69 Pages « < 58 59 60 61 62 > » Bottom

Alienware Mothership V12, Intruder alert!

edmund_yung
post Aug 19 2018, 08:52 AM

1,198 posts

Very cool idea with the thermal tape, but the chip won't get heat up by the heatsink instead right?

myway1985
post Aug 19 2018, 09:28 AM

12,089 posts

QUOTE(nicks @ Aug 19 2018, 01:56 AM)
Oh yes before I forgot, the last image shows got 1 thermal tape (near RAM slot). That is to reduce temperature for PCH. After some stressing it wont raise more than 65C. (Previously shoot up at 78C.

More info can look below link.

PCH
when u wan to join the i9 gang.. hehehe
nicks
post Aug 19 2018, 01:14 PM

TC
2,070 posts

QUOTE(edmund_yung @ Aug 19 2018, 08:52 AM)
Very cool idea with the thermal tape, but the chip won't get heat up by the heatsink instead right?
Haha yup. Its like wrapping the heat so heat can flow to designated place. it its like motorcycle exhaust some people wrap it with some material so the heat is not spreading anyway.
Zelz92
post Aug 21 2018, 10:43 AM

366 posts

QUOTE(Jay Chua CC @ Aug 14 2018, 11:02 PM)
dbrand was good enough to send me another set because i key in incomplete address. Surprisingly, i received both! damn good the dbrand cs.hahah
That laptop looks amazing!

Luckily for me Dell replaced my palmrest after the technician broke one of the snapping pin. The new palmrest still have transparent plastic to cover from palm wear, for now. Although still need dbrand skin for long term solution.

Wanna sell to me the other set? brows.gif

This post has been edited by Zelz92: Aug 21 2018, 10:53 AM
Zelz92
post Aug 21 2018, 10:48 AM

366 posts

QUOTE(nicks @ Aug 19 2018, 01:52 AM)
Sharing some mod that I've done to my laptop.

(As attached)

i use some aluminium tape (can be bought at ace hardware) and tape around the fan and some of copper heat sink. Basically this is to ensure the heat is not spread out (its like contain it) and the heat will flow right the way it was.

For thermal paste I've used Thermal Grizzly Kryonaut (paste) and Thermal Grizzly Minus Pad 8. At the moment idling is around 50C with room temperature.

I've used same method for my Alienware M17X-R4. So far so good.

Cheers.
Cool MOD. thinking of doing the same hmm.gif
My i7-8750h 15R4 didn't get any better after re pasting with Kryonaut. Guess the 6 core processor just runs hot. Thinking of contacting Dell again next month.

This post has been edited by Zelz92: Aug 21 2018, 10:54 AM
nicks
post Aug 21 2018, 02:27 PM

TC
2,070 posts

QUOTE(Zelz92 @ Aug 21 2018, 10:48 AM)
Cool MOD. thinking of doing the same  hmm.gif
My i7-8750h 15R4 didn't get any better after re pasting with Kryonaut. Guess the 6 core processor just runs hot. Thinking of contacting Dell again next month.
Could be uneven surface on the heat sink. else, is it overheat? if does then need to contact Dell ASAP.

Jay Chua CC
post Aug 23 2018, 04:47 PM

~Dont settle for good. Demand great~
5,907 posts

Guys, are your aw 15 like this? My screen hinge and lid is slightly out of alignment. The lid is aligned more towards the left side.
Attached Image Attached Image Attached Image
Zelz92
post Aug 30 2018, 07:00 PM

366 posts

QUOTE(nicks @ Aug 21 2018, 02:27 PM)
Could be uneven surface on the heat sink. else, is it overheat? if does then need to contact Dell ASAP.
These are temps while playing Dota 2. Repasted with Kryonaut.

That's what I thought so. They change the heatsink once. and the heat isn't getting any better. Will report next again week.

QUOTE(Jay Chua CC @ Aug 23 2018, 04:47 PM)
Guys, are your aw 15 like this? My screen hinge and lid is slightly out of alignment. The lid is aligned more towards the left side.
Attached Image Attached Image Attached Image
Wow, that's really out of alignment. My unit fits perfectly with a small and even gap between left and right hinge.
nicks
post Sep 1 2018, 10:35 AM

TC
2,070 posts

QUOTE(Zelz92 @ Aug 30 2018, 07:00 PM)
These are temps while playing Dota 2. Repasted with Kryonaut.

That's what I thought so. They change the heatsink once. and the heat isn't getting any better. Will report next again week.
Wow, that's really out of alignment. My unit fits perfectly with a small and even gap between left and right hinge.
Woah that is very critical temp u got there. I've read a few enthusiasts said 8th gen really is a hot chip. Therefore Intel will slightly down boost the cpu speed in order to prolong the lifespan of processor.

