Public Mutual Funds, version 0.0

kradun
post Jun 10 2016, 08:35 PM

989 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Jun 10 2016, 10:16 AM)
Not worth it. Your fund need to perform >9% to even the SC. If it earn only 7%, you are getting effectively only 2% return
Nama la. You ask anyone, peoole sure heard of public mutual. Try asking fund supermart abd see, you will get blank look. Then combine that with presentation skills of agents quoting 6-11% p.a without any source.
Mutual fund is not for 1 year investment. Average out the service charge over the whole investment tenure then the invesment cost will reduce significantly.
kradun
post Jun 11 2016, 02:12 PM

989 posts

QUOTE(lukenn @ Jun 11 2016, 10:43 AM)
Agreed, dasecret is exceptional. We would be so much better off if we took a page out of her book. Others would do well to listen when she speaks.
To each their own, whether paying more through an agent, or doing your own homework with an online platform. You get what you give.

You can service your car yourself, or you can send it to a mechanic. Both feasible options,but results may vary.
Ya, the illustration used above is quite misleading as the service charge is 1 off cost. Once the investment period are for few years then "fund need to perform more than 9% only can beat FD" will no longer valid, and mutual fund is definitely not for short term investment.

Some people are prefer to stick to the same investment option as their friend or family. When earn money that time all earn together, when lost money that time also not scare will be alone because got people accompany, so at least can comfort each other during the economy slow down. rclxm9.gif
kradun
post Jun 11 2016, 02:58 PM

989 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Jun 11 2016, 02:30 PM)
That statement is only true if you don't intend to topup anymore. Buy once and that is it. If you topup every month/year, those 5% will decrease your returns.
When u top up the one off service charge will only applied on additional units.

ie.

Initially invest RM10,000 in Jan'16 then RM9,479 will be capital while RM521 will be service charge.

Then subsequently Jan'17 top up RM1,000 then RM948 will be capital while RM52 will be service charge.

Assume every year consistently earn net 6%.

By Jan'19 the amount will be about

(RM9,479 X 1.06 X 1.06 X 1.06) + (RM948 X 1.06 X 1.06) = RM12,355

If same amount put in fd at 4% then will be

(RM10,000 X 1.04 X 1.04 X 1.04) + (RM1,000 X 1.04 X 1.04) = RM12,374

Take additional 1 more year then the one invest in FD will lose out on fund that could consistently generate 6% return.

U could even save half of investment cost through applied ur own UT license.

Then u will just need 5% consistent return then can beat the 4% FD in subsequent year illustrated above.

This post has been edited by kradun: Jun 11 2016, 03:05 PM
kradun
post Jun 11 2016, 08:29 PM

989 posts

QUOTE(dasecret @ Jun 11 2016, 04:54 PM)
I totally get what you are trying to say. Now, since sales charge is not necessarily that important in the long run, lets talk returns.

So I went to Morningstar to pick up 5 years fund returns; took the highest ones
[attachmentid=6821197]

Now, let's contrast this with funds distributed in FSM
[attachmentid=6821227]

Do I need to say another word?  whistling.gif

Thought I would.... Now, this is the 10 year highest returns funds. You can clearly see how the returns deteriorated over the years.
[attachmentid=6821275]

How to not lose faith in Public Mutual la
Best return fund not necessary will be the final pick, as usually we will need to check on investor expected return and their risk appetite, high probably at the end will choose those funds that can generate 7% - 8% return and associate with low volatility.

Both FSM & PMF also seem like can archive the similar objective, just depend on which way make u more comfortable.

This post has been edited by kradun: Jun 11 2016, 08:35 PM
kradun
post Jun 11 2016, 08:54 PM

989 posts

QUOTE(wongmunkeong @ Jun 11 2016, 08:43 PM)
er.. logic check:
1. Is it easier & higher probability to achieve break-even or profits if cost is controlled/lowered?

2. If good returns, say a rolling 10 year-period, is not the final pick, then pick what?
Volatility cannot be ascertained FOR SURE or do U or "we" in your case, have a working crystal ball?
Even "Asset Allocation" and the FFecifient frontier theory kaboomed during 2008 (all down at one time) - gold, shares, bonds, properties - thus, how ar?

3. DCA, Lump Sum, VCA - which is the best and for what ar? why ar?

just thinking outloud - do share / discuss if there are good possibilities, not marketing fluff pls notworthy.gif
When the buying decision is came from the investor themselves or through agent will achieve very different result, mainly because of the timing of buying.

If "A" DIY but did not buy any unit at certain low season period due to busy or whatever reason as his daily routine have less exposure on these financial information, while "B" get reminded from agent to top up some unit at the same period, then end result will be very different even required to pay for service charge.

