9 Pages  1 2 3 > » Bottom

Android Phone Recommendations Version 10, Please follow up the quotes

Alan Yee
post Jul 29 2015, 09:31 PM

1,031 posts

Well, seeing most people here seems lazy to do some study on the phone available.

Let me help you all out thought, choose phone based on the processor will be the safest bet.

Ignore those battery life claim, due to bigger, higher res screen, and 4G network, all phone battery life sucks.
Be prepare to bring wall plug charger or power bank.

Speaking back to the processor, only choose phone with Qualcomm Snapdragon high end processor, such as S600, S800, S801, S805, S810 and S820.
Even though those S800 series has over heating issue, they offer the best performance in day to day use, and gaming as well.
Forget S615 and S400/S410, they are just as slow.

RAM count, no need so worry, 2GB RAM actually is enough, more RAM doesn't make the phone faster, just good for multi-tasking, but average user seldom multitasking, even the OS itself will close the program if not used for very long time.

After that, come to the budget and brand selection.
Want the most high end and reliable device? Only buy from Samsung, Sony, Apple, LG, HTC, Motorola.

Stay away from budget brand like Huawei, Lenovo, ASUS, Acer, Alcatel, Xiaomi, Oppo, Meizu, Oneplus, ZTE, Ninetology.
Those budget phone is very good in value, and feature high end processor, high end feature at very budget price, but the quality and reliability isn't there.
You may buy those phone in a risky situation where budget allowed, but when your phone got issue, the after sales service just isn't there. Recommend just buy from ASUS, if local warranty is your concern, at least ASUS still has very respectable local support.

No money to buy high end phone? A very good advise is, buy the phone from last year flagship, which has price drop near or similar to those offer from budget brand. The old flagship, starting from year 2013, featuring at least Snapdragon 600 processor, are still very good, almost no different in feature compare to those phone offer in year 2015. They are still pretty fast, fast enough for everyday usage without any weird issue.

Lastly, my recommendation as below:
Over RM2000 budget:
Samsung S6, S6 Edge, Note 4, Note Edge, HTC One M9, LG G4, Sony Xperia Z3,Z3+, iPhone 6/6 plus

Around RM2000 to RM1500
LG G3, HTC One M8, Desire Eye, Butterfly 2, Sony Xperia Z2/Z3 Compact, Samsung Galaxy Note 3, S5

Around RM1000 to RM1500
HTC One M7, Sony Xperia Z1, Samsung Galaxy S4, LG G2

For those budget minded and won't mind on the headache on after sale service, here are some phone with high end Snapdragon processor, but with much budget price tag.
Oppo N3, Oppo Find 7/7A, Vivo Xplay 3S, Vivo Xshot, Lenovo Z2 Pro, Oneplus One, Xiaomi Mi4, Mi3, Xiaomi Mi Note/ Note Pro, ASUS Padfone S/S Plus.

For starter, recommend ASUS Padfone S/S Plus, Xiaomi Mi4, which spot Snapdragon 801 processor with less than RM1000. Guarantee those phone is lag free in comparison.

Move up a bit,, over RM1000, but below RM1500 you do get Oneplus One, Vivo Xshot, Oppo Find 7A, Lenovo Z2 Pro, Sony Xperia Z1, Sony Xperia Z Ultra.

On the highest budget end, Samsung Galaxy S5, Galaxy Note 3, LG G3, HTC One M8, HTC Desire Eye, should be a pretty good buy. (Around RM1500++ to RM1700)

Stay away from other budget phone, especially those using Mediatek processor, and those from budget brand.

Alan Yee
post Jul 29 2015, 09:45 PM

1,031 posts

QUOTE(mudkipryan94 @ Jul 29 2015, 09:34 PM)
cry.gif thanks bro... still crying and touched

but why u say so... OnePlus One in 1k-1.5K budget is the best bang buck dude... even M8 and S5 are lost to this killing machine
Now in Q3, at further price drop, actually S5, M8, pricing now very close to Oneplus One.
S5 and M8 actually offer much more than what Oneplus One can offer.
They just lose in pricing to Oneplus One.

Even at this price range, I will also consider buying LG G3, the price not that far away.

Oneplus One has it's own issue when come to service support, the quality is hit and miss.
There are a bunch of complain regarding this those getting a defect unit.
Well, congratulation for those people who get the good unit, but feel sorrow for those who get the defect unit.

