126 Pages « < 59 60 61 62 63 > » Bottom

Working Life in Singapore, Please Share your value Experience

locorocco
post Feb 6 2008, 11:25 AM

26 posts

QUOTE(cktwai @ Feb 6 2008, 08:48 AM)
A MAlaysian can rent the whole HDB, no matter 2 rooms or  3 rooms easily.

you just need to submit a form. Processing fee I can't recall but it's less than SGD 30. However if the start of your staying time is more than 2 weeks upon submitting the form you'll be charged SGD 100.

the submitting of this form serves as two purposes. One is to prove the owner is not housing illegal immigrant and the second is to protect the owner from damages (insurance claims)

there is no hassle actually...
correct... rclxms.gif
terencetoo
post Feb 6 2008, 12:18 PM

3,246 posts

@mIssfROGY

yeah u r right on the facts..

im worrying abot the agency too...if i get hired i will be under them or under the co. i applied for.

Normally online resume u have to fill in the current salary in S$ doller where most of us "Malaysian" have to convert in S$ which is sooo small in Sing doller.

This figure definately will pull us down in getting new jobs which demand for higher pay in Singapore.

let's make an example..

I earn rm3k coverert back to S$ = S$1315 (2.28 5th of February 08)
I demand = S$2700

I dont think tat is a nice figure for pay rise....any suggestion for that?

Current working field

Radio Network Engineer with 2 yrs eperience in Telecommunication Industry

J(o)y
post Feb 6 2008, 12:39 PM

250 posts

QUOTE(mIssfROGY @ Feb 3 2008, 12:23 PM)
it is not hard to get jobs in singapore with high pay if your have the experience they wan. But sometimes they will marginalize malaysians by offering us lower pay because we are malaysian and some companies will calculate the pay after converting SGD to RM so it will make it look like we had a huge pay jump. Please dont accept this, if your current pay is RM5k, demand for 25% hike in SGD or something like that. This is because, we r living in their country and there are alot of additional cost to bear especially the RENTAL part. Eating bread just to survive in SG?? better not...come back and eat rice with your family better coz its really not that worth it to be so lonely, eating bread and getting low pay.
Is that the standard increment rate in spore? 25%? thumbup.gif
DarReNz
post Feb 6 2008, 12:44 PM

7,496 posts

no way u can convert just put down how much u earn in myr to sgd
J(o)y
post Feb 6 2008, 12:59 PM

250 posts

QUOTE(nameless @ Feb 4 2008, 09:05 PM)
well, It's depend what kind of life style you prefer and might to tell what kind of life style you having now.
such as what is you hobby and what activities you normally do.

Singapore is some kind city life style, if you're city boy wouldn't  hard for you to get used the life there. But social wise, it will never be the same again, even you will have new friends. I think you will still miss you you old pals & family.
My life in sg is everyday eat, work  and go home sleep, not because of lack of dollars, but no enough of time since my job's work load is damn heavy. Time probaly the only thing that hold you from your life style.
Good things oso.. u can save more money, cos no time for u to spend it in sg... i heard most jobs in sg is like that, rite?

Added on February 6, 2008, 1:08 pm
QUOTE(shawnlst @ Feb 5 2008, 07:25 PM)
No, I don't think so. Technically, the owner will ask permission from HDB to rent out the whole unit (which the owner, himself does not occupy it) and this usually applies to 3-room flat and above. Or perhaps you try to rent from HDB? However, most owners do not want to go through the hassle but still rent out their units. But bear in mind, this is an offense and the owner may get fined or something...can't really remember.

I wouldn't think you wanna rent a 1- or 2-room flat. It's not really a decent place to stay (no offense to those who are living there unsure.gif ).
Not decent?? WHy?? Isit normally near Geylang ..hehehe....

u mean to rent the whole unit, normally only those 3R above is available? i think those cost nearly SGD1.5K leh. sweat.gif

This post has been edited by J(o)y: Feb 6 2008, 01:08 PM
ilman1903
post Feb 6 2008, 02:19 PM

18 posts

normally for msian working in spore, which bank's you guys recommended (salary credited to this account) as below:-

services such as :- to perform cash withdrawal thru atm or etc, pay bills or transfer money to msia bank's account.

