Gerbils part III, 3rd thread up!

TScrazymouse_yyh
post Dec 19 2006, 10:07 PM

www.suggiesathome .wordpress.com
12,047 posts

Hahah... For me... only 1 tank will chew my bottle while my other tanks won't chew... but yah lah, will cry if the bottle kene chewed badly... luckily a bit only.

Wooden house they like to chew... it is good for their teeth heheheh.... now all my wooden houses look like chew toys already. Kinda ugly but the gerbils like hahaha...

Oh... come and work next time lah.... clean animal poop and feed them heheh.... but also can get chance be a show presenter if got confident in speaking.... I feel like I am acting these days coz have to act "lively" and "perky" with a big smile hahahah.... ish... feel weird all day hahaha....

Aiyoh, plastic bowls should never be used since gerbils will chew up anything plastic lah.... so use glass bowls.... I dun use bowls coz I let them look for their food in the bedding.... makes them excercise to look for their food heheheh...
TScrazymouse_yyh
post Dec 20 2006, 11:26 PM

12,047 posts

Gerbils dun really need wheels.... in some places, they think putting wheels for gerbils is cruel since it makes their backbone bend in a weird shape coz gerbils are not shaped like hamsters.... some people say that lah.

For me, gerbils will always be happy if we interact with them personally and let them have some free time out of their tanks. Also provide wood chews and they would stay happy everyday.
TScrazymouse_yyh
post Dec 21 2006, 09:56 PM

12,047 posts

Wah... so many replies in 1 day... anyway.... remember, dun get instant oats.... get rolled oats or wheat bran... well, instant oats just afraid it will bloat in the stomach from water absorbtion and later can cause impaction loh.... Can get at organic shop or Carrefour sell the Quaker Rolled Oats for Rm8.90 for 1kg...

Today I managed to put Foamy and her 2 daughters with 3 gurl gurl gerbils... success since no fighting hahaha... this is first time for me to see females never fight for the first meeting.... I hope this clan dun have problems, I need to save some space hahaahh....

Anyway.... PEW boy up for grabs if anyone wants coz running out of space LOL.... kesian me.... so many gerbils hahahah...
TScrazymouse_yyh
post Dec 21 2006, 10:40 PM

12,047 posts

QUOTE(prelude23 @ Dec 21 2006, 10:07 PM)
crazymouseeeeeee finally u here... wanna ask you wat pet you actually have? can tell?  smile.gif
Lah.... so interested to know meh? My list too long hahaha.... I roughly can say I got 90 pets. tongue.gif
TScrazymouse_yyh
post Dec 23 2006, 11:13 PM

12,047 posts

Aiyoh, don't give plastic anymore.... very dangerous coz gerbils when they chew, they can accidently swallow the plastic.... later tersekat in the intestine or throat how? Do use glass or ceramic.... Those are the best for gerbils.

Oh, I was at Pets Wonderland at Great Eastern Mall.... saw some small wood chews... very small since about 1cm in diameter but 6cm long I think.... anyway, all colourful and comes in a pack of 12 pieces if I remember correctly.... Rm3.80 only.... ok price lah but then gerbils, sure finish chewing in a few minutes hahah.... hamsters won't really chew but gerbils are machine chewers.
TScrazymouse_yyh
post Dec 25 2006, 12:57 AM

12,047 posts

Merry Christmas!!!!!

Neo looks excited... sure he will get a present in the morning heheheh....

PVC pipes are harder, gets chewed less but you gotta test it and see. If your gerbil chews constantly, then best replace with a wooden house or flower pot.
TScrazymouse_yyh
post Dec 25 2006, 01:38 AM

12,047 posts

Gerbils can go for a few days without water.... but must never do it lah coz cruel to them. If you got problem feeding water, substitute it with wet vegies such as cucumber, sawi, watercress, carrot and some fruits like apple and pear.
TScrazymouse_yyh
post Dec 25 2006, 04:15 PM

12,047 posts

Must always make sure tank size is correct....