For S5, M8, and G3, I don't have to worry on those defect issue, as the local support is pretty strong.

This post has been edited by Alan Yee: Jul 29 2015, 09:57 PM
Alan Yee
post Jul 29 2015, 11:10 PM

1,031 posts

QUOTE(sprix @ Jul 29 2015, 10:22 PM)
Budget around 1k.. Thinking of zp2 4gig ram.. Not a multitasker thou.. Look like people are suggesting oneplus one.. But im having a doubt on buying last 3 years phone..
Ok, tell you the honest truth about Zenfone 2.

The performance of the phone is same as Snapdragon 801, or another word, same performance as Oneplus One, S5, M8, Oppo Find7, even the processor graphic card is high end. So, no complain on performance either, it is very fast. Only let down by the camera quality, and the phone battery life (usual high end phone issue, which suck a lot of juice)

One big issue with ASUS is the phone quality. Personally deal with ASUS android tablet before, and the problem is terrible, send to service center twice, at last the problem is solved. Used two year without issue. (ASUS Fonepad, by the way)

Another real issue is, the Intel Atom processor is not fully compatible with all the apps in Play Store.
You may get more apps crash than other phone using Snapdragon or MTK.
This is due to most apps is written based on ARM processor architecture, and Intel Atom is X86/X64 based.
Well, more apps compatibility issue is solved over the year, but there is not 100% guarantee.

My personal experience is, some apps is totally cannot install. Some apps often crash, need to restart.
Worse experience is after some apps update, the apps totally crash and cannot open.

Most popular apps have no issue though, but less popular apps may have issue.

Worth a try to buy, but you have to be ready to face those problem.
Alan Yee
post Jul 30 2015, 09:51 AM

1,031 posts

QUOTE(salimbest83 @ Jul 30 2015, 08:25 AM)
have u ever try using Asus phone ,huawei phone, meizu or xiaomi to begin with?
dont talk BIG here okay.

have u ever buy a samsung ? s3, duos, grand, prime, note 2
have u ever buy oppo? neo series?
have u ever owned an zenfone 3,5,6 series?
and use them personally?

come on bro.
DONT SIMPLY SAY

Stay away from other budget phone, especially those using Mediatek processor, and those from budget brand.
What I am talking here is more on the after sale service, and actual value per phone.

I personally don't own any phone from Oppo, Huawei, Meizu or Xiaomi, but I have friend who actually own them, and some of the phone has the usual quality issue. The phone warranty repair take a few weeks, so I have to hold back to actually own these phone.
Not everyone is getting the defect unit, but it will have long waiting period waiting the phone to get repaired.
(But recently Oppo service is getting better and better, anyway)
Even Samsung/Sony/LG/HTC is not perfect on its own quality, but they compensate these with local service support. At least the service they offer maximum just take 1 week for replacement or repair.

QUOTE(salimbest83 @ Jul 30 2015, 08:25 AM)
have u ever buy a samsung ? s3, duos, grand, prime, note 2

I do own a Samsung Galaxy S4 Active, it is already 2 year old. I have compare with friend who own s3, duos, grand, prime, note 2. Simply, this S4 Active with Snapdragon 600 processor win hands down on the performance, apps loading, screen transition, gaming, just that fast. The S3 and Note 2 lag if the phone is installed with too many apps, and if memory is fully filled. The lag simply happen just on the simple swiping the phone UI. The S4 ACtive is simply still fast and stable, , no lag, even under heavy load.

As there is high end processor inside the phone with price comparable to phone with Mediatek processor, would suggest go for the high end processor instead of Mediatek.

I am not saying Mediatek is bad, but for the choices available, high end SnapDragon processor perform better than high end Mediatek processor, in term of speed and also gaming performance.

Most of the Mediatek chip also come with load of lower end or outdated graphic chip, and not every Mediatek chip is equivalent. Only very few Mediatek phone comes pack with high end graphic chip, and high end performance. Unlike Snapdragon 800 series, the Adreno 330 series chip is of the top performer, even it is installed on cheaper phone.

So, if the price is nearly similar, why not top up a bit to get a better one?
This is because I own a damn cheap Acer Liquid S2 (RM999), and almost similar price damn cheap Lenovo S960 (RM799), at almost the same release time.
The 2 phone are very similar in term of spec, with very cheap build material, and cheap outlook too, just the processor is different.
But the Liquid S2 simply beat the S960 in every performance, just because the Liquid S2 is packed with Snapdragon 800 processor.

