148 Pages « < 74 75 76 77 78 > » Bottom

Public Mutual Funds, version 0.0

markedestiny
post Aug 17 2018, 02:06 PM

764 posts

QUOTE(silverbolt143 @ Aug 17 2018, 10:12 AM)
Hi, im newbie here... just started withdrwing my EPF last March 2018 to invest in PB...also subscribe to PMO to monitor my fund and need some guidance....

My inception date as follows:
1) RM72,160 on 26/03/2018
2) add on RM53,939 on 16/08/2018

My question, is it normal to see my return in negative at this point of time? Overall is about -6.5% (minus 3% sales charges hence net -3.5% margin) upon inception..appreciate some advise....my current funds as per below:

In times where the market is volatile, it is best stay put with the monies on your epf. Now its too late as the funds have been invested and you just have to leave them alone. If you want, you can compare these against these amount of monies you have invested against EPF declared dividend next year to judge for yourself.

You can minimise your invested amount by 1)careful selection of funds coupled with 2)spreading the amount into smaller investment sums via DCA on quarterly basis perhaps rather than one big lump sum. By DCA, you could have average out the ups and downs of the market.

Two of your biggest funds happened to be high volatility in risk level i.e. Public Asia Ittikal and Public Asia Dividend, with foreign exposure of up to 98% shakehead.gif

On the other hand, Public Ittikal Sequel which has moderate volatility risk level with only up to 30% foreign exposure, which is more reasonable selection in times of market uncertanities is only less than RM20K. You could have increase the amount here rather than too much of the two funds above.

MakNok
post Aug 17 2018, 04:00 PM

5,713 posts

QUOTE(iamwilliamcwl @ Aug 17 2018, 12:04 PM)
how long have you invest?
22 Nov 2017 when KLCI Index at 1720
silverbolt143
post Aug 17 2018, 05:01 PM

283 posts

QUOTE(iamwilliamcwl @ Aug 17 2018, 12:01 PM)
Yes it is normal, this 3 fund are investing in Malaysia (2 are local funds)
I believe one of the reason you are losing are because of the recent election & change of government, cause a lot of uncertainty made a lot foreign investor pull out from the market but worry not I believe our economic will be better with the new government  rclxm9.gif
QUOTE(MUM @ Aug 17 2018, 12:54 PM)
Regarding your question......yes...it is normal during bad markets environment n also depends on the funds you selected.
Bear in mind that for every year the fund not making at least 6.5% pa....the fund would not beable to recover the accumulated opportunity cost lost of epf rate.
Btw...there are just a handful of epf approved funds that can beat the annualised epf rate consistently....thus select well
QUOTE(markedestiny @ Aug 17 2018, 02:06 PM)
In times where the market is volatile, it is best stay put with the monies on your epf.  Now its too late as the funds have been invested and you just have to leave them alone. If you want, you can compare these against these amount of monies you have invested against EPF declared dividend next year to judge for yourself.

You can minimise your invested amount by 1)careful selection of funds coupled with  2)spreading the amount into smaller investment sums via DCA on quarterly basis perhaps rather than one big lump sum. By DCA, you could have average out the ups and downs of the market.

Two of your biggest funds happened to be  high volatility in risk level i.e. Public Asia Ittikal and Public Asia Dividend, with foreign exposure of up to 98%  shakehead.gif

On the other hand, Public Ittikal Sequel which has moderate volatility risk level with only up to 30% foreign exposure, which is more reasonable selection in times of market uncertanities is only less than RM20K. You could have increase the amount here rather than too much of the two funds above.
Thanks guys for the advise and clarifcation... appreciate it... thumbup.gif thumbup.gif
effectz
post Aug 18 2018, 07:42 AM

1,110 posts

QUOTE(MUM @ Aug 17 2018, 12:47 PM)
Mind sharing...which epf approved funds under pm can beat more than epf rate annually for the past 10 years or annualised 6.5% for the past 10 yrs?
No such thing. You must construct a balanced portfolio in unit trust. UT tak sama dengan stock lor.

