9 Pages « < 3 4 5 6 7 > » Bottom

Android Phone Recommendations Version 10, Please follow up the quotes

Alan Yee
post Oct 1 2015, 03:39 PM

1,031 posts

QUOTE(Belphegor @ Sep 30 2015, 12:23 PM)
I am in dilemma. Please enlighten me of which phone should I go for. Thanks.

Asus Zenfone 2 Laser
Lenovo Vibe Shot
Sony Xperia C5
Honor 7
Xiaomi Mi4C

Price is not a major considering issue here. Currently using Mi3. Want to have a maximum upgrade so that the next phone can tahan at least 2 years.
QUOTE(sabahan62 @ Sep 30 2015, 03:08 PM)
I am also considering these 2. Since Mi4C just launched in China, will there be stable ROM suitable for us in English? Thanks.
QUOTE(PirateKing @ Oct 1 2015, 11:55 AM)
Hi all,

In a bit dilemma choosing between this two. Honor 7 or Oppo  R 7/7+ / Oppo Find 7(Yeah already sold out many places, and who know maybe still got some sold out there)

I don't really concern on budget because I'm looking for long term usage and dont mind the price if can tahan up to 3~4 years.
And also which have better spec? I love to play game also.
In term of storage, I dont store many pics or video. Rarely download Whatsapp pic too.
Camera also not really concern. As long can focus abit and take clear picture should be fine.

I've been using my phone for almost 3years++ and I maintain it very well. Looking to do the same with either Honor 7 or Oppo R7/R7+
QUOTE(Tyrfing @ Oct 1 2015, 11:57 AM)
Hi guys, i'm looking a for replacement for my broken Mi3, currently using Xperia Z, lag like hell and battery degradation =(

I'm looking at Mi4 and Mi4C, since the price gap is not far, i was considering the Mi4 and Oppo Find 7 until i read about the release of Mi4C, with their new 808. What are your thoughts about this?

Not a fancy flasher myself, great selfie camera would be great and good gaming capabilities is a plus..

Budget around MYR1,100, thanks..
QUOTE(NightFelix @ Sep 30 2015, 01:28 PM)
Honor 7 or Mi4C only.
I vote for Honor 7, unless you want to flash ROM/Root then only go for Mi4C.
QUOTE(NightFelix @ Oct 1 2015, 11:59 AM)
Either R7+ or Honor 7, no fingerprint = no buy in 2016.
If not much graphic demanding games, go for Honor 7, can save more. Or else the R7+ are much more capable to do some heavy gaming than the Honor 7.

What I mean graphic demanding games, is those like those using Unreal Engine 3/4...
There is a last year phone that can give a very good run for money, and fighting those budget category phone.

Sony Xperia Z2, can search for the price that is similar or a bit lower than Honor 7 at Lazada.
Almost everything is similar spec with to Honor 7, just minus the fingerprint sensor, and support a bit slower 4G speed.
Guarantee much longer battery life and guarantee superior gaming performance (SD801 chipset on a 1080p screen), camera is very good too, and also is waterproof, and has loud stereo front facing speaker.

On my opinion, fingerprint sensor is not a top priority for choosing a phone.

This post has been edited by Alan Yee: Oct 1 2015, 03:47 PM
Alan Yee
post Oct 8 2015, 12:13 PM

1,031 posts

QUOTE(salimbest83 @ Oct 7 2015, 11:08 AM)
try hunting those phone on lazada.
can get the 4gb ram +32 gb internal around 900+
Another thing that need to be careful is the processor.
ASUS release a 4GB RAM, 32GB storage version with 1.8Ghz processor in other country.
This model is imported for sales in Malaysia too (Lazada got it), but is AP set.
Beware to check and not to buy this set, even the price is lower.
(Priced below RM1K, where official 4GB RAM, 2.3Ghz version sold in Malaysia is starting from RM1099, now is RM1199)

Only choose to buy the 2.3Ghz processor version, because only this version onward comes with earphone, and Fast Charger.

The deluxe version with 128GB internal memory is also a value buy if really want a taste of what 128GB can store (even high end phone sold in Malaysia don't sell with this option, and it is a lot cheaper than the 128GB iPhone 6 Plus), and still come with the Micro SD slot for expansion.