There are exception though, the Mediatek chip on Lenovo Vibe X2 (MT6595M), and Meizu MX4 (MT6595) are of very high performance, but they are rarely available on other phone model.

It's very hard to get used to a slow phone after experiencing high end device.
That is why iPhone owner still choose to stick back to iPhone.

Alan Yee
post Jul 30 2015, 02:48 PM

1,031 posts

QUOTE(tlts @ Jul 30 2015, 12:18 PM)
sd 410 no good meh...lenovo a6000 plus
I am not saying SD 410 is not good, they just not worth the price on being at low end phone.
Because just top up a bit up to RM900, you can have a much better performance phone with higher end processor, such as ASUS Padfone S, Xiaomi Mi3/Mi4, ASUS Zenfone 2 550ML.

But at the end, we should buy phone according to our budget.
Pointless if only advise go for higher price phone.
Alan Yee
post Jul 30 2015, 10:54 PM

1,031 posts

QUOTE(Helldiver @ Jul 30 2015, 08:42 PM)
So you said S615 and S400 is slow, but older flagships using S600 is okay?  hmm.gif 

And just a friendly suggestion, things aren't as bad as you make them out to be. I used to have thoughts like you, thinking Mediatek is bad; Intel has incompatibility issues, etc. Then I realized, every product out there has almost the same defective rate --there's always a chance of getting a really bad lemon out of the whole perfect batch.

Customer service in Malaysia is always bad. No matter phone, food, or clothes. I had a lot of bad experiences with Asus, along with few other people --respectable is not even close.

And like you said, they are budget brands, they've got to cut corners here and there --but so far I haven't had a single problem with my Mi3 running heavy games in and out. Things like that, etc. 

Not blaming you or wronging you, but do keep your options open a bit --people like certain brands for the brands it self, and also aesthetics. Electronics all die eventually anyway lol
Yes, I agree, things aren't bad actually.
The problem is on the manufacturer them self, that confuse consumer.

I agree, not all Mediatek chip are inferior, as I said in other post, there are exception (MT6595, MT6595M, MT6795T all perform greatly), even the Intel chip, start from z3560 to z3580, are real high end chip.

I'm apologize and sorry to say that to stay away from Mediatek, but rather, I should say only pick the phone with high end processor chip to avoid lower performance.

There are now lower tier, middle tier and high end processor. But the pricing on the phone may confuse many people.
Some phone price may be priced very close among brand, but their performance should be justified among the processor chosen.

My main point still the same, high end chip may be found on comparable cheaper phone. It is better to pick the phone with high end chip rather than a phone with lower end.

Many newer release phone with lower tier and middle tier processor are priced very close to last year flagship phone. So, that's why I advise go for the last year flagship phone, as those will perform better than those middle and lower tier processor phone, given the price drop of flagship phone.

Another thing to say is, manufacturer only pack high end graphic chip on high end processor.
They pack everything high end in the same SOC.
So, pick processor to justified the phone performance, rather than the price.

As for the Xiaomi brand, and other newer budget brand, my point is more on the quality issue and after sale service. I know not everyone is having issue with Xiaomi phone, but should also consider the after sale service.
Because I have own phones with many problem before from budget and also problematic phone from big brand, and I realize the after sale service is very important to make sure those phone is problem free.
Alan Yee
post Jul 31 2015, 12:25 AM

1,031 posts

QUOTE(xerox8908 @ Jul 30 2015, 11:40 PM)
Yes they should . If they have option to +Rm200 something and get famous brand .
Mi3 is decent , but is not really great .

You trying to say it can compete with high end phone which is not true .
It is a great budget phone and thats all .
Well, what you said is true, budget phone is still a budget phone, and there are compromises.
(no 4G, no Micro SD card slot, no IR blaster, minus some of the sensor, some build quality compromise)

However, Mi3 at least on par with other brand on parts that is not a compromise. (1080p screen, 13MP camera, NFC, 3050Mah battery, 2GB RAM, 16GB Storage, Snapdragon 800). Dare I said they try to compete with high end phone with some compromise. (Of course, just can try, we know they cannot compete, but this is the phone intention)

Compare to other phone at this price range, this is a pretty good phone to start with, pretty much the most value for money, if people don't mind with the compromise. There is always a better phone out there, but won't be just +RM200 different for getting famous brand with almost similar spec. Only budget phone like this can exist at this price bracket.

