Working Life in Singapore, Please Share your value Experience
Fishsteak
Mar 25 2008, 05:07 PM

Hi everyone, Im new to this thread. And never expected such long discussion. Until 75 wei. Cant read 'em all. Sorry if i ask the same question b4. Anywy, I am keen on working in S'pore.  But I am a media kaki. Is the media industry there easy to get in ??? I was thinking of entering MediaCorp. What do you think of the chances? My working exp are 2yrs. Buthen is abit rojak. 1yr publishing + 1yr finance.  Think they layan ar ?  And do anyone know any good Recruitment Agency in Spore that can help ??? Other than this michaelyong@ebetterhelp.com Appreciate your response. Tq
Fishsteak
Mar 25 2008, 10:01 PM

bout payout. I guess no matter how low it is... it will still be higher than my current salary. For example SGD 1,800 alone oredi RM3k+ And knowing im not a citizen plus not familiar with their work culture, is reasonable to not give me their market value there. Anywy, Im wondering... how LOW would the S'pore employer normally expect in order to hire without question. As in the rate that make you look like a BiG FaT PiG ready to be eaten!
Fishsteak
Mar 25 2008, 10:59 PM

Thanx bbmars.  I completely agree with what u said. Actually that happen alot in M'sia which from personal xperience they will not ink certain things like your working hrs or annual leaves given or entitle for bonus etc. into your offer letter. And when you try to argue with the HR, they will just use that as an excuse.  Well. most local companies in M'sia do that alot. I xperience 2-months no pay coz company not doin well. Those bastards.  Anywy, reason Im asking bout da rate, is so i can nego the salary in order to get the job easily without puttin me in da waiting list. And of coz im gonna aim for MNC or good repo firm. Plus is not easy to purposely travel to S'pore for an interview, just to get the response "We'll let you know later" from them.  Where im gona stay lar. Takkan wan to overnight there. Wash plates meh. hehehe.
Fishsteak
Mar 26 2008, 10:18 PM

QUOTE(bbmars @ Mar 26 2008, 09:37 PM) Please, my friends, not opnly Singaporeans, many other nationals are equally KIASU and KIASI nowadays.. the face of Singaporeans had already changed for many years, just that many Malaysians still think Singaporeans are... in fact, several years ago, there was even an article about whether Singaporeans had lost its trail of being KIASU & KIASI.. because those generation of survival had long gone like my parents time.. the current lot.. many don't know waht is hardship.... Hey! That IS a good news.
Fishsteak
Mar 28 2008, 08:30 PM

QUOTE(babeadeline @ Mar 26 2008, 11:30 PM) Go get a copy of The Straits Times in singapore, they have a section called "Recruit" which lists the available jobs. There are certains days that are more "hot" and will have more job advertisements, anyone can help to check which day it is? Also, online would be http://www.jobsdb.com.sg/Singapore/Packed is okay, you haven't get into a fight on a bus?  I checked JobsDB almost everyday. About the newspaper. Do they have website? Like our The Star online.  just wondering...