126 Pages « < 60 61 62 63 64 > » Bottom

Working Life in Singapore, Please Share your value Experience

bbmars
post Feb 11 2008, 11:48 PM

545 posts

Just read a business report, its was reported by US statistics, SG wages is the highest and had gone up too much amidst the shortages of staff.... This wage thing will come down once hit by recession... just like the last round... those with higher pay will surely be teh 1st to be hit with retrenchment and pay cut... so beware of what you guys price your salary.. Some jobs, unless you are specialised, you won't be able to commnad as high pay as before. Not forgetting out-sourcing being practiced in SG, which actually pressed the price of service down to make the economy looks good and better in terms of charges... This will in term supress wages of workers... especially in some fields..

Nothing new, but that's teh reason why some jobs hardly command as high pay as others.
Find The Way
post Feb 12 2008, 08:58 AM

724 posts

Guys and gals, I'm planning to apply SPR and here are some of my doubts regarding the application form:

- Innovation and achievements in your profession: should I leave this field blank? coz I can only think of the list of suggestions for improvements that my employers never bother about...
- Academic qualification: I took twinning course in private college, should I state the overseas University or local college in institute address field?
- Annex to be fill up by employer: Possible not to submit this annex? My HR is in maternity leave and I hope to apply ASAP (I heard that some people who's working in SG had successfully apply SPR by themselves without letter/form from employer, but not sure abt the details).

Hope can get some tips here tongue.gif Thanks ya.
DarReNz
post Feb 12 2008, 10:14 AM

7,496 posts

misfroggy, so if u think for contract which is high risk have to ask for the maximum basic salary ? i think there is a maximum cap set by the agency which says the client is willing to pay this much only ...... but later they will say don't bother talking HR related stuff to the client since the agency is the one paying the salary .....
mIssfROGY
post Feb 12 2008, 11:29 PM

2,155 posts

QUOTE(DarReNz @ Feb 12 2008, 10:14 AM)
misfroggy, so if u think for contract which is high risk have to ask for the maximum basic salary ? i think there is a maximum cap set by the agency which says the client is willing to pay this much only ...... but later they will say don't bother talking HR related stuff to the client since the agency is the one paying the salary .....
oh btw.....the clients memang know your salary one....so i think no problem telling them. And Those clients memang duwan to pay high pay, if they can press down, they will press down. Btw, many times, malaysia companies pay higher than singapore companies even after conversion (but usually applies to those who have more than 4-5 years experience in IT especially in SAP/DWH/DBA related jobs)
nicholas_1213
post Feb 13 2008, 08:33 PM

Music is how feeling sounds like..
1,140 posts

After reading thru this thread (of course not every pages, there's 62 pages lol), i guess i'm thinking to work in s'pore too. How about those who plan to rent a room at JB and travel everyday to s'pore? It is a better choice than staying in s'pore? or it's a worse one?
Frenly
post Feb 14 2008, 09:04 AM

381 posts

i think it is better to stay at sg while u r working there.
the travelling from jb to sg is pathetic ....
mIssfROGY
post Feb 14 2008, 01:26 PM

2,155 posts

QUOTE(Frenly @ Feb 14 2008, 09:04 AM)
i think it is better to stay at sg while u r working there.
the travelling from jb to sg is pathetic ....
ya i agree
last time i work at cityhall, stay in redhill..just few stations away also can be quite troublesome, because there is alot of walking going on. Wah if wanna tambah the causeway and the distance from johor to sg to work.....can go gila loo, if bangun lambat, DIE big time...unless you are working near the border ler...then staying in johor will be ok.

and if u calculate, the travelling u pay, pay a lil more to stay in sg.
J(o)y
post Feb 14 2008, 03:09 PM

250 posts

QUOTE(nicholas_1213 @ Feb 13 2008, 08:33 PM)
After reading thru this thread (of course not every pages, there's 62 pages lol), i guess i'm thinking to work in s'pore too. How about those who plan to rent a room at JB and travel everyday to s'pore? It is a better choice than staying in s'pore? or it's a worse one?
Good news for you i guess... the government is relooking a MRT from Singapore to IDR, Johor. Pray hard..
terencetoo
post Feb 14 2008, 08:25 PM

3,246 posts

so missfroggy u mean that agencies offering S$2.5k mostly without bonus? anything else i should consider or ask if any calls come in?

but most MNC co. will hire agency to seek for stuff....
mIssfROGY
post Feb 14 2008, 10:13 PM

2,155 posts

QUOTE(terencetoo @ Feb 14 2008, 08:25 PM)
so missfroggy u mean that agencies offering S$2.5k mostly without bonus? anything else i should consider or ask if any calls come in?

