Public Mutual Funds, version 0.0

avms01
post Oct 11 2015, 10:05 PM

22 posts

QUOTE(j.passing.by @ Oct 11 2015, 04:40 PM)
Further comments:
The total growths in the above post looks fastastic; with at least 50% more than EPF's 74.3%. But when annualised, the figures look normal and within the expected rate of any UT and investments which comes with added risk.

10-yr total growth, and annualised rates:
130.60% 8.71%
144.37% 9.35%
185.04% 11.04%
144.81% 9.37%
144.47% 9.35%
179.35% 10.82%
180.33% 10.86%

The extra 3-5% each year makes the big difference in the long term.
Thank you sharing.
I'm not frequently visiting here .....

I heard from others that Public Mutual is living in previous glory and that's the reason the total return is good ... however the last 3 years returns are not there ...

Can sifu sifu comment on this? Is this short term issue? or overall public mutual fund managers are not performing over last 3 to 5 years. Appreciate for your comments / sharing. TQ.

avms01
post Oct 13 2015, 11:28 PM

22 posts

QUOTE(j.passing.by @ Oct 12 2015, 11:18 AM)
Without any data or funds or benchmarks to refer to and to compare against, it is tough to comment on the performance of the funds or on any particular fund manager.

In general, the investment policy of Public Mutual is pretty consistent; it is not known to be aggresive but more conservative and moderate in nature; not aiming to be the top leading fund among all the funds available in the market in their respective sector, but within the top bracket.

When I last looked into their invested equities, they were mostly about 0.5% in any one equity, with the rare 2% as the highest holding; compared to another more aggresive fund (from another fund company) with up to 5% in a single equity.

The perception of poorer performance could also be due to recent weakness in the local equity market; but we can't fault the fund manager of not giving better returns in a market down trend.

Anyway, below are more numbers; maybe they could give a clearer picture whether the perception of weaker performance is true or not. The 1st number is the total growth as shown previously, followed by the growth rate in each year from 2005 to 2014.

Pleae note KLCI is added for comparison, and it is not the benchmark for all the 7 funds.

KLCI 94.09%, -0.84% 21.83% 31.82% -39.33% 45.17% 19.34% 0.78% 10.34% 10.54% -5.66%
Public Industry 130.60%, 3.26% 31.87% 42.52% -41.45% 43.09% 9.94% 3.31% 11.71% 14.63% -2.48%
Public Index 144.37%, 6.89% 25.20% 35.76% -39.36% 47.48% 21.09% 2.09% 9.15% 15.58% -3.56%
Public Regular Savings 185.04%, 5.30% 24.45% 34.55% -33.73% 46.61% 24.34% 5.01% 10.47% 16.75% -1.18%
Public Islamic Equity 144.81%, -0.07% 24.67% 42.26% -34.79% 33.84% 17.53% 4.13% 15.26% 11.94% 0.09%
Public Ittikal 144.47%, 4.47% 25.48% 38.57% -35.67% 37.31% 14.10% -0.78% 12.68% 13.02% 5.67%
Public Focus Select 179.35%, 3.72% 30.59% 29.62% -32.89% 42.66% 26.16% 5.17% 17.52% 6.65% -0.07%
PB Growth 180.33%, 3.92% 32.37% 59.31% -36.82% 45.67% 13.85% -1.74% 7.97% 15.92% -0.75%

Cheers.

Edit: Any figures if wrong are typos made by me, as the figures were compiled by me; not a copy-and-paste job from any official site.
Thank you for the information.

Seeking advice.
Plan to withdraw my EPF money and park temporary in Bond funds.
Any suggestion on which funds I should park it? Time frame is about 2 to 3 months.
TQ.

avms01
post Oct 14 2015, 06:51 PM

22 posts

QUOTE(xuzen @ Oct 14 2015, 02:30 PM)
It makes no sense... Bond fund ROI is around 4 -5 % p.a. It is lebih kurang sama with KWSP ROI. Why go through the  extra hassle to achieve the same result... eat rice full dey, goyang kaki nothing to do izzit?

Xuzen
TQ ... maybe I did not explain my plan.
Plan is to withdraw and park in Bond fund temporarily and and then switching to equity within next 2 to 3 months collecting equity funds when market down.
Not keeping in Bonds for long terms.

So which Bond fund would be good as temporary parking (2 to 3 months) without much volatility.

Thank you.
avms01
post Oct 14 2015, 06:55 PM

22 posts

QUOTE(j.passing.by @ Oct 14 2015, 03:48 PM)
Another rainy day story...  tongue.gif

Readers who were following this forum would maybe recall that I started an EPF portfolio 3 years ago; as a shiok run to check some facts and opinions.

So far so good, IRR is about 3.6%. (ROI 11.4%) Yeah, it is less than previous years EPF returns of above 6%; but we have to take into account the service charge that it was already negative 3% on the first day, and any UT investments, IMHO, should not be less than 5 years.

The longer the better, and as for me, it is “forever”.  wink.gif

Lessons learned:
- Always do regular DCA. I only withdrawn from EPF in the first 15 months; no fresh investments after that. If I have done the purchases more consistently, and more regularly, the returns and IRR would be higher.

- I had withdrawn too much at one go; or rather I took too long to switch to equities which I did over a period of 18 months, and then sell the remaining units in the bond fund after 2 years. Meaning I have been holding money in the bond fund far too long; thus wasting time and time means money, so was wasting both time and money.

After selling the remaining units in the bond fund, I changed the investment strategy; swinging to and fro from equity to MM.

