Neck strap, quick strap or hand strap/grip?

TSraafikaziz
post May 19 2015, 11:29 AM, updated 11y ago

89 posts

Hello everyone. Just wanna do small survey here. Which one is your most prefer?

I already have the Quick Strap.Thinking about to get the Hand Strap.

Just state below your choices and why you choose.

Thanks guys!

stormsea7
post May 19 2015, 11:38 AM

106 posts

Hand strap.

Because I'm more of a on-the-spur-of-the-moment kinda of guy.
So, when I do use my camera, I prefer it to be on my hand (or near it) at all times.
A quick double snap, and I move on.

I hate neck strap. Hate the weight feeling on my neck.
Feel like it is making me more and more hunched back.
Also, the thick strap makes moving my head up and down uncomfortable. Feels restrictive.

Quick strap (shoulder strap?) would be my 2nd best choice.
But great risk of swing the camera and banging against table etc
SUSXiia0Ban
post May 19 2015, 11:44 AM

3,657 posts

Wrist strap when I'm having some casual shooting.

Neck strap when I have to use my camera for whole day long so I can put it on my neck and rest when I'm not using it. Thanks to the lightweight of mirrorless, I can barely feel the weight on my neck.

This post has been edited by Xiia0Ban: May 19 2015, 11:44 AM
TSraafikaziz
post May 19 2015, 11:56 AM

89 posts

QUOTE(stormsea7 @ May 19 2015, 11:38 AM)
Hand strap.

Because I'm more of a on-the-spur-of-the-moment kinda of guy.
So, when I do use my camera, I prefer it to be on my hand (or near it) at all times.
A quick double snap, and I move on.

I hate neck strap. Hate the weight feeling on my neck.
Feel like it is making me more and more hunched back.
Also, the thick strap makes moving my head up and down uncomfortable. Feels restrictive.

Quick strap (shoulder strap?) would be my 2nd best choice.
But great risk of swing the camera and banging against table etc
I think no one's like the neck strap. If you thinking to carry your camera for the whole day, better get the quick strap.

Yes, I agreed with you about the quick strap might cause banging againts things.

So I think I should get the hand grip. Right?
TSraafikaziz
post May 19 2015, 11:58 AM

89 posts

QUOTE(Xiia0Ban @ May 19 2015, 11:44 AM)
Wrist strap when I'm having some casual shooting.

Neck strap when I have to use my camera for whole day long so I can put it on my neck and rest when I'm not using it. Thanks to the lightweight of mirrorless, I can barely feel the weight on my neck.
Well, you're lucky because you are using mirrorless. But not for dslr user. hehe.

SUSXiia0Ban
post May 19 2015, 12:30 PM

3,657 posts

QUOTE(raafikaziz @ May 19 2015, 11:58 AM)
Well, you're lucky because you are using mirrorless. But not for dslr user. hehe.
That's the main reason why I move from dslr to mirrorless.
stormsea7
post May 19 2015, 11:02 PM

106 posts

QUOTE(raafikaziz @ May 19 2015, 11:56 AM)
I think no one's like the neck strap. If you thinking to carry your camera for the whole day, better get the quick strap.

Yes, I agreed with you about the quick strap might cause banging againts things.

So I think I should get the hand grip. Right?
Because you are using DSLR, having just a wrist strap is not really viable for long term use.
Because you will be holding something the size of a small child head.

You could be using something lightweight like Canon 500D or heavy like Nikon D90
but in either case, you will be holding something the size of a small child head.
Not to mention the type (and weight) of len you use.

I recommend you get those small camera shoulder bag
something like this:

Small, compact, with just enough room for the body + 1 lens + side pockets for charger or battery or memory card

that way, you can use wrist strap during active shooting
then keep the camera in the bag when it is not in use.
think it as a waist holster for your camera (gun)

quick access, not bulky, and it will protect your bag from banging into things
LegendLee
post May 19 2015, 11:35 PM

><3LG3|\|D
2,725 posts

Shoulder strap for the win.
Fast, accessible and usually not in the way.
Those blackrapid and sun sniper strap are really useful. But they take up the tripod mount unless you've a custom mplate.

Neckstrap is just painful.

