Alienware Mothership V12, Intruder alert!

Alan Chong
post Jul 30 2018, 01:04 PM

31 posts

Found another article, may be this will help ...

According this user, grizzly kryonaut not really help for heat issue, disable Turbo boost is the best way to go ...

https://www.reddit.com/r/Alienware/comments...r4_overheating/

"
VaxusRS, post 3 days ago

just go into power settings and put your cpu usage at 99% itll disable the turbo boost so your cpu clocks at around like 2.09-2.22ghz rather than the constant 3.2-3.9 that it runs at when you game. Unless you're like super super hardcore competitive or something the difference seems rather negligible. I repasted my cpu with grizzly kryonaut and even then it was still hitting like 92 while game so i repasted it again with one of those permananent graphite thermal pads on the cpu instead and it almost never throttles now and maybe peaks around 87-90 before settling down around 76-78 while gaming. Then once i turned off the turbo boost for my cpu while gaming for extended hours i don't break 59-60deg cpu temps and don't notice large difference to performance. You can repaste the cpu as much times as you want using any brand of paste and fact is itll always idle around upper 80s-low 90s thats just how these new 8th gen intel cpus run. Every laptop i've seen with them hits high temps like this whether its alienware,gigabyte,msi etc its just how they were designed. So as i said best thing to do is to turn off the turbo boost by limiting your cpu performance to 99%/100% to drop it about 20deg c. I undervolted my cpu by 140v as well which helps a tiny bit. Download and use INTEL extreme tuning utility ...."

This post has been edited by Alan Chong: Jul 30 2018, 01:07 PM
Alan Chong
post Jul 31 2018, 02:53 PM

31 posts

QUOTE(edmund_yung @ Jul 31 2018, 01:51 AM)
The whole point of using such thick laptop is to have good thermal performance, if Dell decided those are the new normal temperature then I'm not going to recommend future AW to anyone. Those are ridiculous temperature on such thick laptops.
Actually I just claim a replacement unit from Dell, my first unit dead after 3 weeks using. puke.gif

My first unit problem:
Crazy overheat (CPU average temperature 99c after 5mins game playing) - > Complaint to Dell, Replace Heat sink & fan -> Display Screen Blinking -> Windows corrupt abnormally (Windows create dump file every second, should be hardware problem) -> Reinstall Windows -> Windows and Application keep hang -> few days later Audio not working -> Reinstall Windows again, but install process stop at 30% for 3 hours -> Complaint to Dell to request replacement -> Wait 1 month -> finally get replacement unit !!!

I finalist the problems may cause my first unit dead:
1. I received a faulty unit from Dell.
2. Crazy overheat damage my system.
3. Dell technician damage my system while exchange heat sink.
4. Upgrade CMOS damage my system.

Now I get 2nd unit and play around few days, the CPU average temperature around 80-85c while gaming, but maximum temperature sometime still hit 99c. I disable CPU Turbo boost with adjust power option, average temperature around 70c while playing Wicther3, fps almost same and loading speed slightly slower but maximum temperature never go above 80c.

I think i will remain disable CPU turbo boost until Dell, Intel or any IT expert come out a better solution to solve 8th Gen CPU overheat problem. I scared already .. hahaha

This post has been edited by Alan Chong: Jul 31 2018, 03:18 PM
Alan Chong
post Jul 31 2018, 05:34 PM

31 posts

I think Dell need to improve their QC team ... hmm.gif

Anyway, my 2nd unit so far so good except CPU temperature a bit high. Hopefully won't trouble me again ... and I don't think Dell will allow me to get another replacement again .... hahaha
Alan Chong
post Sep 22 2018, 10:29 AM

31 posts

QUOTE(AthrunIJ @ Sep 21 2018, 08:41 PM)
Bruh, undervolted -0.150V and still can get to 100 degrees...

For now, underclock to 3.3GHz while playing games still can reach 90degress.  vmad.gif  vmad.gif  vmad.gif
I bought cooler master u3 plus and 2 units 8inch mini fans to blow it while playing game ...

FYI, I just upgrade BIOS from ver 1.1.6 to 1.5.0. Looks like it got little bit improvement for temperature control.

This post has been edited by Alan Chong: Sep 22 2018, 03:23 PM
Alan Chong
post Sep 28 2018, 12:19 PM

31 posts

QUOTE(danZach @ Sep 28 2018, 12:11 PM)
If it's actually "solvable" per se, I'd take the risk and go for it actually... 😅 Worth a try, as it's still cheaper than a new 8th gen 1070.

Is there anything else I should watch out for?
Depend on your luck. My first unit had problem and Dell sent a replacement unit for me. Now my 2nd unit also had problem. Today Dell Engineer visit me again to exchange heat sink / fan and motherboard bangwall.gif bangwall.gif

Hopefully will be trouble free after this visit cry.gif cry.gif

This post has been edited by Alan Chong: Sep 28 2018, 12:45 PM
Alan Chong
post Sep 29 2018, 11:09 AM

31 posts

QUOTE(Zelz92 @ Sep 28 2018, 03:35 PM)
My laptop keep on doing hardware check (Fan check) every so often when i start my laptop. This been happening for last 2 weeks. Even after waking from hibernating, the hardware check will appear. Talked to the support and agree to replace fan, heatsink and motherboard. Today Dell 'engineer' came and replace heatsink and motherboard. Ran Rise of Tomb Raider bancmark, so far so good. Will continue testing.