Currently, it is about 75% in equity, YTD gains 6%. If I switch all to MM (which gives about 3.4% p.a.) now, it will be about 6.8% for the year.

Should I do it switching all to MM tomorrow or be greedy and wait till KLCI hits 1750? But when the target is achieved and the greed is there, the targeted mark will be re-set higher and higher... LOL  laugh.gif

PS. Don't swing unless you have free swings. Each swing cost money and can easlily burn a hole in your pocket.
Thanks you sharing your personal journey.

This is what I plan to do. Withdraw form EPF and park temporarily and then switch to equity when market down to collect units. As you know with EPF only can withdraw 3 months once. So withdraw and park in Bond and then can easily switch to equity as and when I want via PMO. No paper work.
My target is not to hold for too long in Bond ... the most its about 3 months.

So appreciate if you advice which EPF approved Bond I should go in?? Off the less volatility the the better.
TQ
avms01
post Oct 15 2015, 03:40 PM

22 posts

QUOTE(j.passing.by @ Oct 15 2015, 12:19 AM)
I think you missed the reply in previous post #334:
- several months is too short a time to expect much difference between funds; any bond funds would do.
- depending on what's the reason behind the transaction, it might be better to have a money-market fund instead.
- Bond funds have service charge of 1%; money-market fund nil. But the 1% is "rebated" when the bond fund is latter switched to an equity fund.

The bond funds which are EPF-approved are quite similar and there would not be much differentiation in the short time of several months. There are only 5 or 6 of them.

All the bond funds experienced a sharp drop in August. The 2 funds that dropped the least are Select Bond Fund and
Public Strategic Bond.
Yup ... you're correct. I missed post #334.
Okay... can consider money market.
Are there EPF approved money market funds in Public Mutual.
Don't mind sharing the details.
TQ.
avms01
post Oct 15 2015, 07:52 PM

22 posts

QUOTE(j.passing.by @ Oct 15 2015, 07:12 PM)
Public Islamic Money Market.

=====================

Below are some of sites frequently visited for more info:
- for fund performance: see this chart. It is handy.
http://www.publicmutual.com.my/application...formancenw.aspx

- for fund prices, see this link. Select the "Fund Group" to narrow down the list.
http://www.publicmutual.com.my/application.../fundprice.aspx

- for all UTs under EPF scheme: see the official EPF site.
http://www.kwsp.gov.my/portal/en/web/kwsp/...vestment-scheme

- the Morningstar Malaysia site is good for more details and rankings of any UTs in the Malaysian market. http://my.morningstar.com/ap/main/default.aspx

- bookmarked the links for future reference.

Cheers.
TQ for the info on money market & also the link.
certainly will bookmarked it.
Thanks again.
avms01
post Oct 15 2015, 07:56 PM

22 posts

QUOTE(xuzen @ Oct 15 2015, 07:26 PM)
Still a lousy plan.... park at bond fund need to pay management fee and some other 1% dunnowhatchamacallit fee.

Pre sign your KWSP N9 form and thumbprint it... when you are ready to deploy your funds, hop over to any Pub-Mut office and hand the form to them. They will process it within 1 day .

Your funds from KWSP will be transferred to Pub-Mut within a week or less.

But....
If you wanna do DCA, it is different story. Withdraw and park at a money market fund, then do DDI to the desired fund.

Xuzen
yup .... its a combination of DCA and switching.
Meaning a fixed allocated for DCA (say for 2 to 3 months) and the balance to switch when the timing is right.
I guess based on sharing j.passing.by, probably I will consider money market instead of bond.
Thanks for both of you for sharing your thoughts. thumbup.gif thumbup.gif thumbup.gif

avms01
post Oct 15 2015, 07:58 PM

22 posts

QUOTE(xuzen @ Oct 15 2015, 07:26 PM)
Still a lousy plan.... park at bond fund need to pay management fee and some other 1% dunnowhatchamacallit fee.

Pre sign your KWSP N9 form and thumbprint it... when you are ready to deploy your funds, hop over to any Pub-Mut office and hand the form to them. They will process it within 1 day .

Your funds from KWSP will be transferred to Pub-Mut within a week or less.

But....
If you wanna do DCA, it is different story. Withdraw and park at a money market fund, then do DDI to the desired fund.

Xuzen
yup .... its a combination of DCA and switching.
Meaning a fixed allocated for DCA (say for 2 to 3 months) and the balance amount for switching into equity when the timing is right.
I guess based on sharing j.passing.by, probably I will consider money market instead of bond.
Thanks for both of you for sharing your thoughts. thumbup.gif thumbup.gif thumbup.gif

avms01
post Mar 17 2016, 10:55 AM

22 posts

QUOTE(BeastB @ Mar 10 2016, 02:07 PM)
Anyone invested in public mutual funds and still think it's a form of 'legit investment'.....please watch this vid. Forward to the 38:00 minute. Also think why the government supports PMF so heavily with the flexibility to invest with Akaun 1.

Thank you for sharing the video.
It's interesting point of view from Anthony Robbins?

Seeking clarifications?
1. If Mutual funds are not good investment vehicle due to charges/commissions,
what other types of investment out there available for an ordinary people who are not well versed with Bursa/shares, Forec, etc?
Assuming one is looking at about 8% return?

2. Are there any such Income Insurance plan available here in Malaysia?

Thanks for sharing and Good day.

0.0867sec    0.25    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 3rd December 2025 - 06:44 PM