Everybody newbie will have thinking like this.
MUM
post Aug 18 2018, 08:19 AM

14,891 posts

QUOTE(effectz @ Aug 18 2018, 07:42 AM)
No such thing. You must construct a balanced portfolio in unit trust. UT tak sama dengan stock lor.

what do you think?

iamwilliamcwl
if yes, also .....how to have a balanced port with epf approved PM unit trust funds?
T231H
post Aug 18 2018, 08:33 PM

5,143 posts

QUOTE(MakNok @ Aug 17 2018, 11:52 AM)
tell me which fund give average return 8%...bullshit lah
which Public mutual fund...mine is high risk already lo...follow the market index...
i bought it both time when KLCI is at about 1720 point
can analyse ?
sweat.gif
QUOTE(MUM @ Aug 17 2018, 12:47 PM)
Mind sharing...which epf approved funds under pm can beat more than epf rate annually for the past 10 years or annualised 6.5% for the past 10 yrs?
QUOTE(MUM @ Aug 17 2018, 12:54 PM)
Regarding your question......yes...it is normal during bad markets environment n also depends on the funds you selected.
Bear in mind that for every year the fund not making at least 6.5% pa....the fund would not beable to recover the accumulated opportunity cost lost of epf rate.
Btw...there are just a handful of epf approved funds that can beat the annualised epf rate consistently....thus select well
thumbup.gif very true

QUOTE(ehwee @ Aug 17 2018, 01:07 PM)
So just wonder what are the example of PM funds that have a history profit records of 10 years with 8% return?

Anyone can share?
QUOTE(effectz @ Aug 18 2018, 07:42 AM)

I found one.....(maybe more or none anymore as of 16 Aug 2018) (different time period will have different results)
just some basic not sure.......
1) not sure when it was included into EPF-MIS
2) not sure, if it has ever be suspended
3) not sure, if one is lucky to have hold on to it after getting it out of the 53+17 EPF-MIS PM fund
4) not sure if it is still open for subscription
5) not sure if past performance would repeat itself for the next 10 yrs
6) many other not sure....

as of 19 Aug 2008 till 16 Aug 2018......Public Growth fund has a return of 109.29%

when free and curious to know more, can try to check the list of EPF-MIS PM funds
http://www.kwsp.gov.my/portal/documents/10...sh_28022018.pdf

then use the PM fund performance check tool
https://www.publicmutual.com.my/Home/Fund-Performance

As HARRY would have said...."Do you feel lucky?"
I guess NOT,....for those that had bought into that fund 4 years ago had just earned 11.46% gain (minus 5.5% or 3% SC, then this gain of 11.46% would be less,....maybe left with 6~8%)
EPF rate 4 yrs X 6% = 24% already
which mean this fund would have to earn approximate 10% pa for the next 6 years (10 X 6 = 60 + 11.46) to be able to ............

This post has been edited by T231H: Aug 19 2018, 12:07 PM

MakNok
post Aug 19 2018, 07:48 PM

5,713 posts

So i guess Public Mutual fund is bullshit lo.
Wasted my 100k EPF fund....

donhay
post Aug 20 2018, 10:05 AM

722 posts

Two reasons I put some of my epf money into Public Mutual

1 - diversification
2 - my PM agent is a pretty ahmoi, we sometimes meet for kopi
MUM
post Aug 20 2018, 10:10 AM

14,891 posts

QUOTE(donhay @ Aug 20 2018, 10:05 AM)
Two reasons I put some of my epf money into Public Mutual

1 - diversification
2 - my PM agent is a pretty ahmoi, we sometimes meet for kopi
icon_rolleyes.gif rclxm9.gif that I support,...even don't mid paying extra % of SC compared to others when doing the diversification.

drool.gif drool.gif
issac96
post Sep 6 2018, 03:46 PM

205 posts

Hi I am interested in mutual funds. I have 1 question:
What is the type of interest? is it compounded or just plan interest? How do I know whether an investment has a compounding interest?

