Working Life in Singapore, Please Share your value Experience

Find The Way
post Oct 27 2007, 07:41 AM

724 posts

QUOTE(Doltan @ Oct 27 2007, 12:03 AM)
http://www.iras.gov.sg/ESVPortal/iit/iit-s...n+singapore.asp

If I interpreted that correctly, then you will be taxed at 15%, as they stated that either 15% or based on Resident rate, whichever is higher. Maybe just tell your company to delay your 1st day or work by 2 days officially and avoid the tax altogether for 2007.
Thanks for info man. I never realize the existence of such rule. I just started working in SG since July, is that means I will be taxed for 15% as well? cry.gif

And... usually when do we have to pay tax? Anything need to be done before that? During the days when working in Malaysia my salary level is not in taxable, therefore have no experience in taxation. icon_question.gif
Find The Way
post Oct 28 2007, 11:39 AM

724 posts

QUOTE(ClubGoddess @ Oct 27 2007, 04:02 PM)
anybody know where i can find rooms for rent?
or any1 wanna be my roommate?? i will be there tis early nov.
http://www.adpost.com/sg/?cat=hdb_flats_fo...T:&query=browse

The Straits Times > Classified > Section 427

Bus stations outside the Ang Mo Kio and Bedok MRT stations got notice boards
Find The Way
post Nov 14 2007, 10:07 PM

724 posts

QUOTE(washabushi @ Nov 14 2007, 09:41 AM)
i dont know mah...
just report to SG for 2 weeks only...
not sure bout the PR things...
better find 1 rich girl support me...
then can lo...
Bet you won't mind agededed rich girl

tongue.gif Just kidding no offense to anyone
Find The Way
post Dec 20 2007, 10:30 AM

724 posts

Many companies hire only local and PR. Except the reason of permit or EP application/renewal cumbersome, any other reason? I work in sg and thinking to switch job, but not sure if I should apply PR first sad.gif.
Find The Way
post Dec 28 2007, 12:05 AM

724 posts

QUOTE(Gamerz_Paradise @ Dec 20 2007, 12:08 PM)
i know bout the application only.. Said to have SGD 20,000 person in savings (not include fixed assets) and a minimum 6 mths of working period in spore to applied.
Hi, may I know where can I find further info on above mentioned prerequisites? I went to ICA website and downloaded the form and guideline docs, but just can't find that 2 conditions. sad.gif Thanks.
Find The Way
post Jan 10 2008, 10:17 PM

724 posts

QUOTE(mars2005 @ Jan 10 2008, 08:20 PM)
I'm in dilemma now, i just got the offer, SG2.7k with OT claim, can exceed 3k if work more OT..... should I or should i not go.... it's way below my expected salary, however, my current salary in m'sia is a bit higher (value wise) than above offer.

Really don't know it's wise choice to go... i know u cant decide for me.. but i wanna hear ur opionion... i'm in electronics engineering field with about less than 2 years of experience... Only given 1 day to make the decision sigh.... FYI, my intension is to earn $$ thr, probably less than 5 years...
Generally currency value is a good option for gaining $ in short term. If getting a lot of money in short time is the only way to achieve your long term goal, then I would say you should give it a try; otherwise have to think carefully...
Find The Way
post Jan 16 2008, 06:43 AM

724 posts

QUOTE(Scopio @ Jan 16 2008, 05:34 AM)
Hi...I wanna ask tat with a diploma, can we get a job in singapore???
Can... but it depends on what kind of job and the expectations you are looking for. I am not familiar in job market trend though... maybe someone can give advise?
Find The Way
post Jan 16 2008, 08:58 PM

724 posts

QUOTE(Scopio @ Jan 16 2008, 06:45 AM)
Can some2 give me advice got any suit job for diploma in computer engineering...
How about helpdesk and support? If you know English and Chinese then I believe you should stand a chance. Of course if you know other languages like Japanese should boost your competitiveness.

BTW, what kind of job you are interesting in? Why not do filtering search in job portal like jobstreet.com and jobsdb.com? That should at least gives you some clues to the answer.

This post has been edited by Find The Way: Jan 16 2008, 09:00 PM
Find The Way
post Jan 17 2008, 09:49 PM

724 posts

QUOTE(MICHEAL_ANGELO @ Jan 17 2008, 05:22 PM)
i have been called up by EDS (or EPS) of singapore to be a IT administrator in an secondary school but the offered salary is very low .. only SGD 1300 and it is a 1 year contract based.

i want to ask whether SGD1300 is sufficient for me to survice in SG or not?
Should be ok with current living standard. But I doubt if your goal to work in SG is just to survive hmm.gif

BTW SGD1300..., maybe working in those electronic factories as operator can earn more than that figure?

This post has been edited by Find The Way: Jan 17 2008, 09:52 PM
Find The Way
post Feb 1 2008, 07:02 PM

724 posts

QUOTE(allele @ Feb 1 2008, 06:10 PM)
Nak tanya..

