126 Pages « < 108 109 110 111 112 > » Bottom

Working Life in Singapore, Please Share your value Experience

cktwai
post Jul 13 2008, 05:59 PM

NaraPikamaru
541 posts

QUOTE(saintcute @ Jul 13 2008, 04:37 PM)
who wants to come put for coffee hangout during the weekends in Sg here. let me know k.
hmmmmmm i don't mind smile.gif
Chrisky
post Jul 13 2008, 06:27 PM

Romanista
4,567 posts

QUOTE(jimmy79 @ Jul 12 2008, 02:48 PM)
your unit landlord got extra room to rent out? tongue.gif
QUOTE(ahwai_83 @ Jul 13 2008, 05:19 PM)
u got any more room ther?
finding for room in tat area...
too bad, nope. tongue.gif

QUOTE(Shinichi @ Jul 13 2008, 04:28 PM)
I think BT or whatever p2p download is illegal in SG and they can charge you for illegal download offense... That's what I heard from others.
well i do use BT here... juz not that frequent as my fren suggested. tongue.gif

btw any basketball gang in SG here ? i wanna play but no kaki. sad.gif
ahwai_83
post Jul 13 2008, 07:24 PM

48 posts

QUOTE(Chrisky @ Jul 13 2008, 06:27 PM)
too bad, nope.  tongue.gif
well i do use BT here... juz not that frequent as my fren suggested.  tongue.gif
btw any basketball gang in SG here ? i wanna play but no kaki.  sad.gif
aaaaaa...too bad...but is it ok if u look out for me?
if ther is a room do inform me ya...thx~
n if i can get around tat area do include me if got any basketball outing...hehe
icon_rolleyes.gif
saintcute
post Jul 13 2008, 07:33 PM

55 posts

QUOTE(cktwai @ Jul 13 2008, 05:59 PM)
hmmmmmm i don't mind smile.gif
hey pal, PM me your mobile no. can call u out when I am free.
mahsiuling
post Jul 13 2008, 09:29 PM

71 posts

i hope i can work in singapore too....
nicvoo
post Jul 13 2008, 11:13 PM

N|_|_|B
4,707 posts

QUOTE(teckhooi @ Jul 13 2008, 04:16 PM)
offtopic here

starhub broadband user here

izzt BT not allow in SG?
I think BT or whatever p2p download is illegal in SG and they can charge you for illegal download offense... That's what I heard from others.
bt-ing here since i reached here last year still no notice or watsoever whistling.gif touch wood 1st star hub user also

tongue.gif

$14.90++ dimsum buffet starling group of restaurants they basically have 3 locations harbour front city hall n another cant remember where go google.

went there today wifout booking no seat crap in the end went kuishin bo at suntec still ok but almost double the price $34
alxcnq
post Jul 13 2008, 11:13 PM

25 posts

How long will it takes travelling from JB customs right to Tampines assuming not during peak hours ? Anybody here travel daily from JB to SG to work?
nicvoo
post Jul 13 2008, 11:14 PM

N|_|_|B
4,707 posts

by the way wat happen to the meet up?

yam cha blow water, steamboat or jus dinner also can

Added on July 13, 2008, 11:17 pm
QUOTE(alxcnq @ Jul 13 2008, 11:13 PM)
How long will it takes travelling from JB customs right to Tampines assuming not during peak hours ? Anybody here travel daily from JB to SG to work?
approx 1h i stay at tampines from chk point take 950 bus to woodlands bus interchagne then take 168 to tampines

hav a colleague doing that at nite 9pm++ reach home only recommand if u hav those fixed hour jobs eg. shift jobs else u'll reach home damn late

This post has been edited by nicvoo: Jul 13 2008, 11:17 PM
saintcute
post Jul 14 2008, 02:07 AM

55 posts

i dun recommend stayin in jb and travel in between SG everyday. JB is not safe especially at nite and u r taking risk. and another thing is u work until late hours and still need go through the hassle of travelling long hours. life sucks....

