Android Phone Recommendations Version 10, Please follow up the quotes

xerox8908
post Jul 8 2015, 01:10 AM

Look at all my stars
2,725 posts

QUOTE(dragontongue88 @ Jul 6 2015, 08:49 PM)
Hi all sifus, I'm considering to get a new primary phone. Would like your opinions:

1. Brand - No preference
2. Budget - 2k+/-
3. Specs - Nothing in particular, generally all round decent specs will do.
4. What you need in the phone - Again, nothing in particular. Long battery life is a bonus, removable battery also a bonus.

Coming from the old Galaxy S3, I was interested in Galaxy S6 but was put off with the lack of SD card. I would very much prefer to just plug in my current SD card on to the new phone rather than copying all my MP3s over.

I would welcome recommendation of alternatives. Heard about the LG G4 and HTC One M9 plus, any opinions? Pros and Cons?

Thanks a lot!  notworthy.gif
Note 4

xerox8908
post Jul 26 2015, 06:18 AM

Look at all my stars
2,725 posts

QUOTE(xemoboyx @ Jul 24 2015, 06:20 PM)
lg g3 is a 5.5 inch phone. Abit too big for my liking sad.gif

What about Htc m8, or can i get m9 in that price range?  tongue.gif  tongue.gif
g3 m9 same size

This post has been edited by xerox8908: Jul 26 2015, 06:18 AM
xerox8908
post Jul 30 2015, 08:57 PM

Look at all my stars
2,725 posts

QUOTE(Helldiver @ Jul 30 2015, 08:42 PM)
So you said S615 and S400 is slow, but older flagships using S600 is okay?  hmm.gif 

And just a friendly suggestion, things aren't as bad as you make them out to be. I used to have thoughts like you, thinking Mediatek is bad; Intel has incompatibility issues, etc. Then I realized, every product out there has almost the same defective rate --there's always a chance of getting a really bad lemon out of the whole perfect batch.

Customer service in Malaysia is always bad. No matter phone, food, or clothes. I had a lot of bad experiences with Asus, along with few other people --respectable is not even close.

And like you said, they are budget brands, they've got to cut corners here and there --but so far I haven't had a single problem with my Mi3 running heavy games in and out. Things like that, etc. 

Not blaming you or wronging you, but do keep your options open a bit --people like certain brands for the brands it self, and also aesthetics. Electronics all die eventually anyway lol
Its ok at the time they were launch but not on 2015 .

Your argument is conflict with ur own statement . Of course its ok because it using snapdragon 800 like the previous people mention in his list .
No one say mi3 is not ok . But there is always better phone out there . Budget phone must have compromise something its normal .

This post has been edited by xerox8908: Jul 30 2015, 09:00 PM
xerox8908
post Jul 30 2015, 11:40 PM

Look at all my stars
2,725 posts

QUOTE(Helldiver @ Jul 30 2015, 09:13 PM)
Um, what? Don't quite understand what you're trying to say lol. I'm mentioning the Mi3 because he did mention that people should steer away from these budget brands (Xiaomi included); which coincidentally, whilst they cut corners on certain things, it still runs well --which is what I am saying.

So... I don't quite get what you're trying to say, because you said what I said  rclxub.gif
Yes they should . If they have option to +Rm200 something and get famous brand .
Mi3 is decent , but is not really great .

You trying to say it can compete with high end phone which is not true .
It is a great budget phone and thats all .
xerox8908
post Jul 31 2015, 01:11 AM

Look at all my stars
2,725 posts

QUOTE(Alan Yee @ Jul 31 2015, 12:25 AM)
Well, what you said is true, budget phone is still a budget phone, and there are compromises.
(no 4G, no Micro SD card slot, no IR blaster, minus some of the sensor, some build quality compromise)

However, Mi3 at least on par with other brand on parts that is not a compromise. (1080p screen, 13MP camera, NFC, 3050Mah battery, 2GB RAM, 16GB Storage, Snapdragon 800). Dare I said they try to compete with high end phone with some compromise. (Of course, just can try, we know they cannot compete, but this is the phone intention)

Compare to other phone at this price range, this is a pretty good phone to start with, pretty much the most value for money, if people don't mind with the compromise. There is always a better phone out there, but won't be just +RM200 different for getting famous brand with almost similar spec. Only budget phone like this can exist at this price bracket.

Other worthy contender around this price range are Xiaomi Mi4, ASUS Padfone S/ S Plus, ASUS Zenfone 2 550ML (16GB) or ASUS Zenfone 2 551ML (32GB), Huawei Honor 6, Lenovo Vibe Z K910. (Again, only budget phone can exist)
Already mention in previous post there =/
z1/lg g2 /htc one / s4 vs mi3 its really Rm 200+ or less

The whole post was intend to say "yes they can , but with compromise " budget phone will always be budget phone .
xerox8908
post Aug 5 2015, 09:25 PM

Look at all my stars
2,725 posts

QUOTE(VCBlogger @ Aug 4 2015, 12:15 AM)
Bros i am comparing oppo R7 Plus ( Rm1988) vs Samsung A8 ( Rm 1888).
Oppo R7 Plus and Samsung A8 both have fingerprint scanner except A8 can touch to wake.
Oppo has 3gb ram vs samsung 2gb ram
Oppo uses 615 processor vs Exynos 5430 in A8 ( difference in processor speed 1.5 Ghz vs 1.8 ghz and better graphics in A8)

any experience with oppo...dont seem to see any thread in lowyat for oppo...is it good or bad? How about samsung a8?
615 for Rm1888 ...........
are you serious ?

s6 is below that

This post has been edited by xerox8908: Aug 5 2015, 09:26 PM
xerox8908
post Aug 17 2015, 03:20 PM

Look at all my stars
2,725 posts

QUOTE(olcheong @ Aug 17 2015, 09:11 AM)
Thanks ...anyway just wanted to know how is the comparison to sony z3/z3+ and htc one m9? any idea? notworthy.gif
weaker chipset than snapdragon 801

insane price for a china brand .

careful malaysia version alot is 16gb / 2gb ram only gold is 32gb/2gb ram .

The price is over 2k .

This post has been edited by xerox8908: Aug 17 2015, 03:23 PM
xerox8908
post Aug 18 2015, 01:30 AM

Look at all my stars
2,725 posts

QUOTE(salimbest83 @ Aug 17 2015, 06:06 PM)
So far review for one plus two
Their version of snapdragon 810  dont have that problem
There is only 1 version of snapdragon 810 .

0.0199sec    0.47    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 8th December 2025 - 01:31 PM