Boot space limited, Should I change my woofer ?
TSignn_tion
Oct 25 2006, 06:11 PM, updated 20y ago

Hey guys , I'm actually driving a myvi with a 12" woofer 1pc. Can anyone give me any ideas to increasind the space? As my 12" woofer box is not for SQ setup, I've thought of changing it to a 10" sub with a better box. Would it be better or worst? Any 10" woofer that you guys will recomend me ? Budget about RM700 ....
lee831219
Oct 25 2006, 07:42 PM
as u put subwoofer at the back den nit to sacrify the space d.
artnet
Oct 25 2006, 09:11 PM
i put my subwoofer in the spare tyre well. sacrifice the spare tyre... as my car is mostly in town only.
howiechoo
Oct 25 2006, 09:56 PM
QUOTE(artnet @ Oct 25 2006, 09:11 PM) i put my subwoofer in the spare tyre well. sacrifice the spare tyre... as my car is mostly in town only. but how u gonna put things on the subwoofer? or u using some heavy duty cover?
loon1031
Oct 26 2006, 02:12 AM
Actually depend what type of bass you like.. My friend say 10" enough for his Myvi liao...and also he use sealed box..(save more space) The bass enough for you is important loh...
This post has been edited by loon1031: Oct 26 2006, 02:12 AM
sbd18
Oct 26 2006, 05:53 PM
kk lau have done a side enclosure for myvi...gives u more space in the boot...but mahal la...last i checked he wanted rm500 odd...but neatly done and really gives more room...he did it for a 10" setup...don't think 12" will be a problem...
mattchin
Oct 27 2006, 12:38 AM
get a free air woofer.. u can juz hang them up.. ha! ha! (i only saw it b4 in competition..  ) maybe u wanna try.. ha! ha!
Amedion
Oct 27 2006, 01:15 PM
QUOTE(sbd18 @ Oct 26 2006, 05:53 PM) kk lau have done a side enclosure for myvi...gives u more space in the boot...but mahal la...last i checked he wanted rm500 odd...but neatly done and really gives more room...he did it for a 10" setup...don't think 12" will be a problem... Side enclosure? To get the full bass outta the woofer is to make the woofer face behind.. i read it somewhere in the internet.. saw those diagram and bla bla bla.. many things.. QUOTE(mattchin @ Oct 27 2006, 12:38 AM) get a free air woofer.. u can juz hang them up.. ha! ha! (i only saw it b4 in competition..  ) maybe u wanna try.. ha! ha! Yea... get free air woofer.. That's the best choice..
(N)3
Oct 27 2006, 02:28 PM
free air kind of sucks leh i used to use free air now change to sealed box
loon1031
Oct 27 2006, 03:10 PM
Why say free air suck? Maybe It suck when you open your back boot guar...Haha.. Have you try JL 12IB4 freeair woofer before?
(N)3
Oct 27 2006, 04:18 PM
well not sure when you get a proper free air lar i heard there are not too many around
mine last time not ment for free air wan
driftmeister
Oct 27 2006, 05:17 PM
nice free air is hard to achieve need a fully sealed boot/trunk space a hard mdf board which can support the sub
good thing of free airs is that it sounds smoother and more refine than a boxed sub but too bad.. can't go low
so it dun get my vote
mattchin
Oct 28 2006, 12:14 AM
QUOTE(driftmeister @ Oct 27 2006, 05:17 PM) nice free air is hard to achieve need a fully sealed boot/trunk space a hard mdf board which can support the sub yarhh.. there r many things that u need think of putting this free air woofer.. btw, i was juz like making a joke using this free air woofers.. didn't know tat u guyz like it
TSignn_tion
Oct 29 2006, 11:59 AM

Haha ...free space. Seen a guy did on his wira before with 2 10" sub. Heard he was last year dunno what champion. Actually I wan to change it to a seal box .... but I worry my amp cannot supply enough power for it. I'm just using a 4 channel amp for my front component and woofer. Another choice was to change it to a 10" sub .... which choice is wiser ?
driftmeister
Oct 29 2006, 09:40 PM
i dun belive in all this champions
mattchin
Oct 29 2006, 10:56 PM
actually wat brand and spec is ur 12" woofer? if u need boot space try 2 make the woofer box wide rather that long.. (am i getting this correct  ??) i blif in champion's installer workmanship onli
arsenal
Oct 30 2006, 02:21 AM
another way install active sub woofer....want to ask..active sub woofer should install below the seat or in the bonnet better???thanks
mattchin
Oct 30 2006, 12:38 PM
once u haf installed a passive woofer (i'm talking about the normal type) and u changed to active woofer... u will think it is a crap.. and it realli is.. below the seat?how big is the woofer? don u haf amp below the seats and is there enuff room for it?
arsenal
Oct 30 2006, 06:16 PM
QUOTE(mattchin @ Oct 30 2006, 12:38 PM) once u haf installed a passive woofer (i'm talking about the normal type) and u changed to active woofer... u will think it is a crap.. and it realli is.. below the seat?how big is the woofer? don u haf amp below the seats and is there enuff room for it?  no it is like built in amp one...woofer and amp got inside...it is 8 inch one...should i just put in bonnet or below the seat...
loon1031
Oct 30 2006, 06:42 PM
QUOTE(ignn_tion @ Oct 29 2006, 11:59 AM) Haha ...free space. Seen a guy did on his wira before with 2 10" sub. Heard he was last year dunno what champion. Actually I wan to change it to a seal box .... but I worry my amp cannot supply enough power for it. I'm just using a 4 channel amp for my front component and woofer. Another choice was to change it to a 10" sub .... which choice is wiser ? Maybe you can ask the installer to let you test the woofer one by one by put sub with box into your car. Tune and test one by one. I did it when I setup my sub few weeks ago until satisfy then buy loh.