This post has been edited by saintcute: Jul 14 2008, 02:11 AM
teckhooi
post Jul 14 2008, 11:31 AM

3,135 posts

Open A Bank Account

Any Suggestion On Which Bank?
driftmeister
post Jul 14 2008, 11:39 AM

Penggadai Rakyat®
4,133 posts

POSB - more branch
OCBC - less queue for ATM

but u better check with ur company which bank they pay ur salary
jimmy79
post Jul 14 2008, 11:54 AM

957 posts

QUOTE(driftmeister @ Jul 14 2008, 11:39 AM)
POSB - more branch

POSB - need maintain 500 inside account to avoid deduct $2 admin fee every month
OCBD - need maintain 1000 inside account to avoid deduct $2 admin fee very month

I suggest go for POSB.
yrh0413
post Jul 14 2008, 12:09 PM

12,214 posts

smile.gif Citibank - $0 to open an account
SUSSPS
post Jul 14 2008, 12:55 PM

1,127 posts

QUOTE(jimmy79 @ Jul 14 2008, 11:54 AM)
POSB - need maintain 500 inside account to avoid deduct $2 admin fee every month
OCBD - need maintain 1000 inside account  to avoid deduct $2 admin fee very month

I suggest go for POSB.
POS Bank?

Look at queues at each and every POS Bank ATM at all hours of the day!

I recommend either OCBC or UOB, at least you won't have to wait in line with half a dozen people in front of you.
alxcnq
post Jul 14 2008, 01:32 PM

25 posts

approx 1h i stay at tampines from chk point take 950 bus to woodlands bus interchagne then take 168 to tampines

hav a colleague doing that at nite 9pm++ reach home only recommand if u hav those fixed hour jobs eg. shift jobs else u'll reach home damn late
Thanks. 1hr is still ok for me as in malaysia I also travel like 1 & half hour journey between work n home. 9pm++?? what time did he depart from tampines?

i dun recommend stayin in jb and travel in between SG everyday. JB is not safe especially at nite and u r taking risk. and another thing is u work until late hours and still need go through the hassle of travelling long hours. life sucks....
I don't have a choice right now as the deposit, agent fees and getting all other stuff for the first mnth will cost hell a lot if i choose to stay in SG. I think to stay in JB 1st, probably will move to SG only after a while if i really cant stand the travelling. Bside there are thousand of ppl doing this everyday isn't? if they can do it, i dont see why i cant .. haha.

topxcard
post Jul 14 2008, 03:27 PM

QUOTE(mIssfROGY @ Oct 27 2006, 12:52 AM)
working life is heaven here! hohoho..the transportation and working environment is good. NO TRAFFIC JAMS and BROKEN LRTSsssss/monorails/ktmssss..
no more lrts tat stop in the middle of no where...
sad to say..i miss malaysia soo much, but till they improve the transportation there......

The food is alrite if u know wer to makan
its not expensive dollar to dollar.....u will be earning proly the same thing in msia...
besides the rental part...everything seemed cheaper and u get to save abit. BUT!! unless u r earning more than SGD2.5k...dun bother coming coz no point after all the expenses, u will be left wif pretty much nothing.

my expenses now;
sgd450 = room (near town and 5 mins from mrt)
sgd60-sgd80 = transport
sgd200 = go back kl twice a month(lesser than this actually)
sgd500 = makan
Total = SGD1230

(dun forget the TAX, and mics stuffs)
but basically spend around sgd1500 ....the rest can save.
so if u r earning 2500, at least can save around rm2k per month or maybe lesser since shopping here is dem dem good!
hi
i always have a dream that i can work abroad. can you tell me how can i get a job there?
now i am in china. and there is no problem in English, and i specialize in interenational trade.

waiting for your reply
mail: wuqianyiyun@gmail.com
msn: wuqianyiyun@hotmail.com

nicvoo
post Jul 14 2008, 03:37 PM

N|_|_|B
4,707 posts

QUOTE(SPS @ Jul 14 2008, 12:55 PM)
POS Bank?

