69 Pages « < 9 10 11 12 13 > » Bottom

Alienware Mothership V12, Intruder alert!

rihuhs
post Aug 18 2015, 05:35 PM

167 posts

QUOTE(horns @ Aug 18 2015, 05:11 PM)
first thing first, when you connected your monitor to your computer, did you play with the display-out button on your monitor to check if the correct output was selected? because previously when i switched cables (from hdmi to minidp), the monitor (i use dell monitor too; forgot which model hehe) didn't switch output mode automatically iinm, so i had to set it up with one of the buttons on it.

when you tested with intel igpu, did you check if the onboard graphics was enabled in bios? (or selected as primary i don't remember sorry)

we need to have this confirmed first, because for the rest of it, we need a working monitor to do stuff.

1. if you can see a mouse cursor when you move your mouse - http://www.tenforums.com/general-discussio...ack-screen.html
2. driver issue - http://www.ibtimes.co.uk/windows-10-how-fi...upgrade-1514481 , https://community.amd.com/thread/184727

edit: btw for alienware systems it's better to check out and use w10 drivers released at dell's support page.
check/select display input: done countless times sweat.gif

when I tried it on the onboard HDMI, it didn't even display the boot screen. it just went remains blank, like there was no cable connected

but the OS itself booted ok (I guess) since I tried logging in even with no display and I can still hear sounds like the one when you plugged in USB drive, or error tone
horns
post Aug 18 2015, 05:50 PM

\m/
3,038 posts

QUOTE(delsoo @ Aug 18 2015, 05:28 PM)
Sony discontinued their pc business, right? They still giving update for the driver?
The latest is nvidia 355.60. Nvr encountered display issue on my asus.
yes, if the supported models were previously sold here.

i think the driver only affected certain display panels from samsung and lg.

QUOTE(rihuhs @ Aug 18 2015, 05:35 PM)
check/select display input: done countless times sweat.gif

when I tried it on the onboard HDMI, it didn't even display the boot screen. it just went remains blank, like there was no cable connected

but the OS itself booted ok (I guess) since I tried logging in even with no display and I can still hear sounds like the one when you plugged in USB drive, or error tone
hm.. blank. did you move your mouse to confirm that it's really blank? not no signal detected kind of blank? lol sorry but i'm not sure what else i can help you, except for what i can help to find from the internet.
horns
post Aug 18 2015, 05:51 PM

\m/
3,038 posts

dell models that are tested for w10: http://www.dell.com/support/article/us/en/19/SLN297954

source: http://www.dell.com/support/contents/us/en...e-to-windows-10
alvinkhorfire
post Aug 18 2015, 10:09 PM

214 posts

My Alienware laptop is still under warranty, and originally has Western Digital Black Edition hard disk [SATA 3 Gb/s].

Recently, the hard disk becomes faulty, and Dell Technical Support has agreed to replace it with another hard disk.

Since Dell does not have the black edition hard disk in their inventory, the Technical Support wants to replace it with Western Digital Blue Edition hard disk (which should be slower than the black edition hard disk), but I do not agree with it.

My questions are:

1. I do have the right to insist on Western Digital Black Edition hard disk (as per the original specification of my hard disk), right? And, it is up to them to source for the hard disk, if necessary from the hard disk supplier. Is my thinking correct?

2. Is SATA 3 [6 Gb/s] laptop hard disk backward compatible with SATA 2 [3 Gb/s] laptop hard disk?

Thanks for the advice. notworthy.gif

This post has been edited by alvinkhorfire: Aug 18 2015, 10:10 PM
horns
post Aug 18 2015, 11:01 PM

\m/
3,038 posts

QUOTE(alvinkhorfire @ Aug 18 2015, 10:09 PM)
My Alienware laptop is still under warranty, and originally has Western Digital Black Edition hard disk [SATA 3 Gb/s].

Recently, the hard disk becomes faulty, and Dell Technical Support has agreed to replace it with another hard disk.

Since Dell does not have the black edition hard disk in their inventory, the Technical Support wants to replace it with Western Digital Blue Edition hard disk (which should be slower than the black edition hard disk), but I do not agree with it.

My questions are:

1. I do have the right to insist on Western Digital Black Edition hard disk (as per the original specification of my hard disk), right? And, it is up to them to source for the hard disk, if necessary from the hard disk supplier. Is my thinking correct?

2. Is SATA 3 [6 Gb/s] laptop hard disk backward compatible with SATA 2 [3 Gb/s] laptop hard disk?

Thanks for the advice.  notworthy.gif
1. in short, no, you're wrong. read section 3. http://www.dell.com/learn/my/en/mycorp1/te...rvice-contracts . you can also find more details in the service contracts (pdf) at the end of the page.

