126 Pages « < 104 105 106 107 108 > » Bottom

Working Life in Singapore, Please Share your value Experience

Supreme Allied Commander
post Jul 4 2008, 06:04 PM

336 posts

QUOTE(PoisonIvy82 @ Jul 4 2008, 06:47 PM)
Weekend? Meeting? How?
lol its already friday evening , what do you think ?
jimmy79
post Jul 4 2008, 07:14 PM

957 posts

QUOTE(Uchiha Itachi @ Jul 4 2008, 05:57 PM)
That's the problem that I am facing now. My salary is below 2500 yet my company apply a Q1 pass for me. My application is approved (without submit any cert to the online application) and I need to go over MoM for the green card next week. I do not have cert, only results transcipt and a letter that proved my qualification. I would like to know that is that enough for the MoM to grant me the Q1 employment pass
I think should be ok with the letter that proved your qualification, however you already have no other choice but try it out
mrg220t
post Jul 4 2008, 08:31 PM

177 posts

Hi guys, I just graduated from an US university with a masters in Electrical Engineering. I am thinking about going to Singapore to find work. How good is the E.E job market over there? Is it possible to get a job within a month? I plan to go down to Singapore first and apply for jobs there instead of applying it over here. Is that a good idea? I will be staying with relatives and friends when I am down in Singapore during the job search tho. Anyone knows what is the going rate for a fresh grad in E.E.?
seantang
post Jul 4 2008, 08:32 PM

With Adult Supervision Only
6,624 posts

QUOTE(jimmy79 @ Jul 4 2008, 05:14 PM)
I think the reason you can get EP without submit certs is because your salary already over the range due to there is few aspect can let you get EP

1) for foreigners with monthly basic salary of S$2,501 and above and possess acceptable degrees, professional qualifications or specialist skills.(Q1 Pass)

2)A P1 Pass will be issued if the applicant's monthly basic salary is more than S$7,000.
3) A P2 Pass will be issued if the applicant's monthly basic salary is more than S$3,500 and up to S$7,000.
Hmmm, I didn't know that. I assumed everyone who has a job and employer backing will get an EP.

clausman
post Jul 4 2008, 08:48 PM

708 posts

QUOTE(Supreme Allied Commander @ Jul 4 2008, 06:04 PM)
lol its already friday evening , what do you think ?
now is nearly 9pm friday and yet i'm still at work...
somemore in a bank.. WTF... rclxub.gif rclxub.gif rclxub.gif

now, where is my beer? whistling.gif
Find The Way
post Jul 4 2008, 10:10 PM

724 posts

QUOTE(clausman @ Jul 4 2008, 08:48 PM)
now is nearly 9pm friday and yet i'm still at work...
somemore in a bank.. WTF...  rclxub.gif  rclxub.gif  rclxub.gif

now, where is my beer?   whistling.gif
Hi clausman mind to know which functional area you working in? retail bank or investment bank?

BTW, me too often have to OT, already "used" to work on weekend and public holidays. You are not alone man sweat.gif

This post has been edited by Find The Way: Jul 4 2008, 10:11 PM
Uchiha Itachi
post Jul 5 2008, 12:38 AM

723 posts

QUOTE(jimmy79 @ Jul 4 2008, 07:14 PM)
I think should be ok with the letter that proved your qualification, however you already have no other choice but try it out
Yea so I am poking around here see if anyone faced the same situation like me and how they managed to get their employment pass... Anyway thanks for your help smile.gif
siaukia
post Jul 5 2008, 12:44 AM

1,491 posts

basically as what the other forumer said, it's dependent on your line you are doing, if you are getting more than 2.5k sgd OR it's a job that is 'listed/known' as 'professional career' by the govt, them you'll most likely able to entitle for an EP.

but the p1/p2 pass is something new, haven't heard of it yet. thanks for sharing.
wyy
post Jul 5 2008, 02:40 AM

QUOTE(PoisonIvy82 @ Jul 2 2008, 08:47 PM)
Yeah.. come come.. let's meet up this weekend..~
Hello,

Juz came in today at this late hour haha =) glad to meet up and chill our lungs out before another day of work if possible, I hope to share my livin experiences @ singapore too. Catch up Soon!

rclxms.gif
teckhooi
post Jul 5 2008, 01:08 PM

3,135 posts

Already Here For One Weeks.

Just Tired Of Walking Walking
Linux_Guy
post Jul 5 2008, 03:25 PM

74 posts

will be starting my work in sg next week !!!

i m sure i will b regular in this thread. Did learn a lot from this thread..

keep on goin guyz !!!

count me in for outing or gathering as well ...
Guai Guai Zai
post Jul 6 2008, 12:23 AM

623 posts

started my sg working life at 23th of June. Still very new to this land and no friends to hang around.
Wish to join the meeting but no money. Sigh.
coming here oredi cost me alot of money, can put me in the waiting list and i shall join u guys next month(august).