What shocked me is how these so called engineer dont even bother to clean the old thermal paste on the GPU and CPU. 3 engineer so far. The first one just remove old heatsink and just slap in the replacement heat sink (WTF?). The 2nd didn't even bother until i ask him to clean the old one. The third engineer put thermal grizzly that i bought and didnt remove the stock thermal paste on the new replacement heatsink  bangwall.gif  bangwall.gif  bangwall.gif
Dell arrange an experience engineer for me. He was 6 years with Dell. He clean up original thermal paste with proper tools & cleaner before repaste thermal grizzly. He told me that motherboard was cause AW15r4 overheat issue, repaste thermal paste & change heat sink won't solve this problem. He also told me that don't upgrade BIOS in any case. This will cause motherboard problem. Another thing I noticed that my default motherboard was production in 02/2018 and the replacement motherboard was production in 04/2018. I think that was difference batch of motherboard and 02/2018 version may have overheat issue. So far my AW overheat issue had been solve, idle 45-50c and 80c while gaming.

We also had short discussion about Dell G7. He told me that Dell G7 don't have overheat issue, the common issue for G7 is keyboard problem. (note: for 1050ti version only, 1060 version still got overheat issue.)

This post has been edited by Alan Chong: Oct 1 2018, 04:52 PM
Alan Chong
post Oct 1 2018, 01:00 PM

31 posts

QUOTE(Zelz92 @ Oct 1 2018, 09:25 AM)
What's your system spec and which bios version you're using?
Alienware 15 r4 i5-8300h + gtx1060. Original come with BIOS 1.1.6 and DELL customer support ask me upgrade to latest version 1.5.0 when I complaint overheat problem. Now my replacement motherboard just come with BIOS 1.0.2 doh.gif , and that engineering ask me just leave it, don't upgrade.

Anyway, if want to use AW for long term, just extend warranty to maximum 5 years. Ask them re-paste thermal paste or exchange motherboard from time to time tongue.gif ... since overheat was common issue for AW15r4 tongue.gif

This post has been edited by Alan Chong: Oct 1 2018, 01:05 PM
Alan Chong
post Oct 1 2018, 04:51 PM

31 posts

QUOTE(myway1985 @ Oct 1 2018, 03:11 PM)
G7 the 1050ti no heat issue

1060 got but hardly ppl buy tat spec
Ops, looks like I should remove it to prevent people buy another headache "toaster machine" ... biggrin.gif
Alan Chong
post Oct 4 2018, 06:11 PM

31 posts

Saw this in Taobao. Modify AW15R3 into water cooler blink.gif blink.gif blink.gif
https://item.taobao.com/item.htm?spm=a230r....bucket=3#detail
Alienware 17r4 / r5 also got blink.gif
https://item.taobao.com/item.htm?spm=a1z10....id=561158810174

This post has been edited by Alan Chong: Oct 4 2018, 06:30 PM
Alan Chong
post Oct 16 2018, 02:18 PM

31 posts

QUOTE(e-Shagger @ Oct 16 2018, 12:29 PM)
Hi all.

I have an Alienware 14 (2013 model). Looking to upgrade to play some games i.e. Dota 2, Final Fantasy, GTA 5 etc. Thinking of upgrading the follows:-

1. From current RAM of 4GB, planning to add another 8GB.
2. Switching from HDD to 480GB SSD.

Please advise me if I can do the above (whether my Alienware 14 would support em).

Final Fantasy XV crazy power hungry game, even desktop PC with GTX1070 also got stuttering problem .... doh.gif
Alan Chong
post Dec 15 2018, 12:41 AM

31 posts

Hi sifu here, do you guy know how to set 2 units pcie ssd for Alienware 15 ? My original setting was first pcie ssd as OS, normal HDD as data drive. Today I just bought another pcie ssd and thinking to set as gaming drive, but Windows won't book-up after I install 2nd SSD. System just stop at "ALIENWARE" word. Do you guys got any idea ?

Ok, I found the solution:

Alienware default BIOS setting for harddrive is RAID operation that allow user to install 2 units same 2280 SSD for running either RAID-0 or RAID-1. If we want to run 2 difference size SSD , we need to switch from RAID to AHCI that allow all SSDs to run separately. Following is step to switch from RAID to AHCI controller:

1. Click the Start Button and type cmd
2. Right-click the result and select Run as administrator
3. Type this command and press ENTER: bcdedit /set {current} safeboot minimal
4. Restart the computer and enter BIOS Setup
5. Go to Advance Setting, Change the SATA Operation mode to AHCI from either IDE or RAID
6. Save changes and exit Setup and Windows will automatically boot to Safe Mode.
7. Right-click the Windows Start Menu once more. Choose Command Prompt (Admin).
8. Type this command and press ENTER: bcdedit /deletevalue {current} safeboot
9. Reboot once more and Windows will automatically start with AHCI drivers enabled.

Hope this will help for anyone who thinking to add additional PCIE SSD into their AW.

This post has been edited by Alan Chong: Dec 15 2018, 10:11 AM
Alan Chong
post Dec 18 2018, 12:42 PM

31 posts

QUOTE(Zelz92 @ Dec 17 2018, 03:28 PM)
Great to know.  thumbup.gif

I am planning to fill up my M.2 slots. Currently running old school 5400 RPM HDD. Planning to get the WD Black 500 GB for PCIE Gen3x4 Speed & Intel Optane to accelerate the existing 1Tb storage. and maybe throw a 500 GB mini SSD in the mini-slot in the future. I'm wondering if the SSD + Optane cofig works. Will the Optane run at SATA3 speed or will it work at all? I've seen comments on Dell's forum that if you put one PCIE Gen3x4 SSD, the other SSD will run at SATA3 Speed. Wonder if it works the same way with Optane.

Edit:
WD Black 500 GB will be the boot drive + installed applications.
1TB + Optane will be the storage drive + steam games directory.
I not sure how Optane work, may be set at "Intel Rapid Storage" application. hmm.gif hmm.gif hmm.gif

0.0603sec    0.25    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 04:48 AM