Thanks!
TSj.passing.by
post Sep 6 2018, 05:01 PM

1,639 posts

QUOTE(issac96 @ Sep 6 2018, 03:46 PM)
Hi I am interested in mutual funds. I have 1 question:
What is the type of interest? is it compounded or just plan interest? How do I know whether an investment has a compounding interest?

Thanks!
In short, compound interest is "interest on interest".

If you don't take out the interest on a fixed deposit upon maturiy, and renew the fixed deposti on both the principal and the interest gained, then the interest on the FD is compounded. "Interest on interest". If you take out the interest and renew FD on only the principal, then it is simple interest.

While the returns on the FD is called 'interest', most investments such as mutual fund is simply called 'returns', What you have after many years of staying in the investment is the 'total returns'.

The returns on a mutual fund can be positive as well as negative in any given year, so the total returns after several years can be negative or positive.

The yearly returns are measured in percentages, and can be checked from the mutual fund's fact sheet, annual reports or past performance charts.

In the years of positive returns, if the returns are not taken out or trim, then we say that the returns are compounded if the fund make another postive gain in the following year.

Please also refer back to previous posts (in this thread) on 'income distribution' and understand what it is.

ajaxcbcb
post Sep 17 2018, 02:35 PM

421 posts

QUOTE(ehwee @ Aug 17 2018, 01:07 PM)
So just wonder what are the example of PM funds that have a history profit records of 10 years with 8% return?

Anyone can share?
You can check out Public Dividend Select. I feel many people make a mistake for not diversifying their portfolio. they invest solely on one fund and with not diversifying your portfolio, you are not able to take advantage of different sectors' weather wave. not every sector is a bed of roses. therefore, with a well diversified portfolio, you can take the returns from those that are appreciating, and wait or the other side of the sector to come back to sunshine season again.
SUSyklooi
post Sep 17 2018, 03:04 PM

8,188 posts

QUOTE(ajaxcbcb @ Sep 17 2018, 02:35 PM)
You can check out Public Dividend Select. I feel many people make a mistake for not diversifying their portfolio. they invest solely on one fund and with not diversifying your portfolio, you are not able to take advantage of different sectors' weather wave. not every sector is a bed of roses. therefore, with a well diversified portfolio, you can take the returns from those that are appreciating, and wait or the other side of the sector to come back to sunshine season again.
hmm.gif if diversified then, the returns p.a. may not be achieveable at 8% pa because the good funds will be used the cover the bad one right?

any suggestion for a diversified portfolio and it % of each fund allocation that can helps to provide about 8% p.a. return on average?
(not 8% pa continuously but ave 8%pa over 5 years (40% in total, or 80% in total over 10 yrs)?
notworthy.gif notworthy.gif

for since April 2015 my port has a CAGR of 6.3% with these composition
50% in PGSF
36% in PAIF
14% in PSEASF

This post has been edited by yklooi: Sep 17 2018, 03:20 PM
ehwee
post Sep 17 2018, 03:45 PM

Value Our Living Spaces!
790 posts

QUOTE(yklooi @ Sep 17 2018, 03:04 PM)
hmm.gif if diversified then, the returns p.a. may not be achieveable at 8% pa because the good funds will be used the cover the bad one right?

any suggestion for a diversified portfolio and it % of each fund allocation that can helps to provide about 8% p.a. return on average?
(not 8% pa continuously but ave 8%pa over 5 years (40% in total, or 80% in total over 10 yrs)?
notworthy.gif  notworthy.gif

50% in PGSF
36% in PAIF
14% in PSEASF
Agree to your view as diversified portfolio in mutual fund investment will lower down the return especially if we have hold some bond funds as stabilizer too I believe most of us

Above 8% return annualized is not an easy task

Of course we can achieve better return in our porfolio if it includes other investment instruments like stocks, property, p2p, etc.