thks - biggrin.gif
GeneJin
post Feb 6 2008, 02:39 PM

279 posts

QUOTE(ilman1903 @ Feb 6 2008, 02:19 PM)
normally for msian working in spore, which bank's you guys recommended (salary credited to this account) as below:-

services such as :- to perform cash withdrawal thru atm or etc, pay bills or transfer money to msia bank's account.

thks -  biggrin.gif
Any bank can do all those, the important thing is to use the same bank as ur company, so that if they pay you by cheque it will be cleared within 1 working day(normaly).
nameless
post Feb 6 2008, 11:48 PM

623 posts

thks -  biggrin.gif
Avoid POSB, feel scary when look at the queue at the ATM, even there 4,5 ATM also can queue up to 10 pp in each line........
I recommend OCBC or UOB, their branches & ATM can find almost everywhere and less people on the queue to ATM & counter is the main concern to me.
Sg's bank deposit interest is pretty low compare to Malaysia's bank, so keep the money in Malaysia for long term seem like a better idea to me, corret me if I'm wrong.
locorocco
post Feb 7 2008, 08:52 AM

26 posts

thks -  biggrin.gif
best is to use DBS.

you can open an account with SGD500. you need to maintain 500 inside the account if not they deduct SGD 2 every month from the account.

Added on February 7, 2008, 8:54 am
QUOTE(nameless @ Feb 6 2008, 11:48 PM)
Avoid POSB, feel scary when look at the queue at the ATM, even there 4,5 ATM also can queue up to 10 pp in each line........
I recommend OCBC or UOB, their branches & ATM can find almost everywhere and less people on the queue to ATM & counter is the main concern to me.
Sg's bank deposit interest is pretty low compare to Malaysia's bank, so keep the money in Malaysia for long term seem like a better idea to me, corret me if I'm wrong.
dude POSB and DBS is the same bank. It's better to take these two banks... Easier to pay bills as well as when you wanna bank in large amount of money there are branches everywhere.

This post has been edited by locorocco: Feb 7 2008, 08:54 AM
bbmars
post Feb 7 2008, 11:24 PM

545 posts

POSB used to be owned by SG Gov serving basically the citizens.... only till they wanted to compete with foriegn banks and then bought it over. POSB has the largest ATM netork in SG. If you say long queue, I think you must have gotten to those very popular one.

My my residential area, there are easily POSB 6 ATM machines (not forgetting there are easily another 3 other banks' ATM around). Most have queue except for one, if you know where to find it... So ATM queue nothing wait till you use those at remote area in places like UK, then you really know what the queue is like. Of course, your timing is another concern. So this queue thing, sometimes can be avoided if you can anticipate your needs..

mIssfROGY
post Feb 9 2008, 03:54 AM

2,155 posts

QUOTE(terencetoo @ Feb 6 2008, 12:18 PM)
@mIssfROGY

yeah u r right on the facts..

im worrying abot the agency too...if i get hired i will be under them or under the co. i applied for.

Normally online resume u have to fill in the current salary in S$ doller where most of us "Malaysian" have to convert in S$ which is sooo small in Sing doller.

This figure definately will pull us down in getting new jobs which demand for higher pay in Singapore.

let's make an example..

I earn rm3k coverert back to S$ = S$1315 (2.28 5th of February 08)
I demand = S$2700

I dont think tat is a nice figure for pay rise....any suggestion for that?

Current working field

Radio Network Engineer with 2 yrs eperience in Telecommunication Industry

nola...u really shd demand SGD3k+25%+current employer's epf
when they ask u, tell them lo. u get SGD2700.....seriously not enuf la...i dun think its worth the trouble fo goin into SG....too low ler, wont be able to save much, better earn in msia.

Added on February 9, 2008, 4:04 am
QUOTE(J(o)y @ Feb 6 2008, 12:39 PM)
Is that the standard increment rate in spore? 25%? thumbup.gif
Noler..its not the standard rate.....if u like, u can go for 10% or 5% or maybe a paycut...but everyone should think that they deserve a higher rate if they were to go there to work or even when change jobs in msia. Our price is really up to us to put....if u put a high price, u might just get it, else negotiate down. If u put a low price, then nego...your price might even go lower.....and then, when u calculate, is it that worth it to work there at all? If of coz if u r really desperate to go, by all means, put a low price...higher chances of getting a job there.