One thing I don't like on Zenfone 2 is the too many pre-installed bloatware, which is so much more than a Samsung Touchwiz bloatware, that need to be disabled one by one.
The phone also has some strange frame drop or lag in high end gaming, which need to be totally closed and re-loading the game to make it smooth again. It is not happening all the time, but the problem do occur very frequent.
I briefly own the Zenfone 2 for 2 weeks.
Alan Yee
post Oct 8 2015, 12:29 PM

1,031 posts

QUOTE(xproc @ Oct 8 2015, 12:01 PM)
1. Brand: Any
2. Budget: RM1000 ish
3. Specs: more than 5" better
4. What you need in the phone: Quality/Durable/Most important no LAG
5. need to recommend for fren, she have bad experience with redmi 2 (slow gps lock down, lag, and other hell lot of problem)
1. OPPO Find 7, if you still can find it selling, RM998, 5.5".
2. Oneplus One, need top up more on RM1K, 5.5".
3. Huawei Honor 6, if you still can find it selling, RM899, but is 5" screen.
4. ASUS Padfone S, 5" screen, 64GB, 3GB RAM, but battery is too small, poor battery life.
5. Xiaomi Mi4, 5" screen, but this one doesn't has 4G, and only comes in 16GB storage, no Micro SD, personally not recommended, even the performance is good. RM899.

6. Lower end, you get Meizu M2 Note at RM699, 5.5" screen.

AP Set below RM1K, you can get Xiaomi Mi4c, and Xiaomi Redmi Note 2.
As they are AP set, don't know if the network support for Malaysia 4G, and don't know if the set comes with Google Play store. (Most China set don't installed with Google Play)
Alan Yee
post Oct 8 2015, 03:10 PM

1,031 posts

QUOTE(NightFelix @ Oct 8 2015, 02:21 PM)
I think he just missed out the most hottest phone right now. The Honor 7 RRP1399.
Yes, if push up to RM1.5K, there will be plenty to choose from:

1. Huawei Honor 7 (RM1399)
2. Samsung Galaxy S5 (RM1499)
3. Sony Xperia Z2 (RM1399)
4. Oneplus One (64GB) (RM1250)
5. Samsung Galaxy Note 3 (RM1599)
6. Huawei Honor 6 Plus (RM1399)
7. Xiaomi Mi Note (RM1549)
8. Lenovo Vibe Z2 Pro (RM1399)
9. ASUS Zenfone 2, 4GB RAM, 64GB storage (RM1399) or 128GB for Deluxe version(RM1599) .
10. Meizu MX4 Pro (RM1399)

At around RM1K, there is also Meizu MX4, 32GB (RM999)storage version.
Lesser known model would be the Lenovo Vibe X2 (RM799).

At super budget, ASUS Padfone S 16GB version and Lenovo Vibe Z now selling at RM599.

This post has been edited by Alan Yee: Oct 8 2015, 03:18 PM
Alan Yee
post Oct 8 2015, 09:42 PM

1,031 posts

QUOTE(NightFelix @ Oct 8 2015, 08:36 PM)
Upgrade?
Lenovo A7000 Plus
Meizu M2 Note
Xiaomi Redmi Note 2

I would stay away from Alcatel. - my opinion
QUOTE(skyblack4492 @ Oct 8 2015, 08:49 PM)
im looking for find 7 but no more stocks. cry.gif
QUOTE(skyblack4492 @ Oct 8 2015, 09:04 PM)
do you think meizu m1 note is good enough if i continue use it? hmm.gif   notworthy.gif
Humble opinion ahead, if you don't face any quality issue, then the Meizu M1 Note is pretty good at the price selling.
It is faster than Meizu M2 Note, and of better quality than Lenovo A7000 Plus, which has similar spec.

The only worthy upgrade would be Xiaomi Redmi Note 2, which use a higher end processor, and upgraded the graphic chip too, Mediatek Helio X10, but it is still not officially available at Malaysia. Won't recommend you buy AP set.

On usage wise, it is depend on what you really need.
Overall, Meizu M1 Note has a good camera, good battery life, and good screen.
For some easy comparison, it's performance is better than a Samsung Galaxy Note 2, but loose to Samsung Galaxy Note 3.