2. yes.

rihuhs
post Aug 19 2015, 08:56 AM

167 posts

QUOTE(horns @ Aug 18 2015, 05:50 PM)
hm.. blank. did you move your mouse to confirm that it's really blank? not no signal detected kind of blank? lol sorry but i'm not sure what else i can help you, except for what i can help to find from the internet.
moved the mouse, typed random things on the keyboard, connected my xbox360 controller.. heard the "ding" sound but nothing happened lol

it's ok man.. seems like gonna be PC-less for a while. in the meantime I'll look around for answers lah. thanks!
horns
post Aug 19 2015, 01:29 PM

\m/
3,038 posts

QUOTE(rihuhs @ Aug 19 2015, 08:56 AM)
moved the mouse, typed random things on the keyboard, connected my xbox360 controller.. heard the "ding" sound but nothing happened lol

it's ok man.. seems like gonna be PC-less for a while. in the meantime I'll look around for answers lah. thanks!
good luck bro. i think you should borrow a monitor and verify that it works at least on your sis's laptop and your astro decoder, before using it to test your gpu card and igpu.

imo your pc (including gpu) is ok.
rihuhs
post Aug 19 2015, 02:07 PM

167 posts

QUOTE(horns @ Aug 19 2015, 01:29 PM)
good luck bro. i think you should borrow a monitor and verify that it works at least on your sis's laptop and your astro decoder, before using it to test your gpu card and igpu.

that's what I'm thinking right now, it's just that I'm on a limited resource for troubleshooting (and limited free time to test things out) but I'll figure something out biggrin.gif

thank again for the reply

and yeah, I'd prefer my display to be busted rather than my GPU lol sweat.gif
alvinkhorfire
post Aug 19 2015, 09:58 PM

214 posts

QUOTE(horns @ Aug 18 2015, 11:01 PM)
1. in short, no, you're wrong. read section 3. http://www.dell.com/learn/my/en/mycorp1/te...rvice-contracts . you can also find more details in the service contracts (pdf) at the end of the page.

2. yes.
Thank you for your informative reply, horns. smile.gif

Quoted from Section 3.2 from the link you suggested:

Dell shall ensure that any Products or parts thereof used in replacement shall have substantially the same fittings and at least an equivalent specification to the faulty Products or parts thereof.

From my understanding of the quoted text, the faulty product should be replaced with a replacement product which is equal or better than the faulty product.

Western Digital Blue Edition hard disk spins at the lower 5400 rpm, which is inferior than Western Digital Black Edition hard disk with the speed of 7200 rpm. That is why I think that Western Digital Blue Edition hard disk is an inappropriate replacement in this case.

I respect your opinion, but I do not understand the reason of your opinion. rclxub.gif
myway1985
post Aug 19 2015, 10:30 PM

12,089 posts

Holy Molly.. aw 18 r2 wif sli 970m /980m come out... we shall wait for the return unit.. hehe
horns
post Aug 20 2015, 12:01 AM

\m/
3,038 posts

QUOTE(alvinkhorfire @ Aug 19 2015, 09:58 PM)
Thank you for your informative reply, hornssmile.gif

From my understanding of the quoted text, the faulty product should be replaced with a replacement product which is equal or better than the faulty product.

Western Digital Blue Edition hard disk spins at the lower 5400 rpm, which is inferior than Western Digital Black Edition hard disk with the speed of 7200 rpm. That is why I think that Western Digital Blue Edition hard disk is an inappropriate replacement in this case.

I respect your opinion, but I do not understand the reason of your opinion.  rclxub.gif
i'm no lawyer, but imo you should read clause 3.2 as a whole, not splitting it into parts. based on the quote alone, yes it does sound like they must provide you at least something of equivalent specifications. however the meaning has been twisted without other parts of the clause.

