Public Mutual Funds, version 0.0

AbangCorp
post Sep 20 2015, 03:14 AM

233 posts

While I also agree with Xuzen's opinion on the historical data, I also agree with the introduction of new fund because of three things

a. better entrance fee (imho, pavgef & piavgef is not that cheap - can be considered identical if you picked other fund except if purchase 10k and above)
b. The old fund have technically sold out, or the fund will be too big and will not so flexible anymore. The comparable fund still open for purchase, so no issue on this.
c. improvement over the evolvement of the market, maybe a tweak from the old formula. Simply put when you invest in UT, disadvantage is that the purchase of stocks for example is not your call anymore, its the fund manager's job. But fund manager also should all the time abide to their set of formula for handsome return - which is reflected in the "Deeds". Certain situation they can't go against their will because of the deeds. You might say deeds maybe a good thing or a bad thing, two side of a coin i would say.

For the same historical, the PM style maybe you should see similarity of PGF, PAGF, POGF&PIOGF, PIA40GF, PSTGF. POGF historically gives return of 59% in 5y, 25% in 3y.

enough mumbling, uniqueness of this new fund is country diversification, 75% in MY and the rest Far East, Asean, Europe and USA.Risk level 4. If you consider its benchmark, PIAVGEF performance is more attractive. But if you consider actual result based on historical, PM understand to operate PAVGEF is better.

This is a good time for fund manager to collect good stocks at below valuation. They believe in holding the price.

Btw, have a look at PSTEF too. Offer period ended, but quite new fund too.
AbangCorp
post Sep 20 2015, 11:35 AM

233 posts

OK, pls exclude that. It's an equity fund BTW.
AbangCorp
post Oct 12 2016, 09:59 AM

233 posts

QUOTE(babienn @ Oct 11 2016, 08:13 PM)
That's the exact reason why PM's fund performance is going south but still they earning is superb.  biggrin.gif
Aggressive is not everyone appetite. Especially if you require a stable income.
PIDF Public Islamic dividend fund is steady, it did hit 18% (or more) historically. So what I did, I invest regularly, slow and steady.

Do you notice, within these 2 or 3 years, most Malaysian fund is also going south. As diversification as their main feature, each fund type will cover most of the big company. If the economic climate is not conducive, these companies will also decline in growth as well the fund house that invest in them.

If you are a seasoned PB investor, you will know that you can wait (patience) and you have lock some handsome profits.

There is indeed fund type that outperformed its benchmark, if you ask me it is good enough. Many also slips. I am focusing on long term gain, thus the fund that have below average or slips if NAV price is what I am grabbing right now.

Please also be informed our economy is not its dead bottom level yet. it is just 4 % down and 4 % up. So strategy is crucial.
AbangCorp
post Oct 14 2016, 09:13 AM

233 posts

QUOTE(dasecret @ Oct 12 2016, 05:40 PM)
I think worst is an overstatement la.... even for me who dislike PM
There are worse ones out there

But there are also better ones out there. So choose wisely
There are so many criteria when selecting unit trust. There are also many strategy to implement it. By having a lot of unit trust fund type within the same unit trust management company, you could apply more strategy (buying low, switching etc).

Better or worse is really up to you apetite and liking.

Let me put here as example. public mutual have been in business more than 30 years. To start investing directly to high risk / high return equity share market, you need at least 1000 ringgit.

Competitor have a little bit more linient say 500 ringgit to start invest.

Investor A=have 10thousand in his pocket
Investor B=have only 100 dollars spare cash per month

Thus if I am the investor A, minimum initial investment does not concern me much as much as investor B.

This post has been edited by AbangCorp: Oct 14 2016, 09:19 AM
AbangCorp
post Nov 7 2016, 11:50 PM

233 posts

QUOTE(Kaka23 @ Nov 5 2016, 07:54 AM)
TQ for the update... I got Public Smallcap..  biggrin.gif
Don't forget to multiply cent distribution x units you have got = xxxx

Also UT it is right hand pocket, left hand pocket.
The unit price is being deducted from the Unit Price

0.0191sec    0.53    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 1st December 2025 - 08:08 PM