This post has been edited by mIssfROGY: Feb 9 2008, 04:04 AM
ibmsege
post Feb 9 2008, 06:38 AM

182 posts

r u guy will have big increment this year again? it seems singapore economy went into recession last quarter.......
locorocco
post Feb 9 2008, 08:58 AM

26 posts

QUOTE(ibmsege @ Feb 9 2008, 06:38 AM)
r u guy will have big increment this year again? it seems singapore economy went into recession last quarter.......
hahaha laugh.gif

and which coconut shell are you living in >>> doh.gif
ibmsege
post Feb 9 2008, 11:53 AM

182 posts

QUOTE(locorocco @ Feb 9 2008, 08:58 AM)
hahaha  laugh.gif

and which coconut shell are you living in >>>  doh.gif
o..US tak ada coconut shell...... if there is...i would like to have one too... you stay in coconut country rite? can you deliver one for me? thumbup.gif ..haha..just kidding... but i think the recent singapore gdp data shows that rite? if not mistaken -3% something...

This post has been edited by ibmsege: Feb 9 2008, 11:56 AM
mIssfROGY
post Feb 9 2008, 02:20 PM

2,155 posts

more like inflation, not yet recession kua?? rental goin up..and i heard many other things going up as well this year...If recession starts, u see many people getting out of jobs especially banking...but they r still hiring like nobody business right now..
locorocco
post Feb 9 2008, 06:07 PM

26 posts

QUOTE(mIssfROGY @ Feb 9 2008, 02:20 PM)
more like inflation, not yet recession kua?? rental goin up..and i heard many other things going up as well this year...If recession starts, u see many people getting out of jobs especially banking...but they r still hiring like nobody business right now..
well there is a bank that just paid out 6 months bonus and also an investment company in SG that paid 10 months bonus for YE 31dec.

recession? perception maybe.. laugh.gif
bbmars
post Feb 10 2008, 12:55 AM

545 posts

SG Gov has predicted a 4.5% growth for 2008, not sure how US recession is going to affects SG. I think it will be push down. Yes, some figures comes in way below expectation..... any body gues for now as analsysts are predicting positive growth due to the many big projects going on.. FYI, many big compnaies pay out huge bonuses... I know of a few paying 6 months.... And most civil servants are waiting for the pay hike review since mid last year to be annouced in the next quarter. Civil servants got 2.5 months.
mIssfROGY
post Feb 10 2008, 04:19 AM

2,155 posts

yeayea...malaysia most proly, singapore not yet la...oh but i heard singapore petrol gonna up another 20% soon!......hieezzz wont affect them much tho since their transport system so good...they can always opt for the alternative, unlike us.
terencetoo
post Feb 11 2008, 04:39 PM

3,246 posts

@mIssfROGY

u mean lets say i earn rm3k i should demand for S$3k + 25% on top of that..wow im luckly enough to get a higy pay like tat smile.gif

but us "Malaysian" they will pull down our price and let us with no options to take the figure. I got a call from Job Agency say her client can offer max S$2.5k...sigh.... still can survive act....
mIssfROGY
post Feb 11 2008, 10:25 PM

2,155 posts

QUOTE(terencetoo @ Feb 11 2008, 04:39 PM)
@mIssfROGY

u mean lets say i earn rm3k i should demand for S$3k + 25% on top of that..wow im luckly enough to get a higy pay like tat smile.gif

but us "Malaysian" they will pull down our price and let us with no options to take the figure. I got a call from Job Agency say her client can offer max S$2.5k...sigh.... still can survive act....
yesler...to me i think we shd...but if u think u can survive or if taking less is more worth it to u than working in msia, then by all means do it. To me, i feel that they shd pay me high enuf to make me leave msia coz being away from my family for that kind of money is not worth it. So it depends on each person's preferences.

2.5k got include your epf money or not? You havent include your EPF money into your 3k rite? Btw....if u r working under these agencies, they most proly dun gib bonus also.....did u count in your bonuses?

126 Pages « < 59 60 61 62 63 > » Top

0.0264sec    0.39    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 30th November 2025 - 04:39 AM