Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

Outline · [ Standard ] · Linear+

C Smart Eco Plug, Need Help!!

views
     
TShamuza1809
post May 22 2015, 12:07 PM, updated 9y ago

Getting Started
**
Junior Member
66 posts

Joined: Apr 2013
From: Miri, Sarawak


Hi! My friend and I are having trouble obtaining a solution to construct our prototype. First, lemme explain a bit about what we're doing. The name of our project (for our final year, which is this coming June) is "Smart, Eco Plugs".

Below are the functions of our device:
1. Provide readings for AC Voltage (On a PC / LCD screen, whichever suits the most / easier)
2. Enable auto-off or auto-on, depending on the need for power supply (eg. when an appliance is plugged in, for example a phone is charged, when it's full, our device will automatically turn off)
3. Control the intensity of current / voltage flowing through, which is useful to dim lights and such (with the help of a variable resistor)

Scenarios:
1. I have to use Arduino (Yun / Uno / as long as it's arduino) - SOLVED
2. C Programming (I have basic knowledge of those, but it'll be helpful if the masters could suggest me with better codes) - meh
3. How to provide AC Voltage reading?
4. Auto-off and auto-on, is it possible?
5. Intensity controller (I guess this can be solved through hardware *resistors* and software *programming(dimmer)* )

Solution:
1/2 - Suggestions would be helpful rclxms.gif

3. I've scribbled throughout the net, and there's little info on AC Voltage reading provider except the one embedded within the multimeters, most of it are on DC Voltage readings. Hence, I decided to post my problem on the arduino forum, which can be browsed here
(http://forum.arduino.cc/index.php?topic=319154.msg2211004#msg2211004).
The "PQ Meter" is awesome, but it provides reading in dB, not Voltage; but I guess it can be changed through proper programming. My question is, if you were in my shoes, would you use an LCD screen instead of a PC (GUI) to provide the readings?

4. One of them suggested that I used a short time delay on my project, as it records drop in voltage and determines whether the device need supply of voltage or not. The question is, resources for it is quite barren and I've been looking for an alternative for it. Any codemasters out there with suggestions / experience regarding this?

5. Intensity controller, what kind of resistors / hardware that is suitable for this as it needs to handle high voltage?

Remarks:
Arduino can't handle high voltages, especially involving AC. Thus, we've came out with the solution of separating the sensor / actuator mechanism from the board; as the board will be using a separate power source (in this case batteries) to avoid it from getting damage.

Thanks admin and codemasters, and if there's any problem with my thread, do tell smile.gif

This post has been edited by hamuza1809: May 22 2015, 12:07 PM
angch
post May 22 2015, 12:49 PM

On my way
****
Junior Member
635 posts

Joined: Jul 2006
QUOTE(hamuza1809 @ May 22 2015, 12:07 PM)
1. Provide readings for AC Voltage (On a PC / LCD screen, whichever suits the most / easier)
*
Been too long, but:

1. You want wattage, not voltage.

2. http://danyk.cz/wmetr_en.html measures watt, outputs volts. Then add http://electronics-diy.com/ICL7107_volt_meter.php. Edit: /me facepalm. The 2nd part is unnecessary, you just need an ADC, which already exists on the Arduino: http://www.arduino.cc/en/Reference/AnalogRead . I've been away from electronics too long.

But please, get yourself an electrical engineer on your team. It's not just a software or microprocessor thing.

Or just: http://arduinotronics.blogspot.com/2013/06...re-monitor.html (Note: this measures Volts and Temperature, which may not be what you needed)

This post has been edited by angch: May 22 2015, 01:12 PM
TShamuza1809
post May 22 2015, 03:14 PM

Getting Started
**
Junior Member
66 posts

Joined: Apr 2013
From: Miri, Sarawak


QUOTE(angch @ May 22 2015, 12:49 PM)
Been too long, but:

1. You want wattage, not voltage.

2. http://danyk.cz/wmetr_en.html measures watt, outputs volts. Then add http://electronics-diy.com/ICL7107_volt_meter.php. Edit: /me facepalm. The 2nd part is unnecessary, you just need an ADC, which already exists on the Arduino: http://www.arduino.cc/en/Reference/AnalogRead . I've been away from electronics too long.

But please, get yourself an electrical engineer on your team. It's not just a software or microprocessor thing.

Or just: http://arduinotronics.blogspot.com/2013/06...re-monitor.html (Note: this measures Volts and Temperature, which may not be what you needed)
*
Thanks for your reply! Those links are super helpful and I'll try those out. And maybe I'll be sure to refer at my electrical lecturer regarding those uncertainties rclxub.gif
Eventless
post May 22 2015, 05:55 PM

Look at all my stars!!
*******
Senior Member
2,641 posts

Joined: Jan 2003
QUOTE(hamuza1809 @ May 22 2015, 12:07 PM)
4. Auto-off and auto-on, is it possible? (eg. when an appliance is plugged in, for example a phone is charged, when it's full, our device will automatically turn off)

4. One of them suggested that I used a short time delay on my project, as it records drop in voltage and determines whether the device need supply of voltage or not. The question is, resources for it is quite barren and I've been looking for an alternative for it. Any codemasters out there with suggestions / experience regarding this?
*
Voltage can also fluctuate from other appliances that is not using your plug. Ever see the light dim when an air-con in a different room is turned on? Depending on your area, the voltage in your power grid could also fluctuate due to other users on the same power grid. Current being drawn by the device would be a better indicator since it is more localized.

Even this method isn't fool proof since some devices like TVs can still draw power from the socket when it is supposed to be off/stand by.
wKkaY
post May 23 2015, 12:36 PM

misutā supākoru
Group Icon
VIP
6,008 posts

Joined: Jan 2003
For the purpose of your project you could use resistance dimming, but it has fallen out of favor in modern light dimmers which use PWM instead.
angch
post May 23 2015, 01:34 PM

On my way
****
Junior Member
635 posts

Joined: Jul 2006
QUOTE(wKkaY @ May 23 2015, 12:36 PM)
For the purpose of your project you could use resistance dimming, but it has fallen out of favor in modern light dimmers which use PWM instead.
*
Not much of a choice if you have only LEDs. Need PWM for brightness control for LEDs, IIRC. And if you still have incandescents, the proper way to implement "Eco" is to swap them with LEDs.
wKkaY
post May 23 2015, 03:45 PM

misutā supākoru
Group Icon
VIP
6,008 posts

Joined: Jan 2003
QUOTE(angch @ May 23 2015, 01:34 PM)
Not much of a choice if you have only LEDs. Need PWM for brightness control for LEDs, IIRC. And if you still have incandescents, the proper way to implement "Eco" is to swap them with LEDs.
*
Offtopic - I have dimmers in my bedroom installed from 15 years ago. They're flaky and would flicker intermittently when using CCFLs even when the knob's left at 100%. I can't be bothered to get an electrician to strip out the dimmer though, so I'm just using incandescents as the glowing filament "rides over" the flickers sweat.gif

 

Change to:
| Lo-Fi Version
0.0123sec    0.43    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 28th March 2024 - 09:32 PM