And im also looking for badminton and basketball kaki..
anyone here interested?

This post has been edited by Guai Guai Zai: Jul 6 2008, 12:25 AM
nicvoo
post Jul 6 2008, 02:18 AM

N|_|_|B
4,707 posts

no need alot of $$ for a gathering jus have a few drinks can liao or jus plain old dinner any nice food spots to rtecommand?
getting tired of sg food all taste the same
Guai Guai Zai
post Jul 6 2008, 04:14 AM

623 posts

QUOTE(nicvoo @ Jul 6 2008, 02:18 AM)
no need alot of $$ for a gathering jus have a few drinks can liao or jus plain old dinner any nice food spots to rtecommand?
getting tired of sg food all taste the same
Erm i think food in singapore are so so only, still havent found any nice food spots yet..
somemore im working in tampines, so most of the time i take my lunch and dinner nearby that areas and most of the time i go food court (budget)..

Maybe can try go china town find some nice food.
Anyway, where are u staying?

cktwai
post Jul 6 2008, 09:24 AM

NaraPikamaru
541 posts

QUOTE(Guai Guai Zai @ Jul 6 2008, 04:14 AM)
Erm i think food in singapore are so so only, still havent found any nice food spots yet..
somemore im working in tampines, so most of the time i take my lunch and dinner nearby that areas and most of the time i go food court (budget)..

there are nice food in SG smile.gif seriously ... i actually felt the food here is better than in KL with exception to bak kut teh.. smile.gif

you just need to know where to look for..

if you're at tampines.. you should probably visit this food court at old airport road.. very nice.. smile.gif
babyblue10
post Jul 6 2008, 09:54 AM

19 posts

I'm new here also haha. Now pursuing my degree but previously stay at sg for 5 years. Glad to share my experience to all the people here. Cheer~
wyy
post Jul 6 2008, 11:39 AM

QUOTE(Guai Guai Zai @ Jul 6 2008, 12:23 AM)
started my sg working life at 23th of June. Still very new to this land and no friends to hang around.
coming here oredi cost me alot of money, can put me in the waiting list and i shall join u guys next month(august).

anyone here interested?
Guaiguaizai,

We started work on the exact day haha. Wht industry you're in btw? Homesickness strike me real hard in my first week, but i guess you can work somthin out eventually, count me in for the badminton if I could join I would =)

Cheers rclxm9.gif
hirota
post Jul 6 2008, 11:52 AM

2,387 posts

hello,
anyone here working in singapore can help me to get a HTC phone from there??
either you help me to COD with the seller or if you going to renew your telco contract, they might offer you some great HTC phone promotions.

pm me pls

thanks smile.gif
hoongji
post Jul 6 2008, 12:31 PM

2,982 posts

QUOTE(Guai Guai Zai @ Jul 6 2008, 12:23 AM)

anyone here interested?
QUOTE(wyy @ Jul 6 2008, 11:39 AM)
Guaiguaizai,

We started work on the exact day haha. Wht industry you're in btw? Homesickness strike me real hard in my first week, but i guess you can work somthin out eventually, count me in for the badminton if I could join I would =)

Cheers rclxm9.gif
i play baddy as well. usually at SIA sports club or Yishun. let's form a regular group shall we? i'll be leaving SG though. back 3 months later. do keep me informed ya

QUOTE(hirota @ Jul 6 2008, 11:52 AM)
hello,
anyone here working in singapore can help me to get a HTC phone from there??
either you help me to COD with the seller or if you going to renew your telco contract, they might offer you some great HTC phone promotions.

pm me pls

thanks smile.gif
i was just about to sign up the offer. yup, the HTC diamond offer does look tempting. but the phone is just too buggy. i've put my plan on hold. iphone 3g coming soon
nicvoo
post Jul 6 2008, 06:17 PM

N|_|_|B
4,707 posts

QUOTE(Guai Guai Zai @ Jul 6 2008, 04:14 AM)

i'm staying at the place where u r working haaha i found a place chick rice near by bugis u guys wanna go ry it out?

QUOTE(cktwai @ Jul 6 2008, 09:24 AM)
there are nice food in SG smile.gif seriously ... i actually felt the food here is better than in KL with exception to bak kut teh.. smile.gif

you just need to know where to look for..

if you're at tampines.. you should probably visit this food court at old airport road..  very nice.. smile.gif
Those places not accessible by poor ppl wifout car
this u hav gotta b joking msia food anytime is better then sg. can give sum example of the so called "nice" food in sg?if can i also wanna give it a try
other then those restaurants eg. new york new york, hog's cafe, etc hawker food in sg basically is all the same.

126 Pages « < 104 105 106 107 108 > » Top

0.0284sec    0.31    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 3rd December 2025 - 04:28 AM