Ultrawide monitor fan's club, Ultrawide master race

onthefeet
post Aug 20 2022, 08:53 PM

20 posts

Hi guys, I am looking for a 34" ultrawide monitor for the first time. Can anyone recommend me one with the budget around RM1.7k.

Mainly use for coding, reading stuff and watching video. Will connect personal laptop and work laptop to it.

Currently I am eyeing on these three monitors:

Philips 346b1c ( RM1699~ )
Xiaomi 34" ( RM1650~ )
Acer XZ342CU P ( RM1485~)

- Out of these three monitors, Acer is the cheapest one but somehow I can't really find that much of reviews from the internet. So, if anyone here own this monitor or used it before, can you share with me your experience?

- I understand that there is an extra plus point on 346b1c by having a built in KVM switch, but I am okay without it as well because I can just use an external KVM switch.

So, please any sifus here can suggest me which one should I go based on those 3 listed here. Or can recommend me another 34" monitor that is within my budget. Thanks!

onthefeet
post Aug 21 2022, 11:54 PM

20 posts

QUOTE(BeastX @ Aug 21 2022, 02:54 PM)
External power brick supply, only 1 DP and 1 HDMI input, decent built-in speakers (good range) though not loud..... though all should be very similar in pic quality as they use the same/similar Samsung VA panel..
Thank you for your reply. But, regarding the number of ports, what I found from the internet is, XZ342CUP come with 2 HDMI input and 1 DP input. Hmm, external power brick supply can be quite a hassle when doing the cable management. sad.gif

QUOTE(Andrewtst @ Aug 21 2022, 07:56 PM)
I also vote for Acer XZ342CU as from the spec, this model is the best.  This model also is the only one support HDR but don't put too high hope on it as HDR need at least HDR 600 to be look ok. For HDR 400 normally it will look dull or over exposure in very bright scenes.
The most I will not take is Philips 346b1c as it came with the most weak spec, unless you need KVM, else I don't see this model is worth to get.

For Xiaomi 34", I seen it before, I don't like the build, it looks very cheap, I know all monitor basically is plastic but Xiaomi finish look cheap. Beside this, the screen look not appealing to me, a bit dull color to me, also the finish seems too matte and look sands to me.

Since all 3 models is VA panel, beware they might have black smearing issue as until now only Samsung Odyssey G7, Neo G7, Neo G8, G9 and Neo G9 don't have Black Smearing issue. But from all the cost of this 3 model, I doubt they use latest VA panel from Samsung.
Thank you for your reply. I did some research and watch videos about the black smearing on the VA panel, and I see that many people comment how unbearable is the black smearing issue on VA panel. I mean is that really that bad? Because I don't do that much of gaming, hence I don't really care about how the monitor affect the gaming performance or the immersion. But I will spend most of the time coding and reading documentation/pdf/etc , and I saw (from the video/reddit post) that the text can be very blurry on VA panel when doing smooth scrolling even in medium speed.

I heard that black smearing issue seem to arise when the monitor has high refresh rate. So, do you think is it possible to minimize the black smearing issue by lowering down to 60Hz.

Because productivity is my biggest concern. So, if purely based on the productivity, do you think that Acer XZ342CUP is still a good choice? If not, what are your recommendations in the budget of within RM1.7k.

(P.S: I do code in dark mode, but it will not going to be fully black background and white text. And I like to read in night mode but I doubt if there is any website that is fully black background + white text in night mode )

Thank you. notworthy.gif

onthefeet
post Aug 22 2022, 11:42 AM

20 posts

QUOTE(Andrewtst @ Aug 22 2022, 12:10 AM)
The black smearing is not a huge issue in gaming to me, but instead in productivity, especially if you love dark themes. If you using Light theme then it is not that bad, but still you can't avoid to see text gone when you scrolling at website which background is dark/black with white font.

If you scrolling in dark mode when coding, then you will notice the text is like clipping and dismiss. This issue will make some people headache or irritating.
If you can accept text disappearing / blinking during scrolling, then you are good with it and no issue.

I suggest you go for IPS, IPS is better for productivity but for budget below RM 2k, seems they is no choice for IPS in Ultrawide.
IPS had wide viewing angle, this is good if you need to share with people what you had do. IPS also normally better in color accuracy, this is important if you also do design.

Below this video showing the disappearing white text in dark background issue, start from 8:15
This issue only fixed recently by Samsung in it highest end Odyssey model but it only start from G7 and unfortunately the only Ultrawide 21:9 model G5 is using older VA panel and also have this issue.
For others brand never seen reviewer mentioned don't have such issue, it is just how bad or how little they are.

Thank you for your advice and suggestion. It seems like with my current budget, I guess my best bet is Acer XZ342CUP or even LG 34WP500 (Yes, I know it is 2560 X 1080 ultrawide. But as far as I know, the pixelation can only be observed if you sit very close to the monitor. When I watch the reviews, I actually find it quite ok for me ).

I have been using a TFT-LCD panel with a resolution of 1366 x 768 for the past 9 - 10 yrs and I never experienced IPS / TN / VA panel before, so I don't really know how well or how bad for a different type of panel. I think I should go to the physical store to try out the VA panel and see if I can accept the black smearing issue.. sweat.gif

QUOTE(BeastX @ Aug 22 2022, 08:42 AM)
Yes correction: 2x HDMI 2.0 inputs...

VA has excellent contrast compared to  IPS.... great black levels

These panels uses standard RGB arrangement, so no impact on text (as in they would not look worst than IPS)... as for black smearing (while scrolling for instance) these panels are not the fastest at an average of 6 to 7ms...G2G transition... Good enough for 144Hz.

I use black background linux terminals while coding... no clipping or disappearing issue while scrolling...

Actually (usually) pixel response time works best at above 120Hz  (optimally at 144Hz) and not 60Hz...

As long as you don't use your monitor in complete darkness... it should be fine... otherwise backlight bleeding or blooming maybe more obvious
Thank you for sharing your experience with me. It is good to know that you don't have the disappearing issue while scrolling because I guess this is the issue that irritate most of the non-gamer user and also my biggest concern because I just don't want to switch to a monitor that I have to scroll-stop-sroll-stop everytime just to read part of the text.

I don't think I will ever use my monitor in complete darkness as I always prefer my room / environment in bright. biggrin.gif

onthefeet
post Aug 22 2022, 04:45 PM

20 posts

QUOTE(BeastX @ Aug 22 2022, 02:38 PM)
Purchase acer XZ342CU P before 30/9.... you can get touch n Go RM50 also...
https://www.a-redemption.com/
Thanks for telling me. I guess if I were to purchase Acer XZ342CUP, I think I will buy it from Just IT Technology at Shopee. It is much more cheaper there and so I don't think they have such promotion/event though. laugh.gif

QUOTE(BeastX @ Aug 22 2022, 04:17 PM)
Most likely a TN.... IPS/TN/VA <<<All are TFT...
I see... Because it is not written in their website, so I don't really know.

This post has been edited by onthefeet: Aug 22 2022, 04:50 PM

0.1302sec    0.22    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 8th December 2025 - 02:11 AM