All these things are subject to parts availability in their inventory (they will not source for you) what if you insisted on getting the same one? easy. they can just use a refurbished part for replacement purpose. same specs, same performance, refurbished. it fits all the conditions.

i have no intention to discourage you from claiming your right. in fact you must point this out to them to get better options. i said you're wrong because it might lead to the possible scenario i just explained. (i might be wrong, because you might be ok with a refurbished hdd, not a new one smile.gif)

horns
post Aug 20 2015, 09:12 AM

\m/
3,038 posts

QUOTE(myway1985 @ Aug 19 2015, 10:30 PM)
Holy Molly.. aw 18 r2 wif sli 970m /980m come out... we shall wait for the return unit.. hehe
sounded like a good news smile.gif will check the internal specs when the official manuals are out.
TSe_mc_square
post Aug 20 2015, 09:46 AM

768 posts

QUOTE(horns @ Aug 20 2015, 09:12 AM)
sounded like a good news smile.gif will check the internal specs when the official manuals are out.
It already available in US Dell website.
4th gen Intel processor.

http://www.dell.com/us/p/alienware-18/pd.aspx
horns
post Aug 20 2015, 10:19 AM

\m/
3,038 posts

QUOTE(e_mc_square @ Aug 20 2015, 09:46 AM)
It already available in US Dell website.
4th gen Intel processor.

http://www.dell.com/us/p/alienware-18/pd.aspx
yeah i checked that previously. i thought it's an r2, with some feature upgrades (m.2 slots, usb 3.1, etc.). the ones showed at dell.us is an r1 with 970m/980m.

that means the rest remains the same.
rihuhs
post Aug 20 2015, 08:11 PM

167 posts

QUOTE(horns @ Aug 19 2015, 01:29 PM)

finally a good news!

I happen to have a DVI to VGA adapter (almost forgot having one) and I just tried out my luck plugging it to my GPU to the display via a VGA cable and it works!

seems like everything is running fine, aside from it can only detect as far as 1600x1200 max resolution (need to use 1600x900 to keep 16:9 ratio) but at least now I know what has been causing the problem sweat.gif

I can happily send my Dell display back to the shop where I bought it for warranty claim now thumbup.gif
horns
post Aug 21 2015, 09:51 AM

\m/
3,038 posts

QUOTE(rihuhs @ Aug 20 2015, 08:11 PM)
finally a good news!

I happen to have a DVI to VGA adapter (almost forgot having one) and I just tried out my luck plugging it to my GPU to the display via a VGA cable and it works!

seems like everything is running fine, aside from it can only detect as far as 1600x1200 max resolution (need to use 1600x900 to keep 16:9 ratio) but at least now I know what has been causing the problem sweat.gif

I can happily send my Dell display back to the shop where I bought it for warranty claim now thumbup.gif
finally smile.gif
rihuhs
post Aug 21 2015, 10:45 AM

167 posts

QUOTE(horns @ Aug 21 2015, 09:51 AM)
finally smile.gif
with that (part of) mystery solved, now I'm wondering if the graphics driver might have been the cause of the problem hmm.gif need to be sure before sending off my LCD for repairs

there's only one available version of the Catalyst software in AMD website for Windows 10 though (only differs in 64/32-bit option) which was released in end of July and the beta ones are only for Win7 & Win8.1

will try to uninstall/reinstall the driver later this evening to find out. might as well check in the Radeon thread as well
myway1985
post Aug 21 2015, 11:01 AM

12,089 posts

QUOTE(horns @ Aug 20 2015, 10:19 AM)
yeah i checked that previously. i thought it's an r2, with some feature upgrades (m.2 slots, usb 3.1, etc.). the ones showed at dell.us is an r1 with 970m/980m.

that means the rest remains the same.
mxm slot i smell
horns
post Aug 21 2015, 11:21 AM

\m/
3,038 posts

QUOTE(rihuhs @ Aug 21 2015, 10:45 AM)
with that (part of) mystery solved, now I'm wondering if the graphics driver might have been the cause of the problem hmm.gif need to be sure before sending off my LCD for repairs

there's only one available version of the Catalyst software in AMD website for Windows 10 though (only differs in 64/32-bit option) which was released in end of July and the beta ones are only for Win7 & Win8.1

will try to uninstall/reinstall the driver later this evening to find out. might as well check in the Radeon thread as well
just get the compatible ones downloaded first. it's no harm to test it out.

QUOTE(myway1985 @ Aug 21 2015, 11:01 AM)
mxm slot i smell
mxm slots have power limit. the same goes to its 330 power brick. 980m might not be running at full potential even at stock.

i hope it's not another dumb case like previous 880m.
myway1985
post Aug 21 2015, 11:23 AM

12,089 posts

QUOTE(horns @ Aug 21 2015, 11:21 AM)
just get the compatible ones downloaded first. it's no harm to test it out.
mxm slots have power limit. the same goes to its 330 power brick. 980m might not be running at full potential even at stock.

i hope it's not another dumb case like previous 880m.
haha.. 880m purely manufacturing flaw.. hope they learn the lesson

69 Pages « < 9 10 11 12 13 > » Top

0.0328sec    0.44    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th November 2025 - 08:38 AM