126 Pages « < 69 70 71 72 73 > » Bottom

Working Life in Singapore, Please Share your value Experience

skullz)
post Mar 10 2008, 06:24 AM

Shutterbug
651 posts

btw, anyone know whats the average starting pay for fresh IT graduates in SG? over here i heard its about RM1800-2200 depending on company.. is it the same in SG (i.e SGD 2000 etc?)
babeadeline
post Mar 10 2008, 11:32 PM

324 posts

QUOTE(skullz) @ Mar 10 2008, 06:24 AM)
btw, anyone know whats the average starting pay for fresh IT graduates in SG? over here i heard its about RM1800-2200 depending on company.. is it the same in SG (i.e SGD 2000 etc?)
Diploma in IT from Polytechnics in Singapore
Fresh Grad: $1686
Post National Service: $1950

Added on March 10, 2008, 11:34 pm
QUOTE(bbmars @ Mar 9 2008, 11:06 PM)
1Mbps will soon be dying out... in another few years time, SG will be wired for 1Gbps, GOv is paying for the infrasture...

neighbourhood shops very much depends... not necessary cheap.. much depends on which area you from. In my neighbour, there is one shop that generally selling sundry items cheaper than most, sometimes, even cheaper than MY after conversion.  But not all the time.  Again, if you are within a rich communoty, don't expect things to be cheaper...
The problem in Singapore as reported by the media is that there is not enough local content. Hence, having a 1Gbps connection is quite useless when the traffic goes overseas. =)

Yes, don't expect things to be cheaper in Singapore, except for some electronics. But occasionally there will be a good deal here and there.

This post has been edited by babeadeline: Mar 10 2008, 11:34 PM
casgy
post Mar 11 2008, 10:46 AM

31 posts

QUOTE(amyho3 @ Mar 8 2008, 02:40 AM)
Hi, all.

May I know how much tax shall I pay if my salary is SGD3600?

Also, will the employer pay CPF on top of my salary?

What shall I negotiate with my employer?
For Citizen, PR, Tax resident (foreigner) more than 183 days stay in SG Chargeable Income - Rate (%) - Gross Tax Payable ($)
First $20,000 - 0% - $0
Next $10,000 - 3.5% - $350

First $30,000 - 0 - $350
Next $10,000 - 5.5% - $550

First $40,000 - 0 - $900
Next $40,000 - 8.5% - $3,400

First $80,000 - 0 - $4,300
Next $80,000 - 14% - $11,200

Example
If your chargeable income for YA 2007 is $43,200 ($3600 * 12) (i.e. you earned $43,200 in year 2006), your tax payable would be calculated as below:
First $40,000 $900
Next $3,200 at 8.5% $272
Total tax payable $1,172

source: http://www.iras.gov.sg/irasHome/page03.aspx?id=1190 )

2. Employer will contribute 14.5% (i.e. $522) on top of your salary provided you are a PR. Don't forget you also have to contribute 20% of your salary to CPF (i.e. $720 , nett salary would be $2880). This is only valid if you are a PR and opt for a full CPF contribution.

source: http://ask-us.cpf.gov.sg/hybrid/Themes/CPF...%2FAnnexB%2Epdf
plankton
post Mar 12 2008, 01:57 PM

*Place Custom Member Title Here*
809 posts

a quick question. for the following scenario;

Year 1 : work in malaysia, salary 2k RM
Year 2 : work in Singapore, salary ~2.2k SD
Year 3 : work in malaysia again, salary ??

would my 3rd year salary be around my current 2.2kSD amount converted to RM, or it would be lower according to the malaysian rate. IT field.

thnx
squrce
post Mar 12 2008, 03:34 PM

151 posts

Hi all ,need help here. next week i need go down sg for few interview. Anyone know where can i stay temporary for 1 week(not so expensive) .
Got room that rent for daily?
JinXXX
post Mar 12 2008, 05:44 PM

2,516 posts

QUOTE(squrce @ Mar 12 2008, 03:34 PM)
Hi all ,need help here.  next week i need go down sg for few interview. Anyone know where can i stay temporary for 1 week(not so expensive) .
you going down for one week ? ...

i'm also going to spore for interview on monday.. smile.gif lol..

babeadeline
post Mar 12 2008, 06:05 PM

324 posts

QUOTE(squrce @ Mar 12 2008, 03:34 PM)
Hi all ,need help here.  next week i need go down sg for few interview. Anyone know where can i stay temporary for 1 week(not so expensive) .
If you don't mind, just go to a backpacker's hotel near your workplace / place of interview.

http://www.thebackpacker.net/travelhostels...apore/index.htm

There are many more than those listed there.
JinXXX
post Mar 12 2008, 06:07 PM

2,516 posts

QUOTE(babeadeline @ Mar 12 2008, 06:05 PM)
If you don't mind, just go to a backpacker's hotel near your workplace / place of interview.

http://www.thebackpacker.net/travelhostels...apore/index.htm

There are many more than those listed there.
nice.. could be usefull for me too... tongue.gif
thankxxx rclxms.gif rclxms.gif rclxms.gif blush.gif
terencetoo
post Mar 12 2008, 07:45 PM

