https://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopic=3574932&hl=
Meleis - wassup
Cainis - wa tapps
Yindian? hmm.gif  hmm.gif  hmm.gif
Yindian - Whats up deii macha

QUOTE(FatalitY @ May 28 2015, 12:00 PM)
Whatsapp - Normal citizen

Whatapps - Cao ah beng / Rempit

Btw, how do you really pronounce it? Whats - app or whats up? Cuz it annoys me when I hear ppl say use whatupps or whats up
I suppose it's What's App?
Blofeld
post May 28 2015, 12:13 PM

4,457 posts

QUOTE(FatalitY @ May 28 2015, 12:00 PM)
Whatsapp - Normal citizen

Whatapps - Cao ah beng / Rempit

Btw, how do you really pronounce it? Whats - app or whats up? Cuz it annoys me when I hear ppl say use whatupps or whats up
Clearly, it's a combination of the word Whats and App

Definitely not What's Up.

The phonetic symbols for app is /ˈæp/, which is clearly different from up /'^p/

But when you hear the British pronouncing app and Up, it sounds very similar. But it's not the same. Up is higher than app

Furthermore, the misunderstanding is caused by Malaysians who couldn't differentiate between the symbol /æ/ and /e/

Pronouncing the first syllable for apple and editor is clearly very different. But Malaysians don't bother to know the difference. To pronounce apple, the first syllable sounds very similarly to Up but it's not Up.

SUSNight Fox
post May 28 2015, 12:18 PM

72 posts

WHAT'S APP
not what up or what ass
[F]atalit[Y]
post May 28 2015, 12:19 PM

312 posts

QUOTE(Blofeld @ May 28 2015, 12:13 PM)
Clearly, it's a combination of the word Whats and App

Definitely not What's Up.

The phonetic symbols for app is /ˈæp/, which is clearly different from up /'^p/

But when you hear the British pronouncing app and Up, it sounds very similar. But it's not the same. Up is higher than app

Furthermore, the misunderstanding is caused by Malaysians who couldn't differentiate between the symbol /æ/ and /e/

Pronouncing the first syllable for apple and editor is clearly very different. But Malaysians don't bother to know the difference. To pronounce apple, the first syllable sounds very similarly to Up but it's not Up.
That's why I kind of get a little annoyed. Its app for application, apple. Even if its British or Aussie pronunciation, it does not run too far. But what I hear sometimes its whats up as in up up pergi atas up.
neuro4869
post May 28 2015, 12:23 PM

1,077 posts

What's up yo?
Blofeld
post May 28 2015, 12:24 PM

4,457 posts

QUOTE(FatalitY @ May 28 2015, 12:19 PM)
That's why I kind of get a little annoyed. Its app for application, apple. Even if its British or Aussie pronunciation, it does not run too far. But what I hear sometimes its whats up as in up up pergi atas up.
Based on Received Pronunciation (RP), the pronunciation for /æ/ is quite close to /^/.

So, you might hear the British pronouncing apple similarly to AH pple.

But of course, it's not the same pronunciation but it sounds closely the same.

To a typical Malaysian, they thought it's the same pronunciation. sweat.gif

2 Pages < 1 2

0.0116sec    0.37    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th March 2024 - 08:41 AM