Handstrap is useful if you're on a vacation and that's all you need. Can go multicamera with a handstrap.
idoblu
post May 20 2015, 06:27 AM

stars for sale
11,308 posts

I use a neck strap but when shooting, I wrap it around my hand like a hand strap. When I'm moving about, not taking pictures I will wear it cross body
I hate to hang it around my neck too
kayFX
post May 20 2015, 08:57 AM

i got title 0.o
913 posts

i use my strap (the default came with the camera) as shoulder strap or cross body.. i never thought it a neck strap tongue.gif
ChinWY
post May 20 2015, 10:11 AM

633 posts

Even in the old days when I use weight monsters like Nikon Ftn I use hand strap or none at all.. so with today Mirrirless.. magic.. only need 3 fingers to hold them and I still vote for hand strap... but I have seen someone posted finger strap! yet to really see any..

Mostly it is due to the way you use to take your pix and confidence you have with your hardware..

TSraafikaziz
post May 20 2015, 11:30 AM

89 posts

QUOTE(stormsea7 @ May 19 2015, 11:02 PM)
Because you are using DSLR, having just a wrist strap is not really viable for long term use.
Because you will be holding something the size of a small child head.

You could be using something lightweight like Canon 500D or heavy like Nikon D90
but in either case, you will be holding something the size of a small child head.
Not to mention the type (and weight) of len you use.

I recommend you get those small camera shoulder bag
something like this:

Small, compact, with just enough room for the body + 1 lens + side pockets for charger or battery or memory card

that way, you can use wrist strap during active shooting
then keep the camera in the bag when it is not in use.
think it as a waist holster for your camera (gun)

quick access, not bulky, and it will protect your bag from banging into things
I will just use the Hand Grip and bring a long the Quick Strap incase i need it.

Well, looks like I really need to buy that shoulder bag. Any place that I can get with cheap prices? Hehe
TSraafikaziz
post May 20 2015, 11:34 AM

89 posts

QUOTE(LegendLee @ May 19 2015, 11:35 PM)
Shoulder strap for the win.
Fast, accessible and usually not in the way.
Those blackrapid and sun sniper strap are really useful. But they take up the tripod mount unless you've a custom mplate.
Neckstrap is just painful.
Handstrap is useful if you're on a vacation and that's all you need. Can go multicamera with a handstrap.
Looking for that shoulder bag too.
TSraafikaziz
post May 20 2015, 11:36 AM

89 posts

QUOTE(idoblu @ May 20 2015, 06:27 AM)
I use a neck strap but when shooting, I wrap it around my hand like a hand strap. When I'm moving about, not taking pictures I will wear it cross body
I hate to hang it around my neck too
Dude, neck strap is painful. it's really hurt your neck. I can't take it lah. Hehe
Everdying
post May 20 2015, 12:48 PM

Two is One and One is None.
30,735 posts

QUOTE(raafikaziz @ May 20 2015, 11:36 AM)
Dude, neck strap is painful. it's really hurt your neck. I can't take it lah. Hehe
get a good neck strap la, those with decent padding.
i'm using optech, with quick detach can also convert to be shorter and used on wrist.

i got shoulder strap also but dont use it, cos i dont like the body bouncing around on the side when equipped with a telephoto lens...easier to control if its in front.

idoblu
post May 20 2015, 01:17 PM

stars for sale
11,308 posts

QUOTE(raafikaziz @ May 20 2015, 11:36 AM)
I know that's why I said I hate to hang it around my neck
fun_feng
post May 21 2015, 03:21 PM

One Cat to Rule Them ALL
2,289 posts

Actually neck strap is still the most convenient one.
It leaves both hand free (unlike hand strap) and it doesn't bang into stuffs when it dangles from your body (unlike shoulder strap)
You have to change to change the neck strap to proper pro strap.
I use optech too and it's one of the best decision made thumbup.gif

p/s: having lightweight camera is still the best
ieR
post May 22 2015, 10:50 AM

~Cursed Member~
3,928 posts

couldnt find a good handstrap (tried 3, now all 3 in drawer, JJC, canon, gariz... not the string strap) end up stick back with neckstrap(kata) that has carabiner for my backpack and harness D ring. and it is very comfortable even with 70200

if there is a good handstrap, i would mind trying it. hand strap is a good idea and nice to use... just dislike the uncomfort of the one i owned for my dslr

broke a borrowed dslr with shoulder strap, banned.
my buddy broke his L lens(2nd body) with RapidStrap(for 2 camera) by accident when he squad down for a good shot during a wedding, he now banned rapidstrap and changed to harness D ring (like mine, kata) using camera strap with carabiner

btw, i have a (gariz) fingerstrap for my mirrorless. its kinda nice to use!

just my 2 cent, everyone has their own opinion.

0.0202sec    0.17    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 22nd December 2025 - 04:31 AM