12            backup    0x46800000      0x19000000
13              swdb    0x5F800000      0x03000000
14          userdata    0x62800000      0x80000000
If no one can provide the recovery image, I think can backup the boot image then modify it to enable the serial, or modify the system image and insert the apk into /system/app, then flash back into the box.
I just worry my box become broken cry.gif
maybe u can try, do u broke the SEAL that cover the screw? if not really no need worry, just claim warranty if the device gg.
Do share ur finding man, i'm still waiting for my dupont cable.
Rainings
post Nov 28 2017, 09:55 PM

1,100 posts

QUOTE(eelaideee @ Nov 25 2017, 09:36 AM)
Serial port also disabled, unable to key in any command.

use boot cmdline,disable serial, cmdline:[mem=1G console=NULL,115200 blkdevparts=mmcblk0:]
[attachmentid=9373628]
damn i get the same result, serial disabled.
need to find way to enable the serial.
any finding from u so far?

0.1303sec    0.35    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th November 2025 - 11:33 PM