Superbikes V.4, Let's Share & Discuss

deadwolf
post Nov 20 2015, 11:31 AM

QUOTE(Alien5566 @ Nov 20 2015, 11:23 AM)
umm ... yes you are right ... just wanna set a brand now ... like u said k3 or hjc ..its ok as well as among my budget
Make sure that the helmet fits your head shape properly. That's the most important thing lol. I like Shoei but my head doesn't fit most of their helmets. On the other hand Arai helmets fit my head shape just nice laugh.gif
deadwolf
post Nov 24 2015, 04:00 PM

QUOTE(gl0be.iv @ Nov 24 2015, 02:28 PM)
Nice! Mine cost RM700 in Penang and I had to do it on an old Virago 535 with totally wasted front suspension. Good times laugh.gif
deadwolf
post Nov 25 2015, 02:52 PM

QUOTE(g3n0c|d3 @ Nov 25 2015, 12:38 AM)
i dunnue about u guys but i really in love with ol skool superbikes....

almost got myself a 1997 suzuki gsxr 750 SRAD then thinking back.... i would end up repairing it more than riding it lol.... and with my budget i figure out what the heck and grab a new bike... and dont have to upgrade my license too.... hahahahaha
Old school superbikes...they might be old but they definitely have something about them lol.

A friend let me have a ride on a 'baby' Katana 400 he just bought a couple of weeks ago. Was an interesting experience. The most surprising thing was that it is actually smaller than my Ninja 250R (narrower and more compact. Ninja 250r's face looks wide and fat in comparison). Very light clutch, good brakes and low seat height. Seat was wide and comfortable as well compared to the Ninja. Very smooth and nice engine note due to the inline-4.

It's a bit of a shame that these bikes aren't made anymore, bikes with smaller displacement that are more forgiving and useable on the street but with top-shelf components similar to the big-cc superbikes of the day. Definitely nicer and a bit more highway capable than modern 250s, too many of which IMO are just cheap commuters covered in plastic trying to pretend to be sportbikes. Oh well, that's just the way the bike market has changed laugh.gif
deadwolf
post Dec 1 2015, 08:57 PM

QUOTE(RayKazansky @ Nov 30 2015, 04:43 PM)
Ini maciam ok ar?

Woah, that actually looks pretty dang nice drool.gif The frame almost like a sportbike's.

QUOTE(darrencw @ Dec 1 2015, 04:02 PM)
hi guys,

i'm currently looking into getting my first bike. to give some background, i have ZER) biking experience (i don't think riding on Ex5 for a few times over the last 10 years count) thusly i do not have B license.

i have my eye set on z800 and to be honest that's the only one that can really cure the itch that i have (sound and looks) my initial plan was to get the license and "season" myself with a z250. however, i have spoken to a few friends and the general consensus that i've received is to get the z800 instead.

having read on forums, z800 is not really recommended as a beginners bike.

will appreciate advise and opinions from sifu sifus here  notworthy.gif
Hey Darren, I'll echo what RayKazansky and ajaibman have said. Since you haven't ridden a superbike before it's better to take it easy and get used to things on a z250 or one of the 500cc-650cc bikes before jumping on a Z800. A 650cc will still feel like it travels at warp speed to most new riders laugh.gif Yeah if you can, try the XJ6 out. Many 250cc bikes nowadays are similar in size to 600s and 1000s, but with much less power. Which can be annoying on the highway.

You mentioned that your area has lots of bumpy roads...for example on bikes like the Z800 which can put down a lot of power on short notice, one hard bump might make you twist the throttle too hard and send you into a wheelie or some other unintended stunt. Learn throttle and clutch control on a more forgiving bike first thumbup.gif

deadwolf
post Dec 2 2015, 04:37 PM

QUOTE(darrencw @ Dec 2 2015, 11:21 AM)
that would be a hideous sight.  tongue.gif
but it's 2 cylinder ... ths sound ... then again, what are the main differences between mt07 and xj6?
the wheelie part is scary, how often does that happen really? is it common among newbs?
but then i don't really want to lose too much, hence xj6 seems like a good choice right now.
mt07 is a parallel twin, two cylinders side-by-side. xj6 is an inline four, four cylinders. xj6 is also quite a bit heavier (over 200kg) but is supposed to carry its weight better than a z800 laugh.gif can't comment on xj6 handling, but the mt07 is supposed to be pretty agile.

QUOTE(darrencw @ Dec 2 2015, 02:50 PM)
ok guys, just came back from one of kawasaki dealer in UPM area. perhaps you guys would know which shop / dealer it is.

tried to sat on z800, showroom bike, not demo unit.
initial impressions:
- overwhelming, VERY overwhelming. absolutely zero confidence with a lot of fear.
- heavy, though it looks good.
- fuel tank is too high.

z250
- comfortable, confident.
- price wise is very accessible.
- doesn't give the beastly feeling that z800 gave.

for now z800 would be definitely out of the picture. in consideration would be xj6 vs z250/300.

i enquired for the z300 which is in the show room, it is 5k more expensive with additional 50cc and ABS. is that a good choice at that price point? should i topup more and go for xj6 instead?
Funnily enough, the z800 is actually heavier than the z1000 shocking.gif

IMO the z300 is very overpriced for what it offers. I'm not sure what the bike dealers are thinking with bringing it in, since it doesn't fit our license tiers which are 250cc/500cc/unlimited cc. Personally I also feel that z300 would be hard to sell in the future because of this.

