Public Mutual Funds, version 0.0

MUM
post Apr 19 2020, 10:41 PM

14,871 posts

QUOTE(elamaaran @ Apr 19 2020, 10:34 PM)
tq tq . i saw the  Public e-Cash Deposit Fund is Monthly distributions. but the offer every month  0.22 Gross Distribution  (sen per unit) .so i have 4000 unit  . so i receive  Distribution   4000unit x 0.22Gross Distribution  (sen per unit) =Rm880.00 . im correct ? https://www.publicmutual.com.my/LinkClick.a...M%3d&portalid=0
if i am not mistaken, for these cash fund....the historical annual dividend rate is about 3.x% pa.
thus per month is "about" 0.25%~ 0.27% + -

if you have RM10000 x 0.25%pm = RM25 per month

if your calculation is some where there it should be correct.

(figures are approximate only)

This post has been edited by MUM: Apr 19 2020, 10:56 PM
MUM
post Apr 19 2020, 10:58 PM

14,871 posts

QUOTE(elamaaran @ Apr 19 2020, 10:57 PM)
i not sure . but normall the distributions show 0.22 not 0.022
how much RM value do you invested in that fund?
MUM
post Jun 27 2020, 12:44 PM

14,871 posts

QUOTE(ironman16 @ Jun 27 2020, 10:00 AM)
Must public mutual? Others fund house can't?
Did u analyse these two fund performance? Beat the benchmark?
But honestly, normally PB fund better than Public fund, i oso don't know why 😂
QUOTE(iqlas @ Jun 27 2020, 10:17 AM)
I'm investing through a friend which is a public mutual agent.

I've checked using the benchmark vs actual performance data at public mutual website and morningstar website, yes both fund outperform the benchmark at roughly the same performance i would say.
Something like a 10%-13% annual return would be a pretty conversative estimate.

You have in mind other fund that you feel is outperforming by a large margin than this two fund?
you 2 were discussing about benchmark value of these 2 funds....i got interested and found this. hope it can manage to generate some food for though to you guys....

sourced from
https://www.publicmutual.com.my/Our-Product...rformance-Chart

This post has been edited by MUM: Jun 27 2020, 12:50 PM

MUM
post Jul 5 2020, 10:44 AM

14,871 posts

QUOTE(xuzen @ Jul 5 2020, 08:56 AM)
In an era where freedom of information is welcomed, Pub-Mut seems to regress back to dinosaur age, that is to say, keeping its info under tight wrap and only for its exclusive clientele. Its like buying Blackmore's Vit C from Watson versus buying GNC Vit C at its exclusive GNC shop. Both are still Vit C but there will be some consumers who will have that perception that GNC Vit C will be better.

Xuzen
jfyi ...
as per 24 June 2020 publishing...
(Reuters) - GNC Holdings Inc (GNC.N), the vitamin and herbal supplement retailer, has filed for bankruptcy, with plans to close at least 800 to 1,200 locations and possibly sell itself.

https://www.reuters.com/article/us-gnc-bank...n%2C%20Delaware.

MUM
post Jul 12 2020, 06:53 AM

14,871 posts

deleted...inappropriate info

This post has been edited by MUM: Jul 12 2020, 07:00 AM
MUM
post Jul 15 2020, 08:01 AM

14,871 posts

QUOTE(victorian @ Jul 2 2020, 02:06 PM)
Lol 8% is easy, some can even go up to 10-20%.

The thing is, is it guaranteed?

EPF is good is because it guarantees a minimum return of 2.5%, so it will never go below zero.
QUOTE(bigphil @ Jul 15 2020, 03:41 AM)
Epf return is never guaranted.they are not obliged to reveal where they invest their money.there is no guarantee in investment.u win some ,u lose some.just manage your risk wisely
EPF dividend is NEVER guaranteed?

i thought all the while they had this "For all your contributions, the government guarantees a minimum paid dividend rate of 2.50% for Simpanan Konvensional."
sweat.gif doh.gif there goes my my beliefs.....

anyway, when did they changed that to dividend is "non guarantee" for Simpanan Konvensional or this "guaranteed" has never existed before or this guarantee is just a myth?