My concern is if one only depend solely on mutual fund investment, can he gain return better than 8 percent annualized?

This post has been edited by ehwee: Sep 17 2018, 03:46 PM
ajaxcbcb
post Sep 17 2018, 06:47 PM

421 posts

QUOTE(yklooi @ Sep 17 2018, 03:04 PM)

notworthy.gif  notworthy.gif

50% in PGSF
36% in PAIF
14% in PSEASF
Depends on composition and your risk appetite. Well anything above 10 percent annually is considered higher risk than normal investment.
SUSyklooi
post Sep 17 2018, 06:58 PM

8,188 posts

QUOTE(ajaxcbcb @ Sep 17 2018, 06:47 PM)
Depends on composition and your risk appetite. Well anything above 10 percent annually is considered higher risk than normal investment.
yes, I am ok with that....
so any suggestion on my earlier posting to you about portfolio diversification as mentioned by you?
notworthy.gif

I liked the way you post this...
"I feel many people make a mistake for not diversifying their portfolio.
they invest solely on one fund and with not diversifying your portfolio, you are not able to take advantage of different sectors' weather wave.
not every sector is a bed of roses. therefore, with a well diversified portfolio, you can take the returns from those that are appreciating, and wait or the other side of the sector to come back to sunshine season again."

I does not wish to continue the to be in your statistic of many people make a mistake......do you know how?

This post has been edited by yklooi: Sep 17 2018, 07:22 PM
MUM
post Sep 18 2018, 08:15 AM

14,891 posts

QUOTE(yklooi @ Sep 17 2018, 06:58 PM)
yes, I am ok with that....
so any suggestion on my earlier posting to you about portfolio diversification as mentioned by you?
notworthy.gif

I liked the way you post this...
"I feel many people make a mistake for not diversifying their portfolio.
they invest solely on one fund and with not diversifying your portfolio, you are not able to take advantage of different sectors' weather wave.
not every sector is a bed of roses. therefore, with a well diversified portfolio, you can take the returns from those that are appreciating, and wait or the other side of the sector to come back to sunshine season again."

I does not wish to continue the to be in your statistic of many people make a mistake......do you know how?
while waiting for his responses....

just to let you know......do you realise that the funds that you are holding are also being sector diversified by the fund managers...." to take advantage of different sectors' weather wave.

TSj.passing.by
post Sep 18 2018, 07:08 PM

1,639 posts

Below is EPF’s dividend in the past 10 years.
2008 4.50%
2009 5.65%
2010 5.80%
2011 6.00%
2012 6.15%
2013 6.35%
2014 6.75%
2015 6.40%
2016 5.70%
2017 6.90%

3-years, 5-years and 10-years annualised:
2008 5.15%, 5.04%, 5.18%
2009 5.32%, 5.22%, 5.06%
2010 5.32%, 5.38%, 5.04%
2011 5.82%, 5.55%, 5.14%
2012 5.98%, 5.62%, 5.33%
2013 6.17%, 5.99%, 5.51%
2014 6.42%, 6.21%, 5.71%
2015 6.50%, 6.33%, 5.85%
2016 6.28%, 6.27%, 5.91%
2017 6.33%, 6.42%, 6.02%

The total returns, respectively:
2008 16.25%, 27.87%, 65.64%
2009 16.81%, 28.96%, 63.80%
2010 16.81%, 29.95%, 63.49%
2011 18.48%, 31.00%, 65.05%
2012 19.05%, 31.43%, 68.06%
2013 19.66%, 33.76%, 71.03%
2014 20.51%, 35.15%, 74.30%
2015 20.79%, 35.92%, 76.62%
2016 20.06%, 35.53%, 77.54%
2017 20.22%, 36.49%, 79.39%

2017 was a good year for mutual funds.

Counting only the funds available in Public Mutual, in 2017, the lowest return for equity funds was 5.13% (Public Australia Equity Fund) and the highest was 30.53% (PB China Pacific Equity Fund).