Other worthy contender around this price range are Xiaomi Mi4, ASUS Padfone S/ S Plus, ASUS Zenfone 2 550ML (16GB) or ASUS Zenfone 2 551ML (32GB), Huawei Honor 6, Lenovo Vibe Z K910. (Again, only budget phone can exist)

This post has been edited by Alan Yee: Jul 31 2015, 12:34 AM
Alan Yee
post Jul 31 2015, 09:29 AM

1,031 posts

QUOTE(salimbest83 @ Jul 31 2015, 08:08 AM)
this tered shud be suggesting the best phone available in our reader budget.
so far been buying lots of xiaomis n huawei to my workmates and families n frens amounting nearly to 20k.

my worst buy for them is asus zenfone 5 and 6..
real bad screen. almost unusable under sunlight. not to mention power hungry screen also. 3000mAh on zen 6 only worth around 2500mAh in real life.

with the coming of meizu m2 note in the market. i really love it. with price around 599-699 (depending where u bought it)
this is the new mid range phone with full HD, 2GB ram n 16GB internal with expandable storage.
Sorry for my previous post, I shouldn't say Mediatek processor is bad.
You are very kind of buying phone for your fren and family.

Down to the most realistic question, would be the price of the phone.
Below RM1000, only Xiaomi, Huawei, Meizu, ASUS, Lenovo can offer phone with better spec and performance.
Even though those phone at some respect still consider as budget phone, their spec actually is the same as what has been offered in high end phone by famous brand few years ago. So, at some point untrue also to consider those as budget phone.

It is pointless also to ask people to go for more expensive model, it is well depend on people budget, and suggesting the best phone according to a person's budget. Of course, it is always welcome to suggest, maybe just +RM200, that person will get a much better phone, only if that person can afford.

This year, Mediatek has improve a lot, as well as Intel Atom chip.
Big brand like Sony and HTC also rolling out phone with Mediatek chip too, considered a big step in choosing Mediatek chip for major brand.

Alan Yee
post Jul 31 2015, 03:09 PM

1,031 posts

QUOTE(Helldiver @ Jul 31 2015, 01:14 PM)
Bro, just wanna commend the way you reply  thumbup.gif Very friendly person to debate with  rclxms.gif
Thanks, I think I'm out of topic on my previous post.
Processor do improve every year, newer generation processor do come out to replace the old generation from time to time.
S615 is actually very comparable to S600, it is better than S600 actually.

Performance is somewhat in between S600 and S800 series.
This processor is the answer from Qualcomm to Mediatek to compete in the middle range processor line up.
Alan Yee
post Jul 31 2015, 04:22 PM

1,031 posts

QUOTE(nestlebliss @ Jul 31 2015, 03:55 PM)
need a recommendation for a phone

rm 500 - 650

thanks in advance
Lenovo Vibe Z (K910)
Lenovo K3 Note
Lenovo P90
Lenovo Golden Warrior Note 8
Meizu M1 Note
Huawei Honor 4X
Lenovo A7000
HTC Desire 620G
Xiaomi Redmi Note
Samsung Galaxy S3 LTE I9305
Alan Yee
post Jul 31 2015, 06:11 PM

1,031 posts

QUOTE(salimbest83 @ Jul 31 2015, 04:30 PM)
replace with m2 note.  brows.gif
Should rank and show like this:

