Gerbils part III, 3rd thread up!

TScrazymouse_yyh
post Oct 26 2006, 09:27 PM, updated 19y ago

www.suggiesathome .wordpress.com
12,047 posts

Old thread has a lot of information, do visit it eventhough old.
Gerbil II

Gerbil information:
The gerbils I have are Mongolian Gerbils. They are pretty easy to care for and are generally more active and are friendlier than hamsters.

Gerbils make great pets for older children and adults. Tame and friendly, gerbils rarely bite or never bite at all. Once a while they do nip to test their surroundings or to give you a warning. Nipping is not painful.
Gerbils need to live in pairs, same sex pairs or mating pairs because they will become depressed and lonely. Aggressive and possive gerbils do occur and they should live solitarily once you find out they hate other gerbils but you as an owner need to give more attention to a single gerbil.

Why a pair? Well, gerbils are colony animals. They need to feel safe and secure in a family. Once they are alone, they become depress and will be destructive by chewing on everything they find, tend to dig at the tank's corners the whole day without stop, show nervousness and other unhealthy activities.

Gerbils do not have odours, the males have a bit but you will never notice it at all. They are clean, not smelly. They do not urinate much coz they are desert animals and do not consume much water. You still need to provide clean drinking water to them. If your gerbil doesn't like water, provide more leafy vegetables and fruits(non-citrius) for them to consume.

Gerbils are very hardy, they do not easily get sick. Gerbils can have allergy reactions to beddings. Always provide the best dustless beddings. Do go for some brands like Chipsi Classic/Super, Aspen shavings, corn cob... DO NOT USE CEDAR OR PINE!!!! These woods can cause serious health damage to all small animals.
The bedding needs to be changed once a week. The most is once every 2 weeks. The best bedding for gerbils is providing them with a mix. They and mix :

Hay(timothy or any bedding hay)
Wood shavings
Wood chips/corn cob
Paper(tissue or plain white shredded paper)

This mix will provide the best digging mix for a gerbil. You will need to fill up about 8cm of bedding cause gerbils are DIGGERS! They need to dig and make tunnels and burrows to satisfy their natural instinct.

How about breeding?
Please see the link below... breeding is not easy as it will cost money and time and space. So think carefully before breeding. Also, it takes a lot of studying of the genetics to get the best colour quality from a pair. Some gerbils can only produce black and agouti pups.... so that is why the genetics have to be studied. Breeding needs a goal, to be a breeder one must never think of money but the goal of getting new colours or promoting the pet. If any information needed on breeding, PM Nezumitaro, jaswwp or me(crazymouse_yyh)

You CANNOT pull their tails or it will come off. No, gerbils are not lizards, they come off coz their tails have very sensitive nerves and skin, pulling hard can detached the bone and tear the skin, resulting in the lost of a tail.

Important stuff to have before getting a gerbil:

1.5ft Aquarium with lid- you can get plastic or glass, plastic is easier to clean. The bigger, the better. (rm30 to rm40 for plastic) DO NOT CAGE THEM! Examples:

Hamster staple food- Any brand would do but best is Hagen to me. Gerbils prefer food mix with more grains and nuts than pellets.

Treats- Wooden chews, peanuts, dog biscuits and bread are great treats.

Water bottle- They need a bottle but if you don't want them to tear the bottle up, searh the internet for tips on making a bottle guard or cage. I feed my gerbils water using a bowl and watch them drink their fill and take away he bowl. Gerbils do not need much water if you feed them fruits and vege often.

Vege and fruits- Important to have in their diet. Give mustard greens(Sawi/Choy Sum), apples and carrots, french beans, lettuce. PUMPKIN makes an excellent treat!!! It deworms the intestines as well.

Toys- Gerbils love wooden stuff to chew, cardboard box to chew and glass cups and small clay flower pots to play in. Do not buy plastic toys coz they will chew them and you will waste your money.

Hide Box- Gerbils like to sleep in hide boxes. You can DIY one from an old coconut shell, buy a wooden one or plainly make one out from wooden ice cream sticks and PVA glue.

Wood Shavings and Wood Chips- No pine or cedar, please use aspen shavings or chipsi wood shavings. Pine and Cedar will cause breathing problems and watery eyes. Wood Chips are a good substitute if you can't find proper wood shavings.

Timothy Hay- Gerbils love hay. They chew it, build nest with it and sleep in it.

Alfalfa Hay- High in protein and is still good for gerbils to nibble and chew and make their nest.

Sand Bath- When your gerbil's fur looks ruffled and dull, give them a sand bath. You can get this cleaning sand that is for hamsters, works well and will make a gerbil look all velvety and clean looking.

Bedding Hay/Straw- You can try Russel Hay or Sluis Comfort Hay. These hay are used to build nest... cheaper than Timothy and Alfalfa hay.... and smells nice too.