Today i get an employment offer from a company frm Sg. I was required to sign an employment contract n to undergo pre-employment medical check-up, my question is:

1. Usually how long does it takes to process EP? Is there any case where the employee allowed to work even before they get the pass?

2.How's the medical check up like ar? Will underweight be a prob?? tongue.gif

Thanks~
For my case I got my EP for about 1 week time.
Find The Way
post Feb 2 2008, 10:44 AM

724 posts

QUOTE(terencetoo @ Feb 2 2008, 12:57 AM)
guys usually S'poreans prefer to call local number for interview rather than other countries?
My experience tells me this is true, should be applicable to both giant MNC and SME. Of course it also depends on the person who reads your resume or contacts you.
Find The Way
post Feb 3 2008, 02:48 AM

724 posts

QUOTE(allele @ Feb 2 2008, 01:14 PM)
Eat bread on everyday?! So terrible? U mean breakfast is it? haha.. I think the overall depends on how much u earn per month and the way u spend the money and allocating it for savings etc.. If the company got provide housing subsidy or accomodation, that would definitely helps a lot in saving some $. The company that currently offering me the job provides $600 housing allowance, which is very good.

Added on February 2, 2008, 1:21 pmAny frequent SG-KL flight passenger here?
$600 accommodation allowance? Mind to tell which company u working at? drool.gif
Find The Way
post Feb 12 2008, 08:58 AM

724 posts

Guys and gals, I'm planning to apply SPR and here are some of my doubts regarding the application form:

- Innovation and achievements in your profession: should I leave this field blank? coz I can only think of the list of suggestions for improvements that my employers never bother about...
- Academic qualification: I took twinning course in private college, should I state the overseas University or local college in institute address field?
- Annex to be fill up by employer: Possible not to submit this annex? My HR is in maternity leave and I hope to apply ASAP (I heard that some people who's working in SG had successfully apply SPR by themselves without letter/form from employer, but not sure abt the details).

Hope can get some tips here tongue.gif Thanks ya.
Find The Way
post May 9 2008, 10:59 PM

724 posts

QUOTE(jimmy79 @ May 9 2008, 09:19 PM)
1. You can try www.sg-house.com or www.efair.sg, there is rental section over there. but most is through agent which u need to pay half month rental to agent as commision. Nowadays is very hard to get a room without agent especially you are not in Singapore currently. A Common room is around 400-600 for safety range. If you plan to get 1 whole unit with 2 bedroom will mostly cost around 1500-2000 per month. Not sure about Bedok market
This range is consider fair at Bedok
Find The Way
post May 12 2008, 11:20 PM

724 posts

QUOTE(MPIK @ May 12 2008, 11:50 AM)
Then they will say you are a job-hopper... not so nice lo. tongue.gif
That's my worry too. Looking at my timeline most probably I'll be switching job in 2~4 months after I got my pr status, really no idea how those potential employers will think about that sad.gif (though i am pretty sure many people practiced the same thing too cool2.gif )
Find The Way
post May 26 2008, 10:55 PM

724 posts

QUOTE(Jewelgal @ May 26 2008, 01:42 PM)
May I know what is the common working hours and number of working days in SG for those who are working in office(IT/Programming/Network line)?
I think there is a need to change this question to:
Which are the companies in SG that seldom require you to work for long hour, for those jobs to work in office(IT/Programming/Network line)?

I believe it really depends on which company you join, and I am waiting for the answer too smile.gif
Find The Way
post Jun 3 2008, 12:19 AM

724 posts

QUOTE(BlaBlaBoy @ Jun 2 2008, 11:21 PM)
May I know is there any bus that I can take from Tanjong pajar KTM station to Tanjong pagar MRT? Thanks
I only that there are few buses for the other way around tongue.gif
Anyway these two spots are in walking distance.
Find The Way
post Jun 4 2008, 09:22 PM

724 posts

QUOTE(Annie @ Jun 3 2008, 04:33 PM)
high tech industry. those company laying-off are doing high tech.
Hmm... I'm kinda worry coz "thinking" to switch job sad.gif Still waiting for my spr approval though it has been 2 months since application sad.gif
Find The Way
post Jun 25 2008, 01:10 AM

724 posts

Wow! This thread is finally reaching 100th page. Shall we celebrate? tongue.gif
Find The Way
post Jun 28 2008, 10:57 AM

724 posts

QUOTE(jactval @ Jun 28 2008, 10:45 AM)
I heard that for those who work in Singapore for not exceeding 6 months would be charged a high tax rate by Singapore government, how much is it? If let's say we take an example of $2000 per month of salary and has worked for 5 months, that would be $2000x5=$10000. How about the tax calculation to this amount?
Yes you are right, those who works less than 183 days will have to pay income tax at a higher rate. But I don't think with $10K annual income you will need to pay. You can find out more from

www.iras.gov.sg

0.0551sec    0.45    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th November 2025 - 02:39 PM