Anyway.... today is not a very nice Christmas for me.... Foamy and her agouti daughter.... they both fight till died.... It's really weird since they appeared ok yesterday. I check the other females and they have no wounds or blood stains so they were not fighting.... so I guess Foamy and her daughter fought... I am just assuming.... but pity lah.... so sad...
TScrazymouse_yyh
post Dec 25 2006, 04:40 PM

12,047 posts

Yah.... quite sad since Foamy and her daughters are lovely.... really dunno why lah but my brother found them buried in the wood shavings, all hard liao....

I do not think it is sickness since they appeared fine.... but then when I check the bodies, got injuries and wounds.... must be something happen in the clan.... so cham.
TScrazymouse_yyh
post Dec 25 2006, 05:33 PM

12,047 posts

Foamy has always been with her daughter.... i never seperate since you return her back to me wor.... this is why I feel strange loh.... coz the other females in the tank all are young... 3 months old so very unlikely to fight and they do not have injury or wound or blood stain.... only the bodies of Foamy and her daughter got wound and some blood.... sigh.... her other daughter also nothing wrong wor.... so I find it very weird...
TScrazymouse_yyh
post Dec 25 2006, 10:19 PM

12,047 posts

QUOTE(bizen @ Dec 25 2006, 08:25 PM)
Hi.. I want to know how long is gerbil's life span and also how big can it grow? Will it bite often if little children hold it?
Life span... well, average is 3 years but if you take really good care, they can live up to 5 years.

Their size is perfect for children.... with adult supervision, gerbils rarely bite or never bite.... Well, so far no gerbil has ever bitten me or my friends when I let them handle mine lah but some gerbils may nip to taste you and it really isn't painful.... but they may bite if your finger smells like food or if they are in a fight and you try to seperate them... then they might accidently attack your finger.

I do let children handle my gerbils and they really enjoy them.... you wanna get a couple for your kids? smile.gif
TScrazymouse_yyh
post Dec 28 2006, 12:47 AM

12,047 posts

Ah.... my gerbils just got some cabbage and carrot for dinner.... also their food mix...

I'm so so tired... Thursday opening day for the zoo.... I OT till 8pm... suppose finish 6pm but rehearsal LOL... all my gerbils miss me liao.

Anyway, I very long time never post pictures. Sure you all awaiting for my Red Fox... Well, I have named him Redkin heheh.... I dunno what is the meaning, just simply came up with the name hahahh...
TScrazymouse_yyh
post Jan 29 2007, 01:54 AM

12,047 posts

I'm BACK! MIA too long hahhaha.... but too many stuff bout gerbils to read... anyone care to summarize for me?
TScrazymouse_yyh
post Jan 29 2007, 09:38 PM

12,047 posts

Hahaha.... yah, 1 month loh.... I just too tired to online... so for 1 month never online coz exhausted hahahah... but now ok lah, back on my feet.

My gerbils doing ok lah.... Bubbles gave me a surprise by giving birth to 5 pups, but sadly, they did not survive.... I am guessing the tank got too many gerbils so a lot of distraction, I really did not expect her to get pregnant since she is more than 2 years old now. I read somewhere that gerbils become infertile after 14 months... well, now we can say 100% that is not true for some gerbils.

Peaches and Scruffy gave me one healthy nutmeg boy hahaha....

Recently Chipsi and Delikate shavings is giving 2 gerbils bloody noses.... and they are Chokee and his daughter Creek. I suspect it is a genetic problem, Chokee got allergies. Now using different bedding, wood pellets but will see how it goes. Is either allergic to shavings or hay....

For now really, my breeding program must stop for awhile hahaha.... or maybe stop for good... coz space lah, not enough space and I dare not part with my long term gerbils, my clan to precious to give away...
TScrazymouse_yyh
post Jan 30 2007, 04:23 PM

12,047 posts

QUOTE(wizardboy @ Jan 30 2007, 10:50 AM)
welcome back crazymouse. been working crazyly at the zoo?
HAhah... for 1 month only lah... now can relax but not for long... assignments gonna pile up.

Man, I can't wait to see my gerbil's grandkid hahahah... cepat cepat with the pics.

QUOTE(emino @ Jan 30 2007, 11:36 AM)
Haha~ dont need mc lah. Because I'm just an unpaid intern. They are very lenient on me. Hehe~
Wah, no need MC... keng hahahh... so means extra time for your gerbils hehehhe... and also online here.

