Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

Bump TopicReply to this topicRSS feed Start new topic Start Poll

Outline · [ Standard ] · Linear+

> Alienware Mothership V12, Intruder alert!

Alan Chong
post Oct 16 2018, 02:18 PM

New Member
*
Group: Junior Member
Posts: 24

Joined: Jun 2010
QUOTE(e-Shagger @ Oct 16 2018, 12:29 PM)
Hi all.

I have an Alienware 14 (2013 model). Looking to upgrade to play some games i.e. Dota 2, Final Fantasy, GTA 5 etc. Thinking of upgrading the follows:-

1. From current RAM of 4GB, planning to add another 8GB.
2. Switching from HDD to 480GB SSD.

Please advise me if I can do the above (whether my Alienware 14 would support em).

Thanks.
*
Final Fantasy XV crazy power hungry game, even desktop PC with GTX1070 also got stuttering problem .... doh.gif
myway1985
post Oct 16 2018, 03:38 PM

Look at all my stars!!
*******
Group: Senior Member
Posts: 7,286

Joined: Jun 2014



QUOTE(Alan Chong @ Oct 16 2018, 02:18 PM)
Final Fantasy XV crazy power hungry game, even desktop PC with GTX1070 also got stuttering problem ....  doh.gif
*
tat game AAA grade wat... u need pro setting.. 1070 no problem.. reduce some detailing can de
myway1985
post Oct 16 2018, 03:40 PM

Look at all my stars!!
*******
Group: Senior Member
Posts: 7,286

Joined: Jun 2014



QUOTE(Jay Chua CC @ Oct 16 2018, 01:18 PM)
Obviously no impact. hdd and ram doesnt run the game. Those only will improve on your launching and not running. Basically, the playing experience will be the same as now. Limiting factor is the cpu and gpu
*
i think we "old man" should practice pro setting de.. if not we cant teach them how to maximize their spec...

learning how to set my game oso
Jay Chua CC
post Oct 16 2018, 04:25 PM

~Dont settle for good. Demand great~
*******
Group: Senior Member
Posts: 4,906

Joined: Dec 2012
From: Taiping,Perak


QUOTE(myway1985 @ Oct 16 2018, 03:40 PM)
i think we "old man" should practice pro setting de.. if not we cant teach them how to maximize their spec...

learning how to set my game oso
*
Can only enjoy so so graphics on AAA games cuz im on 1060 only. Hahah
myway1985
post Oct 16 2018, 04:28 PM

Look at all my stars!!
*******
Group: Senior Member
Posts: 7,286

Joined: Jun 2014



QUOTE(Jay Chua CC @ Oct 16 2018, 04:25 PM)
Can only enjoy so so graphics on AAA games cuz im on 1060 only. Hahah
*
sama la.. i oso 1060.. need adjust the setting.. i got ppl can play ff xv high on 1060.. with customise setting
capsulr
post Oct 17 2018, 02:01 AM

Casual
***
Group: Junior Member
Posts: 394

Joined: May 2014
If give liquid metal to dell engineer they can apply or not?

Also if I buy alienware with the 120hz gsync tn panel, and later want to change to normal ips or Oled should be no problem right? Or does it need to be gsync compatible also?

This post has been edited by capsulr: Oct 17 2018, 02:12 AM
nicks
post Oct 17 2018, 02:22 PM

TC
*******
Group: Senior Member
Posts: 2,016

Joined: Sep 2005
From: Sungai Buloh


QUOTE(capsulr @ Oct 17 2018, 02:01 AM)
If give liquid metal to dell engineer they can apply or not?

Also if I buy alienware with the 120hz gsync tn panel, and later want to change to normal ips or Oled should be no problem right? Or does it need to be gsync compatible also?
*
I believe they can apply but the risk is there. You should know a bit mistakes your board/chips/processor will fried. It is 'metal' in liquid form though.

Check on the Net regarding how to paste with LM before u proceed.

63 Pages « < 61 62 63Top
Bump TopicReply to this topicTopic OptionsStart new topic
 

Switch to:
| Lo-Fi Version
0.0401sec    2.85    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 22nd October 2018 - 01:36 AM