This post has been edited by MUM: Jul 15 2020, 08:07 AM
MUM
post Jul 15 2020, 02:02 PM

14,871 posts

QUOTE(juvaan @ Jul 15 2020, 01:59 PM)
So guys, would appreciate some opinion regarding UT.

I moved my EPF funds to Public Asia Ittikal Fund (recommended by agent back then) early 2018. The returns have been hovering around 0% and even in negative up till recently. Today checked and saw 16% return.

So my questions :
1) For those who have long term experience in UT, is it worth to redeem via EMIS with current returns? i calculated for similar compounded returns by EPF its around 14%.

2) Should i top up into the same fund instead of redeem (i.e. buying more as it goes higher)? or switch to other higher returns fund from other banks (HLB and kenanga growth funds are having much better performance)

which UT fund(s) do you think will have a high prospect of hitting at least 6%pa returns for the next 3 yrs?
every year it misses, this losses will accumulates into your opportunity cost of leaving it in EPF.
MUM
post Jul 15 2020, 02:12 PM

14,871 posts

QUOTE(juvaan @ Jul 15 2020, 02:06 PM)
to be frank, i know UT has been under-performing the market and even losses. In the bad market conditions last year the only funds going up are gold investment funds (up to 100% 6 months in some funds, cant remember which). So in bad times, i thought i will switch to gold linked funds or bond/fixed income funds (hedge), and switch back to equity once market recovering.

Is that a fair strategy?
it is only a fair strategy if you know when to go it and when to exit, and selected to do it with the "right" fund(s) ...

some wait for too long to react, then will hesitate to enter when they reviewed that the NAV had gone up by xx% thinking that it is already too high or still scared to enter when the NAV had dropped by xx% for thinking that more blood will be spilled yet....

will you have that emotional factor in play when the situation arises?

MUM
post Jul 15 2020, 02:46 PM

14,871 posts

QUOTE(juvaan @ Jul 15 2020, 02:28 PM)
and the other reason i'm asking here is because i dont have prior exposure or experience investing in UT. So i'm not sure if its worth to invest more at this point of time or to realise the gains by redeeming funds back into EPF.

Only point of reference i have and I know, is back in the days my dad made close to 400% returns via UT in the boom period between 1998-2006, this was an extraordinary period and i doubt it will happen again.
if for me, when i hesitated and doubt my would be decision, ...
i think i will just follow this

Should you make EPF withdrawals for unit trust investing?
https://www.freemalaysiatoday.com/category/...rovident%20fund.

MUM
post Jul 16 2020, 09:21 PM

14,871 posts

QUOTE(majorarmstrong @ Jul 16 2020, 09:18 PM)
even redemption also zero. Do you think they will revise sales charges and redemption charges after 1 to 2 years?

most probably NOT as this are money market fund?

MUM
post Jul 16 2020, 09:31 PM

14,871 posts

QUOTE(majorarmstrong @ Jul 16 2020, 09:27 PM)
it is BF which means Bond / Fix Income
MM = Money Market
Money Market return very low

i think they MAY invest up to 50% in FI....
MUM
post Jul 16 2020, 09:39 PM

14,871 posts

QUOTE(majorarmstrong @ Jul 16 2020, 09:33 PM)
take a look at the bond/fix income performance
so that stupid consultant tell me 2% to 3% saja really lie to  me le
but again he might be right as there is no guarantee return
again he should not say 2% to 3% ma.. really low le

this recent 2 years had been a good year for most FI funds....

QUOTE(regan96 @ Jul 16 2020, 09:34 PM)
Hi there everybody, is there someone I can talk to to understand public mutual cause when I called the public mutual people they are asking me if I have any question. I don't have any questions because I don't understand this at all but I want to learn more on this. I am really interested in this because my friend was talking about it but he is also unsure on it.
try post here?...i am sure many sifus can tell you if your questions are not so technical /specific one.