Majority of people will just want to invest but wouldn't want to spend their precious time to know too much on these financial products. Most important is achieve the financial objective, if can achieve superior result then that would be bonus.
kradun
post Jun 12 2016, 09:01 PM

989 posts

Although PM did charge a high entry cost compared to FSM but it will worth it as long the investor manage to get their expected return. At least UTC can fine tune the investor into a rational person when they turn wild. smile.gif

For quite sometime i meet one of my friend that swear will never let the UTC earn the commission. He rather jump to share market himself so that he can fully earn the profit by himself, but he did that purely relying on luck and very unfortunate luck is not with him, so he end up lost his money but whether he got bought the lesson or is still TBC. Slow and steady stay on the course is better than too fast too furious.

I do agree if investors are willing to spend their time to manage their money then that could save their investment cost and directly will shorten the required tenure to achieve their financial objective.

This post has been edited by kradun: Jun 12 2016, 10:26 PM
kradun
post Sep 11 2016, 12:29 AM

989 posts

QUOTE(honkkydorry @ Sep 9 2016, 05:28 PM)
What is your opinion on this scenario...Total NAV - RM124K (combo of 8 portfolio ranging from 6%-60% return over a course of 8 years). Total Return to date is RM40k, down from RM46k in Dec. 

Is this consider reasonably ok or should I consider putting a plug on PM and let the $ stay in EPF, considering that there was no new top up since 2014? Please advise.  My agent as usual tells me unit trust is for the long term.
If the money left in EPF then will it growth better than this? The growth that you quote is based on today value over amount invested initially?

If the return of 60% is derive from the fund invested for 8 years then the max return is just at about compounding of 6% after inclusive the service charge. If the said amount left in epf then might be get about the same return, but after average with other funds that did not perform then the overall return might be not as good as epf return.

Do not under estimate the epf return because I frequently heard those agents claim if let money grow in fd or epf will erode by inflation, but some investor end up lose money, and many end up take risk to let their money grow slower. smile.gif
kradun
post Sep 23 2016, 02:00 PM

989 posts

QUOTE(wkphang @ Sep 23 2016, 03:17 AM)
If diy like FSM, got discount for PM funds?
From what i understand, and read, it seems if buy via UTC, the cost is 5.5%? That is high, but if diy via PM online portal, does the cost become 2%?
If ur only option is public mutual, the best way to get discount is get ur utc license and invest under ur own name. With that u can save 50% of the cost.
kradun
post Sep 24 2016, 01:18 AM

989 posts

QUOTE(melz84 @ Sep 23 2016, 02:21 PM)
Hi PM sifus

hope you guys can shed some lights here... i've had the following funds invested using EPF thru an agent for the past 4-5 years... but they have been hovering between losses and slight gains of 0.46% only.

PITSEQ 21%
PISSF 16%
PIEF        16%
PISEF 16%
PIOGF 10%
PIDF        11%
PEBF        5%
PISTBF 5%
can anyone recommend which i should ditch and which i should keep or add instead ?
i've been thinking if i should just ditch everything and move the money back into my EPF since EPF can do better
The % beside the fund name is ur return on each funds? It doesn't look like making loses or just slight gain of 0.46%. If that is the return after the service charge then it is not as bad as u thought, just that your money more likely to grow faster if let it remain in EPF account.
kradun
post Sep 24 2016, 09:28 AM

989 posts

QUOTE(T231H @ Sep 24 2016, 08:47 AM)
he did mentioned " for the past 4-5 years"
But after 4-5 years with max return 0.46% can get total return up to 21%? That probably have mixed up with something else.
kradun
post Sep 24 2016, 09:41 AM

989 posts

QUOTE(AIYH @ Sep 24 2016, 09:34 AM)
Those are the fund allocation percentage in his portfolio
Thanks. lol
kradun
post Sep 24 2016, 11:41 AM

989 posts

I have only left 1 single account still under my monitoring, previously use to be part time UTC.

As of 17/03/14, valued at RM 24,571.75

As of 22/09/16, valued at RM 30,969.52

Under the ex utc monitoring was kinda upset the account owner, because the initial cash up front was RM 32,218.48, and it was invested for at least 7-8 years.

This post has been edited by kradun: Sep 24 2016, 11:41 AM
kradun
post Sep 24 2016, 12:45 PM

989 posts

QUOTE(xuzen @ Sep 24 2016, 12:35 PM)
RM 24.5k grown to RM 31k in 30mths period (two and half year) is 9.45% p.a. CAGR.

Congratulations! You have beaten KWSP & ASX!
Add up the earlier 7-8years almost about 10 years.. still lose money.. lol
kradun
post Sep 26 2016, 06:30 PM

989 posts

QUOTE(KonKam @ Sep 26 2016, 02:41 PM)
if initial cash upfront is RM32,218.48 AND NOW only value RM30,969.52 as from 22/09/2016
somemore 7 to 8 years lagi....