You can either do undervolting via XTU or disable the turbo boost. The core logic is already 6 and it won't affect your gaming experience that much.
AthrunIJ
post Sep 10 2018, 10:50 AM

2,992 posts

Well, at least i aint the only one with hot temps.

Dell "engineer" already replaced my heatsink and fan and used a better thermal paste and this laptop is still overheating.

I already asked for a replacement which can take up to 20+ days which i will wait and see.

Worst come to worst, complain to tribunal and get my refund.

Sick of waiting....

o well
Zelz92
post Sep 19 2018, 04:58 PM

366 posts

QUOTE(AthrunIJ @ Sep 10 2018, 10:50 AM)

Dell "engineer" already replaced my heatsink and fan and used a better thermal paste and this laptop is still overheating.

I already asked for a replacement which can take up to 20+ days which i will wait and see.

Sick of waiting....

o well
How did you ask for the replacement unit?

D Brand have 15% sell on all skin. There's a new skin pattern as well.

This post has been edited by Zelz92: Sep 19 2018, 05:01 PM
Jay Chua CC
post Sep 19 2018, 10:55 PM

5,907 posts

QUOTE(Zelz92 @ Sep 19 2018, 04:58 PM)

count me in, if you want to place an order
AthrunIJ
post Sep 20 2018, 08:32 PM

2,992 posts

QUOTE(Zelz92 @ Sep 19 2018, 04:58 PM)

I just said this to the customer support.

"Since even after replacing heatsink and fan, my laptop is still overheating and i want a replacement unit." to which they agree and raise a ticket.

Now i am still waiting for their update. By next week still no news, will be using the tribunal case court card to get my refund. SICK OF WAITING ranting.gif ranting.gif

This post has been edited by AthrunIJ: Sep 20 2018, 08:32 PM
myway1985
post Sep 21 2018, 09:16 AM

12,089 posts

QUOTE(AthrunIJ @ Sep 10 2018, 10:50 AM)

Sick of waiting....

o well
8th gen? not only u la.. all cross the brand.. i7-8750h r hot... i think the cooling design r meant for 4core... 6cores is too much for the heatsink to handle
Jay Chua CC
post Sep 21 2018, 10:04 AM

5,907 posts

QUOTE(AthrunIJ @ Sep 20 2018, 08:32 PM)
I just said this to the customer support.

"Since even after replacing heatsink and fan, my laptop is still overheating and i want a replacement unit." to which they agree and raise a ticket.

Now i am still waiting for their update. By next week still no news, will be using the tribunal case court card to get my refund. SICK OF WAITING  ranting.gif  ranting.gif
did you try undervolt that beast though?
myway1985
post Sep 21 2018, 10:40 AM

12,089 posts

QUOTE(Jay Chua CC @ Sep 21 2018, 10:04 AM)
underclock better
AthrunIJ
post Sep 21 2018, 08:41 PM

2,992 posts

QUOTE(Jay Chua CC @ Sep 21 2018, 10:04 AM)
Bruh, undervolted -0.150V and still can get to 100 degrees...

For now, underclock to 3.3GHz while playing games still can reach 90degress. vmad.gif vmad.gif vmad.gif
Alan Chong
post Sep 22 2018, 10:29 AM

31 posts

QUOTE(AthrunIJ @ Sep 21 2018, 08:41 PM)
Bruh, undervolted -0.150V and still can get to 100 degrees...

For now, underclock to 3.3GHz while playing games still can reach 90degress.  vmad.gif  vmad.gif  vmad.gif
I bought cooler master u3 plus and 2 units 8inch mini fans to blow it while playing game ...

FYI, I just upgrade BIOS from ver 1.1.6 to 1.5.0. Looks like it got little bit improvement for temperature control.

This post has been edited by Alan Chong: Sep 22 2018, 03:23 PM
AthrunIJ
post Sep 22 2018, 08:18 PM

2,992 posts

QUOTE(Alan Chong @ Sep 22 2018, 10:29 AM)
I bought cooler master u3 plus and 2 units 8inch mini fans to blow it while playing game ... 

FYI, I just upgrade BIOS from ver 1.1.6 to 1.5.0. Looks like it got little bit improvement for temperature control. 

No difference......

All drivers are up to date.. still overheating.
myway1985
post Sep 23 2018, 09:22 AM

12,089 posts

QUOTE(AthrunIJ @ Sep 22 2018, 08:18 PM)
No difference......

All drivers are up to date.. still overheating.
get 7th gen.. sure dun hv this issue.. haha bangwall.gif bangwall.gif

i9 worse lo

69 Pages « < 58 59 60 61 62 > » Top

0.0328sec    0.53    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 06:48 PM