This post has been edited by MUM: Jul 16 2020, 09:40 PM
MUM
post Jul 17 2020, 08:05 AM

14,871 posts

QUOTE(ironman16 @ Jul 17 2020, 08:01 AM)
I peanuts investor, not like u 😝

U got any recommendations? Kasi sikit tip, i go Flip2
try FSM bond?
sikit sikit money also can buy... bruce.gif

for tips,...try their CIS?
biggrin.gif tongue.gif
MUM
post Jul 17 2020, 08:33 AM

14,871 posts

QUOTE(ironman16 @ Jul 17 2020, 08:24 AM)
Got sales charge or exit fee or redeem fee? Nv touch b4. U buy oso? Don't know how to select, kiasi
me no buy bond,...just bond funds...
scare mah...just want more diversification of holdings with my limited money.

oops,...getting "OFF Topic liao..."

This post has been edited by MUM: Jul 17 2020, 08:34 AM
MUM
post Jul 23 2020, 10:22 AM

14,871 posts

QUOTE(yklooi @ Jul 23 2020, 10:16 AM)
Wow from Yr 2018 till now you made 5% in total..
Would hv gotten 8% if not for the 3% sc?
Ever ponder if leaving it in epf would hv gotten more?
MUM
post Jul 26 2020, 01:21 PM

14,871 posts

QUOTE(Kaka23 @ Jul 26 2020, 01:09 PM)
To register my phone number in order to create PMO account, I still need to go to Public Mutual branch?

Can do by calling customer service or from the website?
googled and found this...
How do I register for Public Mutual Online Services?
https://www.publicmutualonline.com.my/General/online_app.htm
MUM
post Sep 12 2020, 01:16 AM

14,871 posts

QUOTE(ganesh1696 @ Sep 12 2020, 01:08 AM)
Hi I'm an unit trust investor for about more than a year in FSMONE and Eunittrust platform.
I would like try investing public mutual also.
I am a foreigner, so is it possible for me to apply for public mutual?
Is there any minimum amount to be invested in order public mutual account opening?
Hope someone can guide me.
if you are currently a FSM MY and Eunittrust investor....
then i think opening a Public mutual a/c should be ok too....
but according to their website...
"For non-Malaysians and non-residents, please approach our unit trust consultants or customer service centres/branches to register."
https://www.publicmutual.com.my/Non-Face-to-Face

i think the minimum amount to buy a PM unit trust is RM1k....(I could be wrong)
but since you will need to approach PM consultant or customer service centres/branches to register a/c opening, you can check with them on the exact amount need to buy
MUM
post Sep 28 2020, 04:09 PM

14,871 posts

hmm.gif just 10% variance in allocations...

PB Vietnam Global 40 Fund
PBVG40F aims to invest at least 20% of its net asset value (NAV) in the Vietnam market, with the balance in global markets including the US, Europe and Asia Pacific.

Public Vietnam-Global Equity Fund
PVGEF aimed to achieve capital growth over the long term by investing 75% to 98% of its net asset value (NAV) in equities with at least 30% in the Vietnam market while the balance invested in the United States, Europe and the Asia Pacific region.

https://www.publicmutual.com.my/Menu/Announcement/PR-PBVG40F
https://www.publicbankgroup.com/News-Announ...am-Global-Equit

hmm.gif thumbup.gif thumbsup.gif same resources used and paid for but another fund to collect the annual management fees notworthy.gif

This post has been edited by MUM: Sep 28 2020, 04:11 PM
MUM
post Sep 28 2020, 08:56 PM

14,871 posts

QUOTE(Wolger @ Sep 28 2020, 08:25 PM)
I see the PVGEF performance is good, good to go then for the new fund?
goto go if you want to add 30% of Vietnam into your global UT portfolio
MUM
post Nov 28 2020, 06:14 PM

14,871 posts

QUOTE(squarepilot @ Nov 28 2020, 03:05 PM)
5.5% sales charge and 1.8% annual fee

If put 3 years would be 5.5+1.8+1.8+1.8 = 10.9% fee  shocking.gif
on this annual fees charges ...
try to check and read the prospectus of that said fund to determine if similar info as per highlighted in the "green" box (of the attached image), is available or not.

from there, maybe you will need to amend the way your math computation as above should be

12 Pages « < 5 6 7 8 9 > » Top

0.0773sec    0.59    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 8th December 2025 - 04:11 AM