Look at queues at each and every POS Bank ATM at all hours of the day!

I recommend either OCBC or UOB, at least you won't have to wait in line with half a dozen people in front of you.
there mus b a reason for it n the reason is simple, it has the most branches through out sg n if u r a foreigner its S$500 deposit

QUOTE(alxcnq @ Jul 14 2008, 01:32 PM)
Thanks. 1hr is still ok for me as in malaysia I also travel like 1 & half hour journey between work n home. 9pm++?? what time did he depart from tampines?
I don't have a choice right now as the deposit, agent fees and getting all other stuff for the first mnth will cost hell a lot if i choose to stay in SG. I think to stay in JB 1st, probably will move to SG only after a while if i really cant stand the travelling. Bside there are thousand of ppl doing this everyday isn't? if they can do it, i dont see why i cant .. haha.
he's traveling from bukit merah

1h if theres low traffic or no traffic at all

depensing on your job if require u to work late u'll miss the bus last bus 11.30pm btw my colleague drives

sukhoi37
post Jul 14 2008, 03:56 PM

Into Computer Since 2002
4,810 posts

I think 1 hour can get you arrive sg custom checkpoint. another 30minutes for custom checking.
So total would be 1.5 hours for tampines >> msia custom(IF everything goes smooth).
it will be more if u stay far away from JB downtown.
His friend got car, you gotta queue and wait for public transport.
It's painful journey especially the checkpoint still on tight security because of Mat Selamat escape.
Guai Guai Zai
post Jul 14 2008, 05:26 PM

623 posts

Ya, have to be real careful.
I think u can still download, just don't download 24/7 and try limit ur upload speed.
and try avoid downloading anime because last time got a few ppl get caught.

QUOTE(Chrisky @ Jul 13 2008, 06:27 PM)
too bad, nope.  tongue.gif
well i do use BT here... juz not that frequent as my fren suggested.  tongue.gif
btw any basketball gang in SG here ? i wanna play but no kaki.  sad.gif

YES, count me in. Let's find a place to play. I suggest we play at tampines smile.gif

QUOTE(driftmeister @ Jul 14 2008, 11:39 AM)
POSB - more branch

Open an account at DBS/POSB - this 2 are the same, if u have DBS acc, u can withdraw money from DBS/POSB atm, same goes to POSB acc.
FYI, DBS is the largest bank in singapore, deposit $500
Annie
post Jul 15 2008, 09:47 AM

234 posts

2 position available. Please PM me to get detail/contact.

Associate, Worldwide Quote Center

Job requirements :

The ideal candidate should possess a degree with proficient computer skills (Microsoft office), strong written and verbal communication skills, effective fluency in English. In addition, the individual must be self-motivated, work with minimal instructions on day-to-day work and detailed oriented. The work hours will depend on the geographic territory (i.e. North America, Europe, Middle-east & Africa and Asia) that the individual is assigned to. Additional languages skills, negotiation and presentation skills would be a plus.

Job responsibilities :

Perform duties described below to serve as the central point of contact for EMS Partners and Distributors :-

a ) Policies, procedures, Xilinx sales model, systems

o Conversant on all policies, processes and systems required to perform daily activities

o Knowledgeable regarding Xilinx’s Sales Model, including Reps and Distributors

b) Quote Activities

· Quote Processing

- Process all quotes for identified EMS partners

- Includes all type of quotes: Bids, Budgetary, Production

· FOX Opportunity Monitoring

- Insure correct opportunity is assigned to each quote

- Scrutinize all opportunities for duplications

- Coordinate resolution between reps with Xilinx field sales office

- Manually maintain monthly activity log

· Design Credits (DC)

- Insure DC is in place for all QC quotes (and debits)