Pieds pieds pieds... I am looking for more collared gerbils and pieds hahahah.... Who got see let me know ah.... Also in search for another yellow fox if possible.
TScrazymouse_yyh
post Jan 30 2007, 10:02 PM

12,047 posts

HAha... paint gerbils hahaha.... Already I got a collared agouti, an almost collared black, a collared dove.... hahah... need more lah.
TScrazymouse_yyh
post Jan 31 2007, 12:05 PM

12,047 posts

These days Petaling Street many gerbils for sale... but my goodness, so untame even for pups.... but they are argente creams lah... nothing fancy, no spots.

Still I am on the look out for more spots heheheh....
TScrazymouse_yyh
post Feb 2 2007, 12:54 AM

12,047 posts

QUOTE(wizardboy @ Jan 31 2007, 12:43 PM)
crazymouse,

the mummmy @ your girl:
the new gen:

he's on my sholder, somewhere nearby:
Wah... all my cucu hahaha.... the DEH pup looks like mom alot.

QUOTE(BlueHeng @ Jan 31 2007, 02:36 PM)
Hahaa... so cute! Eh.. just wondering... I might get a pair of gerbils from nezu soon.. a 1.5 feet tank can ah? 2 feet like damn big leh.. I see alrd also pening. Hopefully gerbils don't stink.. my mom will chop off my head / serve gerbils to me for dinner.  blink.gif
Won't stink.... my gerbils all nicely stacked at my stair case... the only rodent pets allowed at home since my hamsters stink.

QUOTE(joanalooidog @ Jan 31 2007, 03:02 PM)
actually if keep in a tank with the lid on, it won smell lah.....keep hamster also won smell. If keep in cage, will smell loh....
Same wan lah... actually for me cage is less smelly since it is more ventilated. But cage is not good housing for hamsters or gerbils coz can cause injuries.

QUOTE(BlueHeng @ Feb 1 2007, 02:28 PM)
O.o so teruk meh? Okay I hope you guys are right.. lol.. Maybe I should first curi curi hide the gerbils in the house few days after I get them.. then one day I just bring it out and show my mom and say 'NAH! See! You didn't notice any smell right?!' lol..

Added on February 1, 2007, 2:29 pmO.o so teruk meh? Okay I hope you guys are right.. lol.. Maybe I should first curi curi hide the gerbils in the house few days after I get them.. then one day I just bring it out and show my mom and say 'NAH! See! You didn't notice any smell and it was in the house for the past few days!' lol..
Wah, tell your mom first lah... later she throw them out then kesian loh hahaha.... but how I brought gerbils back home is similar to what you stated hahah...

QUOTE(^MochI^ @ Feb 1 2007, 06:57 PM)
....... y u all say hamster stinks? i dun  think so leh.. i LOVE their smell!
my hamster cage NO STINKY 1...
They do stink.... as in their bedding. Not the hamster... once they pee too much at 1 corner, the urine would become smelly... normal lah with most animals, just that gerbils drink less water compared to hamsters. Also, male hamsters pee is a bit smellier than female.

TScrazymouse_yyh
post Feb 2 2007, 09:14 PM

12,047 posts

Some of my gerbils also around 100g... but yah, when get older, they tend to lose a bit of weight... age, same as humans also I think hahahah... one day we would shrink a bit during our old age.

I love to squeeze Silver hahaha.... Chokee has become thin thin... sick boy poor thing but his Red Fox son Redster is very pretty... aiyoh, I hope I got mood to take some nice pictures tomorrow for all of you to see hahaha...
TScrazymouse_yyh
post Feb 2 2007, 09:40 PM

12,047 posts

Hahah... Pecan's 2 grandsons very good gerbils... so sure I will keep.

Eh, Foo got spotted nutmegs ah? Aiyoh, I missed alot lah when I MIA.... I dunno what is new and what is old liao hahahah.... but I would like to try breeding SP DEH and SP Nutmegs heheheh... SP gerbils are just so nice.

13 Pages « < 9 10 11 12 13 >Top

0.0386sec    0.61    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 9th December 2025 - 06:25 PM