The only downside is it don't has expandable memory, and the processor's graphic chip is not high end enough for today standard, you may notice the lag on playing high 3D graphic game, but still playable.
You can turn down the graphic setting to make the game running smoother.
Meaning, if you can live with it's only 16GB or 32GB memory, and not playing any high 3D game like Asphalt 8, Real Racing 3, Modern Combat 5, then no point for you to consider an upgrade.

It is a never ending comparison, where in future for sure there will be higher end phone with similar cheap price available on the market.

This post has been edited by Alan Yee: Oct 8 2015, 09:43 PM
Alan Yee
post Oct 8 2015, 10:51 PM

1,031 posts

QUOTE(mudkipryan94 @ Oct 8 2015, 10:04 PM)
are u kidding me?
well 16/32/64 or etc storage, it's bloody depends how u ultilized it fool == doh.gif

Meizu n1 who said that Modern Com. 5 not really good? it's just lagging gimmicks dude...

as far as i know that , MTK are using MALI series and even Intel are smart, they go for PowerVr SGX and meanwhile, Qualcomm Adreno always called as "mobile of the AMD Radeon"

pls do some Mobile GPU research before u posting the real facts

2nd. got money, it's depends on the buyer's only who said so AP set aren't bought for values , it's depends on your luck dude

so many of my phones from Kr/HK/EU or bought from 1G didn't face anything..
The whole point I mention is on the smoothness and frame rate, it doesn't mean it is not playable, like I said, you can turn down the graphic setting, just like what PC graphic card is doing.
Just that most game in mobile device don't have option for adjusting graphic setting, so it is better stick to the best available if some one really into high end gaming.
Or else, live with some laggy experience on gaming.
High end 3D gaming purely rely on the graphic chip raw power.

As for the storage, yes, it is depend how you utilize, but a phone like Meizu M1 Note with 16GB without Micro SD slot won't let you really utilized more, and people really demand more and more these day.
That's why many phone still offer Micro SD card slot or offer larger internal storage option up to 128GB.
It will going bigger and bigger, and you will slowly seeing next generation phone will come at least 32GB as standard, and offer bigger storage up to 256GB, no one is going backward to offer just 16GB.
It is just like the computer hard disk, it will going bigger and bigger storage capacity for demand, so getting bigger capacity is really a welcome.
You can't force people saying it is enough, at least phone with Micro SD card give you flexible option to store more when you need it, oppose to those phone that don't has one.

Alan Yee
post Oct 9 2015, 08:52 AM

1,031 posts

QUOTE(Vcys86 @ Oct 8 2015, 10:03 PM)
Among of these, do you mind to provide also the comparison in term of Android version support in future say Marshmallow , or custom roms support?
There is no guarantee which phone will get Marshmallow update, it is depend on manufacturer and developer, even getting Lollipop update is still in question in some region.
I can't answer for the custom rom support as well.

But, if you want your bet is save, I can tell is, the most popular phone, or flagship phone from big company will likely get Marshmallow update, (Samsung S5, Sony Z2, Honor 7, Oneplus One), but not guarantee every region will get it.

Phone from Xiaomi, Meizu, ASUS, Lenovo, will be half chance to get updated to Marshmallow, if they are already released one year ago, then the chances of update is getting less and less. They will focus on new device to getting the Marshmallow, and slowly push out update to older device, but no guarantee they will get it.

Of course, the same thing happen on custom rom too, most popular phone will get much wider and faster developer support, as oppose to those that is not popular.

One last thing, even your phone is not updated to Marshmallow, your phone will still doing fine for years.
I have a two year old phone, that just running on Android Jelly bean 4.2.2. and I can install anything on it without having any issue.
Even at some point, I do find out Google Play blocking me to install some apps, where I was mention my device is not compatible, I still can search for APK for the apps, and install to that phone anyway, and running without any issue.

In term of speed, that phone is not slow either. Having a SD 800 processor, it simply excel in speed, and can run any high end game smoothly that I install.

This post has been edited by Alan Yee: Oct 9 2015, 08:52 AM
Alan Yee
post Oct 12 2015, 03:39 PM

1,031 posts

Hi, anyone here registered for Oneplus Two on Maxis website?