1. Lenovo Vibe Z (K910) : SD800 Quad 2.2Ghz, 5.5" 1080p, 16GB, 2GB RAM, 13MP/5MP, No Card Slot, 4G
2. Lenovo P90 : Intel z3560 Quad 1.89Ghz, 5.5" 1080p, 32GB, 2GB RAM, 13MP/5MP, No Card Slot, 4G
3. Lenovo K3 Note : MT6752 Octa 1.7Ghz, 5.5" 1080p, 16GB, 2GB RAM, 13MP/5MP, Micro SD Card Slot, 4G
4. Meizu M1 Note : MT6752 Octa 1.7Ghz, 5.5" 1080p, 16GB, 2GB RAM, 13MP/5MP, No Card Slot, 4G
5. Meizu M2 Note : MT6753 Octa 1.3Ghz, 5.5" 1080p, 16GB, 2GB RAM, 13MP/5MP, Micro SD Card Slot, 4G
6. Lenovo Golden Warrior Note 8 : MT6592 Octa 1.7Ghz, 5" 720p, 16GB, 2GB RAM, 13MP/5MP, Micro SD Card Slot, 4G
7. Lenovo A7000 : MT6752m Octa 1.5Ghz, 5.5" 720p, 8GB, 2GB RAM, 8MP/5MP, Micro SD Card Slot, 4G
8. Huawei Honor 4X: HS620 Octa 1.2Ghz, 5.5" 720p, 8GB, 2GB RAM, 13MP/5MP, Micro SD Card Slot, 4G
9. Xiaomi Redmi Note 4G : SD400 Quad 1.6Ghz, 5.5" 720p, 8GB, 2GB RAM, 13MP/5MP, Micro SD Card Slot, 4G
10. HTC Desire 620G : MT6592 Octa 1.7Ghz, 5" 720p, 8GB, 1GB RAM, 8MP/5MP, Micro SD Card Slot, 3G
11. Samsung Galaxy S3 LTE I9305 : Exy 4412 Quad 1.4 Ghz, 4.8" 720p, 2GB RAM, 8MP/1.9MP, Micro SD Card Slot, 4G

Would confuse a bit.....
Alan Yee
post Jul 31 2015, 11:14 PM

1,031 posts

QUOTE(tolaktakjatuh @ Jul 31 2015, 07:07 PM)
Need recommendation for:

1. Samsung/LG/Moto/Etc
2. Budget 2k
3. Want good battery life (at least 1 day with moderate usage), good camera.

Right now using iPhone 6+, I'm looking at LG G4 and Galaxy S6 right now, which one is better? Or got other suggestions?
iPhone 6+ not good enough?
Galaxy S6/S6 Edge, LG G4, HTC One M9, Sony Z3+, Galaxy Note 4
Top would be Galaxy S6/S6 Edge.
But, you can based on screen size to choose those phone too.
Of course, if really can spend for 2K, top up a bit, look for this year flags.

Closest to your budget would be Galaxy Note 4, HTC One M8.
Minus -RM200, you may get Oppo Find 7, and Vivo Xplay 3S, LG G3.

QUOTE(Raziel2047 @ Jul 31 2015, 07:21 PM)
Hello sifus!! I'm going to directd tomorrow to get a new phone. My S3 finally kong dy. Its my first time buying a phone myself, previous phones all hand me downs. Need some opinions coz im totally clueless about smartphones.

Brand: Any

Budget : 1.2K max

Requirement: 1. Reliability/AfterService 2. Decent battery last 1 day. 3. Futureproofing ( last 2 years? )

Maybe my requirement a bit too high for my budget so im asking for opinions. Please keep in mind i do not know how to root or anything. Only used CynagenMod installer on my S3 once coz its all automated.

P.S: I did read around and it seems that the main choices are 1+1, Zenfone2 551ML, or Xiaomi Mi4i. Just wanna hear from ppl who have used it before.
Maybe only Oneplus One suit your need.
Top up +RM200, you can get Oppo Find 7A, just slight slower than Oneplus One, but you get removable battery, and Micro SD card slot. Or Huawei Honor 6 Plus, Meizu MX4 Pro
Minus -RM200, you may get Xiaomi Mi4, but Mi4 don't has 4G support. Or Meizu MX4.

Alan Yee
post Aug 1 2015, 10:18 AM

1,031 posts

QUOTE(mudkipryan94 @ Aug 1 2015, 12:48 AM)
hmm.. should i pinnalized it on 1st page?
brows.gif brows.gif brows.gif brows.gif
sweat.gif sweat.gif sweat.gif sweat.gif

This suppose is a joking post from myself.
There are tons of Android phone flourish into market, with various spec and price.
I think no one can fully understand those phone without really using them.

The spec is mix and match among the processor, screen, internal storage, battery size, OS version, then OS optimization/customization.

For me is, it is very hard to judge a phone is good or bad without even using it.
Personal preference on brand's OS implementation, optimization and customization also impact on buying guide too.

Alan Yee
post Aug 1 2015, 10:41 AM

1,031 posts

QUOTE(dude1988 @ Aug 1 2015, 02:17 AM)
Guys Note 4 Dual Sim vs LG G4 Dual Sim,which one better buy?