but most MNC co. will hire agency to seek for stuff....
usually these agencies do not pay u bonus...these are things u gotto clarify with them whether they pay u or not. yeaps..usually large MNCs and it depends whether these MNCs wanna pay u bonus or not. Sometimes u can get lucky where the MNCs convert u to their permanent staffs.
terencetoo
post Feb 14 2008, 11:10 PM

3,246 posts

emm.....wired....nvm i will ask them n see..
so mostly ppl at malaysia get their jobs via online too right...but if im not mistaken www.jobsdb.com.sg mostly run by agency.....

mIssfROGY
post Feb 15 2008, 01:51 AM

2,155 posts

QUOTE(terencetoo @ Feb 14 2008, 11:10 PM)
emm.....wired....nvm i will ask them n see..
so mostly ppl at malaysia get their jobs via online too right...but if im not mistaken www.jobsdb.com.sg mostly run by agency.....
yeaps..online smile.gif and they do prefer malaysians because its easier for them to interview since we r neighbours.
destroyer
post Feb 15 2008, 11:57 AM

Gila Makan!
1,624 posts

an actuaries(that have pass 2 out of 8 exam) can earn how much in singapore?
Gamerz_Paradise
post Feb 15 2008, 03:07 PM

270 posts

Got job in singapore available now.. interested then check out my signature..
jrmsong
post Feb 15 2008, 11:28 PM

73 posts

I've been looking for jobs in sales & marketing field in Singapore recently too. I've submited my resume for over 10+ jobs and yet I still have no reply from any company.

I'm thinking, if they consider your as a potential candidate, they'd suppose to call you by the next day after you have sent your resume right? because I received a call for interview before cny, but that company requested me to attend for interview before cny. Since that was not quite possible so I rejected. And till now, I am still yet to be contacted. swt
bbmars
post Feb 16 2008, 12:30 AM

545 posts

QUOTE(jrmsong @ Feb 15 2008, 11:28 PM)
I'm thinking, if they consider your as a potential candidate, they'd suppose to call you by the next day after you have sent your resume right? because I received a call for interview before cny, but that company requested me to attend for interview before cny. Since that was not quite possible so I rejected. And till now, I am still yet to be contacted. swt
Not necessary, if there is no urgency to hike, they can wait. Bearing in mind that, some companies actually do their own survey to find out market condition before hiking... just by posting job advertisement. So far, I had never recieved almost instant reply from companies after sending out. in fact, my record was, after sending >50 resumes out only managed to get one reply.

Ever recieved a reply after 1 yr of posting.. not sure why they still send me because I already got a job. by then...
jrmsong
post Feb 16 2008, 12:43 AM

73 posts

QUOTE(bbmars @ Feb 16 2008, 12:30 AM)
Not necessary, if there is no urgency to hike, they can wait.  Bearing in mind that, some companies actually do their own survey to find out market condition before hiking... just by posting job advertisement.  So far, I had never recieved almost instant reply from companies after sending out.  in fact, my record was, after sending >50 resumes out only managed to get one reply.

Ever recieved a reply after 1 yr of posting.. not sure why they still send me because I already got a job. by then...
Lol that was what happened to me when I'm working in KL as well. Received a call to go for interview while I was working for over a year.

But your information astonished me. 50 resumes only managed to get one reply??!! OMGoodness. I received 3 or 4 new jobs notification from jobstreet and jobsdb every one or two days, that means 50/3 =>16 days excluding the jobs that doesn't match my requirements. I even try to give a shot on those jobs which stated "Singaporean or PR only". swt
kinwah_lai
post Feb 16 2008, 11:52 AM

107 posts

anyone know how much is a room will cost in Ang Mo Kio?
DarReNz
post Feb 16 2008, 12:48 PM

7,496 posts

i think in IT definitely its contract job there ..... to get permanent job in sg is harder when you have not much experience and its a much lower salary compared to contract .... so just ask the max basic salary then if u get the job and they want to negotiate lower then just negotiate .....

This post has been edited by DarReNz: Feb 16 2008, 12:50 PM
bbmars
post Feb 16 2008, 01:28 PM

545 posts

QUOTE(jrmsong @ Feb 16 2008, 12:43 AM)
Lol that was what happened to me when I'm working in KL as well. Received a call to go for interview while I was working for over a year.

But your information astonished me. 50 resumes only managed to get one reply??!! OMGoodness. I received 3 or 4 new jobs notification from jobstreet and jobsdb every one or two days, that means 50/3 =>16 days excluding the jobs that doesn't match my requirements. I even try to give a shot on those jobs which stated "Singaporean or PR only". swt
That was my past experience back in the late 80s then.. not recession. I was looking for a job in the middle of theyear where not many people are job hopping.. also where the job market was at its low...

126 Pages « < 60 61 62 63 64 > » Top

0.0310sec    0.42    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th November 2025 - 06:47 PM