I see from the instruction, registered for invite is start on 14 August 2015, then they will choose the person to get the invitation from September.
It is not guarantee you can get the invite.
I see Maxis website now has closed the invitation, and only validate invitation for those chosen.

The RRP for Oneplus Two listed on Maxis website is RM1687, plus GST will be RM1788.22.
The website don't list the phone spec whether is 16GB or 64GB version.

Seems the price is not that competitive for this moment.
Alan Yee
post Oct 13 2015, 10:58 AM

1,031 posts

QUOTE(Vcys86 @ Oct 12 2015, 10:13 PM)
Yeah. Thanks for your reminder.
Probably I will choose between Honor 7 and Oneplus One. And try to avoid those not-so-famous user groups.

But both have a bit drawback for me..
Honor 7 [No app drawer, not pure android experience] Not sure how's it like to flash H7...
Oneplus One [No ext card slot]

Not sure any other model out there that have both covered.... rclxub.gif
For Honor 7, you can install custom launcher for getting back the App Drawer. Not pure android experience is not much of a problem either, as all apps experience will still the same. Unless you really favor to pure Android, then Nexus and Motorola phone will be the better choice.

For Oneplus One, just get the 64GB version for more memory. Even without card slot, 64GB is still pretty big, you will take time to fill up the phone with apps, photo, and video file. Well, unless you wan store something more than 64GB, then look else where.

Both phone are good in their own way.
Alan Yee
post Nov 2 2015, 09:30 AM

1,031 posts

For people who really interested in Oneplus Two, can get it from Maxis or online store (Lazada/Lelong).
Alan Yee
post Nov 2 2015, 12:06 PM

1,031 posts

QUOTE(NightFelix @ Nov 2 2015, 10:49 AM)
to be exact, OP2 get a Lazada with Voucher can cheaper.
Ya, it can be cheaper.
The main point is they get rid of the invite system.

Oneplus is going to launch the Oneplus X also.
They are becoming more common to the market.
Alan Yee
post Nov 2 2015, 01:58 PM

1,031 posts

QUOTE(salimbest83 @ Nov 2 2015, 12:20 PM)
oh. OPOne the better vs zuk.. hmm.gif
kinda love CM support on zuk coz can taste new android version faster
Go for it la.
Technical wise, it just lack of NFC.

Other than that , it's 4100mah battery is a monster, then it has a real USB 3.0 type C port, unlike Oneplus Two, which is only USB 2.0.

Alan Yee
post Nov 4 2015, 09:25 AM

1,031 posts

QUOTE(le gentleman @ Nov 4 2015, 07:03 AM)
1. Brand : asus, samsung or anything. As long as well known brand
2. Budget. Rm500 below
3. Specs : 7inch screen size, my mum need a tablet.. 1 or 2gb ram, good rear camera, good dpi etc
4. What you need in the phone : 7inch screen, high ram memory, good rear camera..

Im thinking of asus fonepad 7.. But its an older model.. Any suggestion for a newer model?? My mum need a tablet. To kill boredom
Best All rounder : Huawei Mediapad X1
1080p screen, 13MP/5MP camera with flash, 2GB RAM, 4G, 16GB storage, but at the more expensive side, nearly RM1000.

If Huawei is too expensive for you, for ASUS, go for the ASUS Fonepad 7 FE375CG if you still can find one, because this tablet using the same processor as ASUS Zenfone 2, prove to be superior in performance and gaming.
But it is far from perfect, 5MP camera, 1GB RAM only, 8GB storage, only 3G connectivity, but this is the closest to your budget.

Beware, don't get the FE171CG model or FE170CG model.
Much closer latest model is the Asus ZenPad 7.0 Z370CG

Lastly, if you don't need any 2G,3G,4G data internet, and no need phone functionality, then the Xiaomi Mi Pad will be the best tablet at RM699, but only comes with WiFi.

