sorry if this is a repost or there's an existing thread (if there is, mods please do point me to it, thx).
see my problem (i call it a problem la at least) is that i was trying to download a 1gb demo from mp (wwe svr 2k7 to be precise), and at first i noticed the download rates were kinda screwy so i decided to turn off the console after hours of no progress. take note that i did this without signing off/cancelling download.
the next time i signed on, the download resumed..but starts at a lower percentage...then it just got stuck there. after a few tries here and there with restarting downloads, cancelling them, and even trying to download from the us mp, i can't seem to download the file with a smooth ongoing download progress.
i also tried deleting the incomplete demo file from the hdd to get a 'fresh start'. also this resulted in near-hits-or-misses. sometimes the download seems to start decent..going from 1% - 30% in an hour or more, but sometimes it doesn't even move, or it gets stuck at 0% (after restarting download). the highest i've got is up to 50%...but then suddenly got notification "Cannot Download WWE....Demo" and poof, the file went missing from the active dl list.
so my questions are:
1. anybody know why this happens? can't be a server error cos some guys got to download till finished..plus this only happens to me for the smackdown file. all other downloads are a-okay!
2. could it be a caching problem? even if i delete the incomplete file from the hdd, when i go back to mp and try to restart download..it recognizes that i have downloaded the file before...so does this mean there is data somewhere in the cache..and it's corrupted data? (this may be caused by the turning off of the console before properly stopping the download)
if it's about caching, my next group of questions are:
3. manually clearing the cache - harmful or harmless? (clearing via the Y,X,X,LB,RB,X,X 'code' in the system > memory blade).
4. does clearing the cache affect updates? anyone tried this b4?
thanks sifus for your cooperation on this. it's not a system halting problem, but it still gets on my nerves..i'm so in need of the wwe demo
thanks!
Oct 27 2006, 06:47 PM, updated 20y ago
0.0149sec
5 queries