Alienware Mothership V12, Intruder alert!

SoulRex
post Sep 19 2015, 04:11 AM

258 posts

hi all sifu here, is it worth to go for a 2rd hand good condition m17x r4 and upgrade the gpu to gtx980m or is there any other alternative solutions?
and is the cooling pipe in the r4 sufficient for cooling down the gpu beast?

This post has been edited by SoulRex: Sep 19 2015, 04:29 AM
SoulRex
post Sep 20 2015, 03:22 AM

258 posts

QUOTE(e_mc_square @ Sep 20 2015, 12:59 AM)
Yes, M17x R4 heatsink all come with 3 heat pipe. It definately enough. Only thing you need to aware is the power brick. Best is go with 240 watt or 330 watt.
so, back to the root question, is it worth to go for a 2rd hand aliienware m17x r4 and opt for gtx 980m upgrade?
SoulRex
post Sep 23 2015, 10:21 AM

258 posts

QUOTE(horns @ Sep 21 2015, 12:36 AM)
it's better than upgrade to 680m or 780m. for 980m upgrade, just make sure the screen is NOT 120hz.
btw do you know what are the alternative networking card upgrade available?
SoulRex
post Sep 23 2015, 11:10 AM

258 posts

QUOTE(horns @ Sep 23 2015, 10:27 AM)
for wifi module, you can go for .ac card. you need .ac router also. i still use the old intel 7260.ac card. max it can go is 867Mbps, average around 700Mbps.
how about killer 1202? can the newer series like killer 1525 fit in?
SoulRex
post Sep 23 2015, 01:51 PM

258 posts

QUOTE(horns @ Sep 23 2015, 12:35 PM)
as long as it's a hmc/mini-card form factor it should be fine.

killer 1525 is not compatible, because it's in m.2 form only. (same as intel 7265.ac)
okok thx for the info
SoulRex
post May 22 2018, 11:36 AM

258 posts

My Alienware M17x R4 with 3740QM & GTX980M still running strong af happy.gif happy.gif happy.gif
SoulRex
post Jun 4 2018, 09:25 AM

258 posts

QUOTE(riku2replica @ Jun 1 2018, 11:29 AM)
But its performance seems to be stuck between GTX 1050Ti and GTX 1060M. Good thing is you have Amplifier port for future use.
im running the old M17x R4, not the 17 R4, so there is no thunderbolt port. Mine comes with a MXM so i can easily swap in a GTX1060 inside if i wants to
SoulRex
post Jun 19 2019, 11:08 PM

258 posts

Hey sifus, I'm looking for replace screen for my Alienware m17x r4, I'm looking for the 3d 120hz screen, let me know if there is anywhere that I can get it.thank you.

0.0227sec    0.46    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 28th November 2025 - 08:26 PM