Outline · [ Standard ] · Linear+

Book Recommendation in Coding

views

TSToiletMaster
post May 19 2015, 12:16 PM, updated 9y ago

Enthusiast
773 posts

Hi there sifu,

currently i'm studying IT as of yet, but if possible i'd like to know a bit more on android programming + web design (HTML & CSS). I understand there are alot of online courses, but it feels very different from having a reference book that i can read on without viewing it on the screen itself.

I've checked through MPH and Borders but the book selection was very limited on what i could find that could aid me. Books were either too limited to choose from, or either published from 4 years above. If possible i'd like to look for books that is publishes at least 3 years and below. of course the more recent it was published it would be great.

If there's any books you could recommend (hard-copy) whether it's amazon or anywhere else, It'd be really helpful!

Cheers!
angch
post May 19 2015, 03:00 PM

On my way
635 posts

QUOTE(ToiletMaster @ May 19 2015, 12:16 PM)
I understand there are alot of online courses, but it feels very different from having a reference book that i can read on without viewing it on the screen itself.
Reading books to learn coding away from the computer is like learning to cook from cook books away from the kitchen.

The best Android resource, because it moves so fast, is https://developer.android.com/training/basi...tapp/index.html PDF it if you must. But buying books on it is basically investing in doorstops. It will have moved on by the time you finish it.

And HTML+CSS is stable is enough that older books will probably still apply. Don't worry much about how outdated it is. Dive in and get started. *Then* look for the newer cutting edge stuff, but all those are all online.