Losing right?
Yes. Just start earn back part of 5.5% service charge..
kradun
post Sep 27 2016, 01:45 PM

989 posts

QUOTE(Kaka23 @ Sep 27 2016, 08:36 AM)
Which PM fund is this?
Now heavy weight on PWEF and balance in PMMF.
kradun
post Sep 30 2016, 06:25 PM

989 posts

QUOTE(j.passing.by @ Sep 30 2016, 05:30 PM)
How important is Income Distribution:

1. Nil, if the distribution option is set to 're-invest'. It only has some meaning to investors who set it 'payout' and these investors would be in the retired, passive group who is depending on the distribution income as a source of income.

2. Not really that important, but investors still need to update their units held and add in the extra distributed units. (There was a past story of an investor who complaint that his fund was not doing well... as he was still using his initial units bought years ago and multiply that with the current NAV price.  smile.gif )

3. Good for marketing reasons... PM does the income distribution like clockwork, no surprises, always on the last trading day of the month, and the press release always end with the last sentence stating the total fund size being managed by them.

It is also good marketing to conveniently not state that there are at least 5 funds (with same financial year-end) not giving income distributions.  biggrin.gif

===============

okay, it is important to those who still think that the extra distributed units adds 'value' to the the fund.  laugh.gif
Add on, potentially earn some charge to those account that switch actively, as switching for equity funds within 90days will be subject to rm50 or 0.75% whichever is higher. Distributed units will be subject to that.

This post has been edited by kradun: Sep 30 2016, 06:27 PM
kradun
post Sep 30 2016, 07:09 PM

989 posts

QUOTE(MUM @ Sep 30 2016, 06:32 PM)
do you mean, if I got 100 units of distribution valued at RM30 added to my existing fund.....if I were to switch to another EQ fund in less than 90 days after distribution......I got to pay RM50?
Not too sure on that, if switch min rm1k probably as per below:

Switchting RM1000 : RM970 more than 90days + RM30 less than 90days

Switching fee : RM25 + RM30

kradun
post Sep 30 2016, 09:50 PM

989 posts

QUOTE(j.passing.by @ Sep 30 2016, 08:13 PM)
As for the distributed units, they are considered as over 90 days. It would be counted as 2 separate transactions only when the fund is held not more than 90 days.

For example, you bought or switching to an equity fund last month, distribution income is this week, and switch all units next week to another fund, then it will be counted as 2 switching transactions - eventhough you make only one switching request.

If you had held the fund more than 90 days, it will be lumped together as one transaction - and one fee only.

Yes, it is important to keep track of the distributed units and not lump them with units held less than 90 days...
Thanks for info.. smile.gif
kradun
post Jan 4 2017, 09:08 PM

989 posts

QUOTE(apathen @ Jan 4 2017, 01:57 PM)
public mutual should keep up with the trend if they wish to survive longer, at this internet age they still cannot accept online transfer but only to pay by cheque is real primitive, their pmo website if compare to FSM feel like child play.  Buck up.
Probably u need to open a public bank saving account then that will solve ur issue?
kradun
post Feb 21 2017, 11:18 PM

989 posts

QUOTE(Hafiz@Acong @ Feb 21 2017, 02:32 PM)
Hi sifus.. its a very noob question.. Is it a good choice if i invest in PM using my EPF. I am 32 yrs old and have excess of 80k (from EPF basic acc1 limit). My monthly EPF contribution is about 3k (me+employer). Is it a good choice if i start with 10k and DCA 5k (every 3months) for 10yrs period? As a starter. I dont want to risk losing my already accumulated EPF and my risk tolerance is also very low.

My main idea is to explore the Mutual Fund, and I think to invest using cash that I put aside. But when i met PM agent, she told me that it is better to invest using EPF and in long run with constant DCA, sure will not losing money and will give better return. That is why I am in dilemma wthether to
1) Use EPF or cash as start
2) Is the agent telling me the right things?
3) Is my plan is OK - (if use cash, I have 20k (and my plan is 2k initial, monthly DCA 300 for 5yrs) which I am OK to lose and at the same I will learn about mutual fund.
4) I have also offered by my friend who is an agent of Philips Mutual. Therefore, Where is the best place to start (PubMut, or PhilMut).

I already have ASB1 and ASB2 account with total saving 400k (from some ASB loan & cash). I have made a plan years back to maximize my ASB then only try Mutual Fund, in search of slighty higher risk and return.

Thank you so much for your kind reply. May god repay ur kindness with great success..
Since u already have ur potential agent then is good to ask ur agent show u their client portfolio, at least from there u could have some idea under ur agent advice how will ur money grow. smile.gif

If me then I won't withdraw epf for unit trust investment, as the epf return of 5-6% is good enough for me, so not need for me to bear additional risk just to chase for higher return.

0.0299sec    0.57    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 5th December 2025 - 03:55 PM