Updated!!!!!
Gerbil waiting list:

1. hamster9 - 1 DEH
2. heidityj - 1 pair
3. faerie - dove and sp lilac

I do not give out mating pairs. Strictly only single sex pairs.

I will only consider letting go breeding pairs if you can convince me you are a good keeper.

Those in the waiting list, if you are thinking twice about gerbils, do inform me. PM me for more info.

(Will be continued later)

This post has been edited by crazymouse_yyh: Dec 6 2006, 09:43 PM
TScrazymouse_yyh
post Oct 26 2006, 09:35 PM

12,047 posts

Useful Websites:

http://www.sensi-media.com/gerbil/domestic.htm - thanks to Jaswwp

http://www.gerbils.co.uk/

http://www.abcgerbils.com/

http://www.agsgerbils.org/

http://www.petermaas.nl/gerbils/english.htm

http://ourworld.compuserve.com/homepages/e...bils/colors.htm

http://www.gerbilbreeding.com/gene.htm - thanks to Nezumitaro

http://home.wtal.de/ehr/gerbils/colors.htm

http://www.geocities.com/Heartland/Park/6961/index.html

This post has been edited by crazymouse_yyh: Nov 10 2006, 01:07 PM
TScrazymouse_yyh
post Oct 26 2006, 09:54 PM

12,047 posts

- Gerbils like to have friends. So get them a playmate. A pair at least.

- Only have single sex gerbil clans unless you want to breed. You would need a lot of tanks to breed gerbils.

- Gerbils like wooden toys and hides to feel secure and healthy.

- Never mix gerbils with other small rodents like rats, mice or hamsters.... there may be casualties later on.

- Never give plastic to gerbils, they will chew it to bits and may ingest some which could cause a health problem.

- Gerbils are not nocturnal, there are awake throughout the day, with naps in between.

- Provide extra protein for gerbils with cooked egg, mealworms and crickets.

- Food such as lentils, wheat germ, rolled oats, rice, pasta, oat biscuits, dog and cat kibble, bird seeds are good food for gerbils.

- Millet makes gerbils feel high and can make them fat.

- Gerbils can be noisy at night coz they love to dig.

- Gerbils can jump as high a 1 meter, so provide a good and secure lid for the tank.

- Gerbils can escape but do not panic, they rarely go lost forever since they like to stick close to their family.

TScrazymouse_yyh
post Oct 26 2006, 10:26 PM

12,047 posts

Gerbil Breeders:

nezumitaro
Jaswwp
lilac
crazymouse_yyh

Gerbil Keepers:

1. Suet
2. Smellyocheese
3. Emino
4. readix
5. hamster9
6. zoejehuty
7. Shinobi
8. Eyerule
9. Enigmatic
10. Reanne
11. Rena_Blue
12. NZX
13. raist86
14. euross

This post has been edited by crazymouse_yyh: Oct 26 2006, 11:40 PM
TScrazymouse_yyh
post Oct 26 2006, 11:05 PM

12,047 posts

Photos from lilac

TScrazymouse_yyh
post Oct 26 2006, 11:08 PM

12,047 posts

Photos from Readix

This post has been edited by crazymouse_yyh: Oct 26 2006, 11:12 PM
TScrazymouse_yyh
post Oct 26 2006, 11:36 PM

12,047 posts

Yah... Stormy's death was really sudden... it's ok... as long her pups in good health then good.

OK everyone! GERBIL THREAD OPEN FOR POSTINGS!!!!
TScrazymouse_yyh
post Oct 27 2006, 01:08 AM

12,047 posts

Can can... reserve any spot you like to update later....
TScrazymouse_yyh
post Oct 27 2006, 08:10 PM

12,047 posts

All my pups doing fine... got eat so I'm happy lah heheheh...

QUOTE(zoejehuty @ Oct 27 2006, 11:56 AM)
hey hey, great news, my yellow fox labour already....
today morning got 5 pups already...
this morning come out one....
Wah, congrats!!!! Heheheh... 5 pups is a good amount. Give her more mealworms. In 4 days time, you can see their colour. Wah, you untung lah, buy 1 and become a package of 6 ehheeh...

QUOTE(hao @ Oct 27 2006, 02:20 PM)
Wah... congrats to zoejehuty!!! Hope the pups are doing well...
Hao, now Malacca got more gerbils lioa heheheh....