Have you considered trying a ER6N? Second-hand ones are like 14k-16k, in fact I even saw one for 12k on Mudah recently shocking.gif They are similar in size to the Ninja 250/z250 but with far more power (and IMO easier to cilok through traffic than a Ninja).
deadwolf
post Dec 4 2015, 04:58 PM

QUOTE(darrencw @ Dec 2 2015, 05:18 PM)
as for the z1000 vs z800 weight, i thought it has something to do with the materials used for the build of the chasis that gives the 40kg relieve?
z800 uses cheaper parts, more steel or something like that, hence the extra weight.

QUOTE(darrencw @ Dec 4 2015, 11:22 AM)
i checked out KCM's FB yesterday. some promotion going on. will drop by in a bit. wait for my updates!

another question; how do i get B2 / B full L without attending the ceramah?
I was dreading wasting several hours at the ceramah, but it wasn't so bad. The new handbook they give you has some interesting tips in it that I wasn't expecting. Just get it all done, you only have to do it once if you're going for B full license laugh.gif

Saw this earlier while at the bike shop. Honda NM4 'Vultus', aka Batcycle/Akira bike/etc. 750cc automatic transmission. Silent as a ghost. Saw the owner accelerate from a traffic light, the whole thing catapulted forward like it had rocket boosters drool.gif

deadwolf
post Dec 4 2015, 08:23 PM

QUOTE(lucifah @ Dec 4 2015, 08:16 PM)
Wow... this is a rare bike
Yeah, apparently there are only 3 in Penang. Didn't even know they were already selling them in M'sia.
deadwolf
post Dec 7 2015, 02:51 PM

QUOTE(lucifah @ Dec 3 2015, 10:40 AM)
bike week at my place this friday. later share pics with u guys
Yeah, pics plz! I went to Penang Art of Speed couple of weeks ago, might put up some photos too. FIM Supermoto world championship at the same time, damn syiok to watch.

QUOTE(Cyphereza @ Dec 5 2015, 08:41 AM)
I wonder how this bike filter thru traffics. Easy or not? hmm.gif
It's wide. Really wide. The handlebars are really wide, and then the front plastic containing the side mirrors is even wider shocking.gif Long wheelbase as well, I don't think it filters very well lol. But must be nice on the highway. Another complain I heard was that for taller riders, the handlebars are too close to the seat which makes it cramped.

QUOTE(Hades76 @ Dec 7 2015, 09:48 AM)
No point buying a bike that you love, but gives you fear when you ride it. If you want that, get a wife...Muahhahahaa....cheers.... smile.gif
ROFL thumbup.gif
deadwolf
post Dec 9 2015, 02:27 PM

Lean more and turn your head towards the direction of the corner. I once got almost caught out when I did everything else correctly but my head was still following the original 'curve' of the corner instead of the now tighter curve.

Letting go of the throttle too abruptly will trigger engine braking, causing your rear wheel to break traction. The rear wheel is already busy sticking to the corner, suddenly you ask it to slow you down as well, it doesn't have enough 'money' left to give (thanks Keith Code) wink.gif

I once stupidly downshifted from 2nd to 1st in a tight corner. Rear tyre almost locked and skidded a bit. Luckily it was quite low speed. Never again biggrin.gif

QUOTE(-speedz- @ Dec 9 2015, 09:26 AM)
Are those what they're called? Am also referring to the paint/tar that they use to cover up the existing white lines and yellow markers on the road to make way for new road markers; especially now near MRT projects.
These are tar snakes, they're used for patching cracked roads. Slippery shit:

Not sure if there's a proper name for those painted-over road markings.
deadwolf
post Dec 10 2015, 01:11 PM

Commuting? Harley engine?

Look at that wheelbase and tell me filtering thru traffic is gonna be hard biggrin.gif

deadwolf
post Dec 10 2015, 02:46 PM

QUOTE(monaz @ Dec 10 2015, 01:15 PM)
But the rear 'sprocket' look like a stunt bike shocking.gif
Might be something to do with the belt drive? My moto-knowledge is insufficient in this area laugh.gif

QUOTE(underGr0und_8 @ Dec 10 2015, 01:54 PM)
Just got my LDL issue, can i order/purchase a bike with my LDL?
Next is to arrange time to go class.
Once in a while I see superbikes with 'L' stickers...should be fine I guess.
deadwolf
post Dec 10 2015, 10:40 PM

My favourite HD:

Something about it, all blacked out. Tall, narrow and purposeful like those old flat track bikes. That double barreled exhaust. Barring those custom sportsters I don't think there's any other bike with this kinda look. And it handles too! drool.gif

HD exhausts always remind me of the tick of those old grandfather clocks for some reason. Plak plak plak plak...
deadwolf
post Dec 11 2015, 04:39 PM

QUOTE(Cyphereza @ Dec 11 2015, 11:53 AM)
True. But some times I think, it is safer to potong traffic light than waiting (at night when there is no vehicle in sight). Reason for this, takut kena paw or crazy/drunk driver hitting us from the rear shakehead.gif
I heard that in some countries, it's legal to potong traffic lights at night (if the way is clear) after a certain period of time has passed. Thi is because motorcycles aren't usually heavy enough to trigger the traffic light sensors. Not sure if M'sia has these laws too...

0.0454sec    0.97    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 23rd December 2025 - 06:46 PM