Technical Downloaded File Problem, wonder if it's caching?

TSSd-RawK-Cab25
post Oct 27 2006, 06:47 PM, updated 20y ago

Yiw maaaaaader!
595 posts

hey guys and gals!

sorry if this is a repost or there's an existing thread (if there is, mods please do point me to it, thx).

see my problem (i call it a problem la at least) is that i was trying to download a 1gb demo from mp (wwe svr 2k7 to be precise), and at first i noticed the download rates were kinda screwy so i decided to turn off the console after hours of no progress. take note that i did this without signing off/cancelling download.

the next time i signed on, the download resumed..but starts at a lower percentage...then it just got stuck there. after a few tries here and there with restarting downloads, cancelling them, and even trying to download from the us mp, i can't seem to download the file with a smooth ongoing download progress.

i also tried deleting the incomplete demo file from the hdd to get a 'fresh start'. also this resulted in near-hits-or-misses. sometimes the download seems to start decent..going from 1% - 30% in an hour or more, but sometimes it doesn't even move, or it gets stuck at 0% (after restarting download). the highest i've got is up to 50%...but then suddenly got notification "Cannot Download WWE....Demo" and poof, the file went missing from the active dl list.

so my questions are:

1. anybody know why this happens? can't be a server error cos some guys got to download till finished..plus this only happens to me for the smackdown file. all other downloads are a-okay!

2. could it be a caching problem? even if i delete the incomplete file from the hdd, when i go back to mp and try to restart download..it recognizes that i have downloaded the file before...so does this mean there is data somewhere in the cache..and it's corrupted data? (this may be caused by the turning off of the console before properly stopping the download)

if it's about caching, my next group of questions are:

3. manually clearing the cache - harmful or harmless? (clearing via the Y,X,X,LB,RB,X,X 'code' in the system > memory blade).

4. does clearing the cache affect updates? anyone tried this b4?

thanks sifus for your cooperation on this. it's not a system halting problem, but it still gets on my nerves..i'm so in need of the wwe demo laugh.gif

thanks! notworthy.gif
tailgunner
post Oct 27 2006, 08:16 PM

293 posts

clearing cache will damage ur save file and ur HDD data.
judge-the
post Oct 27 2006, 08:18 PM

-Judge-Jury-Executioner-
3,331 posts

sometimes when we download from xbox live... the progress really wont move at all lah. but once it move then it will continue downloading
TSSd-RawK-Cab25
post Oct 27 2006, 08:35 PM

Yiw maaaaaader!
595 posts

hmmm...i see...i see...thanks guys. now i know that clearing cache is kinda dangerous...soo...better safe than sorry..

ah well..just haveta wait for tht file to download then..

thanks dudes!

notworthy.gif
VonDrake
post Oct 27 2006, 09:30 PM

333 posts

If it says file cant download and its still i HD just go to the place where u download and continue... I always got then when download GRAW chap 2.. so i just kept having to start download over... It continues where it last said cant dl etc.. or maybe lower percentage but stil better than 0
TSSd-RawK-Cab25
post Oct 27 2006, 09:47 PM

Yiw maaaaaader!
595 posts

QUOTE(VonDrake @ Oct 27 2006, 09:30 PM)
If it says file cant download and its still i HD just go to the place where u download and continue... I always got then when download GRAW chap 2.. so i just kept having to start download over... It continues where it last said cant dl etc.. or maybe lower percentage but stil better than 0
aah i see2...thx2 for the info! notworthy.gif
TSSd-RawK-Cab25
post Oct 28 2006, 11:32 AM

Yiw maaaaaader!
595 posts

updates: so far downloads are good..but waited for like a whopping 5-6 hours only to get up to 80% from us mp.

aiyoh..at least more than 50% then..just haveta wait some more.. icon_rolleyes.gif
TSSd-RawK-Cab25
post Oct 30 2006, 12:02 AM

Yiw maaaaaader!
595 posts

update: nice..i got what bro judge got.. i had to sign out once...when i signed in..continued download for the file and poof...it did not become koko krunch (it would be better if it did) but it started back at 0%.

just wait for the final game to come out la like this.. shakehead.gif biggrin.gif
TSSd-RawK-Cab25
post Nov 5 2006, 10:30 PM

Yiw maaaaaader!
595 posts

latest update:

yes, the Fall update does update the auto resume function of downloads, and i finally managed to download WWE Smackdown! thumbup.gif took 8 hours to finish tho.

yeahoo!! icon_rolleyes.gif

so time to close this down!

0.0139sec    0.67    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 28th November 2025 - 09:29 AM