QUOTE(./Hack-Fusion @ Oct 27 2006, 04:03 PM)
after wateched nezumitaro's sale gerbils video direct poision already..OMG~~~~
Hello and wlecome!! Gerbils are very fun pets to have and very addictive.
TScrazymouse_yyh
post Oct 27 2006, 11:27 PM

12,047 posts

Sorry, no sales discussion.... Marimo or M@r0R!, please PM each other if you wanna do business.
TScrazymouse_yyh
post Oct 28 2006, 10:46 PM

12,047 posts

QUOTE(jaswwp @ Oct 28 2006, 12:28 PM)
Habitrail is rather lousy quality food. Try to get slightly better like delikate or living world classic which is only slightly more expensive than habitrail.
Ahhh... I don't like Delikate... Get living world classic.... good stuff... but now ah, my current mix has made some of my baby hamsters fatter, plus Silver is putting on sooooo much weight..... my goodness...

Prestige!! I haven't try coz everytime wanna buy, Ikano no stock liao... sigh....

Has anyone tried Sluis?

Harry Hamster also good good.
TScrazymouse_yyh
post Oct 28 2006, 11:54 PM

12,047 posts

You can mix a lot yourself.

Personally, I prefer Habitrail over Delikate but then don't only feed just Habitrail. Mix it up with high quality bird seeds and human grade grains

Here is my mix:

Habitrail 1kg
Living World Classic 1kg
Harry Hamster 1kg
Peanuts 1kg
Bird seeds 300 to 400g
flaxseeds 600g
2 cup brown rice
1 cup dog kibble
Honey egg pellets 1 packet
Britter Bunny 1/2 packet (I think 500g)
Lentils(get from supermarket)
Rolled Oats 1kg
handfuls of Lab Blocks
Raw Barley
Chickpeas

Well, this is my mix for 20 over gerbils and 14 hamsters, can last me quite some time lah.... but of course if for 1 pair of gerbils... dunno, maybe can last 1 year hahaah... kidding.

If have 1 pair, then make smaller batches. And keep it in air tight containers.
TScrazymouse_yyh
post Oct 28 2006, 11:59 PM

12,047 posts

QUOTE(nezumitaro @ Oct 28 2006, 11:44 PM)
yes thats the one..
no hvn't try Sluis, harry n prestige i still prefer prestige..
around those chepaer than $10 food, i think delikate is the most my gerbils like.. others.. hehehehhe whistling.gif
Delikate got so many of those alfalfa pellets... hahahah... Habitrail more grains mah... but then I think it is up to the gerbils loh. I just don't use Delikate coz the pellets so colourful and I dunno what ingredients they use inside loh. Well, as long the gerbils eat then ok I guess... but you lucky you can find prestige... so hard to find for me... so I normally go for harry hamster.
TScrazymouse_yyh
post Oct 29 2006, 12:11 AM

12,047 posts

OHhh... if you can get in bulk, count me in ah heheheh.... really interested loh.
TScrazymouse_yyh
post Oct 29 2006, 12:28 AM

12,047 posts

I like to choose green green hay hehehehe....
TScrazymouse_yyh
post Oct 29 2006, 01:48 AM

12,047 posts

Sometimes the old stock... got bugs in them... and if the shopkeeper puts the hay in damp places, then it goes stale and moldy.... try and get green hay. Well, not fresh and green kind lah hehehe... just avoid brown looking and old hay. Go for those slightly green hay, smells very nice compared to old and stale hay.

If you go Pet Safari, Hay Pro is now the freshest hay but so expensive now.... next would be Kaytee Hay... then comes Kool Bunny.... actually got many Japanese Brand hay but so expensive loh...

There is Oxbow hay... looks very old.... another brand I think Prestige... some look old too.
TScrazymouse_yyh
post Oct 29 2006, 11:50 AM

12,047 posts

Good morning.... I just woke up hahahah... coz I slept at 6am... played with my glider, gerbils and hamsters loh hahahh..
TScrazymouse_yyh
post Oct 29 2006, 06:02 PM

12,047 posts

QUOTE(lilac @ Oct 29 2006, 06:00 PM)
hey guys... whats the diff between Argente Cream and Argente Gold? LOL
Argente Cream has an extra gene... Ch... it lightens the colour. Argente gold is just plain orange... a deep orange while Argente Cream, can see is lighter 1 shade. Like Lilacs and dove loh.
TScrazymouse_yyh
post Oct 29 2006, 09:03 PM

12,047 posts

QUOTE(lilac @ Oct 29 2006, 06:58 PM)
hey crazymouse LOL that new avatar is LOL explosive! LOL
Hahah... my greedy hamster loh.... he looks like gonna explode LOL..

Very nice pics. Your Argente Cream looks very content heheheh....

QUOTE(M@r0R! @ Oct 29 2006, 07:00 PM)
What was that??Guinea pig??Hamster? laugh.gif
Syrian hamster... heheheh... tongue.gif
TScrazymouse_yyh
post Oct 29 2006, 09:16 PM

12,047 posts

Hahah... he justed over stuffed his cheek pouches. So it made him look big.

13 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0367sec    0.31    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 6th December 2025 - 01:08 AM