Public Mutual Funds, version 0.0

hsyong
post Mar 11 2020, 05:46 PM

589 posts

If I had a big lump sum and would like to invest for 5 years or more in reliable(low risk) funds, with returns around 5%, are bond funds okay?

Any suggestion of what bond funds from Public Mutual?

Thanks!

This post has been edited by hsyong: Mar 11 2020, 06:52 PM
hsyong
post Mar 11 2020, 08:08 PM

589 posts

QUOTE(j.passing.by @ Mar 11 2020, 07:23 PM)
I'm holding 4 bond funds:
Public Sukuk and PB Sukuk
Public Islamic Infrastructure and PB Infrastructure.

All giving similar returns... the infrastructure bond funds slightly better.

Are the returns shown on the PM website or their product highlights PDF documents already minus the about 1% Management Fee+Trustee Fee?

For example, for PSKF it shows:
Annual Total Return for the Financial Years Ended 31 August
2012 (5.05%), 2013 (2.39%)...2019 (8.77%)

Those figures already minus the annual fees? Same question for the screenshots of annual returns posted here by users, like the posts above, already minus the annual fees?

Thanks!

This post has been edited by hsyong: Mar 11 2020, 08:13 PM
hsyong
post Mar 11 2020, 09:24 PM

589 posts

QUOTE(engyr @ Mar 11 2020, 09:20 PM)
Yes. The nav reflected is value after deduct annual management fee, trustee fee. Sales charge is not deducted. You need to consider less 5.5%earning for equity funds, less 1% earning for bond funds.
Sales charge is one time only right? That means deduct sales charge only for the first year's returns.
hsyong
post Mar 11 2020, 09:26 PM

589 posts

QUOTE(j.passing.by @ Mar 11 2020, 09:24 PM)
Yes, all the yearly fees and operational cost of the fund are included into the daily price.

The returns are the difference of its value in each calendar year. This is the fund's returns.

For the investor, we need to take into account the initial service charge paid.
Thank you!!
hsyong
post Mar 11 2020, 09:29 PM

589 posts

QUOTE(j.passing.by @ Mar 11 2020, 09:27 PM)
The sales charge or service charge is only one time.

If you hold the fund several years, you 'amortized' it over several years.
Ah, yes, that's a good way of putting it.
hsyong
post Mar 11 2020, 11:36 PM

589 posts

When I register PMO I have to fill in Fund Account No. I see on my Quartetly Statement, every fund has its own account number. (I have P BOND, P SUKUK, P ASIA ITTIKAL, P SELECT BOND etc, and each has a different account number)

So, which Fund Account No. do I put in when I register PMO? Or I have to register for every fund?

This post has been edited by hsyong: Mar 11 2020, 11:37 PM
hsyong
post Mar 12 2020, 10:13 AM

589 posts

QUOTE(j.passing.by @ Mar 12 2020, 07:09 AM)
Any one would do, as it is for verification.

Within PMO, you will see all the funds and their account numbers, and the total value of your portfolio of funds.
Completed registration for PMO. Thank you!

My current funds are bought through agent. My plan for the future is to do all the transactions (top up/buy new fund/switching etc) without going through my agent. That's possible right?

This post has been edited by hsyong: Mar 12 2020, 10:14 AM
hsyong
post Mar 12 2020, 10:40 AM

589 posts

QUOTE(MUM @ Mar 12 2020, 10:18 AM)
I think can do without going thru agent with PMO,....
but I am not sure if you can save the Sales charges even without going thru the agent.
Thank you!

Yes, I understand about the Sales Charge. My plan is to have control of my account, that's all. In the past, everything was left to the agent and I only look at the letter/statement sent by PM every few months.

This post has been edited by hsyong: Mar 12 2020, 10:41 AM
hsyong
post Mar 12 2020, 02:03 PM

589 posts

QUOTE(j.passing.by @ Mar 12 2020, 01:09 PM)
PMO has been upgraded since 1 or 2 years ago.

It now shows the allocation of the portfolio in a pie chart, showing the proportions of equity, bond, and money-market/income funds.

The Fund Analytics tab has more info on all funds. In its fund performance chart, several funds can be selected for comparison.
If not mistaken, purchases via PMO have slightly lower service charge... very, very slightly... 5.25% for equity funds and 0.75% for bond funds.

The alternate method to get lower service charge is using EPF i-invest, if you have excess money in account 1... the service charge is 0.5% for equity funds.
Thanks!
hsyong
post Mar 12 2020, 02:25 PM

589 posts

QUOTE(YoungMan @ Mar 12 2020, 02:06 PM)
Each time you buy new fund, you can select your agent in PMO. However if you select none then the 5.25% sales commission will not go to your agent. So you can decide whether or not to let your agent earn, or for some ppl maybe they get back part of the sales charges from the agent.
Oh, that's convenient. I didn't know that. Thank you.
hsyong
post Mar 13 2020, 10:41 PM

589 posts

QUOTE(j.passing.by @ Mar 13 2020, 03:49 PM)

=========

Passed a significant milestone in 2016, lost it in 2018, and regained it last year. Maybe I was becoming wiser over the years, or becoming less greedy for more, the portfolio was slowly switched to nearly 100% bond funds by the end of December, 2019.

At the moment, equity is 3% of the portfolio.

So, had I foreseen this massive market sell-off happening now?

No, lah. The asset allocation was accordingly to my internal financial plan and nothing to do with external market noise. The journey is at the last stage, and the re-balancing was done as planned.

Cheers.

[/spoiler]
I recently switched a large portion of my portfolio to a bond fund. Also, I have another big sum that I want to put in. Since I'm retiring in about 5 or 6 years, it's better to put the sum in bonds until I retire? (yes, I'm okay with lower returns, I prefer low risk and volatility).

What's your suggestion? Put in one bond fund, or separate into a couple of bond funds? Or mixed with other funds?

hsyong
post Mar 14 2020, 09:46 AM

589 posts

QUOTE(tkwfriend @ Mar 14 2020, 08:16 AM)
In my opinion just put into 1 bond fund, only when there is opportunity then take about 30% to grow it. Bond will have negative yield after a long term when market turn to opportunity due to inside the demand and supply in market. But average up still stay around  Close to 5% plus a little bit.
Thank you!

0.0666sec    0.19    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 8th December 2025 - 04:26 AM