> Cabin Crew/Stewardess Q&A

differ
post May 22 2015, 02:06 PM

404 posts

QUOTE(Junid @ May 22 2015, 08:28 AM)
My GF, since university first year, graduate together in computer science, got chosen as a cabin crew........
Countless times i've told her not to accept that offer because i personally have no idea what the career path is, but of course i do believe if she stays in IT field would be much better, isn't it?

How much they earn actually? and what are the odds, 2-3 years down the line? she's accepted as a cabin crew for MAS and now undergoing 3 months training.  rclxub.gif
Zero career path. Chances of even becoming Chief Stewardess is very remote.

Either she take some part time degree when she is flying, then leave once she has seen the world and gotten her qualifications... or, sleep around until some rich guy offer to marry her.

differ
post May 22 2015, 02:56 PM

404 posts

QUOTE(scorptim @ May 22 2015, 02:51 PM)
manade 0 career path bang, just that a lot of them dun choose the alternate career path as opposed to becoming chief stewardess.

If say you got 10 years experience in airlines, you can transfer to other depts which does office work like ticketing dept etc...and normally they'd give you at least manager post, but people dun choose this coz salary will be lower than air stewardess coz no allowance etc (do note that at least 70% of cabin crew pay is from allowance)

Alternatively, you can switch to hotel line, most 5, 6 stars hotel will give you manager post (mostly in f & B or front office)...but still, will earn less than when you are flying la...
Chances of making Chief are very slim cos at that stage you also need to play politics to get promoted.

Ground crew pay like peanuts, that is hardly called a career path. Those that make it into management are those who invested time to get their degrees when they were flying.

If you just gonna fly for those 10 years and not improve yourself, you are just gonna be stuck at leading forever.

No respectable hotel will offer you a managerial position outright just because you have 10 years of flying experience.

differ
post May 22 2015, 05:12 PM

404 posts

QUOTE(scorptim @ May 22 2015, 03:02 PM)
My bro 10 years exp in MAS, then went on to be f & B manager in Sheraton Imperial...no degree...so...SI is not respectable hotel?

Of course if when they  interview you, you like dungu like that wont get la, they will still judge ur character as in any normal interview + check ur records with mas if ur a good staff or not...a lot of cabin crew in mas quite problematic 1, so those confirm wont get job lo...
SI... no comment. What year did your brother join SI?
differ
post May 22 2015, 07:46 PM

404 posts

QUOTE(scorptim @ May 22 2015, 05:33 PM)
Its either 08 or 09, kinda forgot d. haha.
that's a long time ago already..... if your brother were to exit the industry now, he may not have the same opportunity...

0.0223sec    0.69    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 17th December 2025 - 03:24 AM