Public Mutual Funds, version 0.0

boldsouljah
post Oct 6 2019, 09:11 PM

50 posts

Anyone invested in Public Index Fund ? Mine shows -6k. Scary. Should I withdraw it ?
boldsouljah
post Oct 6 2019, 09:28 PM

50 posts

QUOTE(MUM @ Oct 6 2019, 09:14 PM)
how much have you invested to be able to lose RM6k?
RM74k
boldsouljah
post Oct 6 2019, 09:47 PM

50 posts

QUOTE(MUM @ Oct 6 2019, 09:36 PM)
hmm.gif invested 74k now is 68K losing 6k
that is about 8.1% if MINUS 5.5% SC....loses is about 2.6%?
Sorry, mine is the EPF scheme. I have been putting money into PM from my EPF for the past 7 years, So now i have around 74k, and it shows Total Returns : -RM6454
boldsouljah
post Oct 6 2019, 10:17 PM

50 posts

QUOTE(MUM @ Oct 6 2019, 09:57 PM)
hmm.gif Sales charge for EPF is 3%.....
past 7 yrs doing periodic reinvestment....
with minus 8% ROI......It will be a tough nut to beat if were to includes the cumulation of the yearly 6% opportunity cost
may I suggest you stop the reinvestment but invest into some other fund or just stop taking out the money from EPF to earn 6%

btw, did you do the calculation of profit/losses by yourself?
Using the latets KWSP's Investment portal it says this :

Unrealised Profit/Loss (%)
MYR
-
5625.91(-4.99%)

Total : 107k.

boldsouljah
post Oct 6 2019, 10:36 PM

50 posts

QUOTE(MUM @ Oct 6 2019, 10:30 PM)
I am not sure about the display from KWSP....
you mentioned total about 74K...here it shows 107K
wondering why?? confused.gif

...if you have opened a PMOnline registration....goto PMO website to login and check the status?
76k is just from Public Index Fund, i have more $$ in few other funds (Public Global,etc). So the total is 107k from EPF, Public Index Fund has the highest $$ with 76k.
boldsouljah
post Oct 6 2019, 11:08 PM

50 posts

QUOTE(MUM @ Oct 6 2019, 10:42 PM)
so that 6k losses is/maybe most probably from that few other funds too (Public Global, etc, etc funds)?
Not really..

Fund 1 (Public Index Fund) Lost RM6.7k
Fund 2 Made RM50
Fund 3 Made RM1.1k
Fund 4 Lost RM127.

So in total lost of around 5.5k
boldsouljah
post Oct 6 2019, 11:09 PM

50 posts

QUOTE(howszat @ Oct 6 2019, 11:00 PM)
The fund mandate is too inflexible, and fund value has not gone up since 2013.

Terrible fund. Yes, dump.
When you say dump, you mean bring back the cash to EPF and lose RM6.7k.
No chance for this value to go up at all? (For Public Index Fund) ?
boldsouljah
post Oct 7 2019, 12:09 AM

50 posts

QUOTE(howszat @ Oct 7 2019, 12:04 AM)
I think it is very unlikely it will go up in the next few years, and it is most likely that it will not go up more than EPF.

If you look at the performance chart, it is now at the same profit level since 2013. In other words, no profit since 2013. With EPF, you would got 6years x6% = 36% since then. You would have done better with even FD. To be fair, the mandate is too narrow.

PM funds are under-performing with over-priced service charge so they can pay the agents to go and con persuade un-suspecting investors.

A cut-loss decision should not be based on how much you have already lost, but on future potential. If no potential, your loss would be even higher because you need to also consider opportunity costs.

That's only my opinion, of course. What you actually do with your money, you have to decide.
Thanks for the advice!. Cheers
boldsouljah
post Oct 7 2019, 08:59 AM

50 posts

QUOTE(enkil @ Oct 7 2019, 12:19 AM)
Haha a lot agent say buy now lower price
That's what my agent told me. He said should keep pumping money in PM or else the negative will be more.
boldsouljah
post Oct 8 2019, 03:11 PM

50 posts

QUOTE(enkil @ Oct 8 2019, 04:23 AM)
Scary scenario
What he meant was pump money in a different fund other than the Public Index Fund .
boldsouljah
post Oct 8 2019, 11:44 PM

50 posts

QUOTE(MUM @ Oct 8 2019, 03:15 PM)
rclxub.gif
usually I heard was to keep on pumping into the losing fund to lower the earlier purchased average cost
so now not to average the cost but to buy another EQ fund...that is why you had 4 funds....
could you tell which other 3 funds you had?
Hopefully they are not correlated....
boldsouljah
post Jan 10 2021, 07:22 PM

50 posts

Hey guys, just a quick to PM sifus here.
I have been investing my EPF $$ for about 5-7years now (some funds are 7 years old, some are 5). The agent is very much helpful and we did some switching last year due to low performing fund called Public Index Fund.

Below is my return.

So basically I invested RM 150,231 and got back RM23,842 profit.

My question is, would it have been better if I just left it in EPF?

How can I calculate how much I would have gotten if I left it in EPF?

boldsouljah
post Jan 10 2021, 08:47 PM

50 posts

Thank you for the calculation.
May I know how you did the calculation.

It's not like 1 day 7 years ago I deposited RN150k into PB. It was a gradual deposit according to how much EPF allows us. I remember when I started I was only depositing around 2 to 3k every 3 months.

As time goes as my salary increases I deposit around 8k every 3 months (epf only allows certain amount of % to be moved to Unit trust every 3 months)

QUOTE(ironman16 @ Jan 10 2021, 07:57 PM)
https://ringgitplus.com/en/blog/personal-fi...dend-rates.html
pass year EPF dividend
2014 =6.75
2015 =6.4
2016 =5.7
2017 =6.9
2018 =6.15
2019 =5.45

i did a simple calculation , if u left in EPF, should b around RM215818 u get  hmm.gif

salah jgn tembak saya, saya bukan pro punya.....just simple mathematic aje.....should b more than this value..... whistling.gif
i would said better just left in EPF....... sweat.gif

0.0229sec    0.40    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 11:55 PM