Both same price rm2300 from Directd

Im looking for dual sim flagship phone
Note 4 has AMOLED screen, S Pen, 5.7" screen, but maybe only 16GB internal storage for dual sim model, you should check carefully with Directd on this.

LG G4 has IPS LCD screen, 5.5", with 32GB internal storage.
Battery size for both dual sim model is same (3000Mah), Note 4 may have much longer battery life, due to the screen and processor efficiently.

Both equally good, down to your own personal taste.

Alan Yee
post Aug 1 2015, 07:06 PM

1,031 posts

QUOTE(Jay Chua CC @ Aug 1 2015, 02:08 PM)
Beg to differ. I have Sony  Z3 and your so called budget brand Huawei Mate 7. I experienced SOny aftersales service is very bad. On the other hand Huawei offers 1 to 1 exchg for the flagships(1 year !). Wat abt sony? I have to wait for almost 1 month for warranty claim eventho i used only for abt 2 weeks.
Not to mention Oppo warranty claim is darn fast compare to other manufacturers.
Its funny when you say Htc,LG,Motorola have better aftersales service. Their service centre barely cover the whole Malaysia,bro. If not mistaken only one or two in whole Malaysia. How is the reliability at thr? In fact.just to tell you,HTC offers one fo the worst after sales service in Malaysia. laugh.gif
Talk from experience ,bro. Dont simply fire up from nets.  icon_idea.gif
It's you..... sweat.gif sweat.gif
Because we have different opinion, then it's normal to have this kind of debate..... laugh.gif laugh.gif

Joking only.
I admit I am living in the myth, thought expensive brand will have better after sales service.
Thanks for your clarification, at least we now know what brand actually has good service.

I now owning phone/tablet from Samsung and ASUS, and their service actually is quite ok. Not as good as Huawei for 1 to 1 exchange, but all issue at least get settled within a week.

Touch wood for all buyer, we should protect our right to get a problem free device, regardless of brand.

QUOTE(mudkipryan94 @ Aug 1 2015, 03:06 PM)
sweat.gif peace pls.... just have fun and good discussing here you guys...!
It ok, nothing to worry about, only have discussion like this can make people grown up.
This is what forum is all about, share out something that often what sales person or marketing from brand that seldom share. (As sharing those will keep people away from buying phone/tablet from them)

The after sale service should be an important factor for buying phone from certain brand.
Feel free to share out more useful info.
Sharing is caring.
Alan Yee
post Aug 2 2015, 08:24 AM

1,031 posts

QUOTE(aibeast @ Aug 2 2015, 01:43 AM)
Have similar price to this one but if possible not lenovo. T.T got scammed by seller buying ap set and now its broken with no warranty. Trauma. Any other recommendations?

Price 450 below
Durable, *seriously rough user*
Is zenfone 4 and galaxy core prime any good?
(temporary use)
Xiaomi Redmi 2, get the enhance version with 16GB storage and 2GB RAM.
Huawei 3C Lite

This post has been edited by Alan Yee: Aug 2 2015, 08:52 AM
Alan Yee
post Aug 2 2015, 08:25 AM

1,031 posts

QUOTE(plain21 @ Aug 1 2015, 11:06 PM)
budget max rm600
need best camera n performance at the price

any suggestions?
Xiaomi Redmi Note
Meizu M1 Note
Huawei Honor 4X

This post has been edited by Alan Yee: Aug 2 2015, 08:50 AM
Alan Yee
post Aug 3 2015, 11:11 PM

1,031 posts

QUOTE(Coconut @ Aug 3 2015, 09:44 PM)
Brand : Any
Budget : max 1.5k
Spec : Dual sim a must, 2gb ram, 32gm rom, 5.5 inch
At this price, go for :

1. ASUS Zenfone 2 64GB, 4GB RAM, dual sim (5.5" 1080p)
2. Xiaomi Mi Note 64GB, 3GB RAM, dual sim (5.7" 1080p)
3. Lenovo Vibe Z2 Pro 32GB, 3GB RAM, dual sim (6" 1440p/2K)
4. ZTE Nubia Z7 Max, 32GB, 3GB RAM dual sim (5.5" 1080p)

This post has been edited by Alan Yee: Aug 3 2015, 11:27 PM
Alan Yee
post Aug 3 2015, 11:24 PM