3,246 posts

im going down on friday for interview hehe

J(o)y
post Mar 12 2008, 07:48 PM

250 posts

QUOTE(plankton @ Mar 12 2008, 01:57 PM)
a quick question. for the following scenario;

Year 1 : work in malaysia, salary 2k RM
Year 2 : work in Singapore, salary ~2.2k SD
Year 3 : work in malaysia again, salary ??

would my 3rd year salary be around my current 2.2kSD amount converted to RM, or it would be lower according to the malaysian rate. IT field.

thnx
Unless ur very luckky, then dream on... Dun think u can get RM4.4K (SGD2.2 x 2 (assuming rate is 2:1 for simplicity)). But probably u can ask for higher than RM2.2K x % of increment rate, say 30% in general.

squrce
post Mar 12 2008, 07:49 PM

151 posts

QUOTE(JinXXX @ Mar 12 2008, 05:44 PM)
you going down for one week ? ...

i'm also going to spore for interview on monday.. smile.gif lol..
So many person down for interview also ^^ i going on sunday nite,,interview on monday smile.gif were r u from ? penang here

Thk gbabeadeline for the info. :>

This post has been edited by squrce: Mar 12 2008, 07:51 PM
terencetoo
post Mar 12 2008, 07:50 PM

3,246 posts

haha yeah really alot ppl going down
im leaving fri morning reach at 2pm then 3pm interview 5pm bus back to KL phew...
squrce
post Mar 12 2008, 07:59 PM

151 posts

[quote=terencetoo,Mar 12 2008, 07:50 PM]
im leaving fri morning reach at 2pm then 3pm interview 5pm bus back to KL phew...

[/quot
u

wow,must be rush smile.gif. i cant back on same day, 2 far for me ><
J(o)y
post Mar 12 2008, 08:41 PM

250 posts

How come evryone is getting interview nowadays???
I din't get any, despite trying for one whole year.
Anyway, good luck guys.

reconer
post Mar 12 2008, 08:56 PM

88 posts

im a student in SG now, i noticed that the local girls in SG r very lala.

sit down never close leg, fall asleep on stranger's shoulder in MRT, never wear bra, transparent skirt...

i suppose if u want a job, be prepared to be lala, undress for work, and sleep your way to the top.

This post has been edited by reconer: Mar 12 2008, 08:58 PM
JinXXX
post Mar 12 2008, 11:10 PM

2,516 posts

QUOTE(squrce @ Mar 12 2008, 07:49 PM)
So many person down for interview also ^^    i going on sunday nite,,interview on monday smile.gif were r u from ? penang here

Thk gbabeadeline for the info. :>
oh i see i'm going on saturday afternoon reaching spore about dinner time lo..
me see my left side kuala lumpur man smile.gif

all the best for your interview smile.gif

your interviewing directly with your future employer ? or with agency first ?

QUOTE(terencetoo @ Mar 12 2008, 07:50 PM)
wah that is really cutting it close, dont you think you need to spare some few hours in advance ?

your interviewing directly with your future employer ? or with agency first ?

QUOTE(J(o)y @ Mar 12 2008, 08:41 PM)
How come evryone is getting interview nowadays???
I din't get any, despite trying for one whole year.
Anyway, good luck guys.
hmm what field are you in ? mine is IT.. lol smile.gif

QUOTE(reconer @ Mar 12 2008, 08:56 PM)
im a student in SG now, i noticed that the local girls in SG r very lala.

sit down never close leg, fall asleep on stranger's shoulder in MRT, never wear bra, transparent skirt...

i suppose if u want a job, be prepared to be lala, undress for work, and sleep your way to the top.
hahaha too bad i'm a guy sad.gif if i'm a girl i won't mind lol smile.gif
but then who cares as long as they don't hurt/harm me then all is well smile.gif

charymsylyn
post Mar 12 2008, 11:49 PM

500 posts

I've just quit my job and have been searching for a few weeks for a job in Singapore and have yet to receive any reply. sad.gif Need to work harder to find one. icon_idea.gif
JinXXX
post Mar 13 2008, 12:12 AM

2,516 posts

QUOTE(charymsylyn @ Mar 12 2008, 11:49 PM)
I've just quit my job and have been searching for a few weeks for a job in Singapore and have yet to receive any reply. sad.gif Need to work harder to find one. icon_idea.gif
haha i think need to apply more jobs.. to be accurate.. smile.gif

getting an interview is like a number game.. the more you apply the higher chances of getting a call for an interview lol tongue.gif
y_square2
post Mar 13 2008, 12:56 AM

18 posts

SOS~~
Anyone of you know whether there is a company hiring local grad in Electrical Engineering??have been dropped a lot resumes in singapore company but no feedback at all...Sob Sob
JinXXX
post Mar 13 2008, 08:22 AM

2,516 posts

QUOTE(y_square2 @ Mar 13 2008, 12:56 AM)
SOS~~
Anyone of you know whether there is a company hiring local grad in Electrical Engineering??have been dropped a lot resumes in singapore company but no feedback at all...Sob Sob
your fresh or with exp ?

126 Pages « < 69 70 71 72 73 > » Top

0.0261sec    0.99    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 10:54 PM