- Advise rep of missing or incorrect Design Credits

- Manually maintain monthly log

· Insure margins adhere to current margin model

· Validate VPA pricing and proper expiration dates on quotes/DDAs

· Monitor Tolerance Review Quotes and insure justification is provided

· Other Quote Categories

- SSB Quotes

o Validate Appropriate opportunity, DC and price are included on SSB/ Reference Design quote to ensure design rep receives design credit

o Update and maintain SSB tracking sheet

- Repeat Quotes

o Below Field Authorization Level (Business Operations support)

o Review and process based on pricing level

o Prepare monthly report for Business Operations owner

· Process DDAs associated with QC quotes

c) Other activities

· Xilinx Direct Fulfillment (XDF) Activity

- Work with distributors to expire quotes and DDAs when business transitions from Distribution to Direct Fulfillment

- Monitor quoting activity to ensure direct parts are not being quoted in the Distribution channel.

· On-going Distributor Super-User training/updating of FOX features (and other Distributor and/or Rep Company staffers as needed)

· Oversee EMS sites in FOX

- Work with Reps and Distributors to eliminate redundancies where possible

- Advise EMS QC FSC of changes or updates required

Team leaders, Worldwide Quote Center

Job requirements :

The ideal candidate should possess a Degree with at least 6 years of Sales office experience. Experience with distributors, EMS and customers is a plus. The individual must possess proficient computer skills in Microsoft office and systems used for customer quoting or other sales transactions, strong written and verbal communication, negotiation and presentation skills as well as effective fluency in English. In addition, the individual must be self-motivated, work with minimal instructions on day-to-day work and detailed oriented. Previous supervisory experience required, with proven leadership and team motivational skills. The work hours will depend on the geographic territory (i.e. North America, Europe, Middle-east & Africa and Asia) that the individual is assigned to.

Job responsibilities :

Perform duties described below to serve as the central point of contact for EMS Partners and Distributors :-

a ) Policies, procedures, Xilinx sales model, systems

o Conversant on all policies, processes and systems required to perform daily activities

o Knowledgeable regarding Xilinx’s Sales Model, including Reps and Distributors

b) Quote Activities

· Quote Processing

- Process all quotes for identified EMS partners

- Includes all type of quotes: Bids, Budgetary, Production

· FOX Opportunity Monitoring

- Insure correct opportunity is assigned to each quote

- Scrutinize all opportunities for duplications

- Coordinate resolution between reps with Xilinx field sales office

- Manually maintain monthly activity log

· Design Credits (DC)

- Insure DC is in place for all QC quotes (and debits)

- Advise rep of missing or incorrect Design Credits

- Manually maintain monthly log

· Insure margins adhere to current margin model

· Validate VPA pricing and proper expiration dates on quotes/DDAs

· Monitor Tolerance Review Quotes and insure justification is provided

· Other Quote Categories

- SSB Quotes

o Validate Appropriate opportunity, DC and price are included on SSB/ Reference Design quote to ensure design rep receives design credit

o Update and maintain SSB tracking sheet

- Repeat Quotes

o Below Field Authorization Level (Business Operations support)

o Review and process based on pricing level

o Prepare monthly report for Business Operations owner

· Process DDAs associated with QC quotes

c) Other activities

· Xilinx Direct Fulfillment (XDF) Activity

- Work with distributors to expire quotes and DDAs when business transitions from Distribution to Direct Fulfillment

- Monitor quoting activity to ensure direct parts are not being quoted in the Distribution channel.

· On-going Distributor Super-User training/updating of FOX features (and other Distributor and/or Rep Company staffers as needed)

· Oversee EMS sites in FOX

- Work with Reps and Distributors to eliminate redundancies where possible

- Advise EMS QC FSC of changes or updates required

This post has been edited by Annie: Jul 15 2008, 09:48 AM

126 Pages « < 108 109 110 111 112 > » Top

0.0186sec    0.21    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 30th November 2025 - 05:53 AM