1,031 posts

QUOTE(WarKnight @ Aug 3 2015, 07:18 PM)
Hi Sifu,

1. Brand. HTC/Samsung/LG/Motorola/Others
2. Budget. 1.5k-2k
3. Specs. 3-4 Ram,Screen size 5.5++"
4. What you need in the phone. good camera,good sound quality,durable
1. Samsung Galaxy Note 4
2. LG G3
3. Xiaomi Mi Note
4. Motorola Nexus 6
5. OPPO Find 7
6. Vivo Xplay3S
7. Lenovo Z2 Pro
8. ZTE Nubia Z7
9. Oneplus One

Alan Yee
post Aug 4 2015, 12:24 PM

1,031 posts

QUOTE(scoutfai @ Aug 4 2015, 07:55 AM)
Looking to get a phone for my father.

I was initially budget myself to less than RM1k, want full HD 5.5" screen, GPS and 4G enable, at least 16GB ROM (if so with SD card expansion), better 32GB ROM (with or without SD card expansion also acceptable), prefer Lollipop out of the box (for future proofing purpose, but not hard requirement), if dual sim preferably the 2nd sim slot not used as SD card slot, prefer model is released in 2015.

I already bought Asus Zenfone 2 4GB RAM 64GB ROM variant for my mother when it released so I wish to not include ASUS Zenfone 2 again.

With this constraint I soon shortlisted Lenovo K3 Note, Meizu M2 Note.

But soon I discovered that Lenovo K3 Note no original set in Malaysia, all AP, kind of hinder me.
Meizu M2 Note does not have FM Radio, I do not know why but seem like a simple function however it just does not have.

So I decided to raise my budget to less than RM1.5k.

The following become my current requirements:

1. Brand:
Exclude ASUS. Prefer reliable brand with reputable after sales service because I am not always available to help my folk to find technician to repair, so if they can send to service center the best.
I want original Malaysia set one. AP set not preferable.

2. Budget: Below RM1.5k

3. Spec:
Full HD 5.5" screen size, 4G and GPS enable,
at least 16GB ROM (if so with SD card expansion), better 32GB ROM (with or without SD card expansion also acceptable)

Prefer recently release model (like less than 1.25yrs)
And now I accept if it is not Lollipop out of the box, but can upgradeable to Lollipop.

4. What you need in the phone
The phone is for old man, so no need hard core computation ability. But I want good camera and reliable (not easily damage till need to send to service).
With these requirements I short listed
Huawei Honor 6 Plus  RM1400
OnePlus 2 (64GB)      RM1500        (Not yet available in Malaysia)
Samsung Galaxy A7  RM1500
HTC Desire 826        RM1300

Each has its own drawback:
Huawei Honor 6 Plus
- KitKat out of the box, I am not sure is it upgradeable to Lollipop
- SD Card use SIM2 slot, luckily is 32GB ROM so not a deal breaker.

OnePlus 2 (64GB)
- I am not even sure if I can manage to buy one if it is released by MAXIS, given its weird invite system which I am not familiar with. I just want phone, do not want any data plan attached. 
- No FM Radio, I wonder does any phone user without FM radio function get annoyed by this? I hope to get a phone with all round features.

Samsung Galaxy A7
- Kitkat out of the box but upgradeable to Lollipop, so not a deal breaker.
- Single SIM, is a weakness compare to the rest in the list but acceptable.

HTC Desire 826
- Cheapest among all, while the rest in list all have 5MP front camera, this one has 4MP.
- Single SIM, is a weakness compare to the rest in the list but acceptable.

And then yesterday I bumped into a phone called Elephone P7000 and P8000, I was like in shock such a high spec with such a low price tag but not sure about its reliability.

So expert out there, can you please provide your opinion to me? If you think I miss out some good choice please enlighten me.
Oppo Find 7A,
Samsung Galaxy S5
Huawei Honor 6
Xiaomi Mi4
Xiaomi Mi Note
Oneplus One (Oneplus 2 not yet launch and won't be getting here any time soon)
LG G3 (AP Suite your budget, but ori is over your budget)
ZTE Nubia Z7 Max (AP only?)

For Elephone P7000 and P8000, it is almost same spec as Meizu M1 Note and Lenovo K3 Note, so not really recommended, because of higher pricing.

9 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0269sec    0.34    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 6th December 2025 - 02:13 AM