This post has been edited by Alan Yee: Nov 4 2015, 09:31 AM
Alan Yee
post Nov 4 2015, 09:43 AM

1,031 posts

QUOTE(arvind13 @ Nov 3 2015, 10:38 PM)
Check this out..http://www.lowyat.net/2015/81646/xiaomi-redmi-note-2-hands-on-the-disruptor/.    New launch. Value for money.
Yes, Xiaomi Redmi Note 2 will be officially launch sale in Malaysia on 11.11.15, with pricing RM649, 16GB version.
This is the new king of budget Android smartphone coming the end of this year.
Alan Yee
post Nov 15 2015, 12:33 PM

1,031 posts

Just notice the Lenovo A7000 Plus/ K3 Note's Home key, Back key and Task key don't has back light.
Dunno if there is setting on it to turn on, or it really don't have it, just like the ASUS Zenfone series, all those key don't has back light.
Alan Yee
post Dec 2 2015, 11:40 AM

1,031 posts

QUOTE(mrtresynth @ Dec 2 2015, 08:23 AM)
undecided between lenovo k3 note (a7000+) vs lenovo k80 vs lenovo p90 icon_question.gif
The K80 will have overall better spec, just that it doesn't has Micro SD slot.
Alan Yee
post Dec 3 2015, 07:59 AM

1,031 posts

QUOTE(mrtresynth @ Dec 2 2015, 04:48 PM)
mind sharing differences between k80 and p90? specs looks the same..

can only find k80 ap set at directd, but sold out..p90 got lenovo warranty
K80 and P90 should be the same phone with the same spec.
Only different is K80 do comes with a variant with 4GB RAM and 64GB storage.
Because both phone do not has memory card slot, it is encourage to choose the bigger internal storage one.

However, if you can live with just only 32GB memory and 2GB RAM, then choose the P90 with original Lenovo warranty, but surely I won't recommend with only 32GB memory.
Alan Yee
post Dec 3 2015, 08:44 AM

1,031 posts

QUOTE(mrtresynth @ Dec 3 2015, 08:03 AM)
yeah..looking for k80 4gb ram variant..but see no one selling. ada lubang tak?

btw, 32GB still not enuff ke? i find it hard to fill up my 16gb MMC  doh.gif OS partition berapa besar?
Enuf or not enuf depend on usage and people too.

The main problem is it don't has micro sd slot.
So, when you really need more memory, you just can't expand it.

Normally OS will take around 4 to 6 GB, so left around 25GB for apps and other file storage.
If you think 32GB is enuf for you, then go for it, but you can choose P90 for original Lenovo warranty.
The 4GB RAM doesn't make much to increase the performance either.

This post has been edited by Alan Yee: Dec 3 2015, 08:48 AM
Alan Yee
post Dec 3 2015, 10:23 AM

1,031 posts

QUOTE(Andrew_1980 @ Dec 3 2015, 10:14 AM)
32GB should be enough but nah for 16GB, normally you get 11GB usable only.

I also felt like 16GB gonna enough but after 1 year +, no more enough, now remaining only 4GB something. I use phone for entertainment and works alot.

My next phone will only consider at least 32GB or 16GB with micro SD expandable.
Hahaha.... that's why the phone without Micro SD slot, and small storage size is also a concern.
Getting phone with bigger storage and Micro SD slot is always welcome.

Larger battery also is more welcome too, battery life is one of the more important buying factor.

This post has been edited by Alan Yee: Dec 3 2015, 10:24 AM
Alan Yee
post Dec 3 2015, 02:33 PM

1,031 posts

QUOTE(fishmango @ Dec 3 2015, 12:31 PM)
coming to yr end of 2015. What the current cheapest 4G smartphones that got micro sd card slot?
Xiaomi Redmi 2, Alcatel Flash 2, Meizu M2.

But just top up around RM100, you get plenty more choice.

Xiaomi Redmi Note 2, Meizu M2 Note, Lenovo A7000 Plus, ASUS Padfone S, Alcatel Flash Plus, Huawei Honor 4X,
Lenovo P1m.
There is also the Acer Iconia Talk S tablet phone with 4G.

Outdated model, maybe Lenovo K910 Z.

Famous brand, maybe Samsung J2

This post has been edited by Alan Yee: Dec 3 2015, 02:42 PM

9 Pages « < 3 4 5 6 7 > » Top

0.0531sec    0.39    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 10th December 2025 - 06:27 PM