Most of the Greater China and Asia Pacific funds were in the region of 20% and above. Malaysia and Asean equity funds were about 15% and Global funds, with about 40-50% in USA, were about 10% return for the year.

Out of 74 equity funds, only 2 funds have less than 8% returns in year 2017.

Even most of the mixed assets and balanced funds were getting better than 8%, and some even touching 20%. 2017 was indeed a very good year for mutual funds

Counting only the equity funds (and not including the mixed assets and balanced funds), funds that have data for the following period, as at 29 Dec 2017:

10-years: 34 equity funds. Out of these 34 funds, 7 have a total returns of 80% and above.
5-Years: 58 equity funds, 32 have total returns better than 36.49%.
3-Years: 61 equity funds, 31 have total returns better than 20.22%.

In conclusion: Mutual funds can beat EPF. Fund selection is important. Also important is which time and year was selected to form the base of the statistics.

Hence, equally important is timing, when the fund was bought can make a great difference in the total returns.

============

Btw. if the annualised return is 8%, the total return in 10 years is 115.9%.

SUSyklooi
post Sep 18 2018, 07:23 PM

8,188 posts

QUOTE(j.passing.by @ Sep 18 2018, 07:08 PM)
Counting only the equity funds (and not including the mixed assets and balanced funds), funds that have data for the following period, as at 29 Dec 2017:

10-years: 34 equity funds. Out of these 34 funds, 7 have a total returns of 80% and above.
5-Years: 58 equity funds, 32 have total returns better than 36.49%.
3-Years: 61 equity funds, 31 have total returns better than 20.22%.

In conclusion: Mutual funds can beat EPF. Fund selection is important. Also important is which time and year was selected to form the base of the statistics.

Hence, equally important is timing, when the fund was bought can make a great difference in the total returns.

============

Btw. if the annualised return is 8%, the total return in 10 years is 115.9%.
thumbup.gif thumbsup.gif

doh.gif sweat.gif
10-years: 34 equity funds. Out of these 34 funds, 7 have a total returns of 80% and above....about 20% of the 34 equity funds have about (rough estimated 6.0% CAGR and above)
5-Years: 58 equity funds, 32 have total returns better than 36.49%.......about 55% of the 58 equity funds have about (rough estimated 6.5% CAGR or better)
3-Years: 61 equity funds, 31 have total returns better than 20.22%.......about 50% of the 61 equity funds have about (rough estimated 6.5% CAGR or better)

hmm.gif so based on past records......the longer it stays in the game,....the lowest the chances of being able to beat the EPF rate?
hmm.gif if to further analyse it..... wondering which are the regions of those mentioned fund invested in, for those fund that contributed to the good performance in those period?
hmm.gif wondering how many % of those good funds are EPF-MIS funds for each of those year period categorised in above compiled data?
hmm.gif with these and more pondering......as Harry used to says...."Are you feeling lucky?" sad.gif

This post has been edited by yklooi: Sep 19 2018, 08:26 AM
eligible
post Sep 19 2018, 04:29 PM

858 posts

QUOTE(markedestiny @ Aug 17 2018, 02:06 PM)
In times where the market is volatile, it is best stay put with the monies on your epf.  Now its too late as the funds have been invested and you just have to leave them alone. If you want, you can compare these against these amount of monies you have invested against EPF declared dividend next year to judge for yourself.

You can minimise your invested amount by 1)careful selection of funds coupled with  2)spreading the amount into smaller investment sums via DCA on quarterly basis perhaps rather than one big lump sum. By DCA, you could have average out the ups and downs of the market.

Two of your biggest funds happened to be  high volatility in risk level i.e. Public Asia Ittikal and Public Asia Dividend, with foreign exposure of up to 98%  shakehead.gif

One question, does PRS (Private Retirement Scheme) is a part of EPF investment?

148 Pages « < 74 75 76 77 78 > » Top

0.0316sec    0.72    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 9th December 2025 - 12:32 PM